DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 11 it cannot be determined if the recitation of “a reference current” on line 2 is the same or a difference current than the “reference current” of the recitation of “a reference current” on line 7 of claim 10. As far as can be understood the recitations refer to the same reference current and will be treated as such for the purposes of examination.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
With respect to claim 17 it cannot be determined if the recitation of “a reference current” on line 2 is the same or a difference current than the “reference current” of the recitation of “a reference current” on line 10 of claim 16. As far as can be understood the recitations refer to the same reference current and will be treated as such for the purposes of examination.
Claims 18-19 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabei (USPN 9,461,594).
With respect to claim 1, Tabei discloses, in Figs. 2 and 4, an integrated circuit (Fig. 2, details of 200 of Fig. 2 disclosed in Fig. 4), comprising:
at least one first circuit (at least one of PA1 with 220 and PA2 with 221 and PA3) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vcc) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (outputs of 240, 241 and 242 which are bias currents, see Col. 3 lines 51-53 and 60-62 and Col. 4 lines 3-5), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (value of Vcc around the rated value of VREF of Fig. 4. Note as Vcc increases/decreases the correction current Icont changes respective to the increase/decrease to compensate for voltage change. Thus, VREF is the “rated value”, see Col. 5 lines 27-42), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (the current through the amplifiers when no RF signal is present, i.e., DC gain, is changed with a change in voltage, see Col. 1 lines 47-56. Furthermore, current consumption has a value that varies with change in voltage) ; and
a polarization centralized circuit (200 details disclosed in Fig. 4, 240 and 241) including:
a first compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (200 and Fig. 4 performs open loop compensation by detecting the dispersion/change of Vcc) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (current at the RG terminal of Fig. 4, i.e., IG minus ICONT) based on a reference current (IG) and a first correction coefficient determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (ICONT which generated according to the voltage dispersion of Vcc and compensates for such variation in Vcc, see Col. Col. 5 lines 21-42); and
a first current replication circuit (320A of Fig. 4, with at least one of 240 and 241 of Fig. 2) configured to determine the first direct polarization current based (output of at least one of 240 and 241) on the first corrected current (the first corrected current controls the value of VCONT, which controls the value of VBIAS1 and thus the output current level of 240 and 241).
With respect to claim 2, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the polarization centralized circuit includes a reference current source configured to deliver the reference current (310 generating IG) and the first compensation circuit (300A) is configured to:
determine a voltage difference between a value of the supply voltage and the rated value (N1, RC, P1 and P2 determine the difference between VCC and the rated value of VREF, see Col. 5 lines 27-39);
transform the voltage difference into a first correction current using the first correction coefficient (P3, N3 and N4 transform the difference into the correction coefficient ICONT); and
provide the first correction current to the reference current source to obtain the first corrected current (IG and ICONT are combined at the RG/VCONT node to obtain the corrected current of IG minus ICONT).
With respect to claim 6, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the DC gain, i.e., current through the transistor, is the physical parameter. Furthermore, the gain is controlled according to the bias signal).
With respect to claim 7, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, comprising:
a plurality of first circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage (e.g., PA2 and PA3) and to be polarized based on respective first direct polarization currents (output of 241/242), wherein the first current replication circuit is configured to determine the respective first direct polarization currents based on the corrected current (242 and 241 under the control of 320A of Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 8, the integrated circuit according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of first circuits form a radiofrequency emission or reception chain and the first physical parameter is a gain of the emission or reception chain (Fig. 2 is an RF transmission circuit wherein the DC gain is the physical parameter. Furthermore, the gain is controlled according to the bias signal).
