DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants are kindly reminded of their duty to disclose pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.56 which encompasses the citation of references material to patentability of which Applicants are aware, such as references that may have been cited in the specification.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Method for optimizing drug selection in treatment of a pro-inm.
The use of the term Inflecta® , and Humera [sic] which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 6 contains the trademark/trade name Inflectra® . Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the drug infliximab and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- Written Description
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Scope of the claimed genus
Claim 1 is directed towards a method for precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient comprising blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient, whereby the signal for any generic pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering any generic drug for preventing the signal for causing the release.
Claim 2 is directed to claim 1 further comprising the steps of obtaining the blood sample of a patient, conducting any generic ELISA analysis of the sample, analyzing any eight different pro-inflammatory cytokines, and “exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least one selected drug to determine which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree” and, thereafter, administering the at least one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release. Claim 2 does not include any additional structural limitations of the drug administered. Regarding the limitation “reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree”, since only a single drug is required to be selected any one selected drug would always reduce the signal to the greatest degree when there is no comparison point. In addition, pro-inflammatory cytokines typically are required to be released from cells, but no cells are required to be exposed to the drugs. Rather, the claim only requires exposure of the pro-inflammatory cytokines themselves and does not require any context for the exposure.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites a method for reducing pain in a patient by blocking the estrogen receptor beta which comprises following the protocol of Claim 2, which is interpreted to mean comprising all of the limitations of the method of claim 2 a)-d). The preamble is not clearly linked to the active method steps and the active methods steps describe a complete invention and therefore the preamble does not act as a limitation to the claim (MPEP §2111.02).
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites wherein the one selected drug is selected from the group consisting of Inflectra and inflectra with any generic anabolic steroid.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims limit the types of anabolic steroids but does not limit the scope of disease or pro-inflammatory cytokine release as described for claims 1 and 2.
State of the Relevant Art
Regarding drugs for blocking pro-inflammatory cytokine release, some of these are known in the art. For example Vanderwall, Arden G., and Erin D. Milligan. "Cytokines in pain: harnessing endogenous anti-inflammatory signaling for improved pain management." Frontiers in immunology 10 (2019): 3009 teaches that pro-inflammatory signals that contribute to pain include TNF-α, IL-6, IL-1β, Il-17, NGF, histamine, PGE2 (p. 2 left column-right column ¶1). Vanderwall et. al. also teaches that IFN-ɣ is released by Th1 T-cells following spinal cord injury (p. 3 right column ¶3). Vanderwall et. al. teaches that gene therapeutics have been shown to reduce pro-inflammatory cytokine release in the context of chronic pain (Table 1).
Regarding pro-inflammatory cytokine release and cytokine storm or pain, different cytokines have been shown to have different behaviors in different context. Further, there is no agreement in the art over what level or types of pro-inflammatory cytokines are required for a cytokine storm and which diseases can be managed using anti-inflammatory drugs. For example, Stolarski, Allan E., et al. "Cytokine drizzle—the rationale for abandoning “cytokine storm”." Shock 56.5 (2021): 667-672 teaches that cytokine storms have been used to implicate increased levels of cytokines in the pathogenesis of such as SARS-CoV-2 but that cytokine storm is a loosely defined expression which is associated with overproduction of pro-inflammatory cytokines resulting in elevated blood levels leading to a poorly regulated immune response (Abstract, p. 667 ¶2). Stolarski et. al. teaches that an analysis of published literature shows vastly different levels of different cytokines associated with different conditions (Table 2). Stolarski et. al. teaches that the term cytokine storm is misleading and that not all inflammatory conditions resulting in worsened disease state are associated with significantly elevated cytokine levels and there is no clear direct relationship between levels of cytokines release and clinical presentation or degree of disease burden (p. 669 right column ¶2-3). Stolarski et. al. teaches that one reason for rejecting the concept of a cytokine storm lies in the fact that the conditions with the lowest levels of cytokines such as RA and Crohn’s disease respond remarkably well to cytokine inhibitors (p. 670 left column ¶1).
