3DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0085239 A1 to Stenzel et al. (hereinafter Stenzel).
Regarding claim 9, Stenzel discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (para [0095]);
a light emitter (source) disposed on the substrate (para [0011]); and
a radiation-conversion layer disposed on the substrate (disposed on the light emitter, para [0111]),
wherein:
the radiation-conversion layer includes wavelength converters, and mixed light having a peak wavelength that is different from a peak wavelength of light emitted from the light emitter is formed by mixing the light emitted from the light emitter and light emitted from each of the wavelength converters para [0095[); and
at least one of the wavelength converters includes a quantum material on a phosphor matrix (QMOP) including one or more types of semiconductor nanoparticles (quantum materials) disposed on a surface of one or more kinds of inactivated (unactivated) crystalline materials (para [0001] and [0088]) wherein the inactivated crystalline materials are luminophore matrix materials (inorganic crystalline materials that do not have activators, para [0028]), and a sealing coating encapsulating the semiconductor nanoparticles on the inactivated luminophore matrix materials (para [0036]), such that the semiconductor nanoparticles provide substantially all of light emission from the nanoparticles. See para [0068], which discloses that the semiconductors emit light and para [0028], which states that the unactivated matrix is neither luminescent nor fluorescent (does not emit light) and serves as a support material for the semiconductor nanoparticles. Therefore, substantially all light emission is from the semiconductor nanoparticles.
Note that Stenzel recites the term “unactivated” crystalline material whereas the instant claims recite the term “inactivated” luminophore matrix. As discussed above, the unactivated material of Stenzel is an inactivated luminophore matrix material (para [0028]). Both are free of activators/emission centers and therefore do not emit light. The terms “unactivated” and “inactivated” are equivalents in this instance.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Stenzel discloses the light emitting device of claim 9, wherein the radiation-conversion layer further comprises an optical coupling material disposed between the wavelength converters and the light emitter, wherein the optical coupling material includes a light-guiding material (optical wave guide, para [0111]).
Regarding claim 12, Stenzel discloses the light emitting devices of claim 9, wherein the mixed light includes peak wavelengths that are in different color regions from one another (para [0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Stenzel discloses the light emitting device of claim 12, wherein at least one of the wavelength converters (red, 601 to 670 nm) has full widths at half maximum that are narrower than a peak wavelength in a different color region (green, 490 to 600 nm) (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. See MPEP 2111.03, cited above. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-6, 8, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel.
Regarding claim 1, Stenzel discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (para [0095]);
a light emitter (source) disposed on the substrate (para [0011]); and
a radiation-conversion layer disposed on the substrate (disposed on the light emitter, para [0111]),
wherein:
the radiation-conversion layer includes wavelength converters, and mixed light having a peak wavelength that is different from a peak wavelength of light emitted from the light emitter is formed by mixing the light emitted from the light emitter and light emitted from each of the wavelength converters para [0095[);
at least one of the wavelength converters includes a quantum material on a phosphor matrix (QMOP) including one or more types of semiconductor nanoparticles (quantum materials) disposed on a surface of one or more kinds of inactivated (unactivated) crystalline materials (para [0001] and [0088]) wherein the inactivated crystalline materials are luminophore matrix materials (inorganic crystalline materials that do not have activators, para [0028]), and a sealing coating encapsulating the semiconductor nanoparticles on the inactivated luminophore matrix materials (para [0036]), such that the semiconductor nanoparticles provide substantially all of light emission from the nanoparticles. See para [0068], which discloses that the semiconductors emit light and para [0028], which states that the unactivated matrix is neither luminescent nor fluorescent (does not emit light) and serves as a support material for the semiconductor nanoparticles. Therefore, substantially all light emission is from the semiconductor nanoparticles.
Stenzel further disclose that the at least one of the wavelength converters emits light having a peak wavelength in a spectral range of between 580 and 680 nm (para [0082]) , which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 610nm to about 650nm. See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 16, Stenzel discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (para [0095]);
a light emitter (source) disposed on the substrate (para [0011]); and
a radiation-conversion layer disposed on the substrate (disposed on the light emitter, para [0111]),
wherein:
the radiation-conversion layer includes wavelength converters, and mixed light having a peak wavelength that is different from a peak wavelength of light emitted from the light emitter is formed by mixing the light emitted from the light emitter and light emitted from each of the wavelength converters para [0095[); and
at least one of the wavelength converters includes a quantum material on a phosphor matrix (QMOP) including one or more types of semiconductor nanoparticles (quantum materials) disposed on a surface of one or more kinds of inactivated (unactivated) crystalline materials (para [0001] and [0088]) wherein the inactivated crystalline materials are luminophore matrix materials (inorganic crystalline materials that do not have activators, para [0028]), and a sealing coating encapsulating the semiconductor nanoparticles on the inactivated luminophore matrix materials (para [0036]), such that the semiconductor nanoparticles provide substantially all of light emission from the nanoparticles. See para [0068], which discloses that the semiconductors emit light and para [0028], which states that the unactivated matrix is neither luminescent nor fluorescent (does not emit light) and serves as a support material for the semiconductor nanoparticles. Therefore, substantially all light emission is from the semiconductor nanoparticles.
In the CIE1931 color coordinates, at least one of the wavelength converters emits red light (para [0096]), which overlaps light having coordinates of x>0.66 and y<0.33. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 17, and 18, Stenzel discloses the light emitting devices of claim 1 and claim 16, respectively, wherein the radiation-conversion layer further comprises an optical coupling material disposed between the wavelength converters and the light emitter, wherein the optical coupling material includes a light-guiding material (optical wave guide, para [0111]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Stenzel discloses the light emitting devices of claim 1 and claim 16, respectively, wherein the mixed light includes peak wavelengths that are in different color regions from one another (para [0096]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Stenzel discloses the light emitting devices of claim 4 and claim 19, respectively, wherein at least one of the wavelength converters (red, 601 to 670 nm) has full widths at half maximum that are narrower than a peak wavelength in a different color region (green, 490 to 600 nm) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Stenzel discloses the light emitting device of claim 4 and claim 12. Stenzel further discloses that it is important to have a narrow spectral full width at half maximum (FWHM) of typically < 30 nm for displays (para [0003]). Displays are taught in para [0011], [0104], and [0111]). A FWHM of < 30 nm overlaps the instantly claimed range of 20 nm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ at least one wavelength converter with a FWHM that overlaps 20 nm or less to provide a display with improved gamut coverage (para [0003] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Stenzel discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein in CIE1931 color coordinates, at least one of the wavelength converters emits red light (para [0096]), which overlaps light having coordinates of x>0.66 and y<0.33. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 7/21/26, with respect to the 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The most recent amendment to the claims resolves the issues.
Therefore, the 112(a) rejection of claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 7/21/26, with respect to Anc have been fully considered and are persuasive. The newly amended claims require a quantum material on an inactivated luminophore matrix. However, Anc teaches a quantum material on a phosphor, which is an activated luminophore matrix.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 as obvious over Anc has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
(571)272-2678. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734