With respect to claim 10, a method (method of operating Fig. 2 further details disclosed in Fig. 4) for polarizing (i.e., biasing) at least one first circuit (at least one of PA1-PA3) based on a first direct polarization current (bias current generated from at least one of 240-242), comprising:
powering the at least one first circuit with a supply voltage (VCC via 220 and 221) having values that are dispersed around a rated value (value of Vcc around the rated value of VREF of Fig. 4. Note as Vcc increases/decreases the correction current Icont changes respective to the increase/decrease to compensate for voltage change. Thus, VREF is the “rated value”, see Col. 5 lines 27-42), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of voltage values (the current through the amplifiers when no RF signal is present, i.e., DC gain, is changed with a change in voltage, see Col. 1 lines 47-56. Furthermore, current consumption has a value that varies with change in voltage);
performing open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (Fig. 4 performs open-loop compensation of the dispersion in VCC), performing the open-loop compensation including determining a first corrected current (current at the RG node, i.e., current determined by IG minus ICONT) based on a reference current (IG) and a first correction coefficient (ICONT), the first correction coefficient being determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (ICONT is generated according to the voltage dispersion of Vcc and compensates for such variation in Vcc, see Col. Col. 5 lines 21-42); and
determining the first direct polarization current based on the first corrected current (320A with 240-241 generate the bias current based on the corrected current).
With respect to claim 11, as far as can be understood, the method according to claim 10, comprising:
providing a reference current by a reference current source (IG provided by 310A).
With respect to claim 12, the method according to claim 11, wherein the open-loop compensation includes:
determining a voltage difference between a value of the supply voltage and a nominal value of the supply voltage (N1, P1, P2 and N2 determine a difference between VCC and VREF, i.e., the nominal value of the supply voltage);
transforming the voltage difference into a first correction current using the first correction coefficient (P3, N3 and N4 generating ICONT from the difference); and
injecting the first correction current in the reference current source to obtain the first corrected current (ICONT is injected into IG at the RG node).
With respect to claim 13, the method according to claim 12, comprising: providing, by a reference voltage source, a reference voltage (ground voltage is provided as the ground voltage reference).
With respect to claim 15, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (gain, i.e., DC gain, of the first circuit. Furthermore, the bias current controls gain of the transistor).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by El-Nozahi et al. (USPAPN 2022/0121234).
With respect to claim 1, El-Nozahi discloses, in Figs. 4D and 5A-5B, an integrated circuit (Fig. 4D, operational details disclosed in Figs. 5A and 5B), comprising:
at least one first circuit (51-54, 57 and 58) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vsup) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (outputs of 44), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (Vsup has values that change around a typical operating voltage, such as mean/typical value of 1.25V of Fig. 5B and other values such 1.35V and 1.15V of Fig. 5B. Furthermore, see Fig. 2B, paragraphs 0045 and 0056), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter (gain) whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (gain varies as voltage varies see paragraphs 0055 and 0056); and
a polarization centralized circuit (circuit of Fig. 4D lest 51-54, 57 and 58) including:
a first compensation circuit (81’, 82’, 83, 62, 67’, 61 and 91) configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (IAMP is generated compensate for the dispersion, see paragraphs 0056 and 0065) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (IAMP) based on a reference current (IBIAS) and a first correction coefficient determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (IV2ISENS and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE which are determined by the variation of VSUP as sensed by 81’ and 82’ and/or the voltage values as set by 91, see para 0066); and
a first current replication circuit (65, 66, 43 and 44) configured to determine the first direct polarization current based (output of 44) on the first corrected current (IAMP supplied to 65).
With respect to claim 5, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (programmable via 91 controlling 81’ and 82’ and 61 controlling 62).
With respect to claim 6, the integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the parameter is gain, see Fig. 5B and paragraphs 0055-0056).
With respect to claim 10, a method (method of operating Fig. 4D, see also Fig. 5B) for polarizing (biasing) at least one first circuit (51-54, 57 and 58) based on a first direct polarization current (bias current output from 44), comprising:
powering the at least one first circuit with a supply voltage (VSUP) having values that are dispersed around a rated value (Vsup has values that change around a typical operating voltage, such as mean/typical value of 1.25V of Fig. 5B and other values such 1.35V and 1.15V of Fig. 5B. Furthermore, see Fig. 2B, paragraphs 0045 and 0056), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of voltage values (gain varies responsive to VSUP variation, see paragraphs 0055-0056);
performing open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (the supplying of IAMP and the current output from 44 provides open loop compensation of the variation in VSUP), performing the open-loop compensation including determining a first corrected current (IAMP) based on a reference current (IBIAS) and a first correction coefficient (IV2ISENS and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE), the first correction coefficient being determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values(IV2ISENS and/or coefficients set by 91 and 61 to further correct/compensate IV2ISENSE are determined by the variation of VSUP as sensed by 81’ and 82’ and/or the voltage values as set by 91, see para 0066); and
determining the first direct polarization current based on the first corrected current (output of 44 is generated responsive to IAMP).