Regarding estrogen receptor beta, there are some known links between estrogen receptor beta levels and signaling and pro-inflammatory cytokines, but they are not well characterized. Calderone et. al. teaches that selective estrogen receptor modulators that have mixed agonist/antagonist effects on both ERα and ERβ “exhibit a complex profile of mixed agonist/antagonist modulators of the ER subtypes and their effects on immune system and immune-mediated inflammatory responses have been described (Behjati and Frank, 2009). Indeed, many preclinical and clinical studies demonstrated that SERMs evoke significant anti-inflammatory responses and inhibit the expression of many proinflammatory cytokines, in different conditions of systemic or local inflammation (Suuronen et al., 2005; Nalbandian et al., 2005; Cerciat et al., 2010; Azizian et al., 2018)” ( "Selective estrogen receptor modulators in COVID-19: a possible therapeutic option?." Frontiers in Pharmacology 11 (2020): 1085; p. 2 right column ¶3). Chakraborty, Binita, et al. "Estrogen receptor signaling in the immune system." Endocrine reviews 44.1 (2023): 117-141 reviews the effects of estrogens and estrogen receptors ERα, ERβ, and GPCR (Abstract). Chakraborty teaches that ERα is the most widely expressed an is dominant in immune cells and that “a clear picture of ERβ expression has not emerged, with a significant number of published reports of its expression in different cells put into question by a recent study that invalidated many of the antibodies used to evaluate its cellular expression (p. 119 left column ¶1). Chakraborty teaches that Neutrophils are E2 responsive and express both ERα and ERβ but that it has been difficult to assign specific functions to the particular estrogen receptors (p. 125). Chakraborty et. al. also teaches that some roles have been discovered for ERβ in additional immune cells such as B cells (e.g. p. 131 left column).
Estrogen receptors in general have been implicated in regulating cytokine expression such as the expression of the IL-6 gene through inhibition of transcription factor NF-IL6 and NF-κB (Calderone et. al., supra, p. 2 left column-right column). Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217 teaches that ERβ expression in T cells is decreased in IBD patients whose disease is controlled by anti-TNF-α therapy. There is no other literature of record demonstrating the interaction between blocking pro-inflammatory cytokines and blocking or normalizing ERβ.
Summary of Species disclosed in the original specification
The instant specification prophetically recites that “it is postulated that normalizing the estrogen receptor beta will stop the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release, which, in turn, will prevent or inhibit CRS” [0012]. The instant specification teaches one example wherein a lymphocyte toxicity assay for post-mastectomy treatment, wherein patient/blood samples were used and exposed to Inflectra® (infliximab) or infliximab in combination with an anabolic steroid from testosterone, nandrolone, stanozolol, or oxandrolone. The cell viability was then compared to the viability after growing up in media. The specification does not teach what kind of cells the lymphocytes were toxic to or if viability is measuring lymphocytes viability. The data show that all of the compounds except stanozolol increased viability, but that the combination of testosterone+ nandrolone + Inflectra® had higher viability than Inflectra® alone. The specification also measures six inflammatory markers in serum wherein the cytokines are IL-1β IL-2, IL-6, IL-8, TNF-α, and VEGF (Specification p. 4-5) and concludes that they are high and that “Per our experience are compatible with moderate UC” (Specification p. 6, top), but it is not clear what that means. There is no correlation given between administration of the drugs and cytokine levels. There is no measurement of cytokines that occurs after administration or exposing the cells or pro-inflammatory cytokines to the drugs. There is no measurement of ERβ levels or signaling or examples of what is meant by normalization of ERβ. There is no evidence that any of the drugs tested block or normalize ERβ. No patients with any inflammatory condition are treated with any drug.
Summary
One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that applicant was not in possession of the required genus of methods of preventing cytokine storm or reducing pain by clocking estrogen receptor beta by blocking or normalizing ERβ in the blood by any means, whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering any generic drug for preventing the signal causing the release; of conducting ELISA analysis for any marker whatsoever; for analyzing any eight different pro-inflammatory cytokines; and for exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines in any manner, including in the absence of any cellular component, to any selected drug and administering the at least one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating:
increased cytokines in a patient with inflammatory pain post-mastectomy by administering infliximab to the patient
exposing immune cells to infliximab or infliximab in combination with at least one additional selected drug, wherein the drug is selected from the group of anabolic steroids consisting of testosterone, nandrolone, stanozolol, and oxandrolone, and administering infliximab or an admixture comprising infliximab and testosterone, nandrolone, oxandrolone, or testosterone and nandrolone to the patient to reduce cytokine release.
does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of 1) precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient or; 2) a method of blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient; 3) wherein the method comprising administering any drug for preventing pro-inflammatory cytokine release to any patient; and 4) exposing isolated pro-inflammatory cytokines to any selected drug and determining which of the at least one selected drug (with no required comparison for a single selected drug) reduces any pro-inflammatory cytokines to the greatest degree and, thereafter, administering the one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Scope of the claimed genus and nature of the invention
Claim 1 is directed towards a method for precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient comprising blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient, whereby the signal for any generic pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering any generic drug for preventing the signal for causing the release.
