Detailed Action
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 20 are amended
Claims 1-20 are pending
Priority
This application claims no priority. Therefore, the effective filing date of this application is 06/17/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/27/2026 have been fully considered
With respect to the arguments of USC 103 rejection for claims 1, 11, and 20, Applicant has argued that BOTT, HAMDI, ROSENDAHL, and CASSINI fail to teach the newly amended limitation of “commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device; and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. HAMDI teaches “commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device ([HAMDI, para. 0124] “The details module can be configured to present the expanded details in different forms depending on the visual mode. Possible expanded detail information can include asset information (e.g., asset network information, asset vulnerability information”) ([HAMDI, para. 0125] “For example, action controls can allow the user to initiate actions taken upon one or more assets in real time, such as causing the CEMM system 220 to launch a vulnerability scan”) ([HAMDI, para. 0067] “A vulnerability scanner 230 can include a computer scanning program for assessing security weaknesses of computer devices, computer software, computer systems or networks. For instance, the computer scanning program can be configured to identify software components within the computing and network environment 210 that are vulnerable to malicious attacks. Each vulnerability scanner 230 can be executed on one or more computer devices associated with a provider of that vulnerability scanner 230 or one or more computer devices of the computing and network environment 210.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0073] “A cyber security subject matter or issue as used herein can include a software or hardware configuration issue, a vulnerability, a vulnerability patch, a malware, a cyber security weakness associated with a software or hardware component, or the like.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0158] “The data collection engine 304 can send a request to the vulnerability scanner(s) 230 to scan the computing and network environment 210 or respective assets for vulnerabilities. The request can be indicative of a full scan (e.g., to scan all assets or all computer devices in the computing and network environment 210) or a partial scan (e.g., to scan a subset of the assets or computer devices). In response, the vulnerability scanner(s) can perform the scan and send the vulnerability scanning data to the CEMM system 220. The vulnerability data can include information identifying scanned assets (e.g., IP address, MAC address, asset name, NetBIOS, OS, asset installed applications, software/hardware vendor(s), logs”) ([HAMDI, para. 0059] “Computer environments can be vulnerable to … computer viruses”) ([HAMDI, para. 0156] “receiving vulnerability data from a vulnerability scanner (step 1120), and receiving vulnerability data associated with the computing and network environment 210 from a vulnerability scanner (step 1130).”) As seen from these citations HAMDI teaches of performing a vulnerability scan on an asset. The scan comprises of checking asset installed applications and software components that can cause malicious attacks. Furthermore, HAMDI directly mentions of the cyberthreat being malware or a computer virus. Therefore, the vulnerability scan that is done on the assets checks for potential software that can be malware. This is analogous to performing an anti-virus scan and determining if software consists of malware. Malware and viruses are malicious code. Therefore, HAMDI teaches this feature.
As for the limitation “and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result” VASU teaches ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”) ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs”) ([VASU, para. 0032] “program 150 retrains a plurality of associated models and networks with the calculated prediction and associated feedback”) ([VASU, para. 0041] “Program 150 initiates an analyzation of intercepted network input 502, as described in step 204 and in steps 302-308. Program 150 extracts a plurality of network information from network input 502 … Responsive to an applied mitigation action, program 150 retrains one or more associated models and network with the prediction and any feedback.”) ([VASU, para. 0021] “In an embodiment, network input image model 152 and network input classification model 154 utilize transferrable neural networks algorithms and models”) As can be seen from these citations VASU teaches of based on a network analyses an intrusion model is retrained and updated. Furthermore, VASU teaches the model is a deep neural network. Therefore, the combination of BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teach all limitations of claims 1 and 11. Furthermore, the combination of BOTT-HAMDI-CASSINI-VASU teaches all limitations of claim 20.
