DETAILED ACTION
Claims 22-41 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities: Each of the claims should conclude with a period and not a semicolon. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. US 12036383 (hereinafter ‘383). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims in the ‘383 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 24-30, 32, 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connelly et al. (US 6589229) in view of Kamen et al. (2012/0185267).
With respect to claim 22, Connelly discloses: An infusion pump alarm management system, comprising: a display (Fig. 21, “274”);
a control unit capable of docking with at least one infusion pump (col. 21, lines 25-29);
at least one data processor (Fig. 10, “132); and
at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one data processor, cause the control unit to at least:
detect that a first infusion pump has been docked to the control unit (col. 21 ,lines 25-29);
establish a data link between the first infusion pump and the control unit upon detecting the first infusion pump being docked to the control unit (id.).
Connelly does not specifically disclose: adjust a behavior of the first infusion pump or the control unit based on the status of the first infusion pump being docked to or undocked from the control unit, wherein the behavior relates to management of an alarm condition.
However, Kamen discloses: adjust a behavior of the first infusion pump or the control unit based on the status of the first infusion pump being docked to or undocked from the control unit, wherein the behavior relates to management of an alarm condition ([0313], [0467], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kamen to prevent additional disturbance of the patient by sending the alarm to the remote communicator/control unit and not causing the alarm on the docking device itself.
With respect to claim 24 Kamen discloses: wherein the adjustment in behavior comprises a modification of an alarm-related user interface of the first infusion pump or the control unit ([0467]).
With respect to claim 25, Kamen discloses: wherein the modification of the user interface relates to an aspect of the user interface that enables a user to confirm or acknowledge an alarm condition ([0277]).
With respect to claim 26, Kamen discloses: wherein the adjustment in behavior relates to coordinating presentation of alarm status between the control unit and the first infusion pump ([0467], [0313]).
With respect to claim 27, Kamen discloses: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one data processor, cause the control unit to take over responsibility for presenting an alarm signal from the first infusion pump (id.).
With respect to claim 28, Kamen discloses: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one data processor, cause the control unit to rank multiple alarm signals ([0277], hard alarm and soft alarm are interpreted by examiner as a ranking of the alarms).
With respect to claim 29, Kamen discloses: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one data processor, cause the control unit to display an alarm based on the ranking ([0292], “visually indicate” corresponds to “display”).
With respect to claim 30, Kamend discloses: wherein the adjustment in behavior relates to a division in alarm management between the control unit and the first infusion pump ([0313], infusion device does not sound the alarm).
With respect to claims 32, 34-40, they recite similar limitations as claims 22, 24-30, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Claim(s) 23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connelly et al. (US 6589229) in view of Kamen et al. (2012/0185267) further in view of Fathallah et al. (US 2006/0229557).
With respect to claim 23, Connelly and Kamen do not specifically disclose: wherein the behavior adjusts differently depending on whether the first infusion pump is coupled to the control unit wirelessly, electrically or mechanically.
However, Fathallah discloses: wherein the behavior adjusts differently depending on whether the first infusion pump is coupled to the control unit wirelessly, electrically or mechanically ([0108]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fathallah to ensure the user is apprised of whether the device is connected wirelessly or not by displaying the wireless indicator image on the user interface.
With respect to claim 33, it recite similar limitations as claim 23 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer according to the instructions included in this Office Action is filed and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195