DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A4 (FIG. 4), B2 (dissolved fuel), C1 (233UF4), D1 (alkaline metals), and E3 (7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4) in the reply filed on 09/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the Requirement does not provide the requisite explanation of patentable distinctness and there is no serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive. Specifically, the species are mutually exclusive because, as disclosed in the specification, the species are separate and distinct embodiments (see [0009]-[0010], [0012]-[0015], [0019], [0022], [0024]). Additionally, Species A1 (FIG. 1) discloses a “drop-through” reactor which does not include a steam generator, which is not disclosed in either Species A2 (FIG. 2), Species A3 (FIG. 3), or Species A4 (FIG. 4). Species A2 (FIG. 2) discloses a “drop-through” reactor which includes a steam generator, which is not disclosed in either Species A1 (FIG. 1), Species A3 (FIG. 3), or Species A4 (FIG. 4). Species A3 (FIG. 3) discloses a “bubble-up” reactor which does not include a steam generator, which is not disclosed in either Species A1 (FIG. 1), Species A2 (FIG. 2), or Species A4 (FIG. 4). Species A4 discloses a “bubble-up” reactor which includes a steam generator, which is not disclosed in either Species A1 (FIG. 1), Species A2 (FIG. 2), or Species A3 (FIG. 3). Similarly, Species B1 discloses a solid nuclear fuel, which is not disclosed in Species B2 (directed towards a dissolved nuclear fuel); Species C1 discloses 233UF4 fuel material, which is not disclosed in Species C2 (directed towards 235UF4 fuel material) or Species C3 (directed towards PuF3 fuel material); Species D1 discloses alkaline liquid metals, which is not disclosed in Species D2 (directed towards heavy liquid metals); Species E1 discloses NaCl-KCl-PuCl3 fuel salt, which is not disclosed in Species E2 (directed towards PuCl3-NaCl fuel salt), Species E3 (directed towards 7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 fuel salt), Species E4 (directed towards KCl-MgCl2-UCl3 fuel salt), or Species E5 (directed towards another specified fuel salt). This requirement is also to facilitate examining due to the broad range of materials or compositions that can be included in the reactor. Further, there is a search and examination burden because the species would require a different field of search (e.g., Species A1 would require a search of at least a “drop-through” reactor, while Species A2 would require a search of at least a “drop-through” reactor having a steam generator, while Species A3 would require a search of at least a “bubble-up” reactor, while species A4 would require a search of at least a “bubble-up” reactor having a steam generator; Species B1 would require a search of solid nuclear fuel, while Species B2 would require a search of dissolved nuclear fuel; Species C1-C3 would require different searches for the different specified nuclear fuel materials; Species D1 would require a search of alkaline liquid metals, while Species D2 would require a search of heavy liquid metals; Species E1-E5 would require different searches for the different specified fuel salts) and the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species (e.g., a disclosure of a “drop-through” reactor without a steam generator as recited in Species A1 would not necessarily also disclose a “drop-through” reactor having a steam generator as recited in Species A2 or a “bubble-up” reactor as recited in Species A3-A4; a disclosure of a solid nuclear fuel as recited in Species B1 would not necessarily also disclose a dissolved nuclear fuel as recited in Species B2; a disclosure of 233UF4 fuel material as recited in Species C1 would note necessarily also disclose the materials recited in Species C2-C3; a disclosure of alkaline liquid metals as recited in Species D1 would not necessarily also disclose heavy liquid metals as recited in Species D2; a disclosure of NaCl-KCl-PuCl3 fuel salt as recited in Species E1 would not necessarily also disclose the fuel salts as recited in Species E2-E5). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application with claim 3 withdrawn. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term “hot” in claim 1 (limitations a, d) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This further renders unclear the relationship between the “liquid metal vessel,” the “hot liquid metal vessel” recited in limitation a, and the “hot liquid metal vessel” recited in limitation d. For example, it is unclear if these are intending to refer to the same vessel or different vessels.