With respect to the USC 101 abstract rejection for claim 1-20 Applicant has argued that the rejection with respect to independent claim 1 is improper. Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to Step 1 analysis. Claim 1 satisfies the statutory category requirement because it is directed to a device comprising a processor and memory under 35 U.S.C. 101(a). With respect to Step 2A, prong 1 Judicial Exception the claim recites limitations of (1) monitoring data traffic based on inputs, (2) determining a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic, (3) requesting a group of parameters from a computing device, (4) determining a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold, (5) identifying the data traffic anomaly is associated with a malicious traffic, (6) performing an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis, and (7) adjusting a deep neural network. All the limitations currently drafted are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually monitor data traffic based on various inputs, a user can manually determine a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic, a user can manually request a group of parameters, a user can manually determine a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a threshold, a user can manually identify a data traffic anomaly is associated with a malicious traffic signature, a user can manually perform detection analysis on a file, and a user can manually adjust a deep neural network. With respect to Step 2A prong 2 Integration into a practical application this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim only recites of monitoring, determining a data traffic anomaly, requesting a group of parameters, determining a first parameter does not satisfy a threshold, identify the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature, performing a scan, and adjusting a DNN. Merely identifying the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature and adjusting a deep neural network does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not recite of mitigating the anomaly or removing malicious code. Simply adjusting a deep neural network recites of broad terminology. Adjustment can be done by a user by either adding/removing parameters of the deep neural network. Furthermore, a neural network is essentially a mathematical algorithm that takes in an input and produces an output. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. With respect to Step 2B Significantly More the claim only recites additional elements of “processor” and “memory” recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic processor cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar arguments apply for claims 11 and 20. Therefore, the rejection for claims 1-20 under USC 101 Abstract is maintained.
Applicant has further argued with respect to the USC 101 rejection (A) The Examiner Is Improperly Distilling the Claimed Subject Matter Down to Its Purported Gist or Thrust. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The number of prior arts used to reject a claim does not determine if the limitations recite an abstract idea. The prior arts used in combination teach all limitations of the claims. The claim limitations still recite of features directed towards an abstract idea.
Applicant has further argued with respect to the USC 101 rejection B. The Office Action Fails to Sustain the Burden of Demonstrating a Properly-Supported Section 101 Rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection below and the response to arguments above outline the multi-step analysis in determining the claims are directed towards an abstract idea.
Applicant has further argued with respect to the USC 101 rejection C. The Features of Claim 1 Are Integrated As Part Of A Practical Application. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in the Step 2A prong 2 analysis, the claim only recites of monitoring, determining a data traffic anomaly, requesting a group of parameters, determining a first parameter does not satisfy a threshold, identify the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature, performing an anti-virus scan, and adjusting a deep neural network. Merely identifying the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature and adjusting a deep neural network does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not recite mitigating the anomaly or removing malicious code. Simply adjusting a deep neural network recites of broad terminology. Furthermore, the rejection of claims 4, 5, 7, 8 describes adjusting the DNN. These claims were previously rejected under 101 abstract and the rejection is still being maintained.
Applicant has further argued with respect to the USC 101 rejection D. Claim Amendments. The claim amendments of performing an anti-virus scan or detection analysis, and adjusting a deep neural network have been addressed above as to why even the amendments recite of an abstract idea. The same response applies. Furthermore, the claims are not directed towards a technological improvement. Identifying data traffic anomalies and adjusting a deep neural network is well known in the art. The prior arts cited teach all limitations of the claims. Therefore, the 101 abstract rejection is being maintained.
Examiner suggests amending the claims to incorporate features of para.0034 of the specification in particular of a plurality of machine learning anomaly detectors (MLADs). ([Specification, para. 0028] “Further, server 200 c can be hosted in the service provider's core and connects to many MLADs for experience sharing/disseminating and backend deep learning processing.”) ([Specification, para. 0034] “In some embodiments, the MLAD that includes the DNN 2201 can share its results and/or feedback 220 j as well as feedback 220 k with the backend server, which receives network information from other MLADs or computing devices via the backend server. In further embodiments, each MLAD can be intelligent via the DNN 2201 to customize its model based on the local network conditions, applications, computing devices, etc. as well as its own available computer processing capacity and memory capacity.”). Incorporating features of multiple detectors working independently and simultaneously can help to overcome the USC 101 abstract idea.
Additional arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites of a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices resulting in a group of data traffic, wherein the monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs that include: a data traffic rate, packet headers, an indication of an average packet size, and an indication of whether respective data traffic of the data traffic is prompted by a respective computing device of the group of computing devices; determining a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic resulting in a first determination; requesting a group of a-parameters from a computing device of the group of computing devices based on the first determination; determining a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold resulting in a second determination; identifying the data traffic anomaly as associated with a malicious traffic signature based on the second determination resulting in an identification; commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device; and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result.
