DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-16 and 19 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement or traverse the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2015/0,338,888; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1 and 19, Kim disclose an electronic device and a content display method comprising: a first display; a second display; one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions; the one or more processors being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to enable the electronic device to:
display, on a first display (310a; Fig. 8; paras. [0176]-[0177]) of an electronic device (100b/100), a first interface (210; Fig. 27; open state; ¶ [0235]) of a first application (in open state, display screen of first application on first display; step 2802, Fig. 28; ¶ [0238]);
detect, by the electronic device (100/100b), a trigger operation comprising a first preset operation (e.g. detecting trigger operation to change device to a partially folded state; Fig. 28, step S2804, Fig. 27; folded state; paras. [0234], [0238], [0260], [0290]); and
display, on a second display (320a; Fig. 8; second surface; paras. [0176]-[0177]) of the electronic device (100/100b) in response to the trigger operation (e.g. triggered operation to folded state), a card corresponding to the first application (210; Fig. 27; folded state), wherein content displayed on the card (210; Fig. 27, folded state) is determined by content displayed on the first interface (210; Fig. 27, open state) (in the embodiment of Fig. 28, the first display 310 and the second display 320 may be disposed on different surfaces of the device 100b, respectively; paras. [0236]-[0241]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first display (310a) is a primary display of the electronic device, and the second display (320a/210/110) is a secondary display of the electronic device (100b) (Figs. 8, 27; ¶ [0176]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first display (310a, 120) and the second display (320a, 110) are disposed on different sides of the electronic device (100b) (Figs. 8, 27; paras. [0177], [01230]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset operation is a preset folding operation (step S2804; ¶ [0238]; Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the preset folding operation is an operation of folding the electronic device inwards to enable an included angle between a first display area and a second display area of the first display to be within a preset angle interval (determine if the device is in folded/open state based on comparing a measured folded angle with preset angle interval; paras. [0146]-[0149]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset operation is a preset flipping operation (device is flipped between first/second surface; Figs. 8, 27; paras. [0177], [0235]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the preset flipping operation is an operation of flipping the electronic device to enable the first display to be in an invisible state and the second display to be in a visible state (Figs. 8, 27; only second display 320a is visible and first display 310a is invisible when device is flipped to second surface; paras. [0235], [0130]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the preset flipping operation is an operation of flipping the electronic device (100) to enable the second display (320a) to face a user (display 320a/210 facing up towards user; paras. [0235], [0237], [0130]; Figs. 8, 27).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying, by the electronic device on the second display (320a), a card corresponding to the first application (210, folded state; Fig. 27) comprises: determining, by the electronic device (100), whether the first application is a target application (i.e. a user preset application); and when the first application is the target application, displaying, by the electronic device on the second display (320a/210), the card corresponding to the first application (paras. [0227], [0426]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the trigger operation further comprises a second preset operation (e.g. rotation/tilt operation; ¶ [0462]), and the displaying, by the electronic device (100) on the second display (320a) in response to the trigger operation, a card corresponding to the first application comprises: displaying, by the electronic device on the second display (320a) in response to the first preset operation and the second preset operation, the card corresponding to the first application (210; Figs. 1A, 27; folded state).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the second preset operation is a preset rotation operation (rotation operation; ¶ [0462]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim disclose the method according to claim 11, wherein the preset rotation operation is an operation of rotating the electronic device (100) to enable the second display (210) to face an user (Figs. 1A, 27; folded state; paras. [0462], [0130]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the second preset operation (e.g. rotating operation) is a preset operation performed on the second display (110/210; Figs. 1A, 27; paras. [0462], [0130]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device on the second display (110/210), a card corresponding to the first application, the method further comprises: turning off, by the electronic device, the first display, or displaying screen saver content on the first display (the display on opposite surface of second display is placed in an off state; ¶ [0214]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0,338,888) in view of Cho et al (US 2014/0,285,476; hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first display (120) and the second display (110/210/320a) are disposed on different sides of the electronic device (Figs. 8, 27; ¶ [0130]), the method further comprises: a first camera (front camera) and a second camera (rear camera) (¶ [0460]); a first camera is being used for the first interface (the first application is a camera related application; ¶ [0325]). Kim do not explicitly disclose when the first camera is being used for the first interface and a second camera is to be used for the card, disabling, by the electronic device, the first camera that is being used for the first interface, and enabling the second camera that is to be used for the card. In the same field of endeavor, Cho disclose when the first camera is being used for the first interface and a second camera is to be used for the card, disabling, by the electronic device, the first camera (3260) that is being used for the first interface, and enabling the second camera (3270) that is to be used for the card (paras. [0257]-[0258], [0260], [0294]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to activate only the camera, e.g. second camera that is facing the user used for the card, and deactivate the other/first camera that is on the other display/surface of the electronic device for power saving purposes.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0,338,888) in view of Kumar et al (US 2017/0,255,320; hereinafter Kumar).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein Kim do not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: disabling, by the electronic device, the first application and the card in response to an exit operation detected on the second display. In the same field of endeavor, Kumar disclose disabling, by the electronic device, the first application and the card in response to an exit operation detected on the second display (paras. [0073]-[0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to close the screen on the second display based on a sensed exit trigger from the application and return to a default mode of operation (Kumar;
¶ [0073]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Seo et al (US 2015/0,309,691) disclose a method including displaying on a first touch screen an icon related to at least one application, and displaying on the second touch screen first information in a state where the foldable panel is unfolded
- Zhang et al (US 2021/0,208,831) disclose an electronic device including a first touchscreen and a second touchscreen, the first touchscreen is located on a first surface of the electronic device, the second touchscreen is located on a second surface of the electronic device, wherein the first surface is different from the second surface
- Chung et al (US 2015/0,062,097) disclose an electronic device having at least one processor configured to activate a first application in a closing state of a cover, display the activated first application on a display window of the cover, activate a second application in association with the first application and display the activated second application on a full screen in response to the opening of the cover
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648