DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 12011595 and claims 1-32 of US Patent No. 12064631. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Single (US 10500399 B2) in view of Panken (US 2010/0010380 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 31, and 40, Single discloses A system comprising: sensing circuitry configured to sense an evoked compound action potential (ECAP) signal elicited by a first stimulation pulse (eg. Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 30-45, Fig. 3, Col. 6, Ln. 35-47); and processing circuitry configured todetermine a characteristic value of the ECAP signal elicited from the first stimulation pulse (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 40-55, Fig, 6); compare the characteristic value of the ECAP signal to the threshold ECAP characteristic value (eg. Abstract, Col. 7, Ln. 40-47) and control, based on the comparison, delivery of a second stimulation pulse (eg. Col. 3, Ln. 30-60, claim 1-2). Single discloses detecting a posture signal from a change in the ECAP response (eg. Fig. 6, Col. 4, Ln. 5-20), but does not disclose receive from a sensor, a posture state signal representing a posture state of the patient, select, based on the posture state signal, a threshold ECAP characteristic value.
Panken teaches detecting posture changes using accelerometers/other sensors and classifying postures and movements and to modify therapy based on posture state (eg. Para. 9-10, 26-29, 57-58, 81-111, 260).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Single with the sensor and selection logic for therapy modification as taught by Panken to provide the predictable result of providing more accurate tracking of postures with an accelerometer and allowing automatic selection of appropriate therapy parameters.
Regarding claims 22 and 32, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the processing circuitry is configured to :control delivery of a first plurality of pulses at least partially defined by a first value of a stimulation parameter, the first plurality of pulses comprising the first stimulation pulse; determine, based on the comparison, that the characteristic value of the ECAP signal exceeds the threshold ECAP characteristic value; responsive to determining that the characteristic value of the ECAP signal exceeds the threshold ECAP characteristic value, control delivery of the second stimulation pulse by at least iteratively decreasing, from the first value, the stimulation parameter that defines respective pulses of a second plurality of pulses until a subsequent characteristic value of a subsequent ECAP signal no longer exceeds the threshold ECAP characteristic value at a second value of the stimulation parameter, wherein the second plurality of pulses comprises the second stimulation pulse (eg. Single Col. 6, Ln. 35-45, Col. 1, Ln. 25-45, multiple pulses, Col. 4, Ln. 28 – Col. 5, Ln. 21, Col. 7, Ln. 42 – Col. 8, Ln. 11).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the subsequent characteristic value is a first subsequent characteristic value and the subsequent ECAP signal is a first subsequent ECAP signal, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: responsive to determining that the first subsequent characteristic value of the first subsequent ECAP signal no longer exceeds the threshold ECAP characteristic value, increasing, from the second value, the stimulation parameter that defines respective pulses of a third plurality of pulses until one of: (1) a second subsequent characteristic value of a second subsequent ECAP signal exceeds the threshold ECAP characteristic value again, or (2) the stimulation parameter is increased back to the first value (eg. Single Col. 6, Ln. 35-45, Col. 1, Ln. 25-45, multiple pulses, Col. 4, Ln. 28 – Col. 5, Ln. 21, Col. 7, Ln. 42 – Col. 8, Ln. 11).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the stimulation parameter is one of an amplitude or a pulse width (eg. Single Col. 6, Ln. 35-45, Col. 1, Ln. 25-45, multiple pulses, Col. 4, Ln. 28 – Col. 5, Ln. 21, Col. 7, Ln. 42 – Col. 8, Ln. 11).
Regarding claims 25 and 35, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the processing circuitry is configured to: select, based on the posture state signal, the posture state from a plurality of posture states comprising a sleep state and an awake state; and select the threshold ECAP characteristic value according to the selected one of the sleep state or the awake state (Eg. Panken, Para. 19, 118, 122, 149, 176, 179, 223-244, Table 1, Fig. 12-17).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the processing circuitry is configured to control delivery of the second stimulation pulse by at least adjusting a parameter value that defines the second stimulation pulse (Eg. Single, Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 10-55, Col. 4, Ln. 43 – Col. 5, Ln. 21, Col. 7, Ln. 14 – Col. 8, Ln. 22, Col. 12, Ln. 12 – Col. 13, Ln. 47).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses is configured to adjust the parameter value by at least adjusting a first value of the first stimulation pulse to a second value of the second stimulation pulse based on both: (1) the comparison of the characteristic value of the ECAP signal to the threshold ECAP characteristic value and (2) a gain value (Eg. Single, Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 10-55, Col. 4, Ln. 43 – Col. 5, Ln. 21, Col. 7, Ln. 14 – Col. 8, Ln. 22, Col. 12, Ln. 12 – Col. 13, Ln. 47).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses the processing circuitry is configured to select the gain value according to the posture state (eg. Single, Col,. 3, Ln. 62 – Col. 4, Ln. 5, Col. 9, Ln. 55-60, Col. 12, Ln. 12-24, Claim 2).
Regarding claims 29 and 39, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses determine, from at least the posture state signal representing the posture state of the patient, that the posture state of the patient has changed; and responsive to determining that the posture state has changed, change an ECAP sensing frequency (eg. Panken, Para. 29 57, 260 with Single, Para. Col. 7, Ln. 42-53 Col. 9, Ln. 15-56, sampling rate).
Regarding claim 30, the combined invention of Single and Panken discloses an implantable medical device comprising the sensing circuitry and the processing circuitry (eg. Single, Fig. 1-2, implanted spinal cord stimulator 100, Col. 6, Ln. 20-46).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796