DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabei (USPN 9,461,594).
With respect to claim 1, Tabei discloses, in Figs. 2 and 4, an integrated circuit (Fig. 2, details of 200 of Fig. 2 disclosed in Fig. 4), comprising:
at least one first circuit (at least one of PA1 with 220 and PA2 with 221 and PA3) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vcc) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (outputs of 240, 241 and 242 which are bias currents, see Col. 3 lines 51-53 and 60-62 and Col. 4 lines 3-5), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (value of Vcc around the rated value of VREF of Fig. 4. Note as Vcc increases/decreases the correction current Icont changes respective to the increase/decrease to compensate for voltage change. Thus, VREF is the “rated value”, see Col. 5 lines 27-42), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (the current through the amplifiers when no RF signal is present, i.e., DC gain, is changed with a change in voltage, see Col. 1 lines 47-56. Furthermore, current consumption has a value that varies with change in voltage) ; and
a polarization centralized circuit (200 details disclosed in Fig. 4, 240 and 241) including:
a first compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (200 and Fig. 4 performs open loop compensation by detecting the dispersion/change of Vcc) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (current at the RG terminal of Fig. 4, i.e., IG minus ICONT) based on a reference current (IG) and a first correction coefficient determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (ICONT which generated according to the voltage dispersion of Vcc and compensates for such variation in Vcc, see Col. Col. 5 lines 21-42); and
a first current replication circuit (320A of Fig. 4, with at least one of 240 and 241 of Fig. 2) configured to determine the first direct polarization current based (output of at least one of 240 and 241) on the first corrected current (the first corrected current controls the value of VCONT, which controls the value of VBIAS1 and thus the output current level of 240 and 241).
With respect to claim 6, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the DC gain, i.e., current through the transistor, is the physical parameter. Furthermore, the gain is controlled according to the bias signal).
With respect to claim 7, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, comprising:
a plurality of first circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage (e.g., PA2 and PA3) and to be polarized based on respective first direct polarization currents (output of 241/242), wherein the first current replication circuit is configured to determine the respective first direct polarization currents based on the corrected current (242 and 241 under the control of 320A of Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 8, the integrated circuit according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of first circuits form a radiofrequency emission or reception chain and the first physical parameter is a gain of the emission or reception chain (Fig. 2 is an RF transmission circuit wherein the DC gain is the physical parameter. Furthermore, the gain is controlled according to the bias signal).
With respect to claim 10, a method (method of operating Fig. 2 further details disclosed in Fig. 4) for polarizing (i.e., biasing) at least one first circuit (at least one of PA1-PA3) based on a first direct polarization current (bias current generated from at least one of 240-242), comprising:
powering the at least one first circuit with a supply voltage (VCC via 220 and 221) having values that are dispersed around a rated value (value of Vcc around the rated value of VREF of Fig. 4. Note as Vcc increases/decreases the correction current Icont changes respective to the increase/decrease to compensate for voltage change. Thus, VREF is the “rated value”, see Col. 5 lines 27-42), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of voltage values (the current through the amplifiers when no RF signal is present, i.e., DC gain, is changed with a change in voltage, see Col. 1 lines 47-56. Furthermore, current consumption has a value that varies with change in voltage);
performing open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (Fig. 4 performs open-loop compensation of the dispersion in VCC), performing the open-loop compensation including determining a first corrected current (current at the RG node, i.e., current determined by IG minus ICONT) based on a reference current (IG) and a first correction coefficient (ICONT), the first correction coefficient being determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (ICONT is generated according to the voltage dispersion of Vcc and compensates for such variation in Vcc, see Col. Col. 5 lines 21-42); and
determining the first direct polarization current based on the first corrected current (320A with 240-241 generate the bias current based on the corrected current).
With respect to claim 11, as far as can be understood, the method according to claim 10, comprising:
providing a reference current by a reference current source (IG provided by 310A).