Claim 2 is directed to claim 1 further comprising the steps of obtaining the blood sample of a patient, conducting any generic ELISA analysis of the sample, analyzing any eight different pro-inflammatory cytokines, and “exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least one selected drug to determine which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree” and, thereafter, administering the at least one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release. Claim 2 does not include any additional structural limitations of the drug administered. Regarding the limitation “reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree”, since only a single drug is required to be selected any one selected drug would always reduce the signal to the greatest degree when there is no comparison point. In addition, pro-inflammatory cytokines typically are required to be released from cells, but no cells are required to be exposed to the drugs. Rather, the claim only requires exposure of the pro-inflammatory cytokines themselves and does not require any context for the exposure.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites a method for reducing pain in a patient by blocking the estrogen receptor beta which comprises following the protocol of Claim 2, which is interpreted to mean comprising all of the limitations of the method of claim 2 a)-d). The preamble is not clearly linked to the active method steps and the active methods steps describe a complete invention and therefore the preamble does not act as a limitation to the claim (MPEP §2111.02).
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites wherein the one selected drug is selected from the group consisting of Inflectra and inflectra with any generic anabolic steroid.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims limit the types of anabolic steroids but does not limit the scope of disease or pro-inflammatory cytokine release as described for claims 1 and 2.
State of the Relevant Art; level of one of ordinary skill; and level of predictability of the art
Regarding drugs for blocking pro-inflammatory cytokine release, some of these are known in the art. For example Vanderwall, Arden G., and Erin D. Milligan. "Cytokines in pain: harnessing endogenous anti-inflammatory signaling for improved pain management." Frontiers in immunology 10 (2019): 3009 teaches that pro-inflammatory signals that contribute to pain include TNF-α, IL-6, IL-1β, Il-17, NGF, histamine, PGE2 (p. 2 left column-right column ¶1). Vanderwall et. al. also teaches that IFN-ɣ is released by Th1 T-cells following spinal cord injury (p. 3 right column ¶3). Vanderwall et. al. teaches that gene therapeutics have been shown to reduce pro-inflammatory cytokine release in the context of chronic pain (Table 1).
Regarding pro-inflammatory cytokine release and cytokine storm or pain, different cytokines have been shown to have different behaviors in different contexts. Further, there is no agreement in the art over what level or types of pro-inflammatory cytokines are required for a cytokine storm and which diseases can be managed using anti-inflammatory drugs. For example, Stolarski, Allan E., et al. "Cytokine drizzle—the rationale for abandoning “cytokine storm”." Shock 56.5 (2021): 667-672 teaches that cytokine storms have been used to implicate increased levels of cytokines in the pathogenesis of such as SARS-CoV-2 but that cytokine storm is a loosely defined expression which is associated with overproduction of pro-inflammatory cytokines resulting in elevated blood levels leading to a poorly regulated immune response (Abstract, p. 667 ¶2). Stolarski et. al. teaches that an analysis of published literature shows vastly different levels of different cytokines associated with different conditions (Table 2). Stolarski et. al. teaches that the term cytokine storm is misleading and that not all inflammatory conditions resulting in worsened disease state are associated with significantly elevated cytokine levels and there is no clear direct relationship between levels of cytokines release and clinical presentation or degree of disease burden (p. 669 right column ¶2-3). Stolarski et. al. teaches that one reason for rejecting the concept of a cytokine storm lies in the fact that the conditions with the lowest levels of cytokines such as RA and Crohn’s disease respond remarkably well to cytokine inhibitors (p. 670 left column ¶1).
Regarding estrogen receptor beta, there are some known links between estrogen receptor beta levels and signaling and pro-inflammatory cytokines, but they are not well characterized. Calderone et. al. teaches that selective estrogen receptor modulators that have mixed agonist/antagonist effects on both ERα and ERβ “exhibit a complex profile of mixed agonist/antagonist modulators of the ER subtypes and their effects on immune system and immune-mediated inflammatory responses have been described (Behjati and Frank, 2009). Indeed, many preclinical and clinical studies demonstrated that SERMs evoke significant anti-inflammatory responses and inhibit the expression of many proinflammatory cytokines, in different conditions of systemic or local inflammation (Suuronen et al., 2005; Nalbandian et al., 2005; Cerciat et al., 2010; Azizian et al., 2018)” (p. 2 right column ¶3). Chakraborty, Binita, et al. "Estrogen receptor signaling in the immune system." Endocrine reviews 44.1 (2023): 117-141 reviews the effects of estrogens and estrogen receptors ERα, ERβ, and GPCR (Abstract). Chakraborty teaches that Erα is the most widely expressed an is dominant in immune cells and that “a clear picture of ERβ expression has not emerged, with a significant number of published reports of its expression in different cells put into question by a recent study that invalidated many of the antibodies used to evaluate its cellular expression (p. 119 left column ¶1). Chakraborty teaches that Neutrophils are E2 responsive and express both ERα and ERβ but that it has been difficult to assign specific functions to the particular estrogen receptors (p. 125). Chakraborty et. al. also teaches that some roles have been discovered for ERβ in additional immune cells such as B cells (e.g. p. 131 left column).
