DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, filed 7/10/2026, with respect to 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 (see remarks pertaining to 35 USC 103, pages 8-10 of the remarks) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the LP-WUS acronym should be defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018/174978) in view of Vivo (RP-213265, which was cited in a previous action, which was uploaded to the public FTP server on 11/29/2021).
As per claim 1, Park et al. teach a communication method, comprising:
entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state in an ultra-low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) mechanism [Park, ¶ 0101, “the transmitter 802 transmits data packets 804 and wake up packets 806 to receiver 810 including the 802.11 receiver 812 and LP-WUR 814. The LP-WUR 814 enables low power consumption and low latency for 802.11 and can be a companion radio for 802.11. A common subsystem is made of the 802.11 radio 812 and the LP-WUR 814. As illustrated, the 802.11 radio 812 is used for data transmission and reception as described above with respect to FIGS. 1-7 and is off unless there is something to transmit or receive. The LP- WUR 814 wakes up the 802.11 radio 812 when there is a data packet 804 to receive”, Fig. 8 shows a LP-WUR system with a low power wake up signal (see arrow in element 810). LP-WUR is a synonym for LP-WUS. The LP-WUR receiver (see element 814) sends a wake up signal to the 802.11 receiver (see element 812) when there is a data packet to receive (see element 804). The LP-WUR receives a wake up packet (see element 806), which contains control field information to dictate LP-WUR operations (see ¶ 0145).] based on information of a target timer or indication information sent by a network device [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.].
Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches wherein at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on (see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 1. Park et al. also teach wherein the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state based on information of a target timer or indication information sent by a network device comprises: entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state, in response to expiration of the target timer [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.].
As per claim 3, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 2. Park et al. also teach wherein the target timer is started or restarted in response to data transmission performed by the terminal device and the network device [Park, ¶ 0101, “the transmitter 802 transmits data packets 804 and wake up packets 806 to receiver 810 including the 802.11 receiver 812 and LP-WUR 814. The LP-WUR 814 enables low power consumption and low latency for 802.11 and can be a companion radio for 802.11. A common subsystem is made of the 802.11 radio 812 and the LP-WUR 814. As illustrated, the 802.11 radio 812 is used for data transmission and reception as described above with respect to FIGS. 1-7 and is off unless there is something to transmit or receive. The LP-WUR 814 wakes up the 802.11 radio 812 when there is a data packet 804 to receive”, Fig. 8 shows a LP-WUR system with a low power wake up signal (see arrow in element 810). LP-WUR is a synonym for LP-WUS. The LP-WUR receiver (see element 814) sends a wake up signal to the 802.11 receiver (see element 812) when there is a data packet to receive (see element 804). The LP-WUR receives a wake up packet (see element 806), which contains control field information to dictate LP-WUR operations (see ¶ 0145).].
As per claim 4, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 2. Park et al. also teach wherein the target timer is associated with the terminal device [Park, ¶ 0127, “The three parameters for duty cycle schedule negotiation as described herein include the On duration, the period, and the starting point of one schedule (through direct indication or reference point plus offset). For example, the AP may indicate the starting point (FIG. 10) by indicating the reference point plus the offset and may indicate the reference point from the device 802.11 specification or via exchange with the STA. Similarly, the AP may indicate the offset from the exchange with the STA. The embodiments described herein simplify the negotiation procedure. The embodiments described herein also provide flexibility on the STA side based on different power/latency constraints and also have flexibility on the AP side for optimizing the duty cycle schedules of different STAs by enabling negotiation of the On duration and period based on the different power/latency constraints of the respective STAs”, TWT SP may be dictated based on STA device constraints.] or associated with a medium access control entity (MAC CE).
As per claim 5, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 4. Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state based on information of a target timer comprises: for a the target timer associated with the terminal device, entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state through turning off all primary receivers; or for a target timer associated with the medium access control entity, entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state through turning off a primary receiver of a cell group corresponding to the medium access control entity associated with the target timer.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches for a the target timer associated with the terminal device, entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state through turning off all primary receivers [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on (see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 4, wherein the medium access control entity comprises a master cell group medium access control entity and/or a secondary cell group medium access control entity [Examiner Note: This limitation further defines a non-selected alternative according to the BRI.].
As per claim 12, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 7. Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state based on information of a target timer comprises: entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state through turning off a primary receiver corresponding to the discontinuous reception group.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches wherein the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state based on information of a target timer comprises: entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state through turning off a primary receiver corresponding to the discontinuous reception group [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on(see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 2. Park et al. also teach wherein the target timer is started in response to the terminal device turning on the primary receiver [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.].
