Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final
Priority
No claim for foreign priority, under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), has been claimed.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application 16/830,792 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
No incoming IDS has been received.
Drawings
Drawings received 06-17-2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanier (US 20070001826 A1) in view of Jefferies (US 20170316621 A1) and Kramer (US 20190326745 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Lanier discloses, a [SmartFuse (programmable relay switch)] in a fuse box of the vehicle (Lanier: [0006] an electronic security system for controlling the use of a gas powered vehicle such as a golf cart is provided with a keypad for allowing an authorized operator of the vehicle to input an identification code (ID) code that uniquely identifies the operator. An electrically controllable switch selectively enables operation of the ignition. A controller is responsive to the ID code input by the keypad for controlling the switch to enable operation of the ignition), the SmartFuse having a first terminal coupled to vehicle battery voltage (Lanier: [0025] sealed housing assembly 40 containing later described electronic circuitry … an ignition switch 12 and the switch circuit 14. The ignition switch 12 includes a single pole, double throw electrical switch 16, normally directly connects a power supply (V+) directly to the switch circuit 14, and more particularly to enable an electric drive motor (not shown) to supply the motor with electrical power … [0026] ignition switch 12 using a terminal connection 18a. A second wire 20 is connected to the switch circuit 14 using a terminal connection 20a. For a positive switched ignition system a third wire 21 is connected to a ground 22, such as a battery ground) and a second terminal coupled to a vehicle element essential to be powered to start the vehicle (Lanier: [0025-0026]), the SmartFuse comprising; a first microprocessor in the SmartFuse (Lanier: [0032] The relay 48 functions to selectively couple the hot wire from the ignition switch 12 to switch (second) wire 20, thereby enabling the ignition system. The security system 10 includes a microcontroller 50 provided with non-volatile memory 52 for storing programs and user (operator) ID codes therein) executing first coded instructions from a non-transitory medium (Lanier: [0032]); a first data repository in the SmartFuse coupled to the first microprocessor (Lanier: [0032] The security system 10 includes a microcontroller 50 provided with non-volatile memory 52 for storing programs and user (operator) ID codes therein); a normally open electrical contact in a conductor connected in series with a fuse filament between the first and second terminals of the SmartFuse (Lanier: [0032] Similarly, the hot wire 18 from the ignition switch 12 is connected to the relay 48. The relay 48 functions to selectively couple the hot wire from the ignition switch 12 to switch (second) wire 20, thereby enabling the ignition system … operation of the relay … to actuate the relay 48, a pair of normally open relay contacts are closed), the normally open electrical contact controlled by the first microprocessor (Lanier: [0035] Microcontroller 50 controls a switching transistor 70, which selectively energizes relay coil 62 that controls normally open relay contacts 64. In most cases where the security system 10 is installed in a switch powered system, the power wire is connected to the ignition switched side).
In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Lanier does not explicitly recite the terminology “smartfuse”. However, Lanier discloses a programmable relay/switch for managing user authentication and power flow for operating a vehicle. Which, is parallel in service, result, description, mode of treatment. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is typically interpreted as routine customization of prior art conditions through routine experimentation to substitute an electronic switch that performs the same task of the switch disclosed by the prior art, thus not inventive.