Estrogen receptors in general have been implicated in regulating cytokine expression such as the expression of the IL-6 gene through inhibition of transcription factor NF-IL6 and NF-κB (Calderone et. al., supra, p. 2 left column-right column). Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217 teaches that ERβ expression in T cells is decreased in IBD patients whose disease is controlled by anti-TNF-α therapy. There is no other literature of record demonstrating the interaction between blocking pro-inflammatory cytokines and blocking or normalizing ERβ.
Regarding anabolic steroids, this is a vast category of drugs that do not all predictable effects on cytokines in all contexts. For example, one study of strength-trained anabolic androgenic steroid users showed that use of anabolic steroids increased blood IL-6 and IL-1 levels compared to athletic non-users and sedentary controls but did not significantly effect TNF-α and also increased the anti-inflammatory cytokine IL-10 (Souza, Francis Ribeiro de, et al. "Coronary inflammation by computed tomography pericoronary fat attenuation and increased cytokines in young male anabolic androgenic steroid users." Arquivos Brasileiros de Cardiologia 120 (2023): e20220822). The review Marshall-Gradisnik, Sonya, et al. teaches “Clinical and experimental evidence suggests that gonadal steroids regulate immunological function [95, 111]. Some studies suggest that AAS are immunosuppressive [102, 112-116], while others suggest that AAS enhance immune function [117]. However, the nature of their effects on the immune system depends on the type of AAS use ad and the dose and timing of administration. It has been shown that different AAS can act in either immunosuppressive or immunostimulatory manner [52, 102, 103, 107]” ("Anabolic androgenic steroids effects on the immune system: a review." Central European journal of biology 4.1 (2009): 19-33, M; p. 26 left column-right column ¶1; emphasis is the Examiner’s).
Summary of Species disclosed in the original specification; the amount of direction provided by the inventor, existence of working examples; and quality of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The instant specification prophetically recites that “it is postulated that normalizing the estrogen receptor beta will stop the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release, which, in turn, will prevent or inhibit CRS” [0012]. The instant specification teaches one example wherein a lymphocyte toxicity assay for post-mastectomy treatment, wherein patient/blood samples were used and exposed to Inflectra® (infliximab) or infliximab in combination with an anabolic steroid from testosterone, nandrolone, stanozolol, or oxandrolone. The cell viability was then compared to the viability after growing up in media. The specification does not teach what kind of cells the lymphocytes were toxic to or if viability is measuring lymphocytes viability. The data show that all of the compounds except stanozolol increased viability, but that the combination of testosterone+ nandrolone + Inflectra® had higher viability than Inflectra® alone. Regarding the anabolic steroids, the combinations of testosterone and infliximab showed a minor decrease in viability compared to infliximab alone; and the combination of infliximab and stanozolol shows a dramatic decrease in viability compared to infliximab alone; infliximab with oxandrolone is exactly the same viability as infliximab alone. The specification also measures six inflammatory markers in serum wherein the cytokines are IL-1β IL-2, IL-6, IL-8, TNF-α, and VEGF (Specification p. 4-5) and concludes that they are high and that “Per our experience are compatible with moderate UC” (Specification p. 6, top), but it is not clear what that means. There is no correlation given between administration of the drugs and cytokine levels. There is no measurement of cytokines that occurs after administration or exposing the cells or pro-inflammatory cytokines to the drugs. There is no measurement of ERβ levels or signaling or examples of what is meant by normalization of ERβ. There is no evidence that any of the drugs tested block or normalize ERβ. No patients with any inflammatory condition are treated with any drug.
Conclusion
Applicant does not have enablement to perform a genus of methods precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient for any condition comprising administering any drug that blocks release of any pro-inflammatory cytokine. It would take undue experimentation to determine 1) the degree of blockage required for prevention of cytokine release; 2) which drugs can block pro-inflammatory cytokine release; and 3) which pro-inflammatory cytokines mediate cytokine storm in which conditions.
Applicant does not have enablement to perform a genus of methods of treating pain by blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient. It would take undue experimentation to determine: 1) the degree of blockage or what normalization is required and the link to pain; and 2) which drugs can block ERβ by any direct or indirect mechanism
Applicant does not have enablement to perform a genus of methods wherein the method comprises administering any drug for preventing pro-inflammatory cytokine release to any patient. It would take undue experimentation to determine which drugs can block pro-inflammatory cytokine release, and which pro-inflammatory cytokines are relevant to block for which conditions or to prevent increased inflammation in which circumstances.
