DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 4/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 26, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma et al. (JP H10-108297 using an English machine translation) in view of Kamitani et al. (US 2015/0003646) and as evidenced by Yoshida et al. (US 2011/0297424). See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Regarding claim 1, Kakinuma discloses a sound apparatus, comprising:
a sound generating module (7);
an enclosure (9B) disposed at a rear surface of the sound generating module with an internal space therebetween (see Fig. 6); and
a protection member (9A) disposed at the sound generating module (see Fig. 6); and
a coupling member (8) (see Fig. 6),
wherein the sound generating module (7) comprises:
a vibration member (5); and
a vibration apparatus (1) configured at the vibration member (see Fig. 6),
wherein the protection member (9A) contacts
wherein the coupling member (8) is between the enclosure (9B) and the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6) and is in contact with the enclosure and the vibration member (see Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member contacts the vibration apparatus and the vibration member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kamitani discloses completely embedding a vibration apparatus (piezoelectric element 5) in a resin layer 7 by configuring the resin layer to contact the vibration apparatus (5), the vibration member (3), and the sidewalls (2) of a frame in the manner shown in Fig. 1B, in order to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: completely embed the vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) in a resin layer (7 of Kamitani) by:
(a) configuring the resin layer to contact the vibration apparatus (1 of Kamitani), the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma), and the sidewalls of the case (9A of Kakinuma), in which case the claimed “protection member” can be (i) the resin layer 7 of Kamitani, or (ii) the combination of the resin layer 7 of Kamitani and the case 9A of Kakinuma, or
(b) substituting the protection member (9A of Kakinuma) with that of Kamitani (7 and upper half of 2 of Kamitani), in which case the claimed “protection member” can be (i) the resin layer 7 of Kamitani, or (ii) the combination of the resin layer 7 of Kamitani and the sidewall 2 of Kamitani,
and each of (a)(i), (a)(ii), (b)(i), and (b)(ii) would result in: wherein the protection member contacts the vibration apparatus and the vibration member,
the motivation being to induce an adequate dumping effect to moderate the resonance phenomenon, thereby obtaining an effect that the peaks and dips in the frequency characteristic of the sound pressure can be moderated to be small (Kamitani - ¶ 0044).
Kakinuma-Kamitani does not explicitly disclose wherein an adhesive force of the protection member in contact with the vibration apparatus and the vibration member and an adhesive force of the coupling member in contact with the vibration member are different.
However, Kamitani discloses that the protection member in contact with the vibration apparatus and the vibration member (i.e. 7 of the protection member) is epoxy-based resin (¶ 0043) and Kakinuma discloses that the coupling member in contact with the vibration member (i.e. 8 of the coupling member) is silicone resin (¶ 0031, 0041).
Additionally, Yoshida discloses that an inherent characteristic of the adhesive force of epoxy resin and silicone resin is that they are different (¶ 0036).
Therefore, as evidenced by Yoshida, an adhesive force of the protection member (epoxy-based resin) in contact with the vibration apparatus and the vibration member and an adhesive force of the coupling member (silicone resin) in contact with the vibration member are different. See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Regarding claim 3, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protection member (7 and 2 of Kamitani) has a same size as a size of the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) (the way that 7 and 2 has a same size as 3 in Fig. 1B of Kamitani).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 4, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the vibration apparatus comprises:
a first vibration apparatus (a second of element 1) configured at a first surface (5b) of the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6 and ¶ 0006-0007: bimorph version includes a second of element 1 on 5b); and
a second vibration apparatus (1) configured at a second surface (5a) different from the first surface of the vibration member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the enclosure (9B) is connected to the first surface (5b) of the vibration member (Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses wherein the protection member (7 of Kamitani) contacts the second surface (5a of Kakinuma) of the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) and the second vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) (in the manner shown in Fig. 1B of Kamitani).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 6, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, and Kakinuma discloses
wherein the enclosure (9B) is connected to the first surface (5b) of the vibration member (5) (Fig. 6), and
wherein the protection member (5 of Kamitani; or 5 of Kamitani and 9A of Kakinuma) is configured to cover the second surface (5a) of the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) and the second vibration apparatus (1) (Fig. 6).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 7, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, wherein the protection member (7 and 2 of Kamitani) has a same size as a size of the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) (the way that 7 and 2 has a same size as 3 in Fig. 1B of Kamitani), or
wherein the protection member (7 of Kamitani and 9A of Kakinuma) has a size which is greater than a size of the second vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) and is smaller than a size of the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) (see Fig. 6 of Kakinuma).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 9, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the coupling member comprises a material which differs from a material of the protection member (already discussed in claim 1 rejection).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 12, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the vibration member comprises a metal material, or comprises a single nonmetal material or a composite nonmetal material of one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, carbon, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, mirror, and leather (¶ 0024: metal).
