DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US PUB 2020/0217882), hereinafter Lee.
With respect to claim 1, George discloses an electronic device, comprising: a sensor (See paragraph [0045] of Lee) configured to generate sensor measurements (See paragraph [0045] of Lee); a transmitter configured to transmit radio-frequency signals (See paragraph [0053] of Lee); and a digital filter configured to generate a signal in response to detecting electromagnetic interference in the sensor measurements (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0056] and [0066] of Lee).
With respect to claim 3, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the digital filter comprises a digital persistence filter, the electronic device further comprising: a comparator between the sensor and the digital filter (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0126] and [0130] of Lee).
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the digital persistence filter comprises an up-counter that is configured to be reset to a given value (See paragraphs [0078] and [0090] of Lee) and to be clocked at a given frame rate (See paragraph [0109] of Lee).
With respect to claim 5, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the up-counter is configured to be reset to the given value when the sensor measurements are below a threshold (See paragraph [0078] of Lee).
With respect to claim 6, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the up-counter is configured to be incrementally increased at the given frame rate when the sensor measurements are above the threshold (See paragraph [0099], in view of paragraphs [0109], [0134] and [0141] of Lee).
With respect to claim 13, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the digital filter is configured to receive the sensor measurements directly (See figure 3A of Lee which shows direct connection from the sensor measurements emitted from [340] to digital filter [352]).
With respect to claim 14, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the digital filter is configured to compare the sensor measurements to time-delayed sensor measurements to determine whether there is electromagnetic interference in the sensor measurements (See paragraphs [0111] and [0126] in view of paragraph [0067] of Lee).
With respect to claim 15, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the digital filter is configured to generate the signal in response to a difference between the sensor measurements and the time-delayed sensor measurements being greater than a threshold (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraph [0132] of Lee).
With respect to claim 16, Lee discloses an apparatus, comprising: a sensor (See paragraph [0045] of Lee) configured to generate sensor measurements (See paragraph [0045] of Lee); a comparator configured to output an indicator in response to each of the sensor measurements (See paragraphs [0111] and [0126] in view of paragraph [0067] of Lee); and a digital filter configured to determine, based on the respective indicator, whether there is electromagnetic interference in each of the sensor measurements (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0056] and [0066] of Lee).
With respect to claim 17, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the digital filter comprises a digital persistence filter (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0126] and [0130] of Lee).
With respect to claim 18, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the sensor is selected from the group consisting of: a temperature sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, an ambient light sensor, a humidity sensor, a heart rate sensor, and a blood oxygen sensor (See paragraph [0045] of Lee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yamauchi (US PUB 2006/0077080).
With respect to claim 12, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 3, but fails to disclose further comprising: a hysteresis circuit coupled between an output of the comparator and an input of the comparator. However, Yamauchi does disclose a hysteresis circuit coupled between an output of the comparator and an input of the comparator (See paragraphs [0109] and [0110] of Yamauchi in view of the arrangement of circuit elements disposed in section [70] in figure 4 of Yamauchi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee to include the features disclosed by Yamauchi because doing so ensures enhanced detection accuracy.
Claim(s) 2,19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Baloniak (US PUB 2020/0072646).
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: control circuitry configured to discard the sensor measurements in response to the signal from the digital filter. However, Baloniak does disclose control circuitry configured to discard the sensor measurements in response to the signal from the digital filter (See paragraph [0044] of Baloniak). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee to include the features disclosed by Baloniak because doing so increases the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), thus improving system accuracy.
With respect to claim 19, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 16, but fails to disclose further comprising: control circuitry that is configured to discard given sensor measurements in response to the digital filter determining that the given sensor measurements have been subject to electromagnetic interference. However, Baloniak does disclose a control step that is configured to discard given sensor measurements in response to the digital filter determining that the given sensor measurements have been subject to electromagnetic interference (See paragraph [0044] of Baloniak). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee to include the features disclosed by Baloniak because doing so increases the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), thus improving system accuracy.
With respect to claim 20, Lee discloses an electronic device, comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit radio-frequency signals (See paragraph [0053] of Lee); a circuit (See paragraph [0043] of Lee), comprising: a sensor configured to generate sensor measurements (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0056] and [0066] of Lee); and a digital persistence filter configured to generate a signal in response to detecting electromagnetic interference in the sensor measurements (See paragraph [0067] in view of paragraphs [0126] and [0130] of Lee); but fails to disclose control circuitry configured to disregard given sensor measurements in response to the signal. However, Baloniak does disclose control circuitry configured to disregard given sensor measurements in response to the signal (See paragraph [0044] of Baloniak). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee to include the features disclosed by Baloniak because doing so increases the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), thus improving system accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the up-counter is configured to overflow when the sensor measurements are above the threshold for a period of time longer than the given value divided by the given frame rate.
Claim 8 depends from objected to claim 7 and is therefore also objected to.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the sensor is configured to generate the sensor measurements at a given burst rate, and wherein the digital persistence filter comprises a marked-frame counter that is configured to be reset to a given value and to be clocked at a given frame rate.
Claims 10 and 11 depend from objected to claim 9 and are therefore also objected to.
Conclusion
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858