The limitation of device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices resulting in a group of data traffic, wherein the monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs that include: a data traffic rate, packet headers, an indication of an average packet size, and an indication of whether respective data traffic of the data traffic is prompted by a respective computing device of the group of computing devices, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually monitor data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices based on various inputs.
The limitation of determining a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic resulting in a first determination, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually determine a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic.
The limitation of requesting a group of a parameters from a computing device of the group of computing devices based on the first determination, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually request a group of a parameters from a computing device.
The limitation of determining a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold resulting in a second determination, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually determine a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold.
The limitation of identifying the data traffic anomaly as associated with a malicious traffic signature based on the second determination resulting in an identification, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually identify the data traffic anomaly as associated with a malicious traffic.
The limitation of commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device; and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can be performed in the mind. A user can manually perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis, determine the scan indicates presence of malicious code, and adjust a deep neural network.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic statement such as “device, comprising: a processing system including a processor”, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim only recites of monitoring, determining a data traffic anomaly, requesting a group of parameters, determining a first parameter does not satisfy a threshold, and identify the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature. Merely identifying the data traffic is associated with a malicious signature and adjusting a deep neural network does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not recite of mitigating the anomaly or removing malicious code. Simply adjusting a deep neural network recites of broad terminology. Adjustment can be done by a user by either adding/removing parameters of the deep neural network. Furthermore, a neural network is essentially a mathematical algorithm that takes in an input and produces an output. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim only recites additional elements of “processor” and “memory” recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic processor cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the determining of the data traffic anomaly comprises determining the data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic utilizing the DNN, and wherein the identifying of the data traffic anomaly comprises identifying the data traffic anomaly as associated with the malicious traffic signature utilizing the DNN. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually utilize a DNN to determine a data traffic anomaly.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise receiving a first confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is associated with the malicious traffic signature. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually receive a first confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is associated with the malicious traffic signature.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise adjusting a first group of weights associated with the DNN based on the first confirmation resulting in a first weight adjustment. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually adjust a first group of weights associated with the DNN.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise adjusting a first number of layers associated with the DNN based on the first confirmation resulting in a first layer adjustment. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually adjust a first number of layers associated with the DNN.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise receiving a second confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is not associated with the malicious traffic signature. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually receive a second confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is not associated with the malicious traffic signature.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise adjusting a second group of weights associated with the DNN based on the second confirmation resulting in a second weight adjustment. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually adjust a second group of weights associated with the DNN.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise adjusting a second number of layers associated with the DNN based on the second confirmation resulting in a second layer adjustment. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually adjust a second number of layers associated with the DNN.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the DNN comprise an unsupervised deep reinforcement learning DNN. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually use unsupervised deep reinforcement learning for a DNN.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This claim recites of wherein the operations comprise: determining a processor utilization associated with the computing device; and determining the group of parameters to request from the computing device based on the processor utilization. Therefore, the limitations of this claim, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that can also be performed in the mind. A user can manually determine a processor utilization and determine a group of parameters to request based on the utilization.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor performs features similar to those of device claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 12-19 are parallel claims to claims 3-10. Therefore, claims 12-19 are rejected in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites of a method claim that performs the features of device claims 1 and 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOTT (US-20160072834-A1) in view of HAMDI (US-20180124094-A1), and further in view of ROSENDAHL (US-20200110873-A1), and even further in view of VASU (US-20220014554-A1), hereinafter BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU.
Regarding claim 1, BOTT teaches “A device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices resulting in a group of data traffic; ([BOTT, para. 0011] “According to one embodiment of the present invention, a method for data traffic signature-based malware protection is disclosed. The method includes monitoring data traffic and behavior associated with a computing device.”) ([BOTT, para. 0016] “This abstraction can be translated into a device activity signature associated with a particular computing device, such as a mobile phone. This device activity signature can then be compared with other similar devices or with future device activity signatures from the same device.”) determining a data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic resulting in a first determination; ([BOTT, para. 0017] “The event trigger can include, for example, an anomalous rise in data traffic associated with malware or opening an unexpected communications port. The paired action for each event trigger can be different depending on the seriousness of the triggered event. For example, the paired action can range from noting the event in a log file to the immediate blocking of all activity associated with an application”) … identifying the data traffic anomaly as associated with a malicious traffic signature based on the second determination resulting in an identification. ([BOTT, para. 0025] “At step 104, a classification of the device activity signature is determined. For example, the device activity signature may be compared with a reference device activity signature and classified as either normal or anomalous based on the comparison. In addition to classifying the device activity signature as either normal or anomalous, other suitable classifications can be determined.”) ([BOTT, para. 0036] “For example, policy decision module 210 may compare the device activity signature with a reference device activity signature. If the device activity signature is sufficiently different from the reference device activity signature (e.g., larger that a predetermined threshold value), then the policy decision module 210 may classify the traffic signature as anomalous.”).