As per claim 14, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 1. Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the indication information instructs all primary receivers of the terminal device to enter the low-power receiver state, or instructs a primary receiver corresponding to any medium access control entity to enter the low-power receiver state.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches wherein the indication information instructs all primary receivers of the terminal device to enter the low-power receiver state [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on(see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 16, Park et al. teach a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory, a receiver, and an interface for communicating with a network device, wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and the processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory, so that the processor [Park, fig. 7, ¶ 0092-0099, A STA includes a processor, memory, transceiver, and the relevant programming to perform the claimed functions.] is enabled to perform:
Entering a low-power receiver state in an ultra-low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) mechanism [Park, ¶ 0101, “the transmitter 802 transmits data packets 804 and wake up packets 806 to receiver 810 including the 802.11 receiver 812 and LP-WUR 814. The LP-WUR 814 enables low power consumption and low latency for 802.11 and can be a companion radio for 802.11. A common subsystem is made of the 802.11 radio 812 and the LP-WUR 814. As illustrated, the 802.11 radio 812 is used for data transmission and reception as described above with respect to FIGS. 1-7 and is off unless there is something to transmit or receive. The LP- WUR 814 wakes up the 802.11 radio 812 when there is a data packet 804 to receive”, Fig. 8 shows a LP-WUR system with a low power wake up signal (see arrow in element 810). LP-WUR is a synonym for LP-WUS. The LP-WUR receiver (see element 814) sends a wake up signal to the 802.11 receiver (see element 812) when there is a data packet to receive (see element 804). The LP-WUR receives a wake up packet (see element 806), which contains control field information to dictate LP-WUR operations (see ¶ 0145).] based on information of a target timer or indication information sent by a network device [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.].
Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches wherein at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on(see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 17, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the terminal device according to claim 16. Park et al. also teach wherein the entering a low-power receiver state based on information of a target timer or indication information sent by a network device comprises: entering, by the terminal device, the low-power receiver state in response to expiration of the target timer [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.].
As per claim 18, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the terminal device according to claim 17. Park et al. also teach wherein the target timer is started or restarted in response to data transmission performed by the terminal device and the network device [Park, ¶ 0101, “the transmitter 802 transmits data packets 804 and wake up packets 806 to receiver 810 including the 802.11 receiver 812 and LP-WUR 814. The LP-WUR 814 enables low power consumption and low latency for 802.11 and can be a companion radio for 802.11. A common subsystem is made of the 802.11 radio 812 and the LP-WUR 814. As illustrated, the 802.11 radio 812 is used for data transmission and reception as described above with respect to FIGS. 1-7 and is off unless there is something to transmit or receive. The LP-WUR 814 wakes up the 802.11 radio 812 when there is a data packet 804 to receive”, Fig. 8 shows a LP-WUR system with a low power wake up signal (see arrow in element 810). LP-WUR is a synonym for LP-WUS. The LP-WUR receiver (see element 814) sends a wake up signal to the 802.11 receiver (see element 812) when there is a data packet to receive (see element 804). The LP-WUR receives a wake up packet (see element 806), which contains control field information to dictate LP-WUR operations (see ¶ 0145).].
As per claim 19, Park et al. teach a network device, comprising: a processor, a memory, a receiver, and an interface for communicating with a terminal device, wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and the processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory [Park, fig. 8, element 802, ¶ 0101, An AP includes a processor, memory, transceiver, and the relevant programming to perform the claimed functions.], so that the processor is enabled to perform:
sending indication information [Park, ¶ 0145, “sing the WUR Operation field, in some embodiments, it is also possible to define another mode of operation (for example WUR operation field set to 2), where the TWT SPs are negotiated for the radio, which means that during the TWT SPs, the radio is active, and outside of the TWT SPs the radio is in sleep mode. The field set to 2 indicates that at any time outside of the TWT SPs, the WUR of the STA will still be active”, Fig. 12 is a control field format, which includes a wake up radio (WUR) operation field (see element 1202). If the field is set to “2”, the target wake time (TWT) starting point (SP) indicates a period where the main radio will be active. When the TWT period ends, the main radio enters sleep. See also ¶ 0133.], wherein the indication information instructs the terminal device to enter a low-power receiver state in an LP-WUS mechanism [Park, ¶ 0101, “the transmitter 802 transmits data packets 804 and wake up packets 806 to receiver 810 including the 802.11 receiver 812 and LP-WUR 814. The LP-WUR 814 enables low power consumption and low latency for 802.11 and can be a companion radio for 802.11. A common subsystem is made of the 802.11 radio 812 and the LP-WUR 814. As illustrated, the 802.11 radio 812 is used for data transmission and reception as described above with respect to FIGS. 1-7 and is off unless there is something to transmit or receive. The LP- WUR 814 wakes up the 802.11 radio 812 when there is a data packet 804 to receive”, Fig. 8 shows a LP-WUR system with a low power wake up signal (see arrow in element 810). LP-WUR is a synonym for LP-WUS. The LP-WUR receiver (see element 814) sends a wake up signal to the 802.11 receiver (see element 812) when there is a data packet to receive (see element 804). The LP-WUR receives a wake up packet (see element 806), which contains control field information to dictate LP-WUR operations (see ¶ 0145).].
Park et al. do not explicitly teach at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state.
