DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/745288 filed June 17, 2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 25, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the mobility system in claim 1 and the mobile waste unit in claim 2.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification indicates that the mobility system corresponds to wheels, treads, robotic legs or equivalent (par. 13) and while the specification is silent regarding the structure of the mobile waste unit, figure 1 seems to suggest or imply that it is a bucket or barrel with funnel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hargadon (US 2019/0255551).
Regarding claim 1: Hardagon discloses a mobile coating applicator taking the form of a robot (100) having a frame structure (par. 30, figure 1) which houses coating reservoirs (185) and hoses which form a distribution system (par. 44, figure 1), a robot arm (120) holding a fluid applicator (160) which is a distribution device, a plurality of sensors (150) mounted on the frame, and a transport mechanism (107) on a mobile platform (105) which forms a mobility system (pars. 30-38, figure 1), the robot (100) being configured by a computer (175) to use the sensors (150) to recognize the position of various objects and features and properly position both the robot (100) and the fluid applicator (160) to the designated objects or surfaces, which includes determining a physical position for the robot (100) itself and controlling the robot (100) transport mechanism (107) to arrive at that position, and then further determining an application position for the applicator (160) at the end of the robot arm (120) and controlling the robot arm (120) to move the applicator (160) to that application position (pars. 67-68, 94, 139, 148-149, 159).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardagon as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Telleria et al. (US 2018/0283018).
Regarding claim 2: Hardagon fails to explicitly disclose a mobile waste unit coupled to the frame. However, Telleria et al. discloses a similar automated painting robot having a painting end effector (160P) with a painting vacuum (472) coupled to a vacuum source (422) which ingests excess paint, which is waste, generated by the painting process, such that it comprises a mobile waste unit that is coupled to the frame and receives waste from the system (par. 36, figure 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a painting vacuum system like that of Telleria et al. for the applicator of Hardagon because Telleria et al. teaches that this allows excess paint to be removed (par. 36) which benefits Hardagon as it is drawn to reducing issues with dripping and other application flaws (par. 12), and because using a known technique to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3: Hardagon discloses that the physical position of the robot and application position of the applicator are determined based on a predetermined coating range (par. 182-185).
Regarding claim 4: Hardagon discloses that the sensors (150) detect obstacles by correlating the sensed information with a library of structural objects (520) such that signals are sent by the sensors (150) (pars. 160-161).
Regarding claim 5: Hardagon discloses that the sensors (150) can include lidar sensors (par. 38).
Regarding claim 6: Hardagon discloses that the sensors (150) can detects wall, floor, ceiling and corner boundaries such that they are by definition edge detecting sensors (par. 198).
Regarding claim 7: Hardagon discloses coating reservoirs (185) within the robot (100) which is a distribution material housing unit that houses the coating material (par. 44, figure 1).
Conclusion
/S.A.K/
Stephen KittExaminer, Art Unit 1717
5/20/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717