However, BOTT does not teach “requesting a group of a parameters from a computing device of the group of computing devices based on the first determination; determining a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold resulting in a second determination; … commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device; and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result.”.
In analogous teaching HAMDI teaches “requesting a group of a parameters from a computing device of the group of computing devices based on the first determination; ([HAMDI, para. 0131] “the controller engine 310 can detect that a given requirement (e.g., compliance, security, legal, business or other requirement) of the computing and network system 210 may be violated, and identify one or more assets associated with that requirement for profiling. …in response, instruct the asset profiling engine 312 to profile the firewall, a gateway, a router, one or more other assets, or a combination thereof.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0133] “The method 900 can include the asset profiling engine 312 determining a set of profiling parameters (step 930). The set of profiling parameters can represent parameters to be requested from the target asset, such as asset information (e.g., IP address, MAC address, NetBIOS, etc.), asset configuration parameters, asset communication logs, asset CPU usage, packet drop rate, the like, or a combination thereof.”) determining a first parameter from the group of parameters does not satisfy a first parameter threshold resulting in a second determination; ([HAMDI, para. 0135] “The method 900 can include the asset profiling engine 312 comparing the one or more parameter values to one or more criteria or respective threshold values (step 960) … Threshold values can include, for example, benchmark parameter values to determine whether an asset is under stress. For example, a CPU usage level of 95% or more for a period of time equal to or exceeding 10 mins can imply that the corresponding asset is under computational stress. Also, a packet drop rate threshold value that is exceeded for a respective threshold time period can imply (or be interpreted by the asset profiling engine) that the corresponding asset is under communication”) … commanding, based on the identification, a client-based reporting application executing on the computing device to perform an anti-virus scan or other detection analysis of one or more files stored on the computing device; receiving, from the client-based reporting application, a scan result indicating whether malicious code is present on the computing device ([HAMDI, para. 0124] “The details module can be configured to present the expanded details in different forms depending on the visual mode. Possible expanded detail information can include asset information (e.g., asset network information, asset vulnerability information”) ([HAMDI, para. 0125] “For example, action controls can allow the user to initiate actions taken upon one or more assets in real time, such as causing the CEMM system 220 to launch a vulnerability scan”) ([HAMDI, para. 0067] “A vulnerability scanner 230 can include a computer scanning program for assessing security weaknesses of computer devices, computer software, computer systems or networks. For instance, the computer scanning program can be configured to identify software components within the computing and network environment 210 that are vulnerable to malicious attacks. Each vulnerability scanner 230 can be executed on one or more computer devices associated with a provider of that vulnerability scanner 230 or one or more computer devices of the computing and network environment 210.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0073] “A cyber security subject matter or issue as used herein can include a software or hardware configuration issue, a vulnerability, a vulnerability patch, a malware, a cyber security weakness associated with a software or hardware component, or the like.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0158] “The data collection engine 304 can send a request to the vulnerability scanner(s) 230 to scan the computing and network environment 210 or respective assets for vulnerabilities. The request can be indicative of a full scan (e.g., to scan all assets or all computer devices in the computing and network environment 210) or a partial scan (e.g., to scan a subset of the assets or computer devices). In response, the vulnerability scanner(s) can perform the scan and send the vulnerability scanning data to the CEMM system 220. The vulnerability data can include information identifying scanned assets (e.g., IP address, MAC address, asset name, NetBIOS, OS, asset installed applications, software/hardware vendor(s), logs”) ([HAMDI, para. 0059] “Computer environments can be vulnerable to … computer viruses”) ([HAMDI, para. 0156] “receiving vulnerability data from a vulnerability scanner (step 1120), and receiving vulnerability data associated with the computing and network environment 210 from a vulnerability scanner (step 1130).”)
