DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 12-14, 16, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakinuma et al. (JP H10-108297 using an English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kakinuma discloses a sound apparatus, comprising:
a sound generating module (7);
an enclosure (19B) disposed at a rear surface of the sound generating module with an internal space therebetween (see Fig. 6); and
a protection member (19A) disposed at the sound generating module (see Fig. 6),
wherein the sound generating module (7) comprises:
a vibration member (5); and
a vibration apparatus (1) configured at the vibration member (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises:
a first vibration apparatus (a second of element 1) configured at a first surface (5b) of the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6 and ¶ 0006-0007: bimorph version includes a second of element 1 on 5b); and
a second vibration apparatus (1) configured at a second surface (5a) different from the first surface of the vibration member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4,
wherein the enclosure (9B) is connected to the first surface (5b) of the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6), and
wherein the protection member (19A) is configured to cover the second surface (5a) of the vibration member (5) and the second vibration apparatus (1) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a coupling member (8) between the enclosure (9B) and the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6),
wherein the coupling member comprises a material (adhesive) which differs from a material (resin) of the protection member (¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises a metal material, or comprises a single nonmetal material or a composite nonmetal material of one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, carbon, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, mirror, and leather (¶ 0024: metal).
Regarding claim 13, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member is disposed to cover the internal space of the enclosure (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the enclosure comprises an opening part (6) connected to the internal space (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14, wherein the internal space of the enclosure comprises a space (space between 5b and 9B) connected to the opening part (6) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 26, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration apparatus (1) comprises one or more vibration generators (1), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (2) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0005);
a first electrode part (4) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0008); and
a second electrode part (3) at a second surface (¶ 0008) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani et al. (US 2015/0003646).
Regarding claim 2, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protection member contacts
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member contacts the vibration apparatus and the vibration member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kamitani discloses wherein a protection member (2 and 7) contacts the vibration apparatus (5) and the vibration member (3) (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection member of Kakinuma with that of Kamitani, which would result in: wherein the protection member contacts the vibration apparatus and the vibration member, the motivation being to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (Kamitani - ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 3, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protection member has a similar size as a size of the vibration member (Fig. 6: 5 is almost as wide as 9A).
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member has a same size as a size of the vibration member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kamitani discloses wherein a protection member (2 and 7) has a same size as a size of a vibration member (3) (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection member of Kakinuma with that of Kamitani, which would result in: wherein the protection member has a same size as a size of the vibration member, the motivation being to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (Kamitani - ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 5, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, wherein the enclosure (9B) is connected to the first surface (5b) of the vibration member (Fig. 6), and
wherein the protection member (9A) contacts the second surface (5a) of the vibration member (5)
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member contacts the second surface of the vibration member and the second vibration apparatus.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kamitani discloses wherein a protection member (2 and 7) contacts a second surface (3a) of a vibration member (3) and a second vibration apparatus (5) (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection member of Kakinuma with that of Kamitani, which would result in: wherein the protection member contacts the second surface of the vibration member and the second vibration apparatus, the motivation being to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (Kamitani - ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, wherein the protection member has a similar size as a size of the vibration member (Fig. 6: 5 is almost as wide as 9A), or has a size which is greater than a size of the second vibration apparatus and is smaller than a size of the vibration member.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member has a same size as a size of the vibration member, or has a size which is greater than a size of the second vibration apparatus and is smaller than a size of the vibration member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kamitani discloses wherein a protection member (2 and 7) has a same size as a size of a vibration member (3) (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection member of Kakinuma with that of Kamitani, which would result in: wherein the protection member has a same size as a size of the vibration member, or has a size which is greater than a size of the second vibration apparatus and is smaller than a size of the vibration member, the motivation being to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (Kamitani - ¶ 0044).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kakegawa (WO 2005/006809 using an English machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member comprises a rubber material, or comprises ethylene propylene diene monomer, ethylene propylene rubber, or urethane rubber.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kakegawa discloses a housing made of rubber in order to prevent vibration from the vibration apparatus from being transmitted to the outside (page 11, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the housing (9) of Kakinuma of rubber, which would result in: wherein the protection member (9A of Kakinuma) comprises a rubber material, or comprises ethylene propylene diene monomer, ethylene propylene rubber, or urethane rubber, the motivation being to prevent vibration from the vibration apparatus from being transmitted to the outside (Kakegawa - page 11, lines 21-27).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Tokuhisa et al. (US 2016/0183006).