Lanier discloses a database with authorized users and codes [ABS]. Lanier does not explicitly disclose, first wireless communication circuitry coupled in the SmartFuse to the first microprocessor; a smartphone having a second microprocessor executing a mobile application, the smartphone comprising: second wireless communication circuitry compatible with the first wireless communication circuitry; a second data repository coupled to the second microprocessor and storing a list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle; and an input mechanism enabling a candidate driver to identify to the second microprocessor; wherein the candidate driver identifies to the second microprocessor by the input mechanism, the second microprocessor, executing the mobile application, determines if the driver identity matches an identity on the list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle, and if so, signals the first microprocessor in the SmartFuse to close the normally open electrical contact in the SmartFuse, enabling the vehicle to be started.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jefferies discloses, first wireless communication circuitry coupled in the SmartFuse to the first microprocessor (Jefferies: [0038] a mobile application may interact with the control module via one or more wireless networks and/or the Internet; [0051] the onboard control module is connected by a wireless portal to one or more remote server(s); [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]); a smartphone having a second microprocessor executing a mobile application (Jefferies: [0051] the onboard control module is connected by a wireless portal to one or more remote server(s) containing a vehicle database, a customer registration mobile device interface, and/or a billing system, among any other features that may be used to manage rental or carshare vehicles. Customers and installers can access the system with a camera equipped mobile communication device such as a mobile phone, tablet or laptop by downloading a mobile app; [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]), the smartphone comprising: second wireless communication circuitry compatible with the first wireless communication circuitry (Jefferies: [0051] the onboard control module is connected by a wireless portal to one or more remote server(s) containing a vehicle database, a customer registration mobile device interface, and/or a billing system, among any other features that may be used to manage rental or carshare vehicles. Customers and installers can access the system with a camera equipped mobile communication device such as a mobile phone, tablet or laptop by downloading a mobile app; [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]); a second data repository coupled to the second microprocessor (Jefferies: [0006] These servers may contain, among other functionality, a vehicle database, a customer mobile device interface, SMS gateway, email gateway, and a billing system. Customers and installers may access the system with a variety of methods, including QR code readers, RFID cards, or NFC enabled mobile communication devices. Smartphones, tablets, and/or laptops may interact with the RCS control module by downloading a mobile app configured for such interaction) and storing a list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle (Jefferies: [0053] To facilitate the transfer of reservation information and telemetric vehicle data between users with authorized access to the control module of the vehicle … the transfer and access to telemetric vehicle data can be protected so that only authorized users can access and obtain such vehicle information. Further still, authentication procedures can be employed to ensure that the control module is authorized to access vehicle information and/or control vehicle functions); and an input mechanism enabling a candidate driver to identify to the second microprocessor (Jefferies: [0055] the authorization engine may verify the identity of the originating user requesting the information transfer from a stored database within the remote servers detailing users previously registered and authorized to communication through the remote servers with end users); wherein the candidate driver identifies to the second microprocessor by the input mechanism, the second microprocessor, executing the mobile application (Jefferies: [0047] may also be available for scan via a bar code or QR code (or any visual representation of the identifier). For example, in FIG. 3, a car with an installed control module appears with a QR code or bar code in the window associated with the CAR and/or control module, or both (it is well known in the art that a bar code or QR code can contain multiple identifiers). This would allow a smartphone application (such as one that is programmed to interact with the phones camera to scan bar codes or QR codes), or any QR or barcode reader to scan the codes and receive the corresponding information, such as control module or vehicle identifiers. This may enable a mobile app with wireless networking capability to use the vehicle or control module identifiers in an installation process, or for a customer to bypass the reservation desk and pickup and drop off reserved RCS vehicles; [0055]), determines if the driver identity matches an identity on the list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle (Jefferies: [0057] In the example depicted in FIG. 4 renter may be trying to access a rental car. The user's mobile device 162 may be running an application that is capable of reading a QR code on the car that corresponds to the vehicle's identification number (the VIN, or any other number) or corresponds to the control module's identification number. The mobile device 162 or application running on the mobile device, or the customer, may have its own identifier. In this example, the vehicle identifier and a customer identifier may be sent to a remote server via a cellular network and/or the Internet. The remote server may verify that the customer identifier sent is a registered customer with the rental or carshare service, and that customer is allowed to access the identified car), and if so, signals the first microprocessor in the SmartFuse to close the normally open electrical contact in the SmartFuse, enabling the vehicle to be started (Jefferies: [0057] If verification is successful, the remote server may send a command 404 to the control module in the car), for the benefit of conveniently managing customer authorization for credentialed access to rental or carshare vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Lanier to include a wireless interface taught by Jefferies. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to conveniently manage customer authorization for credentialed access to rental or carshare vehicles.
The examiner respectfully submits, Lanier in view of Jefferies discloses a “SmartFuse” (Lanier: [0032] see programable relay switch).
