DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG et al (WO Publication No.: WO2022142883 A1), hereinafter referred to as YANG et al ‘883.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, YANG ‘883 disclose a heat-absorbing system (1A) and a method that is disposed adjacent to one or more battery cells (120), comprising: a thermal insulator (140) having capillaries (141) {as shown in Figs. 3-4: page 5 ¶¶1-5 and page 7, ¶2}; a phase change material (300), wherein: the capillaries of the thermal insulator absorb the phase change material in a liquid state through capillary action {see page 5, ¶¶ 2-5 and page 6, ¶3}; and in the event a thermal event (thermal runaway), associated with at least one the one or more battery cells that are disposed adjacent to the heat-absorbing system, occurs, the phase change material changes from the liquid state to a gaseous state in response to heat emitted by the thermal event {see page 5, ¶¶4-5; wherein a preset temperature also constitutes a thermal event}; wherein battery reaches a preset temperature constitutes a thermal event}; and a pouch (110) that includes a vapor-barrier layer (130), wherein: the pouch, including the vapor-barrier layer, envelopes thermal insulator and the phase change material in the liquid state {as shown in Figs. 5-6: page 5, ¶¶ 1-5, page 7, ¶2 and page 8, ¶6, wherein housing/or casing constitutes a pouch}; and in the event a gas pressure, associated with the phase change material in the gaseous state in response to the heat emitted by the thermal event, exceeds an integrity associated with the pouch, an opening is formed in the pouch which releases the phase change material in the gaseous state and removes at least some of the heat emitted by the thermal event from an interior of the pouch {see page 7, ¶3}.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the phase change material includes one or more of the following: H20, a salt, an alcohol, a mineral oil, or a paraffin {see page 6, ¶3}.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the phase change material is selected based, at least in part, on one or more of the following material properties: specific latent heat of vaporization, surface tension, boiling point, or flammability {see page 7, ¶3 and page 8, ¶4}.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the pouch further includes one or more of the following: metal foil, aluminum, aluminum alloy, heat-sealable plastic, food grade packaging material {see page 6, ¶5 through page 7, ¶1; wherein the casing constitutes pouch}, or GEE retort film.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein: the pouch further includes one or more of the following: metal foil, aluminum, aluminum alloy, heat-sealable plastic, food grade packaging material {see page 6, ¶5 through page 7, ¶1}, or GEE retort film; and the heat-sealable plastic is selected based at least in part on one or more of the following: abrasion resistance, puncture resistance {see page 6, ¶5 through page 7, ¶1}, or an ability to tear in a preferred direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al ‘883, in view of Liposky et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2019/0097204 A1), hereinafter referred to as Liposky et al ‘204.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, EXCEPT for the limitation of wherein the thermal insulator includes one or more of the following: a non-woven thermal insulator, ceramic wool, mineral wool, stone wool, or fiberglass.
Liposky et al ‘204 teach: the concept of the thermal insulator includes one or more of the following: a non-woven thermal insulator, ceramic wool, mineral wool, stone wool, or fiberglass {see ¶ [0116]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 in view of Liposky et al ‘204 wherein the thermal insulator includes one or more of the following: a non-woven thermal insulator, ceramic wool, mineral wool, stone wool, or fiberglass, in order to mitigate excessive shrinkage across the entire temperature range of the typical thermal even {Liposky et al ‘204-¶ [0106]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of Liposky et al ‘204 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 12.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al ‘883, in view of BYUNl (English Translated Korean Pub No.: KR102319048 B1), hereinafter referred to as BYUNl ‘048, further in view of YASUOKA et al (English Translated Japanese Pub No.: JP 2022085086 A), hereinafter referred to as YASUOKA et al ‘086.
.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, YANG ‘883 discloses the phase change material includes H20 {see page 6, ¶3}.
However, YANG ‘883 fails to disclose the limitations of wherein: the thermal insulator includes a non-woven ceramic wool; and the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film.
BYUNl ‘048 teaches: the concept of the thermal insulator includes a non-woven ceramic wool {see ¶ [0042]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 in view of BYUNl ‘048 wherein the thermal insulator includes a non-woven ceramic wool, in order to facilitate heat insulation of the system {BYUNI ‘048 - ¶ [0042]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of BYUNl ‘048 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 17.
YASUOKA et al ‘086 teach: the concept of the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film (see page 10, ¶6, wherein the combination of PET, ON, NY and CPP constitutes GEE retort film}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 wherein the vapor-barrier layer includes the use of GEE retort film, in order to facilitate the pouch having particularly excellent low temperature impact resistance {YASUOKA et al ‘086 – INDUSTRIAL-APPLICABILITY}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 17.
Claims 8, 9, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al ‘883, in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein: the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film; and the GEE retort film includes a layer of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), a layer of aluminum, a layer of nylon (NY), and a layer of cast polypropylene (CPR).
YASUOKA et al ‘086 teach: the concept of the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film (see page 10, ¶6, wherein the combination of (PET), (ON), (NY) and (CPP) constitutes GEE retort film}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 wherein the vapor-barrier layer includes the use of GEE retort film, in order to facilitate the pouch having particularly excellent low temperature impact resistance {YASUOKA et al ‘086 – INDUSTRIAL-APPLICABILITY}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 8 and 18.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein: the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film; the GEE retort film includes a layer of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), a layer of aluminum, a layer of nylon (NY), and a layer of cast polypropylene (CPR); and the GEE retort film has a thickness within a range of 133 - 159 m.
YASUOKA et al ‘086 teach: the concept of the vapor-barrier layer includes GEE retort film (see page 10, ¶6, wherein the combination of (PET), (ON), (NY) and (CPP) constitutes GEE retort film}; and the GEE retort film has a thickness within a range of 133 - 159µm {see page 9, ¶1}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 wherein the vapor-barrier layer includes the use of GEE retort film, in order to facilitate the pouch having particularly excellent low temperature impact resistance {YASUOKA et al ‘086 – INDUSTRIAL-APPLICABILITY}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of YASUOKA et al ‘086 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 9 and 19.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al ‘883, in view of Lyons et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2018/0145625 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lyons et al ‘625, further in view of SUN (English Translated Chinese Pub No.: CN 109916213 A), hereinafter referred to as SUN ‘213.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, YANG ‘883 disclose the heat-absorbing system and the method that is disposed adjacent to the one or more battery cells recited in claims 1 and 11, respectively, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein: the phase change material includes a polar material; and the thermal insulator includes a hydrophilic material.
Sun ‘213 teaches: the concept of the phase change material includes a polar material (polar solvent) {page 3, ¶2}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 phase change material by the phase change material of Sun ‘213 so as to include the use of the phase change material that includes a polar material, in order to facilitate large heat absorption, shorter heating time, longer heat release duration {Sun ‘213 – page 4, Beneficial effects}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of Sun ‘213 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 10 and 20.
Lyons et al ‘625 teach: the concept of the thermal insulator includes a hydrophilic material {see ¶ [0051]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify YANG ‘883 thermal insulator by the thermal insulator of Lyons et al ‘625 so as to include the use of the thermal insulator that includes a hydrophilic material, in order to facilitate heat transfer {Lyons et al ‘625 – ¶ [0051]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the YANG ‘883 in view of Lyons et al ‘625 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 10 and 20.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20100028758-A1 to Eaves; Stephen S.
US-6110549-A to Hamada; Naoshi.
US-5786050-A to Otsuka; Yoshiaki.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
02/25/2026