Thus, given the teaching of HAMDI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of requesting a group of a parameters by HAMDI into a device for monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices by BOTT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because HAMDI recognizes the need to improve cyber security ([HAMDI, para. 0003] “The functional importance and business value of computer systems for respective institutions and their customers call for operational reliability and enhanced cyber security of such computer systems.”) ([HAMDI, para. 0001] “The present application relates generally to systems and methods for monitoring and managing the security health of a computer environment”).
However, BOTT-HAMDI does not teach “wherein the monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs that include: a data traffic rate, packet headers, an indication of an average packet size, and an indication of whether respective data traffic of the data traffic is prompted by a respective computing device of the group of computing devices”.
In analogous teaching ROSENDAHL teaches “wherein the monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs that include: a data traffic rate, packet headers, an indication of an average packet size, ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0038] “The threat database 132 lists one or more potential threats that may be discovered in the container system 102. These threats may include both vulnerabilities and/or benchmark settings, and may also include network attack signatures.”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0040] “the threat database 132 also includes a list of network attack signatures. These signatures describe network activity that may indicate a potential malicious activity on the network. The signatures may indicate some information about the network traffic, such as a source, a destination, packet type, packet header data, packet size, time of network activity, content of network data, and other information within the network data, that when detected, may indicate an attack. The signature may also indicate various patterns in the network activity, such as a pattern in the timing of data received/transmitted, a pattern in the network addresses that receive/send the data, a pattern in the types of systems or containers that send/receive the data, a pattern in the ownership of containers that are receiving/sending certain data, a pattern in the amount of data that is being sent/received, a pattern in the content of the data that is being sent/received and so on. … When the patterns and information for a signature are detected in the network traffic, then malicious activity may be indicated. For example, an amount of traffic that has a pattern exceeding a certain data rate, to a particular destination, may indicate an attack (e.g., a denial of service attack).”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0043] “The network probe 124 probes the network activity 108 of the app containers 104 as well as the overall network of the container system 102 for any threats indicated in the threat database 132. … The network probe 122 checks the signatures for vulnerabilities and benchmark settings listed in the threat database 132 to see if there are any matches to the signatures. The network probe 122 may check a section of the threat database 132 specific to network-related activities.”) and an indication of whether respective data traffic of the data traffic is prompted by a respective computing device of the group of computing devices” ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0040] “The signatures may indicate some information about the network traffic, such as a source “) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0042] “If any of the signatures are matched to various sources within the app container 104, then the container probe 122 records the specific source from which the signature was detected.”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0065] “For a selected app container in the container list 202, the user interface 200 also displays the detected threats list 216 for the app container. … The threat severity level 218 of each threat is listed, with a threat individual score 220 for each threat, threat package location 222 indicating a program library or source where the threat is found”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0028] “the app containers 104 are shown to be within a monolithic container system 102, in practice they may be spread among multiple hosts on multiple hardware devices,”)
Thus, given the teaching of ROSENDAHL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs by ROSENDAHL into a device for monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices by BOTT-HAMDI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because ROSENDAHL recognizes the need to improve security ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0003] “However, within such container systems, security and threat detection can be a more challenging issue. A container system includes many different components, in many cases more than a traditional system. … Therefore, what was lacking, inter alia, was a vertically integrated system to automatically determine, report, and respond to threats and security issues in all aspects of a container system.”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0018] “An advantage of such a container system 102 is that each container is isolated from other containers in the container system 102, increasing security. Scalability may also be improved, as containers can be easily added and removed without having to be customized for a specific physical resource layout.”)
However, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL does not teach “and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result”.
In analogous teaching VASU teaches “and adjusting a deep neural network (DNN) based on the scan result” ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”) ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs”) ([VASU, para. 0032] “program 150 retrains a plurality of associated models and networks with the calculated prediction and associated feedback”) ([VASU, para. 0041] “Program 150 initiates an analyzation of intercepted network input 502, as described in step 204 and in steps 302-308. Program 150 extracts a plurality of network information from network input 502 … Responsive to an applied mitigation action, program 150 retrains one or more associated models and network with the prediction and any feedback.”) ([VASU, para. 0021] “In an embodiment, network input image model 152 and network input classification model 154 utilize transferrable neural networks algorithms and models”)
Thus, given the teaching of VASU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a deep neural network (DNN) by VASU into a device for monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices by BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because VASU recognizes the need to improve network efficiency ([VASU, para. 0041] “program 150 applies updated network input signature 524 to one or more network devices (IDS), reducing future false positives and improving network efficiency”).