Applicant does not have enablement to a method comprising exposing isolated pro-inflammatory cytokines to any selected drug and determining which of the at least one selected drug (with no required comparison for a single selected drug) reduces any pro-inflammatory cytokines to the greatest degree and, thereafter, administering the one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release. It would take undue experimentation to determine under which conditions (e.g. which cell types, or with isolated pro-inflammatory cytokines) may be used to determine effects on pro-inflammatory cytokines of any drug in such broad experimental conditions with unclear relevance to a patient, and to thereafter administer the one selected drug to reduce cytokine release; a person of ordinary skill in the art would require undue experimentation from the genus of assays described which pro-inflammatory cytokines to measure to determine a suitable drug to administer to any patient and to determine which pro-inflammatory cytokines can be relevantly blocked in vitro, such as which cell types are required to perform a relevant assay for which drug types. It would further take undue experimentation to determine which of the entire class of anabolic steroids other than the ones which improve the infliximab effect in the instant specification may be administered to a patient for immunosuppression.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bravaccini, Sara, et al. "Estrogen and androgen receptor inhibitors: unexpected allies in the fight against COVID-19." Cell Transplantation 30 (2021): 0963689721991477 as evidenced by Calderone, Alba, et al. "Selective estrogen receptor modulators in COVID-19: a possible therapeutic option?." Frontiers in Pharmacology 11 (2020): 1085 and Levy, Nitzan, et al. "Unliganded estrogen receptor-β regulation of genes is inhibited by tamoxifen." Molecular and cellular endocrinology 315.1-2 (2010): 201-207.
Claim interpretation: Claim 1 is directed towards a method for precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient comprising: blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient, whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering a drug for preventing the signal for causing the release. MPEP §2111.02 states that “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”. In the instant instance, there is no tie between any of the active steps set forth in the claim and the preamble; thus, the Applicant has defined a complete structural invention in the body of the claim and the preamble does not affect the instant claim construction. In addition, the Examiner notes that the instant specification does not define “blocking or normalizing” and therefore blocking is interpreted as decreasing the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release and normalizing is interpretated as either increasing or decreasing the signal towards a pre-determined baseline or mathematically comparing to a control (e.g. relative expression level). Regarding the phrase “whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering a drug for preventing the signal for causing the release”, the Examiner notes that this claim reads on any drug that “prevents” a signal for releasing pro-inflammatory cytokines. The instant specification does not define “prevents”. Dictionary.com defines “prevent” as “to keep from occurring; avert; hinder” and therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret “for preventing the signal for causing the release” as an intended use of the drug, wherein any drug that is intended to stop pro-inflammatory cytokine release or to hinder (e.g. decrease) pro-inflammatory cytokine release reads on the instant claim.
Bravaccini et. al. teaches a method whereby patients with breast cancer were administered tamoxifen and demonstrated reduced rates of hospitalization and mortality for COVID-19 (Abstract and p. 6-10, Tables 1-3). Bravaccini et. al. teaches that “Recent studies have shown that severe COVID-19 symptomology is related to overwhelming production of cytokines called cytokine release syndrome where, especially IL-6, play a central role [20]. Our study […] providences evidence that tamoxifen and, to some extent Ais, can protect from COVID-19 mortality” (p. 11¶2). As evidenced by Calderone et. al. “These drugs exhibit a complex profile of mixed agonist/antagonist modulators of the ER subtypes and their effects on immune system and immune-mediated inflammatory responses have been described (Behjati and Frank, 2009). Indeed, many preclinical and clinical studies demonstrated that SERMs evoke significant anti-inflammatory responses and inhibit the expression of many proinflammatory cytokines, in different conditions of systemic or local inflammation (Suuronen et al., 2005; Nalbandian et al., 2005; Cerciat et al., 2010; Azizian et al., 2018)” (p. 2 right column ¶3); therefore administration of tamoxifen reads on a drug for preventing the signal causing the release because it blocks the release of pro-inflammatory cytokines. Regarding “blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of the patient”, as evidenced by Levy et. al., Tamoxifen binds and inhibits unliganded ERβ -regulated gene expression (Entire document, Fig. 1; reads on “blocks ERβ").
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217.
Claim interpretation: Claim 1 is directed towards a method for precluding or inhibiting a pro-inflammatory cytokine storm in a patient comprising: blocking or normalizing the estrogen receptor beta in the blood of a patient, whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering a drug for preventing the signal for causing the release. MPEP §2111.02 states that “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”. In the instant instance, there is no tie between any of the active steps set forth in the claim and the preamble; thus the Applicant has defined a complete structural invention in the body of the claim and the preamble does not affect the instant claim construction. In addition, the Examiner notes that the instant specification does not define “blocking or normalizing” and therefore blocking is interpreted as decreasing the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release and normalizing is interpretation as either increasing or decreasing the signal towards a pre-determined baseline or mathematically comparing to a control (e.g. relative expression level). Regarding the phrase “whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocking by administering a drug for preventing the signal for causing the release”, the Examiner notes that this claim reads on any drug that “prevents” a signal for releasing pro-inflammatory cytokines. The instant specification does not define “prevents”. Dictionary.com defines “prevent” as “to keep from occurring; avert; hinder” and therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret “for preventing the signal for causing the release” as an intended use of the drug, wherein any drug that is intended to stop pro-inflammatory cytokine release or to hinder (e.g. decrease) pro-inflammatory cytokine release reads on the instant claim.