Regarding claim 13, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the vibration member is disposed to cover the internal space of the enclosure (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the enclosure comprises an opening part (6) connected to the internal space (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the internal space of the enclosure comprises a space (space between 5b and 9B) connected to the opening part (6) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 26, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, and Kakinuma discloses wherein the vibration apparatus (1) comprises one or more vibration generators (1), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (2) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0005);
a first electrode part (4) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0008); and
a second electrode part (3) at a second surface (¶ 0008) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 32, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protection member (7 of Kamitani) is formed entirely of one material (Kamitani - ¶ 0043: epoxy-based resin), and
wherein the protection member contacting the vibration member (5 of Kakinuma) has a portion that overlaps at least a portion of the coupling member (8 of Kakinuma) that is interposed between the enclosure and the vibration member (when the 7 of Kamitani is filled inside of 9A of Kakinuma, 7 will go to the vertical walls of 9A the way it goes to the vertical walls 2 in Fig. 1B of Kamitani, and the portion at the vertical walls of 9A will overlap with 8 as evident from looking at Fig. 6 of Kakinuma).
The teachings of Kamitani relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani in view of Kakegawa (WO 2005/006809 using an English machine translation), and as evidenced by Yoshida.
Regarding claim 8, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member comprises a rubber material, or comprises ethylene propylene diene monomer, ethylene propylene rubber, or urethane rubber.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kakegawa discloses a housing made of rubber in order to prevent vibration from the vibration apparatus from being transmitted to the outside (page 11, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the housing (9) of Kakinuma of rubber, which would result in: wherein the protection member (which includes 9A of Kakinuma) comprises a rubber material, or comprises ethylene propylene diene monomer, ethylene propylene rubber, or urethane rubber, the motivation being to prevent vibration from the vibration apparatus from being transmitted to the outside (Kakegawa - page 11, lines 21-27).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 15, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani in view of Tokuhisa et al. (US 2016/0183006), and as evidenced by Yoshida.
Regarding claim 10, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1,
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tokuhisa discloses wherein the vibration member (321) comprises at least one or more holes (35, 36, 37) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the vibrator of Kakinuma-Kamitani (which can be considered the combination of 5 and 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani, according to ¶ 0043 of Kamitani) to comprise at least one or more holes, meaning the holes would penetrate both 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani the way they penetrate 321 of Tokuhisa,
which would result in: wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes,
the motivation being to provide sound-passing parts through which the sound waves generated in the first space S1 are passed to the second space S2, and as a result, the sound waves generated are released to the second space in a favorable manner from the sound path (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0137) and/or to adjust/tune low-pitch sound frequency characteristics (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0142).
Regarding claim 11, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Tokuhisa discloses the sound apparatus of claim 10, and Tokuhisa discloses wherein the at least one or more holes are disposed closer to the vibration apparatus than the coupling member (Fig. 1: holes 35, 36 are under the edge of vibration apparatus 322, which is closer to 322 than to the portion of 321 near 34).
The teachings of Tokuhisa relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Tokuhisa for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 10 rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose
wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes, and
wherein the at least one or more holes do not overlap the opening part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tokuhisa discloses wherein the vibration member (321) comprises at least one or more holes (35, 36, 37) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the vibrator of Kakinuma-Kamitani (which can be considered the combination of 5 and 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani, according to ¶ 0043 of Kamitani) to comprise at least one or more holes, meaning the holes would penetrate both 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani the way they penetrate 321 of Tokuhisa,
which would result in:
wherein the vibration member comprises at least one or more holes,
wherein the at least one or more holes do not overlap the opening part (since the opening part 6 of Kakinuma is under the center of 1 of Kakinuma whereas the holes (35 and 36 of Tokuhisa) are at the edges of 1 of Kakinuma),
the motivation being to provide sound-passing parts through which the sound waves generated in the first space S1 are passed to the second space S2, and as a result, the sound waves generated are released in a favorable manner from the sound path (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0137) and/or to adjust/tune low-pitch sound frequency characteristics (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0142).
Regarding claim 33, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose wherein the protection member further includes a hole penetrating through the protection member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tokuhisa discloses wherein the vibration member (321) comprises at least one or more holes (35, 36, 37) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the vibrator of Kakinuma-Kamitani (which can be considered the combination of 5 and 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani, according to ¶ 0043 of Kamitani) to comprise at least one or more holes, meaning the holes would penetrate both 1 of Kakinuma and 7 of Kamitani the way they penetrate 321 of Tokuhisa,
which would result in: wherein the protection member further includes a hole penetrating through the protection member,
the motivation being to provide sound-passing parts through which the sound waves generated in the first space S1 are passed to the second space S2, and as a result, the sound waves generated are released in a favorable manner from the sound path (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0137) and/or to adjust/tune low-pitch sound frequency characteristics (Tokuhisa - ¶ 0142).
