DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitain (US 2019/0392639) in view of Messer (US 2021/0407365) and Edwin (US 2017/0124928).
Regarding claim 1, Kitain teaches A system for calibration in a visual simulation system comprising: a simulator having a projection device (Fig. 1 simulator 14 [0025][0035]) a simulation computer providing a simulated image to the projection device, wherein the projection device converts the simulated image to a projected image, and displays the projected image to a user ([0025][0035] teach display device can project a simulated view of a pilot as shown in element 56 of Fig. 1); Although Kitain teaches the method as discussed above and also teaches the head mounted device HMD can detect movements of the user [0024], he does not teach at least one measurement device in communication with the projection device, the at least one measurement device is configured to sense at least one measured property of the projection device at least one sensor receiving a projected image displayed to the user; and a calibration controller, wherein the calibration controller calibrates a color of the simulated image based on the sensed projected image while the projected image is displayed to the user.
However in the field of projecting an image to a user Messer teaches a system that projects virtual images ([0135]) where at least one measurement device in communication with the projection device, the at least one measurement device is configured to sense at least one measured property of the projection device ([0010][0013]) at least one sensor receiving a projected image displayed to the user ([0060]teaches projecting images to a user. ) ; and a calibration controller, wherein the calibration controller calibrates a color of the image based on the sensed projected image while the projected image is displayed to the user ([0007][0010][0013][0015][0060-0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Kitain with the method as taught by Messer. This combination would provide an improved color uniformity of images projected to a user as taught by Messer [0004]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach and wherein the calibration controller is configured to calibrate the color of the simulated image when prompted by the at least one measurement device and in response to the at least one measured property of the projection device while the projected image is displayed to the user.
However in the field of calibrating a projected image of a display device, Edwin teaches and wherein a calibration controller is configured to calibrate the color of the simulated image when prompted by the at least one measurement device ([0119] teaches chromatic errors can be detected by projecting a calibration image and the calibration image can be captured by a device such as a camera.[0134-0140] discuss how chromatic uniformity is derived based on color) and in response to the at least one measured property of the projection device while the projected image is displayed to the user ([0224-0226] the calibration image can be projected to user and the camera can use images of the eye to determine chromatic error of the image to recognize that calibration is needed) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Kitain with the method as taught by Messer and the calibration method as taught by Edwin. This combination would provide an improved color uniformity of images projected to a user as taught by Messer [0004
Regarding claim 2, Kitain teaches wherein the visual simulation system further comprises a flight simulation system (Fig. 1 flight simulation system).
Regarding claim 3 and 11, Kitain teaches wherein the projection device is within a headset (HMD in Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Messer teaches wherein at least one sensor is positioned on a mounting structure, wherein the mount structure is separate from the headset ([0059] teaches camera 108 can be installed adjacent to wearable device 102 in a station.).
Regarding claim 5, Kitain teaches wherein the projection device further comprises a display and a calibrated lens([0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Messer teaches wherein the calibration controller calibrates the color of the simulated image in response to at least one measured property of projection device, wherein the at least one measured property comprises at least one of: a temperature of the projection device ([0093] [0125-0126]).
Regarding claim 7, Messer teaches further comprising a light transmission device providing the projected image to the at least one sensor, wherein the light transmission device further comprises at least one of: a mirror; a lens; and a fiberscope([0057] teach images are displayed through use of a spatial-light modulator [0060-0061] teaches the method of capturing the images projected in each color channel.).
Regarding claim 8, Messer teaches in the calibration controller calibrates the color of the simulated image based on a comparison between the sensed projected image and the image ([0060-0061]), wherein a correction profile is provided to the computer when a deviation between the sensed projected image and the simulated image is detected ([0056-0057]0102] teach the color channels may have different levels of on uniformity along different regions and therefore color uniformity is performed. Figs. 3 steps 302-304 teach the system determines correction profile based on received video sequences. Therefore it is understood that the system will recognizes deviations in the color of the images and perform the color correction profile method to produce color uniformity.) Kitain teaches flight simulation images (Figs. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Edwin teaches wherein at least one measured property comprises a duration of time of use of the projection device (. Since time is not defined by the claim language a reasonable interpretation is the time of use can be sequential calibration images projected over time as taught in [0201-0203].)
Regarding claim 22, Edwin teaches wherein at least one measured property comprises a state of the simulate image ( simulated image being the calibration image and the state of the simulated image being the chromatic error).
Regarding claim 23, Edwin teaches wherein at least one measured property comprises a sequence of images within the simulated image ([0201-0203]).
Regarding claim 24, Ediwn teaches Edwin teaches wherein at least one measured property comprises a change in color of the simulated image over a period of time ([0119][0134-0140] teaches how the color is related to the chromatic error and how the system can recognize the deviation of color. Since time is not defined by the claim language a reasonable interpretation is the period of time can be sequential calibration images displayed as taught in [0201-0203].)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 and 18 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621