Pierdominici et. al. teaches a method of treating inflammatory bowel disease comprising administering anti-TNF-α therapy (Abstract, Fig. 1E and F). Pierdominici teaches that anti-TNF-α therapy results in normalization of plasma lymphocyte levels of ERβ (Fig. 1E and F) Pierdominici teaches the method comprising measuring plasma cytokine profiles of IL-6, TNF-α, IFN-ɣ and shows that patients in remission (which includes the anti-TNF-α patients) have reduced pro-inflammatory cytokine levels (Fig. 3; reads on whereby the signal for pro-inflammatory cytokine release is blocked by administering a drug for preventing the signal causing the release).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nancey, Stéphane, et al. "Serum interleukin-6, soluble interleukin-6 receptor and Crohn’s disease activity." Digestive diseases and sciences 53.1 (2008): 242-247 and Schnur, Sabrina, et al. "Inflammatory bowel disease addressed by Caco-2 and monocyte-derived macrophages: An opportunity for an in vitro drug screening assay." In vitro models 1.4 (2022): 365-383.
Claim interpretation: Claim 2 comprises a step of “exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least one selected drug to determine which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree and, thereafter, administering the at least one selected drug to reduce cytokine release”. The examiner notes that the phrase which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree is a relative term that suggest more than one selected drug, but the instant claims require only one drug to be selected. In a group of one, the selected drug will always be the one that reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree. Additionally, the claim recites the phrase “exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least one selected drug”. The exposure is not limited to any particular method and the Examiner notes that, as described in the 112(a) rejections above, a cytokine exposed to a drug in the absence of any immune cells would not be expected to have the same effect or to be able to be assayed for reducing cytokine release.
The teachings of Pierdominici et. al. in regard to claim 1 are in the 102 rejection above and are incorporated by reference herein.
Regarding claim 2, Pierdominici et. al. further teaches the method comprising obtaining a blood sample and analyzing at least 8 pro-inflammatory cytokines: a Bio-Plex Pro Human Cytokine 27-plex Assay was used to measure “IL-1β, IL-1ra, IL-2, IL-4, IL-5, IL- 6, IL-7, IL-8, IL-9, IL-10, IL-12 (p70), IL-13, IL-15, IL- 17, Basic FGF, Eotaxin, G-CSF, GM-CSF, IFN-γ, IP-10, MCP-1 (MCAF), MIP-1α, MIP-1β, PDGF-BB, RANTES, TNF-α, VEGF” (p. 40449 “Quantification of plasma cytokine/chemokine levels” section).
Regarding claim 4, Pierdominici et. al. teaches that one of the anti-TNFα antibodies is infliximab (synonymous to inflectra).
Pierdominici et. al. does not teach the method comprising conducting an ELISA analysis from the sample. This deficiency is resolved by Nancey et. al.
Nancey et. al. teaches a method of analyzing IL-6 in serum samples from Crohn’s disease patients using a plasma ELISA (p. 243 right column).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform an ELISA on the blood samples of the IBD patients as taught by Nancey et. al. on the patient population of IBD patients receiving anti-TNF-α therapy as taught by Pierdominici et. al. in order to benefit from the known effective immunoassay for IL-6 as taught by Nancey et. al. This would have a predictable effect because both Pierdominici and Nancey teach evaluating cytokines from blood samples in IBD patients and a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to choose the most suitable immunoassay to use out of the known effective assays for quantifying cytokines.
Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nancey et. al. does not explicitly teach the method comprising exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least one selected drug to determine which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree and, thereafter, administering the at least one selected drug to the patient to reduce cytokine release.
This deficiency is resolved by Schnur et. al.
