DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 5/5/26. Claims 1-20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 16 recites a method for conducting electronic games in a gaming venue, the method comprising: receiving, by a processor of a gaming venue host system, from each of a plurality of gaming systems of a gaming venue. The limitation of maintaining, by the processor of a gaming venue host system, a value in an electronic record indicating a rate of exchange to a local currency for the gaming venue, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a processor of a gaming venue host system,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a processor of a gaming venue host system” language, “maintaining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally applying a rate of exchange or a game and keeping that steady in their mind. Similarly, the limitations of: conducting are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The same interpretation is applied to the remaining steps in claim 16. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – a processor of a gaming venue host system. The processor of a gaming venue host system is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor implementing a step) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor of a gaming venue host system amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar reasoning is applied to claims 1-15 and 17-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2013/0130781 A1 to Anderson et al. (hereinafter “Anderson”).
Concerning claim 1, Anderson discloses a system comprising: a communication interface; a processor coupled with the communication interface; and a memory coupled with and readable by the processor and storing therein a set of instructions which, when executed by the processor (paragraphs [0075]-[0080]), causes the processor to:
receive, from each of a plurality of gaming systems of a gaming venue, via the communication interface, game event information for a plurality of primary electronic games executed by on the plurality of gaming systems (paragraphs [0043]-[0047] – a player playing a primary game using currency to wager on the slot machine game);
maintain a value in an electronic record indicating a rate of exchange from an intermediate medium of exchange to a local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0048]-[0057]- awarding the player non-monetary credits, which have a rate which can be adjusted (i.e., rate of exchange to local currency) and can be used for other non-wagering games); and
conduct a secondary electronic game based on the intermediate medium of exchange, wherein the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue is adjusted in the secondary electronic game based on the received game event information for the plurality of primary electronic games (paragraphs [0048]-[0057] - the player playing a secondary game based on the rate of exchange (i.e., non-monetary credits to real currency) which can be adjusted and receive an award in the game).
Concerning claim 2, Anderson discloses wherein the received game event information from the plurality of primary electronic games indicates a win event in a primary electronic game in the plurality of primary electronic games and wherein conducting the secondary electronic game based on the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue linearly based on the win event (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 4, Anderson discloses wherein the received game event information from the plurality of primary electronic games indicates a cash out event in a primary electronic game in the plurality of primary electronic games and wherein conducting the secondary electronic game based on the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises decreasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 5, Anderson discloses wherein decreasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises decreasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue linearly based on the cashout event (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 6, Anderson discloses wherein maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue at or above a predetermined minimum value (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 7, Anderson discloses wherein maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue at or below a predetermined maximum value (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 8, Anderson discloses wherein maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue at or below a predetermined maximum value comprises triggering a cash out event in the plurality of primary electronic games in response to the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue being equal to the predetermined maximum value (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 9, Anderson discloses wherein maintaining the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue at or below a predetermined maximum value comprises pausing the secondary electronic game in response to the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue being equal to the predetermined maximum value (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 10, Anderson discloses a gaming system comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with and readable by the processor and storing therein a set of instructions which, when executed by the processor (paragraphs [0075]-[0080]), causes the processor to:
execute a primary electronic game with a player; detect a win event in the primary electronic game, wherein the win event is associated with a payout amount in a local currency (paragraphs [0043]-[0047] – a player playing a primary game using currency to wager on the slot machine game);
present to the player an option to participate in a secondary electronic game using the payout amount associated with the win event in the primary electronic game, wherein the secondary electronic game is conducted using an intermediate medium of exchange having a current value of a variable exchange rate associated with the local currency (paragraphs [0043]-[0057] - awarding the player non-monetary credits, which have a rate which can be adjusted (i.e., rate of exchange to local currency) and can be used for other non-wagering games); and
in response to receiving an input indicating acceptance of the option to participate in the secondary electronic game, incrementing a credit meter of the primary electronic game based on the payout amount in the local currency associated with the win event and the current value of the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency (paragraphs [0048]-[0057] - the player playing a secondary game based on the rate of exchange (i.e., non-monetary credits to real currency) which can be adjusted and receive an award in the game).
