Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/14/2025, with respect to the claim interpretation (i.e. 112(f)) and 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim interpretation and the rejection of the claims under 112(b) has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 8, and 11 recite “the position of the service staff or the service vehicle is a position where the service staff is located after providing the service or a position where the service vehicle is located after the service”. This claim is considered indefinite because it is unclear what this claim intends to disclose about the position of the service staff or service vehicle. In other words, it is unclear how the service staff can be located after providing the service, for example. Accordingly, the claim is considered vague and ill-defined. For examination purposes, the claims are broadly interpreted in view of the teachings of the prior art cited herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla (US-20170169648-A1) in view of Sweeney (US-20180342035-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 10 Penilla discloses:
a server apparatus comprising: A first controller; and a communication interface configured to communicate with a terminal apparatus comprising a second controller configured to request a location in which a user vehicle is parked an energy source is applied ([0028]-[0032]), wherein
the first controller is configured to: select a location as the parking location ([0079]; [0085]; [0086]); and
transmit, via the communication interface to the terminal apparatus, notification data prompting a user of the terminal apparatus and the user vehicle to park the user vehicle in the selected parking location ([0023]; [0033]; [0049]; [0072]-[0077]).
However, Penilla does not explicitly state a request a service to dispatch a service staff or a service vehicle to a location in which a user vehicle is parked and supply an energy source to the user vehicle, nor selecting a location for which a difference between a first distance from a position of the user vehicle to the location and a second distance from a position of the service staff or the service vehicle to the location is equal to or less than a threshold.
On the other hand, Sweeney teaches a request a service to dispatch a service staff or a service vehicle to a location in which a user vehicle is parked and supply an energy source to the user vehicle, nor selecting a location for which a difference between a first distance from a position of the user vehicle to the location and a second distance from a position of the service staff or the service vehicle to the location is equal to or less than a threshold ([0011]-[0012]: “The matching operation can comprise identifying a set of candidate vehicles based on the user's current location—or a pick-up location indicated in the transport request—and ultimately selecting a most optimal vehicle to service the transport request. In doing so, the transport system can select a human driver that is within the closest distance or shortest ETA to the requesting user. If the requesting user is within a certain walking distance from the autonomy grid, the transport system may select an AV to service the transport request. In certain variations, the transport system can perform a cost optimization between the set of candidate vehicles to identify a lowest cost vehicle, human-driven or AV, to service the transport request. In such variations, the transport system can make the selection based on the pick-up location, an inputted drop-off location, and a projected cost to the requesting user for each of the set of candidate vehicles. Accordingly, the transport system can determine a cost savings and/or time savings for the requesting user for rendezvousing with an AV along the autonomy grid.”; [0013]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Penilla reference and include features from the Sweeney reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Considering distance closeness for fuel delivery provides a more efficient and dedicated fuel transport methodology for user vehicles requesting energy supply.
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 11, Penilla does not explicitly state the position of the service staff or the service vehicle is a position where the service staff is located after providing the service or a position where the service vehicle is located after the service.
On the other hand, Sweeney teaches the position of the service staff or the service vehicle is a position in which a service staff who is in operation should be after a service provision or a position in which a service vehicle that is in operation should be after a service provision ([0010]-[0013]: See 112(b) rejection above)
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Penilla reference and include features from the Sweeney reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Considering distance closeness for fuel delivery provides a more efficient and dedicated fuel transport methodology for user vehicles requesting energy supply.
Claim 6, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla and Sweeney in further view of DeLizio (US20180202822A1).
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 12, Penilla does not explicitly state the selected parking location is a location midway between the position of the user vehicle and the position of the service staff or the service vehicle.
On the other hand, Delizio teaches the selected parking location is a location midway between the position of the user vehicle and the position of the service staff or the service vehicle ([0174]: “some embodiments can dynamically determine a rendezvous point based on factors such as ease of access, convenience related to changing vehicles, an approximate midpoint between two vehicles, a location that will take each vehicle approximately the same time to reach, or any other suitable factor”).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Penilla reference and include features from the DeLizio reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Considering distance closeness for fuel delivery provides a more efficient and dedicated fuel transport methodology for user vehicles requesting energy supply.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666