DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21 and 33 are independent.
Claims 38 – 40 have been withdrawn.
This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Kennedy et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0256934, hereinafter “Kennedy”).
As per claim 21, Kennedy teaches a circuit breaker [circuit breaker 300, fig. 3, 0026], comprising:
a solid-state switch [solid-state device 306, fig. 3] and an air-gap switch [air-gap disconnect 308, fig. 3] serially coupled between a line input terminal
and a load output terminal of the circuit breaker [0026: solid-state device 306 is connected in series with the air-gap disconnect unit 308, so that when the PD 300 is deployed in an electrical distribution system the solid-state device 306 and air-gap disconnect unit 308 are connected in series between a line input (Line-IN) terminal and a line output (Line-OUT) terminal, to which a load is connected]; and
a control system [microcontroller 302] which is configured to:
detect a fault event [0033: the microcontroller 302 would be programmed and configured detect and respond to impending faults, distinguish between loads being brought online and impending faults, and generate the gating signal that directs the solid-state device 306 to switch OFF when conditions warrant.]; and
in response to detecting the fault event, generate switch control signals to turn off
the solid-state switch, and open the air-gap switch subsequent to turning off the solid-state
switch [Abstract: “A hybrid air-gap/solid-state device protection device (PD) for use in an electrical power distribution system includes an air-gap disconnect unit connected in series with a solid-state device, a sense and drive circuit, and a microcontroller. Upon the sense and drive circuit detecting an impending fault or exceedingly high and unacceptable overvoltage condition in the PD's load circuit, the sense and drive circuit generates a gating signal that quickly switches the solid-state device OFF. Meanwhile, the microcontroller generates a disconnect pulse for the air-gap disconnect unit, which responds by forming an air gap in the load circuit. Together, the switched-OFF solid-state device and air gap protect the load and associated load circuit from being damaged. They also serve to electrically and physically isolate the source of the fault or overload condition from the remainder of the electrical power distribution system.”; 0027, 0038, 0044 ].
As per claim 22, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein when the air-gap switch is open and the solid-state switch is turned off, the control system is further configured turn on the circuit breaker by generating switch control signals to close the air-gap switch, and turn on the solid-state switch subsequent to closing the air-gap switch [reversal of the sequence. Air gap must be closed before solid state device can be brought back to ON state, Abstract: “A hybrid air-gap/solid-state device protection device (PD) for use in an electrical power distribution system includes an air-gap disconnect unit connected in series with a solid-state device, a sense and drive circuit, and a microcontroller. Upon the sense and drive circuit detecting an impending fault or exceedingly high and unacceptable overvoltage condition in the PD's load circuit, the sense and drive circuit generates a gating signal that quickly switches the solid-state device OFF. Meanwhile, the microcontroller generates a disconnect pulse for the air-gap disconnect unit, which responds by forming an air gap in the load circuit. Together, the switched-OFF solid-state device and air gap protect the load and associated load circuit from being damaged. They also serve to electrically and physically isolate the source of the fault or overload condition from the remainder of the electrical power distribution system.”; 0027, 0038, 0044 ].
As per claim 23, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the control system is configured to place the circuit breaker in a standby state in which the solid-state switch is turned off, and the air-gap switch is closed [solid state is off, air-gap is closed during fault verification, 0038, 0061, 0062].
As per claim 24, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, further comprising:
a manual switch [manual/mechanical push-button 902, 0045 -0046] which is configured for trigging the air-gap switch to be opened in
response to an actuation of the manual switch;
wherein the control system is configured to:
detect the actuation of the manual switch; and
in response to detecting the actuation of the manual switch, generate switch control
signals to turn off the solid-state switch before opening the air-gap switch [0019: …a manual/mechanical push button switch that may be incorporated into the PD depicted in
FIG. 3 and that a person can depress to switch OFF power to the solid-state device and force the air-gap disconnect unit of the PD to form an air gap…; 0046: As illustrated in FIG. 9B (button partly but no fully depressed), when the reed switch 902 is closed a control voltage is allowed to pass through the switch. This control voltage serves as a control signal to turn OFF the power electronics in the PD 300. … By turning off the power to the electronics in the PD 300 (FIG. 9B) before forming the air gap (FIG. 9C)arcing is prevented from occurring in the air gap disconnect assembly during the time the air gap is being formed.].
As pe claim 25, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the control system is configured to detect a failure of the solid-state switch, and in response to detecting the failure of the solid-state switch, generate a switch control signal to open the air-gap switch [0034: should the solid-state device 306 ever fail, the air-gap disconnect unit 308 can still be activated in the event of a fault, in which circumstance the air-gap disconnect unit 308… serves as a “fail-safe.”; 0038].