Regarding claim 10, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a coupling member (8) between the enclosure (9B) and the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6),
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tokuhisa discloses wherein the vibration member (321) comprises at least one or more holes (35, 36) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes, the motivation being to provide sound-passing parts through which the sound waves generated in the first space S1 are passed to the second space S2, and as a result, the sound waves generated are released in a favorable manner from the sound path (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0137).
Regarding claim 11, Kakinuma-Tokuhisa discloses the sound apparatus of claim 10, and Tokuhisa discloses wherein the at least one or more holes are disposed closer to the vibration apparatus than the coupling member (Fig. 1: holes are under the edge of vibration apparatus 322, which is closer to 322 than to the portion of 321 near 34).
The teachings of Tokuhisa relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Tokuhisa for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 10 rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose
wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes, and
wherein the at least one or more holes do not overlap the opening part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tokuhisa discloses
wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes (35, 36) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes, which would also result in: wherein the at least one or more holes do not overlap the opening part (since the opening part 6 of Kakinuma is under the center of 1 of Kakinuma whereas the holes (35 and 36 of Tokuhisa) are at the edges of 1 of Kakinuma), the motivation being to provide sound-passing parts through which the sound waves generated in the first space S1 are passed to the second space S2, and as a result, the sound waves generated are released in a favorable manner from the sound path (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0137).
Claim(s) 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Lee (US 2020/0379508) hereinafter Lee508.
Regarding claim 17, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose further comprising a connection member connected to the enclosure,
wherein the connection member is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface of the enclosure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses further comprising a connection member (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “connection member” can be e.g., the outermost adhesive layer) connected to the enclosure (320) (Fig. 4),
wherein the enclosure comprises an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface (Fig. 4), and
wherein the connection member (outermost adhesive layer of 323) is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface (surface of 320 that is between 321 and 410) of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 18, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 17, and Lee508 discloses wherein the connection member (outermost adhesive layer of 232) comprises a material which differs from a material of the protection member (Kakinuma Fig. 6: depiction of 9A implies that it is not adhesive).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 19, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose further comprising a connection member connected to the enclosure,
wherein the connection member is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface of the enclosure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses further comprising a soft member (323) connected to the enclosure (320) (Fig. 4) (¶ 0065: 323 “may be made of a material having elasticity to be compressed at a certain level” which indicates softness),
wherein the enclosure (320) comprises an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface, and
wherein the soft member (323) is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface (surface of 320 that is between 321 and 410) of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 19 rejection.