Claim 1 is further indefinite because it is unclear which features are intended to be positively recited features of the “reactor.” For example, it is unclear if the “core” contains both the “liquid metal vessel” and the “molten salt chamber.” It is also unclear if the “molten salt chamber,” “hot liquid metal vessel,” and/or “gas chamber” are intended to be positively recited features of the “reactor”/“core,” if the “fuel salt feeding tube,” “fuel salt effluent tube,” and/or “salt separator” are intended to be positively recited features of the “reactor”/“fuel salt tank,” if the “purging gas outlet” is intended to be a positively recited feature of the “reactor,” and if the “plurality of dispensing nozzles,” “thermal exchanger,” “liquid metal filter,” and/or “liquid metal pump” are intended to be positively recited features of the “reactor.”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the molten salt” in claim 1 (limitation d). This further renders unclear the relationship between the “liquid metal coolant,” “fuel salt,” and “molten salt.” Additionally, it is unclear how the “liquid metal coolant” is intended to “flow[] through the molten salt into a hot liquid metal vessel” as recited in claim 1.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 3,262,856 (“Bettis”) in view of US Publication No. 2014/0348287 (“Huke”), US Publication No. 2017/0309353 (“Martynov”), and US Publication No. 2018/0068750 (“Cisneros”).
Regarding claim 1, Bettis (newly cited) (see FIG. 1) discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising:
a core containing a liquid metal vessel (1) fluidly connected with a molten salt chamber (e.g., defined between 12, 21), the molten salt chamber fluidly connected with a hot liquid metal vessel (e.g., defined below 12), and the hot liquid metal vessel fluidly connected with a gas chamber (26) (5:21-36);
a fuel salt (9) introduced into the molten salt chamber and withdrawn from the molten salt chamber (3:55-4:2, 5:29-6:6);
a liquid metal coolant (2) dispensed from the liquid metal vessel through a plurality of dispensing nozzles (6) into the molten salt chamber, the liquid metal coolant flows through the molten salt into the hot liquid metal vessel, the liquid metal coolant flows from the hot liquid metal vessel through a thermal exchanger (44) and then into a liquid metal pump (4) returning then to the liquid metal vessel (3:25-4:12, 5:20-36).
Bettis discloses processing the fuel salt during reactor operations, but does not appear to disclose a fuel salt tank. Huke (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1, 3) is similarly directed towards a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal coolant and a fuel salt introduced into and withdrawn from a molten salt chamber (7) ([0045]-[0046]). Huke teaches the reactor comprises a fuel salt tank (29) containing the fuel salt, the fuel salt is withdrawn from the fuel salt tank through a fuel salt feeding tube into the molten salt chamber, the fuel salt is withdrawn from the molten salt chamber through a fuel salt effluent tube into a salt separator (28) ([0059], [0078]). Huke further teaches the fuel salt tank allows for reduced shutdown time due to continuous reprocessing of the fuel and compensates for different flow volumes through the reactor and the reprocessing system ([0003], [0059]). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to include a fuel salt tank as taught by Huke in Bettis’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Bettis in order to enhance reprocessing, as suggested by Huke, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Bettis discloses a pressurized gas in the gas chamber (6:10-14), but does not appear to disclose a purging gas inlet or a purging gas outlet. Martynov (newly cited) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards a liquid metal cooled reactor (101) comprising a liquid metal coolant (104) and a gas chamber (106) ([0001], [0028]). Martynov teaches the reactor comprises a purging gas inlet (108), the purging gas inlet inserting a purging gas into the gas chamber, the purging gas is withdrawn from the gas chamber through a purging gas outlet (114) ([0021], [0028]). Martynov further teaches the gas flow system provides the advantages of allowing for controlled gas injection and improved containment, safety, reliability, and longevity of the reactor ([0016]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the purging gas inlet and purging gas outlet as taught by Martynov in the modified Bettis’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Bettis in order to enhance control and safety, as suggested by Martynov, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Bettis does not appear to disclose a liquid metal filter. Cisneros (newly cited) (see FIG. 4) is similarly directed towards a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal coolant flowing into a liquid metal pump (414) ([0004], [0054], [0056]-[0057]). Cisneros teaches the liquid metal coolant flows into a liquid metal filter (416) before flowing into the liquid metal pump ([0058]). Cisneros further teaches the liquid metal filter provides the advantages of removing impurities from the liquid metal coolant ([0058]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the liquid metal filter as taught by Cisneros in the modified Bettis’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Bettis in order to remove impurities from the liquid metal coolant, as suggested by Cisneros, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 2, Bettis in view of Huke, Martynov, and Cisneros teaches the liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor of claim 1. Bettis discloses a steam generator connected to the thermal exchanger (4:4-27).
