DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitani et al. (US 2022/0311334, hereinafter “Mitani”).
Claim 1: Mitani discloses a multilane power distribution system (Fig.1) comprising:
a plurality of direct current (DC) power sources (20, 22);
a plurality of load devices (48, 50, 52), wherein each DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources is configured to power at least two load devices of the plurality of load devices (via 13, 16, and 18; see Fig.1 and [0028]), and wherein each load device of the plurality of load devices is configured to be powered by at least two power sources of the plurality of DC power sources (see Fig.1 and [0028]); and
a DC connection network (13, 16, 18) comprising power buses (16, battery busses from 20, 22, and load buses for 48-52) for connecting the plurality of DC power sources (20, 22) and the plurality of load devices (48, 52), wherein the power buses have a high side voltage rail for a positive voltage (+ side) and a low side voltage rail for a negative voltage (- side),
wherein at least two power buses of the power buses are connectable by switchable elements (e.g. the battery outputs, which may be considered “buses” are connected to 16 via switching elements 28, 30, 34, 36, 40, and 42),
wherein the switchable elements comprise a first switchable element (28, 34) for the positive voltage rail (+ side) and a second switchable element (30, 36) for the negative voltage rail (- side),
wherein the switchable elements, when switched on, electrically connect terminals of two DC power sources of the plurality of DC power sources connected by the respective power buses (when switched on, batteries 20 and 22 are connected in parallel; see [0028]), and
wherein a bypass path (14) is provided that bypasses one switchable element of the switchable elements (14 bypassing the switchable elements on the negative side), the bypass path comprising a bypass resistor (44, 46) and a further switchable element (40, 42).
Claim 3: Mitani discloses wherein the bypass resistor comprises an ohmic resistor (44 and 46 being resistors, thus ohmic resistors; see [0019]).
Claim 5: Mitani discloses a control unit configured to control states of the first switchable element, the second switchable element, and the further switchable element (84, Fig.2; see [0029]).
Claim 10: Mitani discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to centrally control every DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources (via 24 and 26; see Fig.2), every switchable element of the switchable elements (28, 30, 34, and 36; see Fig.2), and every load device of the plurality of load devices. (via 54, 56, and 58; see Fig.2).
Claim 12: Mitani discloses wherein the switchable elements are contactors (electrically controlled switches, which are considered the same as a “contactor”; see Figs.1-2).
Claim 13: Mitani discloses wherein the DC connection network is configured such that one considered DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources (e.g. 20) is connectable to only one other DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources (e.g. 22, via switches 28, 30, 34, and 36), such that there is at least one pair of associated DC power sources (pair of 20 and 22), and wherein the at least one pair of associated DC power sources are connectable through the switchable elements (through 28, 30, 34, and 36; see Fig.1 and [0028]).
Claim 14: Mitani discloses wherein a DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources comprises an electric battery (batteries 20, 22), and/or wherein a load device of the plurality of load devices comprises an electric motor (due to the “and/or” language, this limitation is interpreted as optional, as the first limitation is met).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani in view of Joyce et al. (US 2021/0281074, hereinafter “Joyce”).
Claim 2: Mitani discloses the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the bypass resistor comprises an inductor having an inductive resistance. Joyce discloses utilizing an inductive resistance in a similar bypass path in order to mitigate current spikes (see [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided an inductive resistance in the feedback path of Mitani in order to have further mitigated current spikes.
Claim 6: Mitani discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 5, as discussed above, but discloses utilizing a current sensor rather than a “defined period of time” in order to determine when the pre-charging operation has completed (see [0070]). Joyce discloses that in a similar bypass path control, a predetermined amount of time may be used to determine when to switch off the auxiliary path and on the main path (see [0045]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found determining the closing of switches based on a predetermined amount of time as a simple alternative to a current sensor (i.e. utilizing a timer instead of current sensor would eliminate the need for the physical current sensor and any A/D converter). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the control unit to close the further switchable element and either the first switchable element or the second switchable element; and close, after a defined period of time, the other of the first switchable element and the second switchable element, as disclosed by Joyce, as a simpler alternative to the current sensor of Mitani.
Claim 8: Mitani discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to centrally control every DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources (via 24 and 26; see Fig.2), every switchable element of the switchable elements (28, 30, 34, and 36; see Fig.2), and every load device of the plurality of load devices. (via 54, 56, and 58; see Fig.2).
Claims 4 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani in view of Iida (JP 2014-143863 A).
Regarding claim 4, Mitani discloses the limitation of claim 1, but only discloses the pre-charge bypass circuit on the negative side, thus does not disclose “the bypass path bypasses the first switchable element” (i.e. on the positive side). Iida discloses that a similar precharge circuit may be provided to bypass the switch on the positive side (see Fig.1, 29 and 28, provided on the positive path connected to 20). As the circuit would function identically whether the precharge path is placed on the positive or negative side due to Kirchoff’s current law, the results of substituting the negative bypass path with a positive bypass path would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided the bypass path for the first switchable element in place of the second switchable element as the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Mitani discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Mitani does not explicitly disclose “each DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources is configured to power at least two load devices of the plurality of load devices through a respective power converter, and wherein each power converter is configured to drive one load device of the plurality of load devices”. However, Mitani implies utilizing inverters (i.e. DC/AC converters) as a load in discussing the background of the invention (see [0003]-[0005]) in discussing Iida. Iida discloses that a load in order to propel a vehicle may comprise an inverter (15; see pg.2, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided a DC/AC converter within the loads of Mitani, as implied by Mitani, in order to drive a motor to propel a vehicle.
