DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roos (2017/0297572) in view of Barrera (2024/0416949).
Regarding applicant claim 1, Roos discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to:
evaluate, based on topography data of an upcoming road segment, use of upcoming topography to achieve a target speed range of a vehicle operating in a topography fuel efficiency mode ([0043] “look ahead cruise control functions; road topography, in order to maintain a set vehicle speed”);
permit a current speed of the vehicle to temporarily deviate below the target speed range of the vehicle and to use the upcoming topography to achieve the target speed range ([0050] “corresponding speed profile of the vehicle when traveling along the road segment… allow the vehicle speed to be reduced somewhat when going uphill if the vehicle speed is likely to increase again to the set speed by the force of gravity in a following downhill slope”).
However Roos is silent concerning: determine all trailing vehicles within a predetermined range are operating in a propulsion mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode; responsive to determining that all trailing vehicles within the predetermined range are operating in the propulsion mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode:
Barrera teaches a “Method to Detect and Manage Icy Uphill Roads in Autonomous Vehicles” (title).
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with the trailing vehicle detection of Barrera are known techniques and would have been motivated for greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 2, Roos discloses wherein the target speed range of the vehicle comprises a speed limit of a current road segment ([0043] “set vehicle speed when travelling the road segment”).
Regarding applicant claim 3, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: permit the current speed of the vehicle to deviate below the target speed range of the vehicle by a configurable speed deviation ([0060] “vehicle speed deviates from the allowed speed range”).
Regarding applicant claim 4, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: responsive to the topography data indicating a change in slope of the upcoming road segment, configure the configurable speed deviation based on a travel time estimate for the vehicle to reach the road segment associated with the change in slope indicated by the topography data ([0063] “the case with regard to downhill slopes where coasting… combustion engine disconnected from the vehicle drive wheels is advantageous”).
Regarding applicant claim 5, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on a geographical location of the vehicle ([0021] “with regard to road profile reflecting hills, valleys and crests of the upcoming segment of the path. Use of such data allows high accuracy estimation of the work that is required to achieve the desired movement of the vehicle along the segment of the path”).
Regarding applicant claim 6, Roos discloses the system but is silent wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on additional vehicle data, additional trailing vehicle data and/or environment data.
Barrera teaches a “Method to Detect and Manage Icy Uphill Roads in Autonomous Vehicles” (title).
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with additional vehicle data such as trailing vehicle detection of Barrera since this data is known in the art and would have been motivated for greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 7, Roos discloses wherein the predetermined range is a time gap or a distance ([0051] “distance”).
Regarding applicant claim 8, Roos discloses the system wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, but is silent concerning for each of the trailing vehicles: request the propulsion mode of the trailing vehicle, and responsive to the associated request timing out, determine that the trailing vehicle is not operating in a mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode.
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with the trailing vehicle detection of Barrera are known techniques and would have been motivated for greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 9, Roos discloses communication but is silent concerning wherein the request the propulsion mode is provided across a vehicle-to-vehicle communications interface.
Barrera discloses vehicle-to-vehicle communication V2V in order to exchange information about speed, location and heading of surrounding vehicles ([0105]).
This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine since V2V is known in the art and would have been a design choice to implement motivated by greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 10, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain speed limit data of the current road segment; and configure the configurable speed deviation based on the speed limit data ([0059] “speed profile… vehicle will reach during the road segment will exceed some speed limit… go below some second speed limit if the above measure with regard to the road segment can be taken”).
Regarding applicant claim 11, Roos discloses wherein the target speed range of the vehicle is a range comprising a speed limit of a current road segment ([0059]);
the processing circuitry is further configured to: permit the current speed of the vehicle to deviate below the target speed range of the vehicle by a configurable speed deviation ([0059] “speed profile… vehicle will reach during the road segment will exceed some speed limit… go below some second speed limit if the above measure with regard to the road segment can be taken”);
the processing circuitry is further configured to: responsive to the topography data indicating a change in slope of the upcoming road segment, configure the configurable speed deviation based on an estimate a travel time for the vehicle to reach the road segment associated with the change in slope indicated by the topography data ([0063] “the case with regard to downhill slopes where coasting… combustion engine disconnected from the vehicle drive wheels is advantageous”);
the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on a geographical location of the vehicle;
But is silent concerning the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on additional vehicle data, additional trailing vehicle data and/or environment data; the predetermined range is a time gap or a distance; the processing circuitry is configured to, for each of the trailing vehicles: request the propulsion mode of the trailing vehicle, and responsive to the associated request timing out, determine that the trailing vehicle is not operating in a mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode; the request for the propulsion mode is provided across a vehicle-to-vehicle communications interface; the vehicle-to-vehicle communications interface is a direct interface between at least the vehicle and one of the one or more trailing vehicles or the vehicle-to-vehicle communications interface is a cloud interface; and the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain speed limit data of the current road segment; and configure the configurable speed deviation based on the speed limit data.
