DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 are pending in the present application.
Claims 9 – 10 are withdrawn (see election section below).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “two lead members with rigidity” (emphasis added) in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigidity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree (see instant publication at [0029] “lead member 112 has the rigidity, that is, the rigidity thereof is high, for example… is a metal plate (for example, a lead frame)”), and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Specifically, examples are given but no definition of how much/what level of rigidity is required to meet this limitation is defined.
Would a generally stiff set of metal wires meet “two lead members with rigidity”? If not, what is the ascertainable and concrete limitation? If so, where would the line of demarcation between a wire with rigidity and one without rigidity be?
As best understood for purpose of examination and in order to expedite prosecution lead members with rigidity will be considered as any lead without a direct statement that such member is flexible or otherwise not rigid (including at least metal plates and other leads not generally considered flexible as per the specification).
However, positive in claim recitation of the concrete metes and bounds applicant intends to claim regarding the lead members is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/590,321 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim set anticipates the instant claims as follows:
Regarding claim 1:
A thermistor assembly, comprising: (see reference claim 1)
a thermistor; two lead members with rigidity (see reference claim 1, indents 1, 2 and 3); and
a first resin portion (see at least reference claim 1, indents 3-4),
wherein first end portions of the two lead members are connected with the thermistor (see reference claim 2 “the thermistor is provided at one end of the pair of lead frames” and claim 1, indent 2), and
the thermistor is sealed by the first resin portion (see reference claim 1, indent 3 regarding the resin covering the thermistor).
Regarding claims 2-3:
Instant claim 2: see reference claim 3 – plate like shape
Instant claim 3: see reference claim 4 – transfer molding
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsunaga et al. (US 20190383668; hereinafter Matsunaga).
Regarding claim 1, Matsunaga teaches regarding a thermistor assembly (abstract), comprising:
a thermistor (13),
two lead members with rigidity (11/12; see [0046-47] teaching that the lead frames 11 and 12 are conductive metal plates); and
a first resin portion (14; [0048] “sensor body 10 also includes a resin mold portion 14”),
wherein first end portions of the two lead members are connected with the thermistor (see at least fig. 1C showing this connected configuration), and
the thermistor is sealed by the first resin portion (see at least figs. 1C and 10 showing that resin mold 14 seals the thermistor).
Regarding claim 2, Matsunaga teaches that each of the two lead members is a metal plate ([0046] “The first lead frame 11 and the second lead frame 12 are conductive, and may be formed using, for example, a metal plate.”; see also [0073] “The lead frame material 20 can be made of a metal plate by press-forming.”).
Regarding claim 3, Matsunaga teaches that the first resin portion is molded by a transfer molding ([0007] “The molding may include forming the resin mold portion by transfer molding.”).
Regarding claim 4, Matsunaga teaches that each of the two lead members is provided with a second end portion of the corresponding lead member (upper as drawn; see fig. 10) with which a lead wire (at least one of conductors/cables/wires 521/521a) is connected (see at least fig. 10 showing this connection to be made; see fig. 11B showing this connection between lead 11 and conductor/wire 521a).
Regarding claim 5, Matsunaga teaches that a shape of the second end portion of each one of the two lead members is a connector shape (see fig. 10 showing this connector shape at the ends of lead frames 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 6, Matsunaga teaches regarding a temperature sensor, comprising: the thermistor assembly according to claim 1 (see treatment of claim 1 above); a case (40; see fig. 10; [0123]) having an accommodation area (40a) that is open in a second direction (up as drawn in fig. 11); and a second resin portion (at least 50/51; [0135] “housing 51 … is made of, for example, a synthetic resin”; see fig. 10), wherein the second resin portion is disposed in the accommodation area so as to seal the first resin portion (see figs. 11A-B showing this configuration; see also fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 20190383668; hereinafter Matsunaga) in view of Segler et al. (US 5949324; hereinafter Segler).
Regarding claim 7, Matsunaga lacks direct and specific teaching regarding a connection member for connecting with a measurement target, wherein the connection member includes a hole, the case includes an insertion port into which the connection member is inserted, and the connection member is inserted into the insertion port of the case such that the thermistor is positioned inside the hole.
However, Segler teaches regarding a thermistor in a mold (abstract; see fig. 3 and thermistor 260) having a connection member for connecting with a measurement target (see at least figs. 2, 3 and 23 showing examples of the connection member for connecting the thermistor device to related/associated structure 32/308; see col. 10, ¶ at 11 teaching regarding attachment to “a wall 306 of an associated structure 308”), wherein the connection member includes a hole (see fig. 23), and that a variety of connection grooves/ports (see at least fig. 23), and the connecting members are inserted into the various connections portions such that the thermistor is positioned inside the hole (see fig. 23 showing that thermistor 260 is positioned in the hole).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connections for a thermistor sensor housing of Matsunaga with the specific knowledge of using the connections for a thermistor sensor housing including connection to a measurement target of Segler. This is because such connections allow for securely positioning the sensor at a desired location ofr measuring a targeted temperature. This is important in order for the temperature measurement to be properly located for an end user desired measurement.
Regarding claim 8, Matsunaga teaches that the lead member and the case have first guide portions respectively for positioning the thermistor with respect to the case in the first direction (see at least [0235] teaching regarding guide grooves and guide projections; see also fig. 16 showing grooves and projections for guiding the placement of components).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
See especially:
Lyle et al. (US 6091317); teaching regarding a temperature sensor assembly with specifically “a pair of rigid lead frames (12, 14) … containing a thermistor (36)” (emphasis added; abstract; see also figs. 1-4).
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855