With respect to claim 15, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (gain, i.e., DC gain, of the first circuit. Furthermore, the bias current controls gain of the transistor).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 10-11, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by El-Nozahi et al. (USPAPN 2022/0121234).
With respect to claim 1, El-Nozahi discloses, in Figs. 4D and 5A-5B, an integrated circuit (Fig. 4D, operational details disclosed in Figs. 5A and 5B), comprising:
at least one first circuit (51-54, 57 and 58) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vsup) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (outputs of 44), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (Vsup has values that change around a typical operating voltage, such as mean/typical value of 1.25V of Fig. 5B and other values such 1.35V and 1.15V of Fig. 5B. Furthermore, see Fig. 2B, paragraphs 0045 and 0056), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter (gain) whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (gain varies as voltage varies see paragraphs 0055 and 0056); and
a polarization centralized circuit (circuit of Fig. 4D lest 51-54, 57 and 58) including:
a first compensation circuit (81’, 82’, 83, 62, 67’, 61 and 91) configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (IAMP is generated compensate for the dispersion, see paragraphs 0056 and 0065) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (IAMP) based on a reference current (IBIAS) and a first correction coefficient determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (IV2ISENS and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE which are determined by the variation of VSUP as sensed by 81’ and 82’ and/or the voltage values as set by 91, see para 0066); and
a first current replication circuit (65, 66, 43 and 44) configured to determine the first direct polarization current based (output of 44) on the first corrected current (IAMP supplied to 65).
With respect to claim 5, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (programmable via 91 controlling 81’ and 82’ and 61 controlling 62).
With respect to claim 6, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the parameter is gain, see Fig. 5B and paragraphs 0055-0056).
With respect to claim 10, a method (method of operating Fig. 4D, see also Fig. 5B) for polarizing (biasing) at least one first circuit (51-54, 57 and 58) based on a first direct polarization current (bias current output from 44), comprising:
powering the at least one first circuit with a supply voltage (VSUP) having values that are dispersed around a rated value (Vsup has values that change around a typical operating voltage, such as mean/typical value of 1.25V of Fig. 5B and other values such 1.35V and 1.15V of Fig. 5B. Furthermore, see Fig. 2B, paragraphs 0045 and 0056), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of voltage values (gain varies responsive to VSUP variation, see paragraphs 0055-0056);
performing open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (the supplying of IAMP and the current output from 44 provides open loop compensation of the variation in VSUP), performing the open-loop compensation including determining a first corrected current (IAMP) based on a reference current (IBIAS) and a first correction coefficient (IV2ISENS and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE), the first correction coefficient being determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values(IV2ISENSE and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE are determined by the variation of VSUP as sensed by 81’ and 82’ and/or the voltage values as set by 91, see para 0066); and
determining the first direct polarization current based on the first corrected current (output of 44 is generated responsive to IAMP).
With respect to claim 11, the method according to claim 10, comprising: providing the reference current by a reference current source (67 providing IBIAS).
With respect to claim 14, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (programmable via the control of 81’, 82’ and 62 by 91 and 61).
With respect to claim 15, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the first physical parameter is gain, see para 0055-0056).
Claim(s) 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (USPN 11,114,982).