Claim(s) 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani in view of Lee (US 2020/0379508) hereinafter Lee508, and as evidenced by Yoshida.
Regarding claim 17, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose further comprising a connection member connected to the enclosure,
wherein the connection member is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface of the enclosure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses further comprising a connection member (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “connection member” can be e.g., the outermost adhesive layer) connected to the enclosure (320) (Fig. 4),
wherein the enclosure comprises an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface (Fig. 4), and
wherein the connection member (outermost adhesive layer of 323) is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface (surface of 320 that is between 321 and 410) of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 18, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 17, and Lee508 discloses wherein the connection member (outermost adhesive layer of 232) comprises a material which differs from a material of the protection member (Kakinuma Fig. 6: depiction of 9A implies that it is not adhesive).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 19, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6), and
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose further comprising a connection member connected to the enclosure,
wherein the connection member is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface of the enclosure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses further comprising a soft member (323) connected to the enclosure (320) (Fig. 4) (¶ 0065: 323 “may be made of a material having elasticity to be compressed at a certain level” which indicates softness),
wherein the enclosure (320) comprises an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface, and
wherein the soft member (323) is connected to a periphery of the opening part in the outer surface (surface of 320 that is between 321 and 410) of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 19 rejection.
Regarding claim 20, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 17, and Lee508 discloses further comprising a coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) configured to couple the enclosure to a mount object (400) with the enclosure mounted thereon (Fig. 4) (¶ 0065),
wherein the coupling part comprises a hollow part (321) connected to the internal space (RS1) through the opening part of the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, and Lee508 discloses wherein the coupling part comprises a hook member (324) coupled to the inner surface of the enclosure in the internal space (Fig. 4), and
wherein the coupling part is accommodated into the opening part (Fig. 4: opening part (i.e. portion of 320 that surround the vertical portion of 320) surrounds and thus accommodates within it the vertical portion of 320) and a hole (410) of the mount object (400).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 22, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, and Lee508 discloses wherein the enclosure further comprises:
a protrusion part (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “protrusion part” can be e.g., the middle layer) protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 23, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 22, and Lee508 discloses wherein the coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) comprises a hook member (324) coupled to the inner surface of the enclosure in the internal space (Fig. 4),
wherein the protrusion part comprises a hollow hole (middle layer of 323 circularly surrounds 312 thus defining a hollow hole) connected to the opening part (Fig. 4), and
wherein the coupling part is accommodated into a hole (410) of the mount object (400), the hollow hole (see discussed above), and the opening part (see discussed in claim 14 rejection) (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 17 rejection.
Regarding claim 24, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 14, wherein the enclosure (9B) comprises:
an inner surface facing the vibration member (5) and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see Fig. 6);
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose a protrusion part protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part; and
a coupling part coupled to the protrusion part and including a hollow part connected to the internal space through the protrusion part and the opening part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee508 discloses an enclosure (320) having a structure (see structure of 320 between 321 and 410) that forms a port hole (321), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel (400) via a coupling portion (324) and a coupling member (323) (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the enclosure (9B of Kakinuma) to have said structure of Lee508 at the hole (6 of Kakinuma), where said structure enables the enclosure to be coupled to a panel via a coupling portion (324 of Lee508) and a coupling member (323 of Lee508), the motivation being to provide a way to couple the sound apparatus of Kakinuma to a panel (Lee508 - Fig. 4 and ¶ 0065).
Additionally, Lee508 discloses wherein the enclosure comprises:
an inner surface (surface of 320 that is above 310) facing the vibration member (of 310) and an outer surface (surface of 320 that contacts 400 and 323) opposite to the inner surface (Fig. 4);
a protrusion part (¶ 0065: 323 can be double-sided tape, which has 3 layers (i.e. a middle between 2 adhesive layers), and the claimed “protrusion part” can be e.g., the middle layer) protruding from the outer surface of the enclosure to surround the opening part (discussed in claim 14 rejection) (Fig. 4); and
a coupling part (324 in combination with the vertical portion of 320 that is located between 321 and 410) coupled to the protrusion part (Fig. 4) and including a hollow part (321) connected to the internal space through the protrusion part and the opening part (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Regarding claim 25, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 discloses sound apparatus of claim 24, and Lee508 discloses wherein the protrusion part comprises a hollow hole (middle layer of 323 circularly surrounds 312 thus defining a hollow hole) connected to the opening part (Fig. 4),
wherein the coupling part comprises:
a hollow member (vertical portion of 320 located between 321 and 410) accommodated into and coupled to the hollow hole (Fig. 4), the hollow member including the hollow part (321) (Fig. 4); and
a latch member (324) connected to the hollow member (Fig. 4), and
wherein the latch member is configured to be coupled to a mount object (400) equipped with the enclosure (Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee508 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee508 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Claim(s) 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0069194) hereinafter Lee194, and as evidenced by Yoshida.
