DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 16 August 2024 has been entered. After entry of the amendment, claims 2-24 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 11-12, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7 are confusing as written as they refer to a second solvent however according to claim 2, the claim from which these claims depend, does not require a solvent to be selected thus rendering these claims confusing and vague and indefinite.
Claims 11 and 12 are confusing as written as they refer to a second solvent however according to claim 2, the claim from which these claims depend, does not require a solvent to be selected thus rendering these claims confusing and vague and indefinite.
Claim 23 is confusing as written as they refer to a second solvent however according to claim 2, the claim from which this claim depends, does not require a solvent to be selected thus rendering these claims confusing and vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 13, 15-16, 18-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Europe Patent Specification No. EP 3792316 A1.
The reference teaches, in Example 4, a composition comprising 33.6% by weight tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol (first cycloalkane), Dimethyl-cyclohexane-1,3-dione (first cycloalkane), 26.4 % by weight Adamantane (second cycloalkane) which makes up the matting component and 27.1% by weight n-pentane (solvent) which makes up the solvent component.
Example 8 teaches that 32.8% by weight of the composition from Example 4 with 67.2% by weight of a propellant according to the invention consisting of 42% by weight to 47% by weight isopropane, 52% by weight to 57% by weight of n-butane and 0.75% by weight to 1.25% by weight of isobutane are placed in a spray can. See also examples 3 and 7 and also example 9 which teach similar compositions.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 2, the reference teaches adamantane which meets (i); pentane which meets the first solvent (ii) and a propellant which meets component (iii).
As for claim 3, the reference teaches pentane which has a boiling point of 36 OC.
As for claim 4, the reference teaches pentane which is a branched C5 hydrocarbon.
As for claim 5, the reference teaches pentane.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches a propellant.
As for claim 9, the amount of the propellant, according to example 8, is 67.2% which falls within the claimed range.
As for claim 13, the reference teaches the application of the composition to the surface and the first full paragraph on the second page of the machine translation states that the coating of surfaces with reversible coatings are known and they are used, for example, for measurements on surfaces with infrared and / or electromagnetic radiation or by means of monochromatic light. The claims teach the use of the composition for optical measurement. Therefore claim 13 is met by the reference.
As for claim 15, the reference teaches a method of coating a surface using the composition and therefore this claim is met by the reference.
As for claim 16, the reference teaches pentane which has a boiling point of 36 OC.
As for claim 18, the reference teaches a propellant.
As for claim 19, the reference teaches a method of coating a surface using the composition and therefore this claim is met by the reference.
As for claim 20, as the composition is the same it would serve as a temporary protective coating.
As for claim 21, the reference teaches, in the claims, the formation of a thin sublimable coating on surfaces.
As for claim 22, the reference teaches pentane which has a boiling point of 36 OC.
As for claim 24, the reference teaches a propellant.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,037,515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims encompass all of the limitations of the claims of the prior patent and therefore are rendered obvious by said claims.
The instant claims are of a broader scope than the claims of the prior patent and therefore encompass said claims.
As for claim 2, the combination of claims 1 and 11-12 of the prior patent result in a composition of a narrower scope than the instant composition and therefore render it obvious.
As for claim 3, this is met by claim 2 of the prior patent.
As for claim 4, this is met by claim 3 of the prior patent.
As for claim 5, this is met by the combination of claims 1 and 11-12 of the prior patent.
As for claim 6, this is rendered obvious by claim 4 of the prior patent which teaches an amount that falls within the claimed range.
As for claim 7, this is met by claim 4 of the prior patent.
As for claim 8, this is met by claim 17 of the prior patent.
As for claim 9, this is met by claim 18 of the prior patent.
As for claim 10, this is met by claim 5 of the prior patent.
As for claim 11, this is met by claim 13 of the prior patent.
As for claim 12, this is met by claim 14 of the prior patent.
As for claim 14, this is met by claim 19 of the prior patent.
Accordingly the instant claims are obvious over the prior patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
August 4, 2026