DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed 2/06/2026, 10/24/2024, 7/08/2024 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 77-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 4,169,001 to Kaiser (hereinafter “Kaiser”).
Regarding claim 1, Kaiser discloses an optical component (14 in Fig. 2) comprising: a first optical element (i.e. “ceramic green sheets” that form the lower portion of 14 in Fig. 2; see col. 2, ll. 24-31); a second optical element disposed over the first optical element (i.e. ceramic green sheets that form the upper portion of 14 in Fig. 2; see col. 2, ll. 24-31); a first optical channel through at least a portion of the first optical element (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the first optical channel extending between a first port at a first side of the optical component and a second port at a second side of the optical component (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and a second optical channel through at least a portion of the second optical element, the second optical channel extending between a third port at the first side of the optical component and a fourth port (see annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the first and third ports are spaced apart by a first distance along the first side (clearly shown in Fig. 2), and the second and fourth ports are spaced apart by a second distance along an exterior surface of the optical component, the first distance different from the second distance (clearly shown in Fig. 2).
[AltContent: textbox (first optical channel)][AltContent: textbox (forth port)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (third port)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second port)][AltContent: textbox (second optical channel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first port)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Kaiser discloses wherein the second optical element is directly bonded to the first optical element without an intervening adhesive (col. 2, ll. 24-31).
Regarding claim 3, Kaiser discloses wherein the fourth port is disposed at the second side of the optical component (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kaiser discloses wherein the first optical channel is waveguide (col. 4, ll. 58-60).
Regarding claim 77, in an alternative interpretation of Kaiser’s disclosure, Kaiser discloses an optical component comprising: a first optical element comprising a bottom side and a top side (i.e. bottom portion of 14 as shown in alternative annotated Fig. 2 below is “a first optical element”-- because “top” and “bottom” are relative terminology, alternative annotated Fig. 2 is intentionally shown “upside down”); at least one optical channel (16 in Fig. 1) through at least a portion of the first optical element; a second optical element (i.e. portion of 14 above the bottom portion as shown in alternative annotated Fig. 2 below) directly bonded to the top side of the first optical element without an intervening adhesive (col. 2, ll. 24-31), the second optical element at least partially defining the at least one optical channel (i.e. portion of at least one optical channel 16); a first input port at the bottom side of the first optical element (see the alternative annotated Fig. 2 below); and a first output port at the bottom side of the first optical element (see the alternative annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the at least one optical channel extends between the first input port and the first output port.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first input port)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first output port)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (at least one optical channel)]
Regarding claim 78, Kaiser discloses wherein the first optical channel is waveguide (col. 4, ll. 58-60).
Regarding claim 79, Kaiser discloses wherein the optical component bridges a first die and a second die (20 and 20 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 80, Kaiser discloses a first optical device coupled to the first input port (20 in Fig. 2) and a second optical device coupled to the first output port (20 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 81, Kaiser discloses wherein the first optical device is an emitter or a receiver (col. 4, ll. 54-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 82-83, 85, 88, 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser.
Regarding claim 7, Kaiser discloses an optical component according to claim 1 as already discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose that the first distance is less than the second distance as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, varying the distance between input ports of optical waveguides in optical components is well known and common in the optical waveguide arts. Various distances between input ports are used in the art to accommodate various input optical sources without the risk of cross-talk or optical interference from input sources that are too close to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Kaiser to have the first distance being less than the second distance as claimed in the present application
Regarding claim 82, Kaiser discloses an optical component of claim 77 and 80 as already discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose the use of a grating coupler in the manner claimed in claim 82 of the present application. On the other hand, the use of a grating coupler between an optical waveguide and an optical port is well known and common in the art. Grating couplers are advantageously used in the art because it allows for greater control over the optical beam alignment with high coupling efficiency and low coupling loss. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Kaiser to have a grating coupler, such that the electromagnetic radiation is propagated through the optical waveguide and the grating coupler, in the manner claims in the present application.
