DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5,8,9,11,12,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192).
Regarding claim 1, Higa et al. teach A method for non-contact detection, comprising:
providing a semiconductor device, (Note Fig. 2) the semiconductor device having an epitaxial stack,( [0174] Each refractive index layer of the first multilayer film reflector 103 includes, for example, an AlGaAs-based compound semiconductor of the first conductivity type. The first multilayer film reflector 103 is also called a “lower DBR”.
[0175] The active layer 104 has a quantum well structure including a barrier layer including, for example, an AlGaAs-based compound semiconductor, and a quantum well layer. This quantum well structure may be a single quantum well structure (QW structure) or a multiple quantum well structure (MQW structure).) a first electrode, (Note 108, Fig. 2) and a second electrode,(Note 108, Fig. 2) wherein the first electrode and the second electrode being connected to the epitaxial stack;(Note all elements of Fig. 2 are connected to each other)
Higa et al. does not teach applying a microwave to the first electrode to cause the semiconductor device to emit light; and
detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device.
Simpson et al. teach applying a microwave to the first electrode to cause the semiconductor device to emit light; (Note magnetron 12, Note column 2, lines 14-24) and
detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device. (Note photodetector 112, column 4, lines 30-35)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of applying a microwave to the first electrode of Higa et al. and detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device of Higa et al. to detect the ignition of the lamp, and to send a signal to controller which in turn activates solenoid coil 108 for moving the solenoid plunger to the outer position. (Note Simpson et al. column 4, lines 26-26)
Regarding claim 8, Higa et al. teach A non-contact detection system, comprising:
a semiconductor device having a first electrode (Note 108, Fig. 2) and a second electrode (Note 108, Fig. 2);
Higa et al. does not teach a microwave device for applying a microwave to the semiconductor device to cause the semiconductor device to emit light; and
a light collecting device for detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device.
Simpson et al. teach a microwave device for applying a microwave to the semiconductor device to cause the semiconductor device to emit light; (Note magnetron 12, Note column 2, lines 14-24) and
a light collecting device for detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device. (Note photodetector 112, column 4, lines 30-35)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of applying a microwave to the first electrode of Higa et al. and detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device of Higa et al. to detect the ignition of the lamp, and to send a signal to controller which in turn activates solenoid coil 108 for moving the solenoid plunger to the outer position. (Note Simpson et al. column 4, lines 26-26)
Regarding claim 5, Higa et al. does not teach providing a microwave device having a waveguide tube, and the microwave is applied to the first electrode by the waveguide tube.
Simpson et al. teach providing a microwave device having a waveguide tube, and the microwave is applied to the first electrode by the waveguide tube. (Note column 2, lines14-15)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of providing a microwave device having a waveguide tube, and the microwave is applied to the first electrode by the waveguide tube to feed the microwave energy to the lamp via the cavity. (Note column 2, lines14-15)
Regarding claim 9, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the microwave device comprises a waveguide element.
Simpson et al. teach wherein the microwave device comprises a waveguide element. (Note column 2, lines14-15)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of wherein the microwave device comprises a waveguide element to feed the microwave energy to the lamp via the cavity. (Note column 2, lines14-15)
Regarding claim 11, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the microwave device and the light collecting device overlap in a vertical direction.
Simpson et al. teach a microwave device (48) and the light collecting device. (112, Fig. 9)
Simpson et al. is silent wherein the microwave device and the light collecting device overlap in a vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the location of the microwave device and light collecting device to overlap taught by Xu et al. since it has been held where the where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to rearrange parts In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of wherein the microwave device and the light collecting overlap in a vertical direction to meet the design specifications of the manufacturer.
Regarding claim 12, Higa et al. wherein the microwave device (48) and the light collecting (112, Fig. 9) device do not overlap in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 13, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the waveguide element comprises a waveguide tube.
Simpson et al. teach wherein the waveguide element comprises a waveguide tube. (Note column 2, lines 14-15)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include the teaching of wherein the waveguide element comprises a waveguide tube to feed the microwave energy to the lamp via the cavity. (Note column 2, lines14-15)
Regarding claim 14, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the waveguide tube comprises an extension line, and an incident angle is defined as an angle between the extension line of the waveguide tube and the first electrode, and the incident angle ranges from 450 to 1350.
Simpson et al. teach wherein the waveguide tube comprises an extension line, (Note column 4, lines 60-65 )and an incident angle is defined as an angle between the extension line of the waveguide tube and the first electrode, and the incident angle ranges from 450 to 1350.
Regarding claim 18, Higa et al. teach wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed on opposite sides of the epitaxial stack. (Note electrodes 108 of Fig. 2 are located on the left side and the right side of the epitaxial stack.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Hung-Wen (US 20220216370).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the semiconductor device is a light-emitting diode.
Hung-Wen teach wherein the semiconductor device is a light-emitting diode. (Note led flip chip 10, par. 0076)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al.to include the teaching of wherein the semiconductor device is a light-emitting diode to utilize a device than a requires less energy than a standard bulb.
Claims 3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20170179097).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the second electrode is grounded.