With respect to claim 16, Tanaka et al. discloses, in Figs 2 and 4, a method (method of operating Fig. 4, details disclosed in Fig. 2) for determining a value of a first correction coefficient (value of IZ and/or resistance value of 330), comprising:
manufacturing an integrated circuit (the circuit of Fig. 4 must be manufactured to construct the circuit and use the circuit in a device such as a mobile phone, see Col. 3 lines 35-41) including:
at least one first circuit (110 with 150) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vcc1) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (current through 211), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (values between Vmin and Vmax, see Fig. 2. The “rated” value may be interpreted as the midpoint of Vmin and Vmax, i.e., (Vmin+Vmax)/2, or the “rated value” may be interpreted as Von, since as Vcc1 is dispersed about Von the current value of IZ changes in proportion to the dispersion of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 5-46. Note, the circuit of Fig. 4 operates in essentially the same fashion as Fig. 1 except for minor differences such as using FET transistors and an adjustable resistor 330, see Col. 9 lines 40-44), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (gain of 110 varies with the dispersion of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 57-64, Col. 9 lines 16-20 and 40-44); and
a polarization centralized (130A with 120) circuit including:
a first compensation circuit (130A) configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (see Col. 7 lines 57-64, Col. 9 lines 16-20 and 40-44) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (IX at T1) based on a reference current (IREF) and the first correction coefficient (IZ and/or the value of 330) determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (IZ is proportional to the variation of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 9-11 and Col. 9 lines 40-44. Furthermore, the value of 330 is determined according to the variation of Vcc1, see Col. 9 lines 10-15); and
a first current replication circuit (120) configured to determine the first direct polarization current (current at T2/current through 211) based on the first corrected current (due to the mirroring of IX to 202);
after manufacturing the integrated circuit, measuring the variation of the first physical parameter caused by the dispersion of the values of the supply voltage, for different values of the first correction coefficient (after the circuit is operational, i.e., manufactured and operating, the collector current, and therefore gain of the transistor, is measured for the different values of Vcc1 as Vcc1 is dispersed and the resistance of the resistors of 330, and thus the value of IZ, is selected accordingly, see Col. 9 lines 20-24); and
selecting the value of the first correction coefficient corresponding to a value desired for the variation of the first physical parameter (the resistance of 330 and thus IZ is selected according to the variation in gain/collector current, again see Col. 9 lines 20-24).
With respect to claim 17, the method according to claim 16, comprising:
providing the reference current by a reference current source (IREF is provided by a reference current).
With respect to claim 20, the method according to claim 16, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (the correction coefficient is programmable via the selectable resistor 330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabei in view of Lukkarila (USPN 8,606,321).
With respect to claim 9 Tabei discloses, wherein the plurality of first circuits form a radio frequency emission chain (the first plurality of circuits is an RF emission, i.e., transmission, chain).
Tabei fails to explicitly disclose “a plurality of second circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage and to be polarized based on respective second direct polarization currents, and the plurality of second circuits form a radiofrequency reception chain having a gain forming a second physical parameter, whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values, wherein the polarization centralized circuit includes:
a second compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values, the open-loop compensation including determining a second corrected current based on the reference current and a second correction coefficient determined from the variation of the second physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values; and a second current replication circuit configured to determine the second direct polarization current based on the second corrected current”.
With respect to the recitation portion of “a plurality of second circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage and to be polarized based on respective second direct polarization currents” and “the plurality of second circuits” form a “chain having a gain forming a second physical parameter, whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values, wherein the polarization centralized circuit includes:
a second compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values, the open-loop compensation including determining a second corrected current based on the reference current and a second correction coefficient determined from the variation of the second physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values; and
a second current replication circuit configured to determine the second direct polarization current based on the second corrected current” of claim 9. The above recited portion is merely a duplication of circuitry of Figs. 2 and 4 of Tabei when additional power amplifier (PA1-PA3) chains is required/desired.
It would have been obvious to provide the above cited portion of claim 9 by duplicating the circuitry of Figs. 2 and Figs. 4 of Tabei, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of being able to provide bias currents that compensate for dispersions in the power supply voltage of Tabei to additional amplifier circuits when such additional amplifier circuits are required/desired by the system where they are used.
The circuit of Fig. 2 of Tabei is a transmission chain. Furthermore, Tabei suggests that the system of Tabei includes a receiving unit, see Col. 2 lines 40-43. However, Tabei fails to disclose the details of the receiving unit. Thus, the above modification of Tabei of the duplication of the amplifiers of Fig. 2 fails to explicitly disclose that “the plurality of second circuits form a radiofrequency reception chain”.