However, should it be found, Lanier, as modified, fails to disclose a SmartFuse, in the same field of endeavor, Kramer discloses, “[ABS] The system may advantageously be encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor”, for the benefit of connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Lanier to include a system encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor taught by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the input mechanism is an interactive interface displayed on a touchscreen of the smartphone (Jefferies: [0057] In the example depicted in FIG. 4 renter may be trying to access a rental car. The user's mobile device 162 may be running an application that is capable of reading a QR code on the car that corresponds to the vehicle's identification number (the VIN, or any other number) or corresponds to the control module's identification number. The mobile device 162 or application running on the mobile device, or the customer, may have its own identifier).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the smartphone has wireless cellular circuitry enabled to connect the second microprocessor to a wide-area network through a wireless gateway (Jefferies: [FIG. 4A(162)]; [0057] In the example depicted in FIG. 4 renter may be trying to access a rental car. The user's mobile device 162 may be running an application that is capable of reading a QR code on the car that corresponds to the vehicle's identification number (the VIN, or any other number) or corresponds to the control module's identification number. The mobile device 162 or application running on the mobile device, or the customer, may have its own identifier).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 3. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the wide-area network is the well-known Internet network, further comprising an Internet connected server executing coded instructions (Jefferies: [0058] Internet. The control module may receive the command via the Internet over its cellular connection, and unlock the doors, giving car access to the user. The control module's wireless connection security (e.g. the commands sent to the control module, etc.) may be protected using host and network security mechanisms known in the art, such as Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting schemes, including PKI, identifiers/passwords, access control lists, etc) providing an interactive interface (Jefferies: [FIG. 4A(162)]; [0057] In the example depicted in FIG. 4 renter may be trying to access a rental car. The user's mobile device 162 may be running an application that is capable of reading a QR code on the car that corresponds to the vehicle's identification number (the VIN, or any other number) or corresponds to the control module's identification number. The mobile device 162 or application running on the mobile device, or the customer, may have its own identifier) enabling a user to edit the list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle (Jefferies: [0058] Internet. The control module may receive the command via the Internet over its cellular connection, and unlock the doors, giving car access to the user. The control module's wireless connection security (e.g. the commands sent to the control module, etc.) may be protected using host and network security mechanisms known in the art, such as Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting schemes, including PKI, identifiers/passwords, access control lists, etc), stored in the second data repository coupled to the second microprocessor (Jefferies: [0058] Internet. The control module may receive the command via the Internet over its cellular connection, and unlock the doors, giving car access to the user. The control module's wireless connection security (e.g. the commands sent to the control module, etc.) may be protected using host and network security mechanisms known in the art, such as Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting schemes, including PKI, identifiers/passwords, access control lists, etc).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Lanier also discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box (Lanier: [0025] The security system 10 is installed in the ignition circuit by connecting a pair of leads 18, 20 to the ignition switch 12 using a pair corresponding terminal connections 18a, 20a. It may thus be appreciated that even though the ignition switch 12 is closed, actual connection of the power supply (V+) to the switch circuit 14 is dependent upon the operational state of the security system 10).
The examiner respectfully submits, Lanier discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box.
However, should it be found Lanier fails to disclose, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box, in the same field of endeavor, Kramer discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box (Kramer: [ABS] The system may advantageously be encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor; [0029] a smart fuse for preventing battery drain, which has a similar item factor as a typical fuse), for the benefit of connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
Kramer does not explicitly recite the terminology, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box. However, Kramer discloses “a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor” and “a similar item factor as a typical fuse”. Which, implies or suggests having a standard form and standard implement.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by a modified Lanier to include a standard smartfuse in standard form taught by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connect or disconnect a power load based upon received signal.
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 5. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is a compound assembly of a first portion having end caps between which the fuse filament is connected (Kramer: [ABS] The system may advantageously be encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor; [0029] a smart fuse for preventing battery drain, which has a similar item factor as a typical fuse), and a second separate portion having end caps between which the conductor having the normally open electrical contact is connected (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]), the first and second portions joined by a cylindrical connector to form a combined length of a cylindrical fuse (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]), such that, upon the fuse filament being blown the portions may be separated to discard and replace the first portion (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a package with the terminals being downward extending first and second blade connectors adapted to plug into blade sockets in a fuse and relay center of the vehicle, wherein the normally open electrical contact in a conductor connected in series with a fuse filament is connected between the first and second blade connectors within the SmartFuse, the normally open electrical contact controlled by the first microprocessor (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Lanier also discloses, the vehicle element essential to be powered to start the vehicle is a relay adapted to provide power to a starter solenoid (Lanier: [0006] an electronic security system for controlling the use of a gas powered vehicle such as a golf cart is provided with a keypad for allowing an authorized operator of the vehicle to input an identification code (ID) code that uniquely identifies the operator. An electrically controllable switch selectively enables operation of the ignition. A controller is responsive to the ID code input by the keypad for controlling the switch to enable operation of the ignition).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Lanier discloses, installing a SmartFuse in a fuse box of the vehicle (Lanier: [0006]), the SmartFuse having a first terminal coupled to vehicle battery voltage (Lanier: [0025-0026]) and a second terminal coupled to a vehicle element essential to be powered to start the vehicle (Lanier: [0025-0026]), the SmartFuse comprising a first microprocessor in the SmartFuse (Jefferies: [0032]) executing first coded instructions from a non-transitory medium (Lanier: [0032]), a first data repository in the SmartFuse coupled to the first microprocessor (Lanier: [0032]), a normally open electrical contact in a conductor connected in series with a fuse filament between the first and second terminals of the SmartFuse (Lanier: [0032]), the normally open electrical contact controlled by the first microprocessor (Lanier: [0035]).
