Detailed Action
Office Action is in response to the instant Application 18/745,255 filed on 6/17/2024 and Preliminary Amendments filed on 9/27/2024. Claims 1-20 were cancelled and claims 21-40 were added in the Preliminary Amendment. Claims 21-40 are pending. This Office Action is Non-Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 31 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,648. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant Application are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,015,648. See Table Below:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,015,648
21. (New) A computer-implemented method for remediating vendor non-compliance with information and security criteria, the method comprising:
automatically evaluating, by at least one computing device comparing a predetermined standard or threshold of at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria with vendor information obtained from at least one other computing device, that a vendor is not compliant with the information and security criteria;
automatically determining, by at least one computing device, remedial action which, when completed, would bring the vendor in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria;
automatically receiving, by at least one computing device from at least one other computing device, information representing the remedial action had been completed;
automatically determining, by at least one computing device as a function of the information representing the completion of the remedial action, the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria;
automatically generating, by at least one computing device, a report representing the vendor being in compliance with the information and security criteria; and
automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device to at least one other computing device, the report.
31. (New) A computer-implemented system for remediating vendor non-compliance with information and security criteria, the system comprising: at lone computing device configured to execute programming instructions stored on non- transitory processor readable media which, when executed, configure the at least one computing device to:
automatically evaluate by comparing a predetermined standard or threshold of at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria with vendor information obtained from at least one other computing device, that a vendor is not compliant with the information and security criteria;
automatically determine remedial action which, when completed, would bring the vendor in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria; automatically receive from at least one other computing device, information representing the remedial action had been completed;
automatically determine, as a function of the information representing the completion of the remedial action, the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria;
automatically generate a report representing the vendor being in compliance with the information and security criteria; and automatically transmit to at least one other computing device the report.
1. A computer-implemented method to monitor and determine vendor compliance with information and security criteria, the method comprising:
automatically evaluating, by at least one computing device, the compliance of each of a plurality of vendors that provide a good and/or service with the information and security criteria, wherein the evaluating includes comparing a predetermined standard or threshold of at least one respective aspect of the information and security criteria and at least some of the information obtained from a plurality of remotely located computing devices;
See Dependent claims 2 and 3 below
See Dependent claims 2 and 3 below
automatically providing, by at least one computing device via a graphical user interface, selectable options including vendor information representing each of the plurality of vendors, wherein the vendor information represents at least one change to a respective vendor account and a representation of risk associated with the at least one change;
automatically providing, by at least one computing device in response to receiving a selection of one of the selectable options, compliance information representing at least one respective aspect of the information and security criteria;
determining, by at least one computing device based at least on an evaluation of the respective aspect, whether the vendor is in compliance or is out of compliance with the information and security criteria;
and automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device to a remotely located computing device, a report identifying that the vendor is in compliance or out of compliance with the information and security criteria.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: where the vendor is determined to be out of compliance with the information and security criteria: determining, by at least one computing device, at least one remedial action to bring the vendor in compliance with the at least one aspect.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: identifying, by at least one computing device, that the at least one remedial action has been taken; determining, by at least one computing device that the vendor is in compliance with the information and security criteria; and automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device to a remotely located computing device, a report identifying that the vendor is in compliance with the information and security criteria.
12. A computer-implemented system to monitor and determine vendor compliance with information and security criteria, the system comprising:
at least one computing device configured by executing code to perform steps, including to: automatically evaluate the compliance of each of a plurality of vendors that provide a good and/or service with the information and security criteria, wherein the evaluating includes comparing a predetermined standard or threshold of at least one respective aspect of the information and security criteria and at least some of the information obtained from a plurality of remotely located computing devices; automatically provide via a graphical user interface, selectable options including vendor information representing each of the plurality of vendors, wherein the vendor information represents at least one change to a respective vendor account and a representation of risk associated with the at least one change;
See Dependent Claims 13 and 14 Below
See Dependent Claims 13 and 14 Below
automatically provide, in response to receiving a selection of one of the selectable options, compliance information representing at least one respective aspect of the information and security criteria; determine, based at least on an evaluation of the at least one respective aspect, whether the vendor is in compliance or is out of compliance with the information and security criteria; and automatically transmit, to a remotely located computing device, a report identifying that the vendor is in compliance or out of compliance with the information and security criteria.