Claim 4, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettis in view of Huke, Martynov, and Cisneros, further in view of CN Publication No. 111627571 (“Cai”).
Regarding claim 4, Bettis in view of Huke, Martynov, and Cisneros teaches the liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor of claim 1. Bettis discloses the fuel salt is 7LiF-BeF2-UF4 (Table II), but does not disclose the fuel salt is 7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 or KCI-MgCl2-UCl3. Cai (newly cited) is similarly directed towards a molten salt reactor comprising a fuel salt ([0002]). Cai teaches the fuel salt is 7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 ([0110]). It would have been obvious to a POSA to use the fuel salt taught by Cai in the modified Bettis’s reactor because Cai teaches this composition is suitable for use as fuel salt in a molten salt reactor ([0110]). Additionally, a POSA would have found it obvious to use a 7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 or KCI-MgCl2-UCl3 since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 5, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettis in view of Huke, Martynov, and Cisneros, further in view of US Patent No. 3,197,376 (“Balent”).
Regarding claim 5, Bettis in view of Huke, Martynov, and Cisneros teaches the liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor of claim 1. Bettis discloses the liquid metal coolant is lead, but does not disclose the liquid metal coolant is lithium, sodium, potassium, potassium-sodium, or a combination thereof. Balent (newly cited) is similarly directed towards a liquid metal cooled reactor comprising a liquid metal coolant (5:39-44). Balent teaches the liquid metal coolant is lead, lithium, sodium, potassium, potassium-sodium, or a combination thereof (5:39-44) It would have been obvious to a POSA to use the liquid metal coolant taught by Balent in the modified Bettis’s reactor because Balent teaches this composition is suitable for use as a liquid metal coolant (5:39-44). Additionally, a POSA would have found it obvious to use a lithium, sodium, potassium, potassium-sodium, or a combination thereof for the liquid metal coolant since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additional References
The following references would also appear to be relevant to Applicant’s invention and are therefore cited in the attached PTO-892:
US Patent No. 3,170,843: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal vessel (28), a molten salt chamber (2), a fuel salt (1), a fuel salt tank (12), a fuel salt feeding tube (19), a fuel salt effluent tube (15), a salt separator (16), purging gas, and a liquid metal coolant (27) flowing through a thermal exchanger (30) and a liquid metal pump (29) (FIGS. I-II, IV, 2:37-53, 3:33-69).
US Patent No. 3,385,759: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal vessel (2), a molten salt chamber (3), a gas chamber (19), a purging gas inlet (20), and a liquid metal coolant (8) dispensed through a plurality of dispensing nozzles (9, 10) and flowing through a thermal exchanger (23) and a liquid metal pump (21) (FIG. 1, Abstract, 2:11-34, 2:57-3:50).
US Publication No. 2023/0197299: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal vessel, a molten salt chamber (205), a gas chamber, a purging gas inlet (201), a purging gas outlet (202) a fuel salt (206), and a liquid metal coolant (203) flowing through a thermal exchanger (208) (FIG. 2, [0082]).
US Publication No. 2023/0395270: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor (100) comprising a liquid metal vessel (135), a molten salt chamber (120), an LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 fuel salt, and a liquid metal coolant (FIG. 1, [0153], [0155], [0168], [0170]).
CN Publication No. 112259263: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor comprising a liquid metal vessel (3), a molten salt chamber (1), a fuel salt tank (12) containing an 7LiF-BeF2-ZrF4-UF4 fuel salt, a fuel salt feeding tube, a fuel salt effluent tube, a salt separator (11), and a liquid metal coolant flowing through a thermal exchanger (31) (FIG. 5, [0076], [0079], [0081]).
WO Publication No. 2015/089665: discloses a liquid metal cooled molten salt reactor (10) comprising a molten salt chamber (28), a gas chamber (32), a fuel salt tank (30) containing a fuel salt, a fuel salt feeding tube (34), a fuel salt effluent tube (26), and a liquid metal coolant flowing through a thermal exchanger (44) (FIG. 1, [0024], [0043], , [0047]-[0049], [0052], [0056]).
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646