DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (2020/0129815) in view of Iwami et al. (2005/0049084). Claim 1, Hayashi discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the spherical core and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon, wherein a hardness difference S (=Hs-Ho) of zero between a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core and a center hardness Ho (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core [0143], a material hardness C (Shore D hardness) of 60 for the outermost cover [0151]. Hayashi discloses the golf ball has between 200 and 500 dimple but does not disclose the total volume of the dimples [0150]. Iwami teaches a golf ball comprising about 432 dimples with a total volume V (V+W) (mm3) of the plurality of dimples below a surface of a virtual sphere from 485.2 mm3 to 585.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Solving for V+S×C≤1200 (485.2+ 0×60 = 485.2). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claim 3, Hayashi discloses wherein S+C≤60 (0+60=60) is satisfied. Claim 4, Hayashi discloses the cover contains an ionomer resin (table 3). Claim 5, Iwami teaches the total volume V (V+W) of the plurality of dimples ranges from 485.2 mm3 to 585.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Claim 6, Hayashi discloses the hardness difference S ranges from 0 to 20 in Shore C hardness [0143]. Claim 7, Hayashi discloses the surface hardness Hs of the spherical core ranges from 50 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0141]. Claim 8, Hayashi discloses the center hardness Ho of the spherical core ranges from 40 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0142]. Claim 9, Hayashi discloses the material hardness C of the outermost cover ranges from 20 to 70 in Shore D hardness [0151]. Claim 10, Hayashi in view of Iwami discloses S, C, and V satisfy 300≤V+S×C≤1200 (485.2+ 0×60 = 485.2). Claim 12, Hayashi discloses 30≤S+C (0+60=60) is satisfied. Claim 13, Hayashi discloses the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition containing (a) a base rubber, (b) an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid having 3 to 8 carbon atoms and/or a metal salt thereof as a co-crosslinking agent, and (c) a crosslinking initiator (abstract). Claim 14, Hayashi discloses the rubber composition further contains (g) a terpene-based resin (abstract). Claim 15, Hayashi discloses an amount of (g) the terpene-based resin ranges from 2 part by mass to 10 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0056]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (2020/0129815) in view of Iwami et al. (2005/0049084), and further in view of Kasashima et al. (5,911,639). Claim 2 and 11, Hayashi in view of Iwami does not disclose the lower dimple volume less than the upper dimple volume Vi-Vo≤0 and Vi-Vo ≥ -100, which is essentially dimples with a decreased depth or shallow dimple. Kashima teaches a depth for dimples of 0.8 mm (fig 1; col. 2, lines 14-17). The depth is within the range disclosed by applicant for dimple patterns 5-6, table 4-1, which has dimple depths of 0.0749 mm and 0.0877 mm. The dimple depth of Kasashima combined with the diameters of Iwami (3.2 to 4.1 mm, table 3) (Note: applicant’s dimple diameters are from 3 to 4.4 mm, Table 4-1) will provide volumes within the range claimed by applicant because the volume is derived from the depth and diameter. One of ordinary skill in the art would decrease the dimples depth to reduce the drag.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
January 15, 2026