With respect to claim 11, the method according to claim 10, comprising: providing a reference current by a reference current source (67 providing IBIAS).
With respect to claim 12, the method according to claim 11, wherein the open-loop compensation includes:
determining a voltage difference between a value of the supply voltage and a nominal value of the supply voltage (83, 81’, 82’ and 62, determines a difference between the supply voltage the ABSTRACT. e.g., 83 determines the voltage of VSUP supplied to 81’ and 82’ and a nominal value of the supply voltage, i.e., nominal value set by the selected values of 81’, 82’ and 62);
transforming the voltage difference into a first correction current using the first correction coefficient (84 receives the difference output of 83 and transforms it to a first correction current IV2ISENSE using the correction coefficient); and
injecting the first correction current in the reference current source to obtain the first corrected current (IV2ISENSE is injected into IBIAS to generate IAMP).
With respect to claim 13, the method according to claim 12, comprising: providing, by a reference voltage source, a reference voltage (the ground voltage source is a reference voltage. Furthermore, the output of 81’ and 82’ may be considered a reference voltage sources, as well as the voltage across 62).
With respect to claim 14, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (programmable via the control of 81’, 82’ and 62 by 91 and 61).
With respect to claim 15, the method according to claim 10, wherein the first physical parameter is a gain of the at least one first circuit (the first physical parameter is gain, see para 0055-0056).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (USPN 11,114,982).
With respect to claim 16, Tanaka et al. discloses, in Figs 2 and 4, a method (method of operating Fig. 4, details disclosed in Fig. 2) for determining a value of a first correction coefficient (value of IZ and/or resistance value of 330), comprising:
manufacturing an integrated circuit (the circuit of Fig. 4 must be manufactured to construct the circuit and use the circuit in a device such as a mobile phone, see Col. 3 lines 35-41) including:
at least one first circuit (110 with 150) configured to be powered by a supply voltage (Vcc1) and to be polarized (i.e., biased) based on a first direct polarization current (current through 211), the supply voltage having voltage values that are dispersed around a rated value (values between Vmin and Vmax, see Fig. 2. The “rated” value may be interpreted as the midpoint of Vmin and Vmax, i.e., (Vmin+Vmax)/2, or the “rated value” may be interpreted as Von, since as Vcc1 is dispersed about Von the current value of IZ changes in proportion to the dispersion of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 5-46. Note, the circuit of Fig. 4 operates in essentially the same fashion as Fig. 1 except for minor differences such as using FET transistors and an adjustable resistor 330, see Col. 9 lines 40-44), the at least one first circuit having at least one first physical parameter whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values (gain of 110 varies with the dispersion of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 57-64, Col. 9 lines 16-20 and 40-44); and
a polarization centralized (130A with 120) circuit including:
a first compensation circuit (130A) configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values (see Col. 7 lines 57-64, Col. 9 lines 16-20 and 40-44) by at least:
determining a first corrected current (IX at T1) based on a reference current (IREF) and the first correction coefficient (IZ and/or the value of 330) determined from the variation of the value of the at least one first physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values (IZ is proportional to the variation of Vcc1, see Col. 7 lines 9-11 and Col. 9 lines 40-44. Furthermore, the value of 330 is determined according to the variation of Vcc1, see Col. 9 lines 10-15); and
a first current replication circuit (120) configured to determine the first direct polarization current (current at T2/current through 211) based on the first corrected current (due to the mirroring of IX to 202);
after manufacturing the integrated circuit, measuring the variation of the first physical parameter caused by the dispersion of the values of the supply voltage, for different values of the first correction coefficient (after the circuit is operational, i.e., manufactured and operating, the collector current, and therefore gain of the transistor, is measured for the different values of Vcc1 as Vcc1 is dispersed and the resistance of the resistors of 330, and thus the value of IZ, is selected accordingly, see Col. 9 lines 20-24); and
selecting the value of the first correction coefficient corresponding to a value desired for the variation of the first physical parameter (the resistance of 330 and thus IZ is selected according to the variation in gain/collector current, again see Col. 9 lines 20-24).