Schnur et. al. teaches a method of screening drugs for treating inflammatory bowel disease by using Caco-2 cells with monocyte-derived macrophage and exposing them to known drugs, followed by measure of cytokine release of IL-6, IL-8, and TNF-alpha (Abstract). Schnur et. al. teaches validation of the anti-cytokine effect with known drugs such as the TNF-α antibody infliximab. Schnur et. al. teaches that cytokine release of the macrophages in stimulated or non-stimulated conditions was detected using ELISA (). Schnur et. al. teaches that anti-TNFα could not be detected in infliximab treated samples, and that only prednisolone reduced the IL-6 release significantly compared to the LPS control, while IL-8 release was decreased by 5-ASA, prednisolone, and infliximab compared to LPS control. Schnur et. al. teaches “Based on these observations, the cytokine release, especially for TNF-α, is a responsive readout for the drug treatment and offers the possibility to investigate “yes–no”-responses from the co-culture model to test the efficacy of drugs”.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform a method of screening known drugs or combinations of known drugs by exposing the Caco-2 / macrophage co-culture comprising cytokines (reads on exposing the cytokines) to drugs to determine whether there is a reduction in cytokine release caused by the drugs as taught by Schnur et. al combined with the method of treating cytokine release in IBD patients as taught by Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nancey et. al. in order to benefit from a method of screening in vitro that can complement and be performed faster than the in vivo administration techniques of Pierdomonici et. al. and to benefit from testing new drug combinations in IBD. It additionally would have been obvious to continue to administer the infliximab to patients that have a response to infliximab as suggested by Pierdomonici et. al. in view of Nancey, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not discontinue an effective treatment that has put someone in remission. This would overall result in the instantly claim method comprising obtaining a blood sample, conducting an ELISA analysis; analyzing eight different pro-inflammatory cytokines (as taught by Pierdomonici), and exposing the pro-inflammatory cytokines to at least on selected drug to determine which of the at least one selected drug reduces the cytokines to the greatest degree and, thereafter, administering the at least one selected drug; wherein the drug is infliximab (reduced TNFα to the greatest degree as per Schnur et. al.). This would have a reasonable expectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to use existing in vitro assays as taught by Schnur to complement drug treatment of Pierdomonici and because Pierdomonici teaches that some patients were in remission with Infliximab treatment; therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would subsequently treat with infliximab because it reduced TNFα the most and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to continue treatment of a subject with the therapy that caused them to be in remission because it is effective.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites a method for reducing pain in a patient by blocking the estrogen receptor beta, which comprises following the protocol of Claim 2. MPEP §2111.02 states that “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”. In the instant instance, there is no tie between any of the active steps set forth in the claim and the preamble; thus the Applicant has defined a complete structural invention in the body of the claim and the preamble does not affect the instant claim construction. The body of the claim recites “following the protocol of claim 2”. Although there is no explicit antecedent basis for the phrase “the protocol”, because protocol is a synonym for method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand “following the protocol of Claim 2” to mean comprising all of the limitations and methods steps of claim 2. Therefore, Pierdomonici in view of Nancey and Schnur et. al. teaches all of the active method steps of claim 2 and therefore also reads on claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, as described above, Pierdomonici in view of Nancey and Schnur et. al. teaches the method wherein the drug is infliximab (synonym of Inflectra®).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nancey, Stéphane, et al. "Serum interleukin-6, soluble interleukin-6 receptor and Crohn’s disease activity." Digestive diseases and sciences 53.1 (2008): 242-247 and Schnur, Sabrina, et al. "Inflammatory bowel disease addressed by Caco-2 and monocyte-derived macrophages: An opportunity for an in vitro drug screening assay." In vitro models 1.4 (2022): 365-383 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Nasser, Mahmoud, et al. "Testosterone therapy in men with Crohn’s disease improves the clinical course of the disease: data from long-term observational registry study." Hormone molecular biology and clinical investigation 22.3 (2015): 111-117.
The teachings of Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nacey et. al. and Schnur et. al. in regard to claim 5 are in the 103 rejection above. Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nacey et. al. and Schnur et. al. does not teach wherein the at least one drug is infliximab with an anabolic steroid, wherein the steroid is selected from the group consisting of testosterone, nandrolone, and oxandrolone. This deficiency is resolved by Nasser et. al.
Nasser et. al. teaches a method of treating Crohn’s disease comprising administering testosterone to patients with Crohn’s. Nasser et. al. teaches that administration normalized testosterone and had a long term beneficial effect with declining CDAI and decreased leukocyte count (p. 113 right column- p. 114 left column); and declining liver transaminases and increased Htc (p. 114 left column- right column). Masser et. al. teaches that testosterone have previously been reported to have an anti-inflammatory effect in the liver, and to inhibit Th1 differentiation of CD4 T cells, in addition to important effects in down-regulating the systemic immune response by cell type specific effects in the context of immunological disorders (p. 115 right column ¶5). Nasser et. al. concludes that normalization of serum testosterone can ameliorate disorders associated with systemic inflammation (p. 115 right column ¶7- p. 116 left column).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the effective infliximab treatment for IBD with the effective testosterone treatment for IBD in order to benefit from the combined effects of infliximab and testosterone for IBD treatment. This would have a reasonable expectation of success because both drugs have been shown to be effective in humans for IBD treatment. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierdominici et. al. Linking estrogen receptor β expression with inflammatory bowel disease activity. Oncotarget. 2015 Dec 1;6(38):40443-51. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.6217 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nancey, Stéphane, et al. "Serum interleukin-6, soluble interleukin-6 receptor and Crohn’s disease activity." Digestive diseases and sciences 53.1 (2008): 242-247 and Schnur, Sabrina, et al. "Inflammatory bowel disease addressed by Caco-2 and monocyte-derived macrophages: An opportunity for an in vitro drug screening assay." In vitro models 1.4 (2022): 365-383 and Nasser, Mahmoud, et al. "Testosterone therapy in men with Crohn’s disease improves the clinical course of the disease: data from long-term observational registry study." Hormone molecular biology and clinical investigation 22.3 (2015): 111-117 as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Swaak, A. J. G., et al. "Effect of nandrolone decanoate (Deca-Durabolin) on the disease activity of female patients with systemic lupus erythematosus: A double-blind placebo-controlled study." Rheumatology International 13.6 (1994): 237-240 and Wu, Christopher, and Jason R. Kovac. "Novel uses for the anabolic androgenic steroids nandrolone and oxandrolone in the management of male health." Current urology reports 17.10 (2016): 72.
