DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim includes more than one sentence. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "may be " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "may incorporate" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "an optional" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 0184950 (Ledoux).
Regarding Claim 1, Ledoux teaches a grip handle that may be used with a sports pole (5) or mobility device that is comprised of an elongated, cylindrical shaft (4) where a support ledge (6) extends out in a generally perpendicular orientation from the lower end of said grip handle and that may be in a curved shape, and one or more contoured support thumb channels (11 and 12) located on the upper end of the handle.
Regarding Claim 2, Ledoux teaches that said contoured thumb channel is, or channels are, located in the upper area of the handle, and the said channel or channels descend down towards the middle area of the handle (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ledoux teaches that said elongated, cylindrical shaft is of sufficient length for a user to comfortably wrap their fingers around said grip handle and hold said grip handle and that the handle incorporates grooves (18/19/20) for the fingers or may be smooth.
Regarding Claim 4, Ledoux teaches a right-handed grip handle (when the device is symmetrical – see Paragraph 0019) and a left-handed grip handle (shown in the Figures) wherein the thumb-contoured channel(s) to be located on the upper section of the handle facing the user when the user is holding the handle in front of their person, and the support ledge to be located on the lateral or outside of the handle (at 6a) facing the user when the user is holding the handle in front of their person.
Regarding Claim 5, Ledoux teaches, on the lower end of the handle, an opening (into which 5 is assembled) to accept a pole (5).
Regarding Claim 6, Ledoux teaches (see Paragraph 0032) an optional wrist strap detachably coupled (at 21) to the handle grip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CA 2266754, FR 2572657, Heim et al., Lange et al., Miller, Penney, Haberlin, and Feagin, Jr. teach walking/Nordic pole grips.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636