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barraco et al. (US 2022/0204173, of record and hereinafter “Barraco”) in view of Joyce.
Barraco discloses a multilane power distribution system (Figs.2 and 4) comprising:
a plurality of direct current (DC) power sources (2,20a,20b and 3,30a,30b);
a plurality of load devices (C1, C2, C3, C4; see [0045]), wherein each DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources is configured to power at least two load devices of the plurality of load devices (see Fig.2, where each AC/DC converter can power any of the loads C1-C4 based on the switches 10 and 100) and wherein each load device of the plurality of load devices is configured to be powered by at least two power sources of the plurality of DC power sources (any of 20a, 20b, 30a and 30b, depending on the state of switches 10 and 100 and [0068]); and
a DC connection network (10, 100, 5, 4) comprising power buses (4, 5) for connecting the plurality of DC power sources (2, 3, 20, 30) and the plurality of load devices (C1-C4), wherein the power buses have a high side voltage rail for a positive voltage and a low side voltage rail for a negative voltage (see Fig.2, which shows DC buses have two lines, thus a positive and negative side; see also [0048]),
wherein at least two power buses of the power buses are connectable by switchable elements (100, shown in Fig.4),
wherein the switchable elements comprise a first switchable element (28, 34) for the positive voltage rail and a second switchable element for the negative voltage rail (see Figs.2 and 4, where the switchable elements comprises a contactor for each line),
wherein the switchable elements, when switched on, electrically connect terminals of two DC power sources of the plurality of DC power sources connected by the respective power buses (when 100 is switched on, 20a, 20b, 2 is connected to 30a, 30b, and 3).
Barraco, however, discloses providing an inductor and resistor in series with the contactors (see Lc, Rc of Fig.4) in order to absorb current peaks and does not disclose “wherein a bypass path is provided that bypasses one switchable element of the switchable elements, the bypass path comprising a bypass resistor and a further switchable element. Joyce discloses utilizing a bypass path (162,164) including an inductive resistive component (164), where the bypass path bypasses a corresponding first switchable element (166). Joyce discloses first closing the bypass switch, then activating the main switch while closing the auxiliary switch after a predetermined amount of time (see [0045]). Joyce also discloses that such a configuration is useful in avoiding a current spike at the time of closing (see [0046]). As both methods, the inductor in series with the main switch and in a bypass path of the main switch, both accomplish the same goal of reducing current spikes when closing a contactor, the results of substituting the series inductor/resistor circuit with a bypass inductor/resistor circuit would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided the inductor and/or resistor of Barraco within a bypass path including a further switch as the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 2: the combination discloses wherein the bypass resistor comprises an inductor having an inductive resistance (Lc of Barraco and 164 of Joyce).
Claim 3: the combination discloses wherein the bypass resistor comprises an ohmic resistor (Barraco discloses providing an ohmic resistance Rc in series with an inductance; see Fig.4).
Claim 4: the combination discloses the bypass path bypasses the first switchable element (see Fig.1 of Joyce, where 162 and 164 bypasses 166).
Claim 5: Barraco discloses a centralized control unit (see [0072]). Although Barraco does not specifically disclose the centralized control unit also controlling the switches, such a functionality is implied by the fact that the controller is describe as “centralized”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found such a centralized controller as suitable for also controlling the switches of Barraco and Joyce. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the centralized control unit of Barraco to also control the switches, as is implied by Barraco, and as a suitable means of controlling the existing switches.
Claim 6: the combination discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to: close the further switchable element and either the first switchable element or the second switchable element; and close, after a defined period of time, the other of the first switchable element and the second switchable element (see [0045] of Joyce, which discloses first closing the auxiliary contactor, waiting a predetermined amount of time, the closing the main contactor).
Claims 7 and 10: the combination discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to centrally control every DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources, every switchable element of the switchable elements, and every load device of the plurality of load devices (see [0072] of Barraco and the discussion of claim 5 above).
Claim 11: the combination discloses wherein each DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources is configured to power at least two load devices of the plurality of load devices through a respective power converter, and wherein each power converter is configured to drive one load device of the plurality of load devices (see [0045] of Barraco, which discloses the loads each as an inverter and a three-phase motor).
Claim 12: the combination discloses wherein the switchable elements are contactors (see [0053] of Barraco).
Claim 14: the combination discloses wherein a DC power source of the plurality of DC power sources comprises an electric battery, and/or wherein a load device of the plurality of load devices comprises an electric motor (see [0045] of Barraco).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not clearly show within the context of the claims “wherein the control unit is further configured to: close either the first switchable element or the second switchable element; subsequently, after a first defined time period, close the further switchable element; and subsequently, after a second defined time period, close the other of the first switchable element and the second switchable element”, as required by claim 8.
Conclusion
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849