As per claim 26, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the control system is configured to:
sense a magnitude of current flow in an electrical path between the line input terminal and the load output terminal of the circuit breaker and detect zero-current crossing events [zero-crossing events, 0058]; and
in response to detecting the fault event, generate the switch control signals to (i) turn off the solid-state switch concurrently with detecting an occurrence of a zero-current crossing event subsequent to detecting the fault event, and (ii) open the air-gap switch subsequent to turning off the solid-state switch [inrush current triggers solid state device to OFF, 0027, 0032, 0038].
As per claim 27, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the solid-state switch comprises a bidirectional solid-state switch [TRIACs are bidirectional solid state devices, 0026: The solid-state device 306 comprises an electrically controlled solid-state device (or device(s)), such as an insulated gate bipolar junction transistor (IGBT), power metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET), thyristor, silicon-controlled rectifier (SCR), triode for alternating current (TRIAC), or any other suitable high-power, controlled solid-state device].
As per claim 28, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the solid-state switch comprises a power MOSFET [0026: “…The solid-state device 306 comprises an electrically controlled solid-state device (or device(s)), such as … power metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET)…” ].
As per claim 29, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the control system is configured to determine power usage information of a load connected to the load output terminal [0033 – 0035: Using the received line current and voltage information, the microcontroller 302 can then generate real-time operating data, which can be displayed on a display 310, such as, for example, the amount of real-time current being drawn by the load. Using the real-time current and voltage information, the microcontroller 302 can also perform diagnostic checks concerning the operational status and performance of the solid-state device 306 and/or direct the sense and drive circuit 304 to turn the solid-state device 306 OFF when conditions warrant. It should be pointed out that real-time current information (and, possibly, real-time line voltage information) is sent to the microcontroller 302,irrespective of the operational status of the solid-state device 306. ] .
As per claim 30, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 29, further comprising a radio frequency transceiver1 which is configured to transmit operational status information of the circuit breaker and the power usage information to a remote computing node, and to receive remote control commands transmitted from the remote computing node, wherein the control system is configured to process the remote control commands and perform one or more actions as directed by the remote control commands [data can be transmitted to another computing device that is connected to the comm/control bus, 0035: microcontroller 302 in the PD 300 includes one or more input/output ports for connecting to a communications/control (comma/control) bus. Providing the ability of the microcontroller 302 to communicate over the comm/control bus allows the microcontroller302 to report information, such as, for example, operational status, diagnostic information, current data, load information, PD identification information, etc. associated with the PD 300 to another computing device that is also connected to the comm/control bus.].
As per claim 31, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, wherein the control system is configured to identify a type of load connected to the load output terminal of the circuit breaker, and control power applied to the load based on the identified type of load [load information; 0035: Providing the ability of the microcontroller 302 to communicate over the comm/control bus allows the microcontroller302 to report information, such as, for example, operational status, diagnostic information, current data, load information, PD identification information, etc. associated with the PD 300 to another computing device that is also connected to the comm/control bus.].
As per claim 32, Kennedy teaches the circuit breaker of claim 21, further comprising a power converter circuit configured to generate a direct current (DC) supply voltage from an alternating current (AC) supply voltage applied to the line input terminal, wherein the DC supply voltage is utilized to provide DC power to components of the control system [0026: AC to DC converter].
As per claim 33, Kennedy teaches a method, comprising:
controlling operation of a circuit breaker [circuit breaker 300, fig. 3, 0026], which comprises a solid-state switch and an air-gap switch serially coupled between a line input terminal and a load output terminal of the circuit breaker [0026: solid-state device 306 is connected in series with the air-gap disconnect unit 308, so that when the PD 300 is deployed in an electrical distribution system the solid-state device 306 and air-gap disconnect unit 308 are connected in series between a line input (Line-IN) terminal and a line output (Line-OUT) terminal, to which a load is connected], wherein controlling operation of the circuit breaker comprises:
detecting a fault event [0033: the microcontroller 302 would be programmed and configured to detect and respond to impending faults, distinguish between loads being brought online and impending faults, and generate the gating signal that directs the solid-state device 306 to switch OFF when conditions warrant.]; and
in response to detecting the fault event, generating switch control signals to turn off
the solid-state switch, and open the air-gap switch subsequent to turning off the solid-state
switch [Abstract: “A hybrid air-gap/solid-state device protection device (PD) for use in an electrical power distribution system includes an air-gap disconnect unit connected in series with a solid-state device, a sense and drive circuit, and a microcontroller. Upon the sense and drive circuit detecting an impending fault or exceedingly high and unacceptable overvoltage condition in the PD's load circuit, the sense and drive circuit generates a gating signal that quickly switches the solid-state device OFF. Meanwhile, the microcontroller generates a disconnect pulse for the air-gap disconnect unit, which responds by forming an air gap in the load circuit. Together, the switched-OFF solid-state device and air gap protect the load and associated load circuit from being damaged. They also serve to electrically and physically isolate the source of the fault or overload condition from the remainder of the electrical power distribution system.”; 0027, 0038 ].