13. The computer-implemented system of claim 12, in the event that the at least one computing device determines that the vendor is out of compliance with the information and security criteria: the at least one computing device further configured to determine at least one remedial action to bring the vendor in compliance with the at least one respective aspect.
14. The computer-implemented system of claim 13, further comprising: the at least one computing device further configured to identify that the at least one remedial action has been taken; the at least one computing device further configured to determine that the vendor is in compliance with the information and security criteria; and the at least one computing device further configured to automatically transmit, to a remotely located computing device, a report identifying that the vendor is in compliance with the information and security criteria.
Regarding claims 22-30 and 32-40; claims 22-30 and 32-40 are also rejected under Double Patenting for similar reasons respectively and are dependent on claims 21 and 31 and therefore inherit the rejection from issues of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24-32 and 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimm et al. (US 2019/0312887) in view of Gleichauf et al. (US 9,436,820).
As per claim 21, Grimm teaches a computer-implemented method for remediating vendor non-compliance with information and security criteria, the method comprising: automatically evaluating, by at least one computing device comparing a predetermined standard or threshold of at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria with vendor information obtained from at least one other computing device, that a vendor is not compliant with the information and security criteria (Grimm, Paragraph 0167 recites “As shown in step 1008, the method 1000 may include monitoring the endpoint using any of the techniques described herein including, without limitation, behavioral monitoring, signature-based monitoring (such as detecting malware executing on the endpoint with an antivirus scanner), network traffic monitoring, and any other techniques or combinations of the foregoing suitable for detecting the presence of malware or other compromised conditions on the endpoint.” And Paragraph 0168 recites “As shown in step 1010, the method 1000 may include detecting a compromised state as a result of the monitoring. If no compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may return to step 1008 where monitoring of the endpoint continues using any suitable techniques. When a compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may, in response to the compromised state, proceed to step 1012 for further processing.”);
automatically determining, by at least one computing device, remedial action which, when completed, would bring the vendor in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria (Grimm, Paragraph 0170 recites “As shown in step 1014, the method 1000 may include remediating the endpoint using any suitable techniques. In one aspect, this may include notifying a network device for the enterprise network, such as a gateway, firewall, router, or threat management facility, of the compromised state in order to facilitate management of more general security measures across the enterprise network. This may also or instead include deploying local security measures to identify and address the source of a compromise, such as by scanning the endpoint for affected files. In another aspect, this may include receiving and installing/executing malware removal tools from a threat management facility, or otherwise taking steps alone or in cooperation with other security infrastructure for the enterprise network to remediate the endpoint.”).
But fails to teach automatically receiving, by at least one computing device from at least one other computing device, information representing the remedial action had been completed; automatically determining, by at least one computing device as a function of the information representing the completion of the remedial action, the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria; automatically generating, by at least one computing device, a report representing the vendor being in compliance with the information and security criteria; and automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device to at least one other computing device, the report.
However, in an analogous art Gleichauf teaches automatically receiving, by at least one computing device from at least one other computing device, information representing the remedial action had been completed; automatically determining, by at least one computing device as a function of the information representing the completion of the remedial action, the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria; automatically generating, by at least one computing device, a report representing the vendor being in compliance with the information and security criteria; and automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device to at least one other computing device, the report (Gleichauf, Col. 17 Line 60 – Col. 18 Line11 recites “In another example, assume that a user device 22 establishes a connection with a network resource 25 in the network 24, via the data communications device 26. Further assume that the user device 22 is not deemed by the policy server 28 to be compliant with security policy and is given restricted access to network resources 25 sufficient only to remediate itself. Before the remediation is complete, the user device 22 will respond to posture update queries from the data communications device 22 in a way that indicates no posture change. However, once remediation has completed successfully, the posture agent 30 will indicate that the posture has changed on the next posture update query from the data communications device 26. In such an arrangement, when the data communications device 26 transmits the posture update query to the user device 22, the user device 22 indicates the change in configuration of the operating system and anti-virus application to the data communications device 26 in a query response. When the data communications device reviews the query response and detects the change in posture, the data communications device 26 triggers a full posture credential challenge-response sequence as explained in system operation described in FIG. 1.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to use Gleichauf’s Controlling Access To Resources In A Network with Grimm’s secure endpoint in a heterogenous enterprise network because it offers the advantage of helping inform a network when an entity in the network is safe to communicate with.