In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Lanier does not explicitly recite the terminology “smartfuse”. However, Lanier discloses a programmable relay/switch for managing user authentication and power flow for operating a vehicle. Which, is parallel in service, result, description, mode of treatment. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is typically interpreted as routine customization of prior art conditions through routine experimentation to substitute an electronic switch that performs the same task of the switch disclosed by the prior art, thus not inventive.
Lanier discloses a database with authorized users and codes [ABS]. Lanier does not explicitly disclose, first wireless communication circuitry coupled in the SmartFuse to the first microprocessor; a smartphone having a second microprocessor executing a mobile application, the smartphone comprising: second wireless communication circuitry compatible with the first wireless communication circuitry; a second data repository coupled to the second microprocessor and storing a list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle; and an input mechanism enabling a candidate driver to identify to the second microprocessor; wherein the candidate driver identifies to the second microprocessor by the input mechanism, the second microprocessor, executing the mobile application, determines if the driver identity matches an identity on the list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle, and if so, signals the first microprocessor in the SmartFuse to close the normally open electrical contact in the SmartFuse, enabling the vehicle to be started.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jefferies discloses, first wireless communication circuitry coupled in the SmartFuse to the first microprocessor (Jefferies: [0038]; [0051]; [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]); a smartphone having a second microprocessor executing a mobile application (Jefferies: [0051]; [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]), the smartphone comprising: second wireless communication circuitry compatible with the first wireless communication circuitry (Jefferies: [0051]; [FIG. 4A(303)(461)(162)]); a second data repository coupled to the second microprocessor (Jefferies: [0006]) and storing a list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle (Jefferies: [0053]); and an input mechanism enabling a candidate driver to identify to the second microprocessor (Jefferies: [0055]); wherein the candidate driver identifies to the second microprocessor by the input mechanism, the second microprocessor, executing the mobile application (Jefferies: [0047]; [0055]), determines if the driver identity matches an identity on the list of identities of drivers authorized to operate the vehicle (Jefferies: [0057]), and if so, signals the first microprocessor in the SmartFuse to close the normally open electrical contact in the SmartFuse, enabling the vehicle to be started (Jefferies: [0057]), for the benefit of conveniently managing customer authorization for credentialed access to rental or carshare vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Lanier to include a wireless interface taught by Jefferies. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to conveniently manage customer authorization for credentialed access to rental or carshare vehicles.
The examiner respectfully submits, Lanier in view of Jefferies discloses a “SmartFuse” (Lanier: [0032] see programable relay switch).
However, should it be found, Lanier, as modified, fails to disclose a SmartFuse, in the same field of endeavor, Kramer discloses, “[ABS] The system may advantageously be encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor”, for the benefit of connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Lanier to include a system encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor taught by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the input mechanism is an interactive interface displayed on a touchscreen of the smartphone, comprising the candidate driver identifying through display elements in the interactive interface (Jefferies: [0057]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the smartphone connecting to a wide-area network by wireless cellular circuitry through a wireless gateway (Jefferies: [FIG. 4A(162)]; [0057]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 12. Further, Jefferies also discloses, the wide-area network is the well-known Internet network (Jefferies: [0058]), comprising a user editing the list of identities through an interactive interface provided by an Internet connected server executing coded instructions (Jefferies: [0058]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Lanier also discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fusebox, comprising the user removing a fuse from the fuse box and snapping in the SmartFuse (Lanier: [0025]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Lanier discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fusebox, comprising the user removing a fuse from the fuse box and snapping in the SmartFuse.