Nevertheless, it is old and well-known to construct a receiving unit using a plurality of second circuits (i.e., amplifiers) to form a readiofrequency reception chain (i.e., receiver unit). Such a receiver unit is disclosed in Fig. 3 of Lukkarila which comprises a plurality of second circuits (315 and 325) to form a readiofrequency reception chain (303).
It would have been obvious to construct the receiver unit of Tabei using a chain of amplification units, as evidenced in by Lukkarila, for the purpose of having a specific simply constructed receiver unit with decreased interference. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to supply include the bias current generation and supply voltage compensation circuits of Figs. 2 and 4 of Tabei for each amplifier (315 and 325) for the purpose having bias currents that compensate for dispersions in the power supply voltage for each amplifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 12-13 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/09/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Tabei fails to teach or suggest at least a first correction coefficient as recited in claim 1. The Examiner identifies ‘DC gain’ as the first physical parameter recited in claim 1 and the current ‘ICONT’ as the first correction coefficient as recited in claim 1. Office Action at p. 4. But as explained by Tabei at Col. 5, lines 40-42, and as acknowledged by the Examiner, ICONT varies ‘according to the power supply voltage Vcc.’ Nowhere does Tabei teach or suggest that ICONT is ‘determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter’ as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, Tabei fails to anticipate claim 1 at least for this reason”. The above arguments are not persuasive. The “physical parameter” was interpreted as “the current through the amplifiers when no RF signal is present”/current consumption which is proportional to changes in the supply voltage. This is further evidenced in the decrease/change of current consumption according to the change (i.e., decrease, in power supply (see Col. 1 lines 57-61). Therefore, by detecting a proportional voltage change, Tabei is detecting a proportional current consumption change.
Applicant argues: “[a]s with Tabei, the Examiner has identified gain as the recited first physical parameter” Examiner agrees, in part, with Applicant that Examiner “has further cited the value IV2ISENSE as the recited correction coefficient”. Examiner provides two possible interpretations of the “correction coefficient”. One is the value of IV2ISENSE and the other is “the coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE”. This is stated in the rejection as IV2ISENS and/or the coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE. Thus, there is an alternative interpretation where the coefficients set by 91 and 61 is/are the “correction coefficient”.
Applicant further argues: “[h]owever, as noted by the Examiner (see Office Action at p. 9) and as discussed in El-Nozahi the IV2ISENSE is determined by the sensed supply voltage level (see El-Nozahi at para. [0065]). El-Nozahi fails to teach or suggest a correction coefficient that is "determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter" as recited in claims 1 and 10. Accordingly, claims 1 and 10 are patentable at least for this reason.”
The above arguments are not persuasive. Examiner agrees that “gain” is identified as the “first physical parameter”. However, Examiner disagrees that El-Nozahi “fails to teach or suggest a correction coefficient that is ‘determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter’ as recited in claims 1 and 10”. This is because claims 1 and 10 require correction coefficient being “determined from the variation of the value of the at least one physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values”. This is performed by El-Nozahi, since El-Nozahi determines the variation of the supply voltage. As can be seen the gain is proportional to the variation of the supply voltage as indicated in paragraphs 0055 and 0056. Paragraph 0055 states: “[a]lthough using a cascode amplifier topology mitigates the impact of supply variation on gain, absent compensation a cascode amplifier can nevertheless have gain that changes with supply voltage level” (Examiner’s emphasis). Thus, it is clear that gain changes with supply voltage.