Concerning claim 11, Anderson discloses wherein the current value of the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency of the intermediate medium of exchange is variable based on events occurring in electronic games being conducted on a plurality of gaming systems within a gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 12, Anderson discloses wherein the events occurring in the electronic games being conducted on the plurality of gaming systems within the gaming venue comprise win events and cashout events (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 13, Anderson discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: monitor the current value of the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency of the intermediate medium of exchange; and adjust the credit meter of the primary electronic game based on the current value of the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency of the intermediate medium of exchange (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 14, Anderson discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: detect a cashout event in the secondary game; and in response to the detected cashout event, provide to the player a credit in the local currency based on the credit meter of the primary electronic game and the current value of the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency of the intermediate medium of exchange (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 15, Anderson discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: detect a cashout event in the secondary game; present to the player an option to participate in a tertiary electronic game using a current amount of the credit meter, wherein the tertiary electronic game determines the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency of the intermediate medium of exchange; and in response to receiving an input indicating acceptance of the option to participate in the tertiary electronic game, conducting the tertiary electronic game and determining a payout amount in the local currency based on the current amount of credit meter and the variable exchange rate associated with the local currency determined by the tertiary game of the intermediate medium of exchange (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 16, Anderson discloses method for conducting electronic games in a gaming venue, the method comprising: receiving, by a processor of a gaming venue host system, from each of a plurality of gaming systems of a gaming venue, game event information for a plurality of primary electronic games executed by the plurality of gaming systems (paragraphs [0075]-[0080]);
maintaining, by the processor of a gaming venue host system, a value in an electronic record indicating a rate of exchange from an intermediate medium of exchange to a local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]); and
conducting, by the processor of a gaming venue host system, a secondary electronic game based on the rate of exchange from an intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue, wherein the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from an intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue is adjusted in the secondary electronic game based on the received game event information for the plurality of primary electronic games (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 17, Anderson discloses wherein the received game event information from the plurality of primary electronic games indicates a win event in a primary electronic game in the pluraltiy of primary electronic games and wherein conducting the secondary electronic game based on the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 18, Anderson discloses wherein increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises increasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue non-linearly based on the win event (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 19, Anderson discloses wherein the received game event information from the pluraltiy of primary electronic games indicates a cash out event in a primary electronic game in the pluraltiy of primary electronic games and wherein conducting the secondary electronic game based on the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue comprises decreasing the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Concerning claim 20, Anderson discloses wherein the secondary electronic game comprises a crash game and wherein the crash game causes the current exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue to decrease upon the occurrence of an event within the secondary electronic game (paragraphs [0043]-[0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Anderson does not disclose, expressly or inherently, receiving, from each of a plurality of gaming systems of a gaming venue, via the communication interface, game event information for a plurality of primary electronic games executed by the plurality of gaming systems, maintaining a value in an electronic record indicating a rate of exchange from an intermediate medium of exchange to a local currency for the gaming venue, and conducting a secondary electronic game based on the intermediate medium of exchange, wherein the value in the electronic record indicating the rate of exchange from the intermediate medium of exchange to the local currency for the gaming venue is adjusted in the secondary electronic game based on the received game event information for the plurality of primary electronic games. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Anderson discloses in at least paragraphs [0043]-[0057] that a player playing a primary game using currency to wager on the slot machine game, awarding the player non-monetary credits, which have a rate which can be adjusted (i.e., rate of exchange to local currency) and can be used for other non-wagering games, and the player playing a secondary game based on the rate of exchange (i.e., non-monetary credits to real currency) which can be adjusted and receive an award in the game. If the term “the intermediate medium of exchange” is referring to something specific, then it needs to be defined in the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715