The teachings of Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nancey et. al., Schnur et. al., and Nasser et. al. in regard to claim 5 are in the 103 rejection above.
Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nancey et. al., Schnur et. al., and Nasser et. al. does not teach the method wherein the drug is an admixture of infliximab, testosterone, and nandrolone.
This deficiency is resolved by Swaak et. al. and Wu et. al.
Swaak et. al. teaches a method of treating systemic lupus erythematosus by administering nandrolone decanoate (Summary, entire document). Swaak et. al. teaches that from the 5th month of treatment, Deca-Durabolin significantly improved arthralgia and/or arthritis and minor vasculitis and slightly improved polymyalgia, active SLE rash, and oral and/or nasal ulceration and pleural and pericardial pain (Table 1, p. 238 right column ¶3). Swaak et. al. teaches that in animals both testosterone and estrogens decrease the total number of lymphocytes in the thymus but that in the peripheral lymphoid organs estrogens decrease the number and activity of T suppressor/CD8 T cells while testosterone has the opposite effect. Swaak et. al. teaches that administration of testosterone as well as nandrolone decanoate in NZB and B/W female mice has been shown to ameliorate autoimmune disease, while male castration has an accelerating effect. Swaak et. al. teaches that the animal results suggest the use of androgens in autoimmune disease and that some studies have suggested a benefit on patient with SLE, rheumatoid arthritis, and Sjogren’s syndrome (Discussion, p. 239 ¶2-3). Swaak et. al. concludes that the data support that compounds with androgenic activity can have an ameliorative effect on SLE.
Wu et. al. teaches that 19-Nortestosterone (or nandrolone) is an anabolic steroid that has one main biochemical difference between nandrolone and testosterone at the C19 methyl group, which imparts a favorable myotrophic/anabolic ratio. Wu et. al. teaches that the metabolite has a weak binding affinity to the androgen receptor. Wu et. al. teaches that nandrolone is used clinically in the context of chronic catabolic disorders and that there is also a possibility that nandrolone can be used in the context of male hypogonadism, androgenic alopecia, and management of shoulder pain with rotator cuff injury. Wu et. al. teaches that it can augment testosterone’s effects in improving body composition and possibly decreasing the risk of type 2 diabetes or metabolic syndrome in hypogonadal men. Wu et. al. suggests that “ Furthermore, given that prior research has noted that exercise enhances serum total testosterone levels in young men [38] and loss of muscle mass correlates with decreases in androgen levels [39], it is tempting to speculate that gains in muscle mass could be beneficial in warding off, and even treating, male hypogonadism”.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person of ordinary skill in the art to further administer nandrolone to the IBD patients of Pierdominici et. al. in view of Nancey et. al., Schnur et. al., and Nasser et. al. receiving infliximab and testosterone in order to benefit from the increased serum androgen levels that Wu et. al. suggests would be possible with nandrolone treatment using a drug known to be safe and effective at modulating hormone balance in humans as suggested by Wu et. al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would additionally find it obvious to try this combination in IBD because Nasser et. al. teaches that testosterone is effective for IBD, and Swaak et. al. teaches that nandrolone is effective for SLE and potentially other autoimmune diseases; therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would believe that anti-inflammatory effects similar to testosterone would be achieved using nandrolone with a favorable myotrophic/anabolic ratio as taught by Wu et. al. This would have a reasonable expectation of success because Pierdominici et. al., Nasser et. al., and Swaak et. al. are all directed towards finding drug that decrease pro-inflammatory cytokine release for the treatment of pro-inflammatory disorders and a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine a balance of available anabolic steroids such as testosterone and nandrolone to be used for immune suppression using the evidence from the prior art of the anti-inflammatory effects of these anabolic steroids.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHLEEN CUNNINGCHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678