However, should it be found Lanier fails to disclose, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fusebox, comprising the user removing a fuse from the fuse box and snapping in the SmartFuse, in the same field of endeavor, Kramer discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fusebox, comprising the user removing a fuse from the fuse box and snapping in the SmartFuse (Kramer: [ABS] The system may advantageously be encapsulated in a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor; [0029] a smart fuse for preventing battery drain, which has a similar item factor as a typical fuse), for the benefit of connecting or disconnecting a power load based upon received signal.
Kramer does not explicitly recite the terminology, the SmartFuse is in the form of a cylindrical fuse with the terminals being conductive end caps adapted to snap into clips in a fuse box. However, Kramer discloses “a smart fuse that has a standard fuse form factor” and “a similar item factor as a typical fuse”. Which, implies or suggests having a standard form and standard implement.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by a modified Lanier to include a standard smartfuse in standard form taught by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to connect or disconnect a power load based upon received signal.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is a compound assembly of a first portion having end caps between which the fuse filament is connected, and a second separate portion having end caps between which the conductor having the normally open electrical contact is connected, comprising joining the first and second portions by a cylindrical connector to form a combined length of a cylindrical fuse, and snapping the compound SmartFuse into the clips of the fuse box (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is in the form of a package with the terminals being downward extending first and second blade connectors adapted to plug into blade sockets in a fuse and relay center of the vehicle, comprising removing a conventional fuse from the fuse and relay center and plugging the SmartFuse into the blade receptacles where the conventional fuse is removed (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Lanier also discloses, installing the SmartFuse in a position in the fuse box that serves a relay adapted to provide power to the starter solenoid (Lanier: [0006]).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanier (US 20070001826 A1) in view of Jefferies (US 20170316621 A1) in view of Kramer (US 20190326745 A1) as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Satyanarayanan (IN 201202611 I4).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 7. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is a compound assembly of a first portion having the first blade connector to which one end of the fuse filament is connected, a conductive pin receptacle on an outer surface to which an opposite end of the fuse element is connected, and a second, separate portion having the second blade connector and a conductive pin adapted to plug into the conductive pin receptacle of the first portion, the conductor having the normally open electrical contact connected to the conductive pin, and to the second blade connector, with the first microprocessor, the data repository, and the first wireless communication circuitry in the second portion (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
Lanier, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, upon the fuse filament being blown the portions may be separated to discard and replace the first portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Satyanarayanan discloses, upon the fuse filament being blown the portions may be separated to discard and replace the first portion (Satyanarayanan: [ABS] The assemblies (100) have a fuse contact connected to an external power source. An arc quenching device is placed in a fuse carrier. A housing (106) accommodates the fuse assembly, the fuse carrier and the arc quenching device. The fuse carrier is rotatably placed within the housing. A set of fuse filaments (101) rotates the housing with the fuse carrier. A rotating element rotates the fuse carrier relative to the housing. The rotating element replaces the operational fuse filament with an unused fuse filament; [Claim 1] said rotating means being configured to replace said operational fuse filament with an unused fuse filament upon actuation and said unused fuse filament being selected from said plurality of fuse filaments), for the benefit of replacing the fuse filament with an unused fuse filament.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by a modified Lanier to include rotating blown filaments taught by Satyanarayanan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to replace the fuse filament with an unused fuse filament.
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Lanier, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 16. Further, Kramer also discloses, the SmartFuse is a compound assembly of a first portion having the first blade connector to which one end of the fuse filament is connected, a conductive pin receptacle on an outer surface to which an opposite end of the fuse element is connected, and a second, separate portion having the second blade connector and a conductive pin adapted to plug into the conductive pin receptacle of the first portion, the conductor having the normally open electrical contact connected to the conductive pin, and to the second blade connector, with the first microprocessor, the data repository, and the first wireless communication circuitry in the second portion (Kramer: [ABS]; [0029]; [0034-0038]).
Lanier, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, upon the fuse filament being blown the portions may be separated to discard and replace the first portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Satyanarayanan discloses, upon the fuse filament being blown the portions may be separated to discard and replace the first portion (Satyanarayanan: [ABS]; [Claim 1]), for the benefit of replacing the fuse filament with an unused fuse filament.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by a modified Lanier to include rotating blown filaments taught by Satyanarayanan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to replace the fuse filament with an unused fuse filament.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ebbinghaus (US 20200099374 A1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663