Regarding claim 2, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teach all limitations of claim 1. VASU further teaches “wherein the determining of the data traffic anomaly comprises determining the data traffic anomaly within the group of data traffic utilizing the DNN, and wherein the identifying of the data traffic anomaly comprises identifying the data traffic anomaly as associated with the malicious traffic signature utilizing the DNN.” ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention allow for a deep learning method for intrusion detection systems such as network-based intrusion detection systems (NIDS) and host-based intrusion detection systems (HIDS). Embodiments of the present invention monitor and analyze network traffic and ports utilizing a signature-based detection and anomaly-based detection techniques”) ([VASU, para. 0006] “The one or more computer processors classify one or more synthesized network input images by identifying contained objects utilizing a trained convolutional neural network with rectified linear units, wherein the objects include patterns, sequences, trends, and signatures.”) ([VASU, para. 0023] “classifying one or more synthesized network input images by identifying contained objects utilizing a trained convolutional neural network with rectified linear units, wherein the objects include patterns, sequences, trends, and signatures; predicting a security profile of the one or more classified network input images and associated one or more network inputs, wherein the security profiles includes a set of rules and associated mitigation actions”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites of a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system performs the features of device claim 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claims 1 and 2. ROSENDAHL further teaches “packet headers including encrypted information, ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0040] “The signatures may indicate some information about the network traffic, such as a source, a destination, packet type, packet header data”) ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0087] “the connection of an app container 320 to the network 390. This connection may also be tunneled using an encryption protocol (e.g., secure sockets layer (SSL)).”) an indication of average packet arrival rate intervals” ([ROSENDAHL, para. 0040] “The signatures may indicate some information about the network traffic, such as … time of network activity … The signature may also indicate various patterns in the network activity, such as a pattern in the timing of data received/transmitted … For example, an amount of traffic that has a pattern exceeding a certain data rate, to a particular destination, may indicate an attack (e.g., a denial of service attack).”
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI with ROSENDAHL as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 2 and 11. BOTT further teaches “wherein the operations comprise receiving a first confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is associated with the malicious traffic signature.” ([BOTT, para. 0036] “For example, policy decision module 210 may compare the device activity signature with a reference device activity signature. If the device activity signature is sufficiently different from the reference device activity signature (e.g., larger that a predetermined threshold value), then the policy decision module 210 may classify the traffic signature as anomalous.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 3 and 12. VASU further teaches “wherein the operations comprise adjusting a first group of weights associated with the DNN based on the first confirmation resulting in a first weight adjustment” ([VASU, para. 0021] “Network input image model 152 and network input classification model 154 are representative of a plurality of models utilizing deep learning techniques to train, calculate weights, ingest inputs, and output a plurality of solutions (e.g., packet prediction, sequence identification, image analysis, image generation, etc.).”) ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs.”) ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 3 and 12. VASU further teaches “wherein the operations comprise adjusting a first number of layers associated with the DNN based on the first confirmation resulting in a first layer adjustment.” ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs”) ([VASU, para. 0032] “program 150 retrains a plurality of associated models and networks with the calculated prediction and associated feedback”) ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 2 and 11. BOTT further teaches “wherein the operations comprise receiving a second confirmation that the data traffic anomaly is not associated with the malicious traffic signature.” ([BOTT, para. 0036] “Conversely, if the device activity signature is sufficiently similar from the reference device activity signature (e.g., less that a predetermined threshold value), then the policy decision module 210 may classify the device activity signature as normal. Policy decision module may then apply a policy decision for the computing device based on the determined classification”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 6 and 15. VASU further teaches “wherein the operations comprise adjusting a second group of weights associated with the DNN based on the second confirmation resulting in a second weight adjustment.” ([VASU, para. 0021] “Network input image model 152 and network input classification model 154 are representative of a plurality of models utilizing deep learning techniques to train, calculate weights, ingest inputs, and output a plurality of solutions (e.g., packet prediction, sequence identification, image analysis, image generation, etc.).”) ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs.”) ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 6 and 15. VASU further teaches “wherein the operations comprise adjusting a second number of layers associated with the DNN based on the second confirmation resulting in a second layer adjustment.” ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs.”) ([VASU, para. 0032] “program 150 retrains a plurality of associated models and networks with the calculated prediction and associated feedback.”) ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claims 2 and 11. VASU further teaches “wherein the DNN comprise an unsupervised deep reinforcement learning DNN.” ([VASU, para. 0021] “In the depicted embodiment, network input classification model 154 is a CNN with a rectified linear unit (RELU) trained with supervised and/or unsupervised training methods. In this embodiment, program 150 utilizes network input classification model 154 to classify a network input as authorized, anomalous, or as a potential false positive.”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL with VASU as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 10, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teach all limitations of claim 1. HAMDI further teaches “wherein the operations comprise: determining a processor utilization associated with the computing device; ([HAMDI, para. 0142] “FIG. 10 shows a diagram illustrating a decision profiling tree 1000 indicative of a context-based hierarchical profiling scheme. The parent node 1010 can be associated with a respective first set of profiling parameters or a first profiling template. The first set of profiling parameters or the first profiling template can be indicative of a query for cumulative CPU usage and cumulative network usage. If the cumulative CPU usage exceeds a first CPU usage threshold value, then the decision will be to move to the node 1020.”) and determining the group of parameters to request from the computing device based on the processor utilization. ([HAMDI, para. 0142] “Node 1020 can be associated with a second set of CPU profiling parameters or a second CPU profiling template. The second set of CPU profiling parameters or the second CPU profiling template can be indicative of a query for CPU usage per processor core. If CPU usage of a given processor core exceeds a third CPU usage threshold value, the decision will be to move to node 1040. Node 1040 can be associated with a third set of CPU profiling parameters or a third CPU profiling template. The third set of CPU profiling parameters or the third CPU profiling template can be indicative of a query for CPU usage per process with respect to the given processor core.”).
The same motivation to modify BOTT with HAMDI as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 19, BOTT-HAMDI-ROSENDAHL-VASU teaches all limitations of claim 11. Furthermore, this claim recites of limitations similar to that of claim 10. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 10.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOTT (US-20160072834-A1) in view of HAMDI (US-20180124094-A1), and further in view of CASSINI (US-20170219240-A1), and even further in view of VASU (US-20220014554-A1)
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites of a method that implements the steps of independent device claim 1 and claim dependent device claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claims 1 and 10. HAMDI further teaches “wherein the monitoring of the data traffic is based on inputs that include: an indication of a central processing unit (CPU) usage relative to a first threshold, ([HAMDI, para. 0065] “For example, a server 211 can be under computational stress when experiencing excessive CPU usage (e.g., beyond a given threshold value)”) ([HAMDI, para. 0058] “the status of one or more machines 102, 106 in the network 104 is monitored, generally as part of network management. In one of these embodiments, the status of a machine may include an identification of load information (e.g., the number of processes on the machine, central processing unit (CPU) and memory utilization)”) indication of a memory usage relative to a second threshold, ([HAMDI, para. 0058] “the status of one or more machines 102, 106 in the network 104 is monitored, generally as part of network management. In one of these embodiments, the status of a machine may include an identification of load information (e.g., the number of processes on the machine, central processing unit (CPU) and memory utilization)”) ([HAMDI, para. 0138] “In response to the received parameter values (or the computed deviation values), the controller engine 310 (or asset profiling engine 312) can determine one or more states of operation of the target asset (step 970). The one or more states of operation can be indicative of whether the asset is under stress (e.g., one or more resources' usage exceeding threshold value(s) for at least a specified time duration)”) ([HAMDI, para. 0141] “perform a second comparison between the one or more second parameter values and one or more second criteria or threshold values (step 960).”)
The same motivation to modify BOTT with HAMDI as seen in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
However, BOTT-HAMDI does not teach “an indication of temperature relative to a third threshold, and an indication of a fan noise relative to a fourth threshold”
In analogous teaching CASSINI teaches “an indication of temperature relative to a third threshold, and an indication of a fan noise relative to a fourth threshold” ([CASSINI, abstract] “The disclosure is related to a cooling system that includes a thermal sensor to determine a temperature in an interior of the computational device, a sensor to determine at least one of a noise level in proximity to the computational device”) ([CASSINI, para. 0052] “When the sensed interior casing temperature is less than a first temperature threshold or the measured ambient noise level is no more than a first noise threshold, the fan is operated in accordance with the fan lookup table regardless of the measured ambient noise level.”) ([CASSINI, para. 0078] “the fan speed can be decreased in response to ambient noise falling below an ambient noise threshold or a person being sensed in spatial proximity to the computational device 100. This will reduce the fan noise when the user is most sensitive to noise.”).