Zhang et al. teach wherein the second electrode is grounded.( The n-contact that is associated with the n-layer of each LED is connected to a ground contact 114 via an electrode 217.) Note par. 0048.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of wherein the second electrode is grounded to maintaining consistent voltage levels and preventing fluctuations.
Regarding claim 6, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the semiconductor device is a wafer having a plurality of light-emitting diodes.
Zhang et al. teach wherein the semiconductor device is a wafer having a plurality of light-emitting diodes. ([0033] FIG. 2A is a cross-sectional view of a first LED wafer 200R, which includes an array of red LEDs 210R fabricated on a substrate 202R.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of the semiconductor device is a wafer having a plurality of light-emitting diodes to provide multipe light emitting diodes on a single substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the microwave is applied to the plurality of light-emitting diodes, and the lights emitted from the plurality of light-emitting diodes are detected.
Simpson et al. teach the microwave is applied to the lamp (Note magnetron 12, Note column 2, lines 14-24) and the lights emitted from lamp is detected. (Note photodetector 112, column 4, lines 30-35)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of applying a microwave to the first electrode of Higa et al. and detecting the light emitted from the semiconductor device of Higa et al. to detect the ignition of the lamp, and to send a signal to controller which in turn activates solenoid coil 108 for moving the solenoid plunger to the outer position. (Note Simpson et al. column 4, lines 26-26)
Higa et al. as modified by Simpson et al. does not teach a plurality of light emitting diodes.
Zhang et al. teach a plurality of light emitting diodes. ([0033] FIG. 2A is a cross-sectional view of a first LED wafer 200R, which includes an array of red LEDs 210R fabricated on a substrate 202R.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to use plurality light emitting diodes instead of a lamp because it requires less energy.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Wang et al. (US 20230335682).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 19, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed on a same side of the epitaxial stack.
Wang et al. teach wherein the first electrode (510, Fig. 9, par. 102) and the second electrode (510, Fig. 9, par. 102) are disposed on a same side of the epitaxial stack (In particular, an epitaxial layer 200 is arranged on the surface of the substrate 100, and the epitaxial layer 200 comprises an N-type semiconductive layer 210, a light-emitting layer 220 and a P-type semiconductive layer 230 arranged on the surface of the substrate 100 layer by layer.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed on a same side of the epitaxial stack to satisfy structural specifications of set forth by the manufacturer.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Stowell et al. (US 20150348757).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the microwave comprising a frequency ranging from 2 GHz to 6 GHz and a wavelength ranging from 1.5 μm to 10 μm.
Stowell et al. teach wherein the microwave comprising a frequency ranging from 2 GHz to 6 GHz (Note claim 17) and a wavelength (Note claim 18) ranging from 1.5 μm to 10 μm.
Stowell et al. is silent on the wavelength ranging from 1.5 μm to 10 μm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the wavelength taught by Stowell et al. to range from 1.5 μm to 10 μm since it has been held where the where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to test for particular wavelengths of operation and identification of various conditions under which certain wavelength result in any difference in the results.
Regarding claim 20, Higa et al. does not teach a shielding element between the semiconductor device and the microwave device.
Stowell et al. teach a shielding element between the semiconductor device and the microwave device. (Note conductive shield 122, par. 0030)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of a shielding element between the semiconductor device and the microwave device to protect the microwave device from damage.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Knapp et al. (US 20150382424).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Higa et al. does not teach a signal-amplifying device electrically connected to the light collecting device.
Knapp et al. teach a signal-amplifying device (145, Fig. 20) electrically connected to the light collecting device (photo detector 128, Fig. 20) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. Wen to include the teaching of a signal-amplifying device electrically connected to the light collecting device to convert the current of the photodetector to voltage to be utilized by other components in the circuit.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Lin et al. (US 20230184819).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 16, Higa et al. does not teach an optical splitter coupling to the light collecting device.
Lin et al. teach an optical splitter (224, par. 0031 and Fig. 4a) coupling to the light collecting device (230, par. 0031 and Fig. 4A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of an optical splitter coupling to the light collecting device to enables the division of optical signals into multiple paths for tasks such as routing, amplification, and data manipulation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Bang (US 20250258214).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Higa et al. does not teach a stage for placing the semiconductor device, wherein the light collecting device is disposed above the stage.
Bang teach a stage (530, for placing the semiconductor device, wherein the light collecting device (600, Fig. 1) is disposed above the stage.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of a stage for placing the semiconductor device, wherein the light collecting device is disposed above the stage to hold the device that is being tested.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higa et al. (US 20260121376) in view of Simpson et al. (US 4887192) further in view of Stowell et al. (US 20150348757) further in view of Yamashita et al. (US 20100291319).
Higa et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 21, Higa et al. does not teach wherein the shielding element is a quartz plate.
Yamashita et al. teach wherein the shielding element is a quartz plate. (Note par. 0027, The plasma processing apparatus 100 further includes a microwave antenna 5 coupled to the ceiling plate 4 and a quartz plate which is made of high purity quartz and is provided between a bottom surface of the cylindrical portion 4a and a bottom wall 2b of the processing container 2 to shield the bottom wall 2b from the processing space 1.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higa et al. to include the teaching of the shielding element is a quartz plate to shield the bottom wall from the processing space. (Note Yamashita et al. par. (0027)
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858