As per claim 22, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches wherein the information and security criteria regards at least one of secure network presence, regulatory criteria, intellectual property, data management, policy management, and jurisdictional requirements (Grimm, Paragraph 0167 recites “As shown in step 1008, the method 1000 may include monitoring the endpoint using any of the techniques described herein including, without limitation, behavioral monitoring, signature-based monitoring (such as detecting malware executing on the endpoint with an antivirus scanner), network traffic monitoring, and any other techniques or combinations of the foregoing suitable for detecting the presence of malware or other compromised conditions on the endpoint.” And Paragraph 0168 recites “As shown in step 1010, the method 1000 may include detecting a compromised state as a result of the monitoring. If no compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may return to step 1008 where monitoring of the endpoint continues using any suitable techniques. When a compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may, in response to the compromised state, proceed to step 1012 for further processing.”).
As per claim 24, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches after evaluating the vendor not being in compliance with the information and security criteria, automatically denying the vendor access, by at least one computing device, to at least one data source (Grimm, Paragraph 0169 recites “As shown in step 1012, the method 1000 may include isolating the endpoint. This may, for example, include self-isolating wherein the endpoint restricts communications between the endpoint and one or more other endpoints on the enterprise network, such as one or more other endpoints on a subnet of the enterprise network used by the endpoint, or more generally, other endpoints throughout the enterprise network.”).
As per claim 25, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 24, Grimm further teaches wherein denying the vendor access further comprises at least one of: automatically revoking, by at least one computing device, at least one application programming interface (“API”) key; automatically suspending, by at least one computing device, a domain name server (“DNS”) registration; and automatically disabling, by at least one computing device, at least one computing device’s access to at least one public resource provided by the vendor (Grimm, Paragraph 0169 recites “As shown in step 1012, the method 1000 may include isolating the endpoint. This may, for example, include self-isolating wherein the endpoint restricts communications between the endpoint and one or more other endpoints on the enterprise network, such as one or more other endpoints on a subnet of the enterprise network used by the endpoint, or more generally, other endpoints throughout the enterprise network.”).
As per claim 26, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches after evaluating the vendor not being in compliance with the information and security criteria, automatically providing, by at least one computing device to at least one other computing device, compliance information representing at least one respective aspect of the information and security criteria (Grimm, Paragraph 0167 recites “As shown in step 1008, the method 1000 may include monitoring the endpoint using any of the techniques described herein including, without limitation, behavioral monitoring, signature-based monitoring (such as detecting malware executing on the endpoint with an antivirus scanner), network traffic monitoring, and any other techniques or combinations of the foregoing suitable for detecting the presence of malware or other compromised conditions on the endpoint.” And Paragraph 0168 recites “As shown in step 1010, the method 1000 may include detecting a compromised state as a result of the monitoring. If no compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may return to step 1008 where monitoring of the endpoint continues using any suitable techniques. When a compromised state is detected, the method 1000 may, in response to the compromised state, proceed to step 1012 for further processing.”).
As per claim 27, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 26, Grimm further teaches automatically transmitting, by at least one computing device, a message to a compliance platform, wherein the message includes an indication that an attempt at remediation of the non- compliant status has been undertaken (Grimm, Paragraph 0170 recites “As shown in step 1014, the method 1000 may include remediating the endpoint using any suitable techniques. In one aspect, this may include notifying a network device for the enterprise network, such as a gateway, firewall, router, or threat management facility, of the compromised state in order to facilitate management of more general security measures across the enterprise network. This may also or instead include deploying local security measures to identify and address the source of a compromise, such as by scanning the endpoint for affected files. In another aspect, this may include receiving and installing/executing malware removal tools from a threat management facility, or otherwise taking steps alone or in cooperation with other security infrastructure for the enterprise network to remediate the endpoint.”).