Thus, given the teaching of CASSINI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of monitoring of the temperature and fan noise by CASSINI into a device for monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices by BOTT-HAMDI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because CASSINI recognizes the need to monitor temperature ([CASSINI, para. 0002] “As processors, graphics cards, RAM and other components in computers have increased in speed and power consumption, the amount of heat produced by these components, as a side-effect of normal operation, has also increased. These components need to be kept within a specified temperature range to prevent overheating”) ([CASSINI, para. 0015] “The present disclosure can provide a number of advantages depending on the particular aspect, embodiment, and/or configuration. The fan control system can selectively run at a certain fan noise level when there is ambient noise present, measured, and controlled by multiple sensors. The system can cool down computational devices and components thereof more than the conventional methodology”)
However, BOTT-HAMDI-CASSINI does not teach “and adjusting, by the processing system, a deep neural network based on the scan result.”.
In analogous teaching VASU teaches “and adjusting, by the processing system, a deep neural network based on the scan result.” ([VASU, para. 0014] “Embodiments of the present invention dynamically adjust one or more intrusion models based on specific network patterns unique to one or more networks, hosts, and/or applications.”) ([VASU, para. 0003] “Artificial neurons and edges, typically, have respective weights that adjust as learning proceeds. The respective weights increase or decrease a strength of a signal at a connection. Artificial neurons may have a threshold such that a signal is only sent if an aggregate signal crosses the threshold. Typically, artificial neurons are aggregated into layers where a plurality of layers perform a plurality of data transformations on inputs”) ([VASU, para. 0032] “program 150 retrains a plurality of associated models and networks with the calculated prediction and associated feedback”) ([VASU, para. 0041] “Program 150 initiates an analyzation of intercepted network input 502, as described in step 204 and in steps 302-308. Program 150 extracts a plurality of network information from network input 502 … Responsive to an applied mitigation action, program 150 retrains one or more associated models and network with the prediction and any feedback.”) ([VASU, para. 0021] “In an embodiment, network input image model 152 and network input classification model 154 utilize transferrable neural networks algorithms and models”)
Thus, given the teaching of VASU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a deep neural network (DNN) by VASU into a device for monitoring data traffic to each computing device of a group of computing devices by BOTT-HAMDI-CASSINI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because VASU recognizes the need to improve network efficiency ([VASU, para. 0041] “program 150 applies updated network input signature 524 to one or more network devices (IDS), reducing future false positives and improving network efficiency”).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
ROBERTSON (US-20190026460-A1): This prior art teaches of an application security monitors data traffic from computing devices to a remote application in a first computing environment, such as a production service chain. The application security monitor detects an anomaly in the data traffic from a computing device. Based on the anomaly, the remote application is substantially reproduced in a second computing environment, such as a scrubbing environment. The application security monitor redirects the anomalous data to the remote application in the second computing environment. The application security monitor determines whether the data traffic from the first computing device corresponds to malicious activity or legitimate activity by the computing device. Responsive to a determination that the data traffic from the first computing device corresponds to legitimate activity, the application security monitor applies to the first computing environment any changes in the second computing environment caused by the redirected traffic from the computing device.
ZHAO (US-9781150-B1): This prior art teaches of data is received that includes a plurality of samples that each characterize interception of data traffic to a computing device over a network. Thereafter, the plurality of samples characterizing the interception of data traffic are grouped into a plurality of clusters. At least a portion of the samples are labeled to characterize a likelihood of each such sample as relating to an unauthorized interception of data traffic. Each cluster is assigned with a label corresponding to a majority of samples within such cluster. At least one machine learning model is trained using the assigned labeled clusters such that, once trained, the at least one machine learning model determines a likelihood of future samples as relating to an unauthorized interception of data traffic to a corresponding computing device.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AFAQ ALI whose telephone number is (571)272-1571. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 7:30am - 5:30pm EST.
/A.A./
09/02/2026
/AFAQ ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434