Regarding claim 20, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 17, and Lee508 discloses further comprising a coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) configured to couple the enclosure to a mount object (400) with the enclosure mounted thereon (Fig. 4) (¶ 0065),
wherein the coupling part comprises a hollow part (321) connected to the internal space (RS1) through the opening part of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, and Lee508 discloses wherein the coupling part comprises a hook member (324) coupled to the inner surface of the enclosure in the internal space (Fig. 4), and
wherein the coupling part is accommodated into the opening part (Fig. 4: opening part (i.e. portion of 320 that surround the vertical portion of 320) surrounds and thus accommodates within it the vertical portion of 320) and a hole (410) of the mount object (400).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 22, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, and Lee508 discloses wherein the enclosure further comprises:
a protrusion part (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “protrusion part” can be e.g., the middle layer) protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 23, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 22, and Lee508 discloses wherein the coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) comprises a hook member (324) coupled to the inner surface of the enclosure in the internal space (Fig. 4),
wherein the protrusion part comprises a hollow hole (middle layer of 323 circularly surrounds 312 thus defining a hollow hole) connected to the opening part (Fig. 4), and
wherein the coupling part is accommodated into a hole (410) of the mount object (400), the hollow hole (see discussed above), and the opening part (see discussed in claim 14 rejection) (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 24, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14, wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises:
an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6);
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose a protrusion part protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part; and
a coupling part coupled to the protrusion part and including a hollow part connected to the internal space through the protrusion part and the opening part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses wherein the enclosure comprises:
an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface (Fig. 4);
a protrusion part (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “protrusion part” can be e.g., the middle layer) protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part (discussed in claim 14 rejection) (Fig. 4); and
a coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) coupled to the protrusion part (Fig. 4) and including a hollow part (321) connected to the internal space through the protrusion part and the opening part (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Regarding claim 25, Kakinuma-Lee508 discloses sound apparatus of claim 24, and Lee508 discloses wherein the protrusion part comprises a hollow hole (middle layer of 323 circularly surrounds 312 thus defining a hollow hole) connected to the opening part (Fig. 4),
wherein the coupling part comprises:
a hollow member (vertical portion of 320 located between 321 and 410) accommodated into and coupled to the hollow hole (Fig. 4), the hollow member including the hollow part (321) (Fig. 4); and
a latch member (324) connected to the hollow member (Fig. 4), and
wherein the latch member is configured to be coupled to a mount object (400) equipped with the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Claim(s) 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0069194) hereinafter Lee194.
Regarding claim 27, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 26.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member at the first electrode part; and
a second cover member at the second electrode part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee194 discloses wherein a vibration apparatus (Fig. 4) comprises one or more vibration generators (210 and 230), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4),
wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member (213) at the first electrode part (¶ 0160-0161); and
a second cover member (215) at the second electrode part (¶ 0160-0161) (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) with the vibration apparatus (Fig. 4 of Lee194),
which would result in:
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators, and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member at the first electrode part; and
a second cover member at the second electrode part,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (5 of Kakinuma) for another vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (100) (Fig. 6B and ¶ 0092 of Lee194) to obtain predictable results of a vibration apparatus to vibrate a plate. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 28, Kakinuma-Lee194 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 27, and Lee194 discloses wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise a signal supply member (PL1, PL2, 217, and 219) electrically connected to the first electrode part and the second electrode part (see Figs. 3-4 and ¶ 0172, 0174, 0180), and
wherein a portion (PL1 and PL2) of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member and the second cover member (see Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee194 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee194 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 27 rejection.
Regarding claim 29, Kakinuma discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator and a second vibration generator stacked on each other, and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee194 discloses wherein a vibration apparatus (Fig. 4) comprises one or more vibration generators (210 and 230), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4),
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator (210) and a second vibration generator (230) stacked on each other (see Fig. 4), and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) with the vibration apparatus (Fig. 4 of Lee194),
which would result in:
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators, and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator and a second vibration generator stacked on each other, and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (5 of Kakinuma) for another vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (100) (Fig. 6B and ¶ 0092 of Lee194) to obtain predictable results of a vibration apparatus to vibrate a plate. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 30, Kakinuma-Lee194 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 29, wherein the vibration apparatus further comprises an intermediate member (250) connected between the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator (see Fig. 4), and
wherein the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator are displaced in a same direction (see Fig. 6B and ¶ 0195).
The teachings of Lee194 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee194 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 29 rejection.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Ryan (US 2009/0110229).
Regarding claim 31, Kakinuma disclose the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space; and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space,
wherein the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the sound apparatus of claim 1.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ryan discloses a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space (surface of automobile trunk); and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses (speaker) disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space (¶ 0002),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: substitute the speaker of Ryan with the sound generating apparatus of Kakinuma,
which would result in:
a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space; and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space,
wherein the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the sound apparatus of claim 1,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one sound generating apparatus for another to obtain predictable results of an apparatus for generating sound. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Conclusion
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692