However, in an analogous art, Vivo teaches at least one primary receiver of the terminal device in the low-power receiver state is in an off state [Vivo, section 1, pg. 1, ¶ 9, “Currently, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle, which dominates the power consumption in RRC idle/inactive state. If UEs are able to wake up only when they are triggered, e.g., paging, power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using wake-up signal to trigger main radio and an separate receiver which continuously monitors wake-up signal with ultra-low power consumption. Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on(see Figure 1)”, The reference describes using a power envelope detector, configured to detect an OOK signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 1), that performs DRX while the main radio is off.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ultra-low power UE wake up techniques of Vivo into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting the triggering as taught by Vivo and using it for the on/off toggle as taught by Park al. (see fig. 8) would achieve power saving (see Park, ¶s 0061 and 0062 and Vivo, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018/174978) in view of Vivo (RP-213265, NPL see PTO-892, which was cited in a previous action, which was uploaded to the public FTP server on 11/29/2021) and Rostami et al. (NPL, which was cited in a previous action).
As per claim 15, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the method according to claim 1. Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein before the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state, the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, auxiliary information to the network device, wherein the auxiliary information is used to request to enter the low-power receiver state.
However, in an analogous art, Rostami et al. teach wherein before the entering, by a terminal device, a low-power receiver state, the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, auxiliary information to the network device, wherein the auxiliary information is used to request to enter the low-power receiver state [Rostami, section IV.B, pg. 424, “Therefore, we primarily focus on the connected mode in this article. In general, in the connected mode, each UE operates in either power-active mode or power-saving mode, depicted in Fig. 6. In the power-active mode, the device can receive or transmit in a continuous manner, which is appropriate for URLLC purposes. In the power-saving mode, the mobile device is configured with PGM in order to save battery life time, suitable for eMBB as well as for massive MTC in which large amounts of UEs have small amounts of data at short intervals”, Power saving mode for a UE (see fig. 6) may include messaging for connection release, which amounts to the exchange of auxiliary information. Power saving mode is based on pre-grant messages (PGM), which amounts to a prediction of whether the receiver needs to remain “on” or not.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the connection release aspect of the power saving mode of Rostami et al. into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because exchange of messaging between devices during a communication mode transmission compliments the power saving technique of Park et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Park et al. in view of Vivo teach the network device according to claim 19. Park et al. do not explicitly teach wherein before the sending indication information to a terminal device, the processor is enabled to perform: receiving auxiliary information sent by the terminal device, wherein the auxiliary information is used to request to enter the low-power receiver state; and determining, by the network device based on the auxiliary information and prediction information of uplink and downlink services, whether to generate the indication information.
However, in an analogous art, Rostami et al. teach receiving auxiliary information sent by the terminal device, wherein the auxiliary information is used to request to enter the low-power receiver state; and determining, by the network device based on the auxiliary information and prediction information of uplink and downlink services, whether to generate the indication information [Rostami, section IV.B, pg. 424, “Therefore, we primarily focus on the connected mode in this article. In general, in the connected mode, each UE operates in either power-active mode or power-saving mode, depicted in Fig. 6. In the power-active mode, the device can receive or transmit in a continuous manner, which is appropriate for URLLC purposes. In the power-saving mode, the mobile device is configured with PGM in order to save battery life time, suitable for eMBB as well as for massive MTC in which large amounts of UEs have small amounts of data at short intervals”, Power saving mode for a UE (see fig. 6) may include messaging for connection release, which amounts to the exchange of auxiliary information. Power saving mode is based on pre-grant messages (PGM), which amounts to a prediction of whether the receiver needs to remain “on” or not.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the connection release aspect of the power saving mode of Rostami et al. into Park et al. One would have been motivated to do this because exchange of messaging between devices during a communication mode transmission compliments the power saving technique of Park et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Cariou et al. (US PG Pub 20180184435), teaches a low modulation packet (see fig, 6, element 604) which is used as a wake up (see fig. 4) for a wireless station containing a low power transceiver (see fig. 2). These features are similar to claim 1.
The reference, Hwang et al. (US PG Pub 20200015165), teaches a target wake time function for a low power station in wake up radio mode (see fig. 16, steps 1660-1690). The low power station uses a target wake time to activate a transceiver for target wake time according to a packet received (see fig, 17), where a trigger is used to activate the target wake time (see fig, 19, element 1902). These features are similar to claim 1.
The reference, Huang et al. (US PG Pub 20200059861), teaches a wake up radio management frame (see fig. 1, element 440), which precludes a wake up radio beacon frame (see element 442). The receiving station contains a normal transceiver (see element 442) and a low power wake up receiver (see element 424), where the normal transceiver may be power toggled/on off (see element 442) based on a target wake time from the management frame, which occurs after the reception of the beacon frame (see fig. 5, steps 510-516). These features are similar to claim 1.
The reference, Bello et al. (NPL, see PTO-892), teaches a sensor with a passive wake up radio (see fig. 1), where the wake up transmission (see section 3.1.1, fig. 4) teaches that a main transceiver may wake for a certain period before returning to sleep, based on a wake up signal received by the wake up radio. These features are similar to claim 1.
The reference, Haque et al. (NPL, see PTO-892), teaches a zero energy downlink interface (see fig. 3b, ZE Rx), where a ZE-WUR generates an interrupt for a Uu TRX modem to awake (see fig. 4a). These features are similar to claim 1.
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417