Barrera teaches a “Method to Detect and Manage Icy Uphill Roads in Autonomous Vehicles” (title).
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]). Barrera discloses vehicle-to-vehicle communication V2V in order to exchange information about speed, location and heading of surrounding vehicles ([0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with additional vehicle data such as trailing vehicle detection of Barrera since this data is known in the art and would have been motivated to improve greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 12, Roos discloses a vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1 ([0010]-[0011] “vehicle”).
Regarding applicant claim 13, Roos discloses a computer implemented method comprising:
Evaluating, by a processing circuitry of a computer system, based on topography data of an upcoming road segment, use of upcoming topography to achieve a target speed range of a vehicle operating in a topography fuel efficiency mode ([0043] “look ahead cruise control functions; road topography, in order to maintain a set vehicle speed”);
permitting a current speed of the vehicle to temporarily deviate below the target speed range of the vehicle and to use the upcoming topography to achieve the target speed range ([0050] “corresponding speed profile of the vehicle when traveling along the road segment… allow the vehicle speed to be reduced somewhat when going uphill if the vehicle speed is likely to increase again to the set speed by the force of gravity in a following downhill slope”).
However Roos is silent concerning: determining all trailing vehicles within a predetermined range are operating in a propulsion mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode; responsive to determining that all trailing vehicles within the predetermined range are operating in the propulsion mode corresponding to the topography fuel efficiency mode:
Barrera teaches a “Method to Detect and Manage Icy Uphill Roads in Autonomous Vehicles” (title).
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with the trailing vehicle detection of Barrera are known techniques and would have been motivated for greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 14, Roos discloses wherein the target speed range of the vehicle comprises a speed limit of a current road segment ([0043] “set vehicle speed when travelling the road segment”).
Regarding applicant claim 15, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: permit the current speed of the vehicle to deviate below the target speed range of the vehicle by a configurable speed deviation ([0060] “vehicle speed deviates from the allowed speed range”).
Regarding applicant claim 16, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: responsive to the topography data indicating a change in slope of the upcoming road segment, configure the configurable speed deviation based on a travel time estimate for the vehicle to reach the road segment associated with the change in slope indicated by the topography data ([0063] “the case with regard to downhill slopes where coasting… combustion engine disconnected from the vehicle drive wheels is advantageous”).
Regarding applicant claim 17, Roos discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on a geographical location of the vehicle ([0021] “with regard to road profile reflecting hills, valleys and crests of the upcoming segment of the path. Use of such data allows high accuracy estimation of the work that is required to achieve the desired movement of the vehicle along the segment of the path”).
Regarding applicant claim 6, Roos discloses the system but is silent wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: configure the configurable speed deviation based on additional vehicle data, additional trailing vehicle data and/or environment data.
Barrera teaches a “Method to Detect and Manage Icy Uphill Roads in Autonomous Vehicles” (title).
Barrera discloses determine an uphill road that the host vehicle is approaching, determine that the target vehicle is slowing down based on a change in speed of the target vehicle in real-time; and determine a collision avoidance action for the host vehicle to avoid collision with the target vehicle (abstract). Further Barrera, discloses the term ‘nearby vehicle” or neighboring vehicle” or “surrounding vehicle” that is immediately in the next lane or behind the host vehicle” ([0124]). Barrera uses the motivation for collision avoidance by generating an alert; maintaining a safe distance; changing lanes… for avoiding the impending collision using a collective and coordinated action ([0216]). As well as to “navigate safely and efficiently in a variety of driving conditions” ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the vehicle control of Roos at various road segments with additional vehicle data such as trailing vehicle detection of Barrera since this data is known in the art and would have been motivated for greater safety and efficiency.
Regarding applicant claim 19, Roos discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 13 ([0037] “computer program executed in a computer or control unit”).
Regarding applicant claim 20, Roos, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 13 ([0037] “computer program executed in a computer or control unit”).
/W.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661