With respect to claim 17, the method according to claim 16, comprising:
providing a reference current by a reference current source (IREF is provided by a reference current).
With respect to claim 18, the method according to claim 17, wherein the open-loop compensation includes:
determining a voltage difference between a value of the supply voltage (Vcc1) and a nominal value of the supply voltage (Von);
transforming the voltage difference into a first correction current using the first correction coefficient (IZ by 330 using the correction coefficient due to the control of 303 by 330 with 302); and
injecting the first correction current in the reference current source to obtain the first corrected current (IZ is injected into IREF to generate IX).
With respect to claim 19, the method according to claim 18, comprising: providing, by a reference voltage source, a reference voltage (the reference voltage of ground is provided by the ground reference source).
With respect to claim 20, the method according to claim 16, wherein the first correction coefficient is programmable (the correction coefficient is programmable via the selectable resistor 330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabei in view of Lukkarila (USPN 8,606,321).
With respect to claim 9 Tabei discloses, wherein the plurality of first circuits form a radio frequency emission chain (the first plurality of circuits is an RF emission, i.e., transmission, chain).
Tabei fails to explicitly disclose “a plurality of second circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage and to be polarized based on respective second direct polarization currents, and the plurality of second circuits form a radiofrequency reception chain having a gain forming a second physical parameter, whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values, wherein the polarization centralized circuit includes:
a second compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values, the open-loop compensation including determining a second corrected current based on the reference current and a second correction coefficient determined from the variation of the second physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values; and a second current replication circuit configured to determine the second direct polarization current based on the second corrected current”.
With respect to the recitation portion of “a plurality of second circuits configured to be powered by the supply voltage and to be polarized based on respective second direct polarization currents” and “the plurality of second circuits” form a “chain having a gain forming a second physical parameter, whose value varies as a result of the dispersion of the voltage values, wherein the polarization centralized circuit includes:
a second compensation circuit configured to perform open-loop compensation on the dispersion of the voltage values, the open-loop compensation including determining a second corrected current based on the reference current and a second correction coefficient determined from the variation of the second physical parameter, resulting from the dispersion of the voltage values; and
a second current replication circuit configured to determine the second direct polarization current based on the second corrected current” of claim 9. The above recited portion is merely a duplication of circuitry of Figs. 2 and 4 of Tabei when additional power amplifier (PA1-PA3) chains is required/desired.
It would have been obvious to provide the above cited portion of claim 9 by duplicating the circuitry of Figs. 2 and Figs. 4 of Tabei, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of being able to provide bias currents that compensate for dispersions in the power supply voltage of Tabei to additional amplifier circuits when such additional amplifier circuits are required/desired by the system where they are used.
The circuit of Fig. 2 of Tabei is a transmission chain. Furthermore, Tabei suggests that the system of Tabei includes a receiving unit, see Col. 2 lines 40-43. However, Tabei fails to disclose the details of the receiving unit. Thus, the above modification of Tabei of the duplication of the amplifiers of Fig. 2 fails to explicitly disclose that “the plurality of second circuits form a radiofrequency reception chain”.
Nevertheless, it is old and well-known to construct a receiving unit using a plurality of second circuits (i.e., amplifiers) to form a readiofrequency reception chain (i.e., receiver unit). Such a receiver unit is disclosed in Fig. 3 of Lukkarila which comprises a plurality of second circuits (315 and 325) to form a readiofrequency reception chain (303).
It would have been obvious to construct the receiver unit of Tabei using a chain of amplification units, as evidenced in by Lukkarila, for the purpose of having a specific simply constructed receiver unit with decreased interference. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to supply include the bias current generation and supply voltage compensation circuits of Figs. 2 and 4 of Tabei for each amplifier (315 and 325) for the purpose having bias currents that compensate for dispersions in the power supply voltage for each amplifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J. HILTUNEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849