Furthermore, paragraph 0056 states: “[b]y adjusting the bias current IBIAS to account for variation of the supply voltage VSUP, the amplifier 60 operates with insensitivity to supply voltage variation” (Examiner’s emphasis). Thus, it is clear that the bias current compensates for the change in gain with respect to the change in supply voltage. Therefore, the change in gain is proportional to the change in supply voltage. Thus, by detecting the change in supply voltage one is also detecting the change in gain due to the proportionality between supply voltage change and gain change. Furthermore, IBIAS of 67’ of Fig. 4D is adjusted to adjust for a change in the supply voltage and therefore, IBIAS is adjusted to correct for changes in gain resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values. Additionally, PVT detection circuit of 91 further accounts for supply voltage variation (as evidenced by para 0066) and the supply voltage variation is gain dependent (according to paragraphs 0055 and 0056). Therefore, adjustment of IBIAS, I2VISENSE, and the resistors 81’ with 82’ are controlled according to the change in gain due to the dispersion of the supply voltage since they are under control of 91. Therefore, the circuit of El-Nozahi et al. operates as claimed.
With respect to the arguments in view of Tanaka. Examiner agrees that The Examiner identifies "gain" as the first physical parameter recited in claim 16 and that “the either the current IZ or the resistance value 330 as the first correction coefficient as recited in claim 16.”
The argument that “Tanaka does not teach or disclose measuring the variation of the first physical parameter caused by the dispersion of the values of the supply voltage, for different values of the first correction coefficient as required by claim 16” is not persuasive. This is because, the gain/collector current (note gain is proportional to collector current see Col. 6 lines 43-47) is dependent upon power supply (see Col. 6 lines 58-58). Furthermore, the circuits of Fig. 2 and 4 measure changes in the supply voltage Vcc1 (Vmin and Vmax) to compensate for changes in the gain/collector current (see Col. 7 lines 39-56). Therefore, by detecting power supply changes one is detecting changes in the gain since such changes are proportional. As can be seen the value of IZ is dependent upon the measured voltage and thus measures, in proportion, gain changes and compensates for said gain changes, see Col. 7 lines 47-64. Additionally, the value of the resistance 330 is directly adjusted according to the change in IC/gain as well as indirectly adjusted according to the change in gain by the proportional control under the value of the Vcc1 as evidenced by Col. 9 lines 16-24. To change the resistance according to the change in Vcc1 one must measure Vcc1 to be able to change the value of the resistance in proportion to the change in Vcc1. Alternatively one must measure Ic/the gain of the device to change the value of the resistance in proportion to the change of 330. Otherwise there is no way of having such a proportional control responsive to the measured values of Vcc1 or Ic. Thus both the value of IZ and the value of the resistance is controlled according to the measurement of one of the gain and or power supply voltage. Wherein the power supply voltage is proportional to gain and thus measuring the power supply voltage proportionally measures the gain.
Applicant argues that the “Examiner points to Col. 9, lines 20-24 as allegedly disclosing this element. But the cited portion merely states that ‘the variable resistor circuit 330 may be switched in accordance with a change in the power supply voltage Vccl, for example, or may be switched in accordance with a change in the collector current IC of the transistor 110.’ The cited disclosure does not even mention the current IZ.” The above argument is not persuasive, since the value of 330 sets the value of IY and IY sets the value of IZ (see Col. 7 lines 8-11). Thus IZ is proportional to the value of the resistance of 330. While the cited disclosure doesn’t mention IZ, it is clear that the value of 330 sets, at least in part, the value of IZ.
The argument that “cited disclosure does not teach or even imply measuring the variation of the first physical parameter (e.g. gain) caused by the dispersion of the values of the supply voltage, for different values of the first correction coefficient and then selecting the value of the first correction coefficient corresponding to a value desired for the variation of the first physical parameter as required by claim 16” is not persuasive. This is because Tanaka clearly discloses that IZ is proportional to the change in VCC1 and that the gain of the circuit is proportional to the change in VCC1 (and further discloses that the value of 330 is directly proportional to the gain/value of Ic). Thus, the change in IZ is according to the measured/proportional change in the gain of the circuit.
With respect to claims 2, 12-13 and 18-19, upon review of Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2 and 12, further review of the recited limitations of claims 2, 12 and 18 and the previously cited art, the rejections of claims 2, 12-13 and 18-19 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J. HILTUNEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836