As per claim 34, Kennedy teaches the method of claim 33, wherein controlling operation of the circuit breaker further comprises, when the air-gap switch is open and the solid-state switch is turned off, turning on circuit breaker by generating switch control signals for closing the air-gap switch, and turning on the solid-state switch subsequent to closing the air-gap switch [reversal of the sequence. Air gap must be closed before solid state device can be brought back to ON state, Abstract: “A hybrid air-gap/solid-state device protection device (PD) for use in an electrical power distribution system includes an air-gap disconnect unit connected in series with a solid-state device, a sense and drive circuit, and a microcontroller. Upon the sense and drive circuit detecting an impending fault or exceedingly high and unacceptable overvoltage condition in the PD's load circuit, the sense and drive circuit generates a gating signal that quickly switches the solid-state device OFF. Meanwhile, the microcontroller generates a disconnect pulse for the air-gap disconnect unit, which responds by forming an air gap in the load circuit. Together, the switched-OFF solid-state device and air gap protect the load and associated load circuit from being damaged. They also serve to electrically and physically isolate the source of the fault or overload condition from the remainder of the electrical power distribution system.”; 0027, 0038, 0044 ].
As per claim 35, Kennedy teaches the method of claim 33, wherein controlling operation of the circuit breaker further comprises:
detecting an actuation of a manual switch which is configured to trigger the air-gap switch to be opened in response to the actuation of the manual switch; and
in response to detecting the actuation of the manual switch, generating switch control
signals to turn off the solid-state switch before opening the air-gap switch [0019: a manual/mechanical push button switch that may be incorporated into the PD depicted in FIG. 3 and that a person can depress to switch OFF power to the solid-state device and force the air-gap disconnect unit of the PD to form an air gap].
As per claim 36, Kennedy teaches the method of claim 33, wherein controlling operation of the circuit breaker further comprises:
detecting a failure of the solid-state switch; and
in response to detecting the failure of the solid-state switch, generating a switch control
signal to open the air-gap switch [0034: should the solid-state device 306 ever fail, the air-gap disconnect unit 308 can still be activated in the event of a fault, in which circumstance the air-gap disconnect unit 308… serves as a “fail-safe.”; 0038].
As per claim 37, Kennedy teaches the method of claim 33, wherein controlling operation of the circuit breaker further comprises:
sensing a magnitude of current flow in an electrical path between the line input terminal and the load output terminal of the circuit breaker and detecting zero-current crossing events; and
in response to detecting the fault event, generating the switch control signals to (i) turn off the solid-state switch concurrently with detecting an occurrence of a zero-current crossing event subsequent to detecting the fault event, and (ii) open the air-gap switch subsequent to turning off the solid-state switch [inrush current triggers solid state device to OFF, 0027, 0032, 0038].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yao; Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0048807 A1) “Electromechanical And Solid-State AC Relay With Reduced Arcing” is cited to teach an electromechanical/solid-state AC relay that has an electromechanical winding coil that moves an armature to force mechanical contacts to open or close. Electrical arcing across the mechanical contacts that occur as the contacts are opening or closing can damage and severely reduce the lifetime of the relay. Contact arcing is prevented by pulsing a triac on for a short period of time just before and after the mechanical contacts make or break contact. The triac limits the voltage difference across the mechanical contacts to less than one volt to prevent arcing. The triac is turned off after the mechanical contacts finish moving, reducing the heating and average power through the triac. A zero-sampling circuit detects when the AC input voltage switches across 0 volts and activates a control integrated circuit to switch on the triac during zero-crossings to minimize power surges.
Kennedy; Ryan (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0294179) “Dynamic Coordination Of Protection Devices In Electrical Distribution Systems” is cited to teach a dynamically coordinatable electrical distribution system that includes a plurality of intelligently controlled protection devices (PDs), a communication and control bus (comm/control) bus, and a central computer. The plurality of intelligently controlled PDs is configured to protect a plurality of associated electrical loads from faults, developing faults, and other undesired electrical anomalies. Each of the PDs further has electrically adjustable time-current characteristics. The intelligently controlled PDs are communicatively coupled to the comm/control bus and configured to report current data representative of real-time currents flowing through their respective loads to the central computer, via the comm/control bus. The central computer is configured to communicate with the plurality of PDs over the comm/control bus and dynamically coordinate the time-current characteristics of the plurality of PDs based on the current data it receives from the PDs.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
1 Adapting the device to transmit remotely (i.e. to another connected computing device would only require one of ordinary skill in the art.