As per claim 28, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches wherein the information from at least one other computing device is obtained on demand, scheduled periodically, or both obtained on demand and scheduled periodically (Grimm, Paragraph 0029 recites “The security management facility 122 may be operable to scan clients 144A-D on machines operating within the enterprise facility 102, or clients 144E-F otherwise managed by the threat management facility 100, for malicious code, to remove or quarantine certain applications and files, to prevent certain actions, to perform remedial actions, and to perform other security measures. In embodiments, scanning the clients 144A-D and/or 144E-F may include scanning some or all of the files stored thereon at any suitable time(s). For example, this may include scanning on a periodic basis, scanning an application when the application is executed, scanning files as the files are transmitted to or from one of the clients 144A-F, or the like. The scanning of the applications and files may be performed to detect known malicious code or known unwanted applications. In general, new malicious code and unwanted applications are continually developed and distributed, and the known code database for the security management facility 122 may be updated on a periodic basis, on an on-demand basis, on an alert basis, or the like.”).
As per claim 29, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches after evaluating the vendor being in compliance with the information and security criteria, automatically enabling, by at least one computing device, the vendor access to at least one data source (Grimm, Paragraph 0171 recites “After any remediation steps have been completed, the endpoint may resume communications with other endpoints (e.g., terminate self-isolation) and return to monitoring for compromised states in step 1008.”).
As per claim 30, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, Grimm further teaches wherein enabling the vendor access further comprises at least one of: automatically providing, by at least one computing device, at least one application programming interface (“API”) key; automatically resuming, by at least one computing device, a domain name server (“DNS”) registration; and automatically enabling, by at least one computing device, at least one computing device’s access to at least one public resource provided by the vendor (Grimm, Paragraph 0171 recites “After any remediation steps have been completed, the endpoint may resume communications with other endpoints (e.g., terminate self-isolation) and return to monitoring for compromised states in step 1008.”).
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 21 respectively. Claim 31 is similar in scope to claim 21, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 22 respectively. Claim 32 is similar in scope to claim 22, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 24 respectively. Claim 34 is similar in scope to claim 24, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 25 respectively. Claim 35 is similar in scope to claim 25, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 26 respectively. Claim 36 is similar in scope to claim 26, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 27 respectively. Claim 37 is similar in scope to claim 27, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 28 respectively. Claim 38 is similar in scope to claim 28, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 29 respectively. Claim 39 is similar in scope to claim 29, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 30 respectively. Claim 40 is similar in scope to claim 30, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 23 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimm et al. (US 2019/0312887) and Gleichauf et al. (US 9,436,820) and in further view of Ripolles Mateu et al. (US 2020/0110882).
As per claim 23, Grimm in combination with Gleichauf teaches the method of claim 21, but fails to teach wherein the information representing the completion of the remedial action is included in a document, and wherein automatically determining the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria further comprises: processing the document as a function of text processing or natural language processing.
However, in an analogous art Ripolles Mateu teaches wherein the information representing the completion of the remedial action is included in a document, and wherein automatically determining the vendor being in compliance with the at least one respective aspect of information and security criteria further comprises: processing the document as a function of text processing or natural language processing (Ripolles Mateu, Paragraph 0015 recites “To facilitate distinguishing between topics which belong to the same or similar semantic fields, previously-known domain information is modeled with a bipartite graph. The bipartite graph created for the software security domain indicates a set of risks and a set of mitigation actions, both of which are obtained from security control documentation. A topic categorization system utilizes the bipartite graph to identify which risks and mitigation actions were discussed in a conversation by first using existing NLP techniques to extract relevant topics from conversation text and subsequently mapping the topics to the bipartite graph. A security assessment report identifying potential security threats and corresponding mitigation actions is generated based on the resulting mappings. Because the modeling of relationships between risks and mitigation actions in the bipartite graph creates risk-mitigation sets, the structure of the bipartite graph facilitates creation of a complete security assessment report.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to use Ripolles Mateu’s bipartite graph-based topic categorization system with Grimm’s secure endpoint in a heterogenous enterprise network because it offers the advantage of using NLP to help process document data.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is directed to a similar system associated with the method of claim 23 respectively. Claim 33 is similar in scope to claim 23, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
RODERICK . TOLENTINO
Examiner
Art Unit 2439
/RODERICK TOLENTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439