Regarding claim 27, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 26.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member at the first electrode part; and
a second cover member at the second electrode part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee194 discloses wherein a vibration apparatus (Fig. 4) comprises one or more vibration generators (210 and 230), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4),
wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member (213) at the first electrode part (¶ 0160-0161); and
a second cover member (215) at the second electrode part (¶ 0160-0161) (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) with the vibration apparatus (Fig. 4 of Lee194),
which would result in:
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators, and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise:
a first cover member at the first electrode part; and
a second cover member at the second electrode part,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (5 of Kakinuma) for another vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (100) (Fig. 6B and ¶ 0092 of Lee194) to obtain predictable results of a vibration apparatus to vibrate a plate. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 28, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee194 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 27, and Lee194 discloses wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise a signal supply member (PL1, PL2, 217, and 219) electrically connected to the first electrode part and the second electrode part (see Figs. 3-4 and ¶ 0172, 0174, 0180), and
wherein a portion (PL1 and PL2) of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member and the second cover member (see Fig. 4).
The teachings of Lee194 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee194 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 27 rejection.
Regarding claim 29, Kakinuma-Kamitani discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator and a second vibration generator stacked on each other, and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee194 discloses wherein a vibration apparatus (Fig. 4) comprises one or more vibration generators (210 and 230), and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4),
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator (210) and a second vibration generator (230) stacked on each other (see Fig. 4), and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part (211a) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0140);
a first electrode part (211b) at a first surface of the vibration part (¶ 0140); and
a second electrode part (211c) at a second surface (¶ 0140) different from the first surface of the vibration part (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration apparatus (1 of Kakinuma) with the vibration apparatus (Fig. 4 of Lee194),
which would result in:
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators, and
wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a first vibration generator and a second vibration generator stacked on each other, and
wherein each of the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator comprises:
a vibration part including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part; and
a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (5 of Kakinuma) for another vibration apparatus for vibrating a plate (100) (Fig. 6B and ¶ 0092 of Lee194) to obtain predictable results of a vibration apparatus to vibrate a plate. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 30, Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee194 discloses the sound apparatus of claim 29, and Lee194 discloses wherein the vibration apparatus further comprises an intermediate member (250) connected between the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator (see Fig. 4), and
wherein the first vibration generator and the second vibration generator are displaced in a same direction (see Fig. 6B and ¶ 0195).
The teachings of Lee194 relied upon above are combinable with Kakinuma-Kamitani-Lee194 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 29 rejection.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakinuma in view of Kamitani in view of Ryan (US 2009/0110229), and as evidenced by Yoshida.
Regarding claim 31, Kakinuma-Kamitani disclose the sound apparatus of claim 1.
Kakinuma-Kamitani is not relied upon to disclose a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space; and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space,
wherein the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the sound apparatus of claim 1.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ryan discloses a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space (surface of automobile trunk); and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses (speaker) disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space (¶ 0002),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: substitute the speaker of Ryan with the sound generating apparatus of Kakinuma,
which would result in:
a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
an interior material exposed at an interior space; and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the interior space,
wherein the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the sound apparatus of claim 1,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one sound generating apparatus for another to obtain predictable results of an apparatus for generating sound. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks: page 11) that:
“However, Kamitani lacks whether the frame body 2 is attached to the vibrator 3 by a coupling member.
Meanwhile, even though an adhesive 8 is provided in Kakinuma, there is no disclosure of the adhesive forces for the adhesive 8 or the resin 5.
Thus, Kakinuma and Kamitani fail to disclose or suggest an adhesive force of the protection member in contact with the vibration apparatus and the vibration member and an adhesive force of the coupling member in contact with the vibration member are different, as recited in claim 1.”
In response, the examiner submits that even though Kakinuma and Kamitani do not explicitly disclose adhesive force for the adhesive 8 of Kakinuma and resin 7 of Kamitani, it is disclosed that adhesive 8 is silicone resin (Kakinuma - ¶ 0031, 0041) and resin 7 is epoxy-based resin (Kamitani - ¶ 0043). Additionally, Yoshida discloses that an inherent characteristic of the adhesive force of epoxy resin and silicone resin is that they are different (¶ 0036). Thus, Yoshida is relied upon, in accordance with MPEP § 2131.01.III, for providing extrinsic evidence that an adhesive force of the protection member in contact with the vibration apparatus and the vibration member and an adhesive force of the coupling member in contact with the vibration member are different.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692