DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (2020/0129815) in view of Iwami et al. (2005/0049084). Claim 1, Hayashi discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the spherical core and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon, wherein a hardness difference S (=Hs-Ho) of zero between a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core and a center hardness Ho (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core [0143], a material hardness C (Shore D hardness) of 60 for the outermost cover [0151]. Hayashi discloses the golf ball has between 200 and 500 dimple but does not disclose the total volume of the dimples [0150]. Iwami teaches a golf ball comprising about 432 dimples with a total volume V (V+W) (mm3) of the plurality of dimples below a surface of a virtual sphere from 485.2 mm3 to 565.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Solving for V-S×C≥0 (565.2- 0×60 = 565.2). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claim 2, Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 380.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples V). Vi-1.85xVo ≥ 0 [380.4-1.85x184.9 = 38.3]. Claim 3, Hayashi discloses wherein S+C≤60 (0+60=60) is satisfied. Claim 4, Hayashi discloses the cover contains an ionomer resin (table 3). Claim 5, Iwami teaches the total volume V (V+W) of the plurality of dimples ranges from 485.2 mm3 to 585.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Claim 6, Hayashi discloses the hardness difference S ranges from 0 to 20 in Shore C hardness [0143]. Claim 7, Hayashi discloses the surface hardness Hs of the spherical core ranges from 50 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0141]. Claim 8, Hayashi discloses the center hardness Ho of the spherical core ranges from 40 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0142]. Claim 9, Hayashi discloses the material hardness C of the outermost cover ranges from 20 to 70 in Shore D hardness [0151]. Claim 10, Hayashi in view of Iwami discloses S, C, and V satisfy 300≤V-S×C≤1200 [565.2+ 0×60 = 565.2]. Claim 11, Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 380.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples V). 160≥Vi-1.85xVo ≥ 30 [380.4-1.85x184.9 = 38.3]. Claim 12, Hayashi discloses 30≤S+C (0+60=60) is satisfied. Claim 13, Hayashi discloses the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition containing (a) a base rubber, (b) an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid having 3 to 8 carbon atoms and/or a metal salt thereof as a co-crosslinking agent, and (c) a crosslinking initiator (abstract). Claim 14, Hayashi discloses the rubber composition further contains (g) a terpene-based resin (abstract). Claim 15, Hayashi discloses an amount of (g) the terpene-based resin ranges from 2 part by mass to 10 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0056]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
January 20, 2026