Regarding claim 83, Kaiser discloses an optical component as claimed in claims 1 and 2 as discussed above. Specifically, Kaiser discloses an optical component comprising: a first optical element (see the discussion above regarding claim 1); a second optical element directly bonded to the first optical element without an intervening adhesive (see the discussion above regarding claim 2); a first optical channel through at least a portion of the first optical element, the first optical channel extending between a first port at a first side of the optical component and a second port at a second side of the optical component, and a second optical channel through at least a portion of the second optical element, the second optical channel extending between a third port at the first side of the optical component and a fourth port (see the discussion above regarding claim 1).
However, it does not explicitly disclose that the fourth port is at a third side of the optical component as claimed in claim 83. On the other hand, routing waveguide ports to different sides of an optical element is well known and common in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the advantage of having the fourth port disposed on the third side of the optical component since it would allow for optical emitters and receivers to be positioned further apart from each other which offers superior heat dissipation and improved component accessibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Kaiser to have the fourth port at the third side of the optical component in the manner claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 85, Kaiser renders an optical component of claim 83 obvious as discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose the use of a grating coupler in the manner claimed in claim 85 of the present application. On the other hand, the use of a grating coupler between an optical waveguide and an optical port is well known and common in the art. Grating couplers are advantageously used in the art because it allows for greater control over the optical beam alignment with high coupling efficiency and low coupling loss. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Kaiser to have a grating coupler, such that the electromagnetic radiation is propagated through the optical waveguide and the grating coupler, in the manner claims in the present application.
Regarding claim 88, Kaiser renders an optical component of claim 83 obvious as discussed above. In addition, Kaiser discloses the use of first optical device and a second optical device (20 in Fig. 2). Although Kaiser does not explicitly disclose that the first optical device is coupled to the first and third ports and the second optical device is coupled to at least the second port or the fourth port, such connectivity would have been also rendered obvious in view of the modification of Kaiser as discussed in reference to claim 83. As such the claimed limitations of claim 88 are also rendered obvious for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 90, Kaiser renders an optical component of claims 83 and 88 obvious as discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose the use of a grating coupler in the manner claimed in claim 90 of the present application. On the other hand, the use of a grating coupler between an optical waveguide and an optical port is well known and common in the art. Grating couplers are advantageously used in the art because it allows for greater control over the optical beam alignment with high coupling efficiency and low coupling loss. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Kaiser to have a grating coupler, such that the electromagnetic radiation is propagated through the optical waveguide and the grating coupler, in the manner claims in the present application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as discussed above an optical component comprising a first optical element, a second optical element disposed over the first optical element, a first optical channel through at least a portion of the first optical element, a second optical channel through at least a portion of the second optical element, is known in the art.
However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such an optical component, further comprising a third optical channel through at least a portion of the first optical element, the third optical channel extending between a fifth port at the first side of the optical component and a sixth port at the second side of the optical component; and Filing Date: June 17, 2024 a fourth optical channel through at least a portion of the second optical element, the fourth optical channel extending between a seventh port at the first side of the optical component and an eighth port at the second side of the optical component, wherein the fifth and seventh ports are spaced apart by a third distance, and the sixth and eighth ports are spaced apart by a fourth distance, the third distance different from the fourth distance, as claimed in claim 11 of the present application.
Claims 86-87 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as discussed above an optical component comprising a first optical element, a second optical element disposed over the first optical element, a first optical channel through at least a portion of the first optical element, a second optical channel through at least a portion of the second optical element, is known in the art.
However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such an optical component, wherein the first optical channel comprises at least one optical power divider, the at least one optical power divider further comprising a Y-junction and a first and a second branching optical channel as claimed in claim 86; or wherein the first optical channel comprises a first portion of the first optical channel and the second optical channel comprises a first portion of the second optical channel, and wherein the first portion of the first optical channel and the first portion of the second optical channel are optically coupled to form a directional coupler as claimed in claim 87.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874