DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,011,127 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are drafter more broadly and therefore anticipated by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (CN108742304 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Deng teaches a floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) comprising: a fluid flow path (represented by arrows, see Fig. 1) extending from a dirty air inlet (suction pipe, 6) to a clean air outlet (outlet, 402); a fluid flow motor positioned in the fluid flow path (Paragraph [0035]); a recovery tank (trash can, 3) positioned in the fluid flow path (Fig. 1) having a top portion (Annotated Fig. 1), a bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 5), and a sidewall (Annotated Fig. 5) extending between the top portion and the bottom portion (Fig. 5), the recovery tank (3) configured to receive liquid-laden air from the dirty air inlet (6; Paragraph [0041]), the recovery tank (3) having a recovery tank inlet (Annotated Fig. 5) forming an inlet passageway in fluid communication with the dirty air inlet (6) and a recovery tank outlet (Annotated Fig. 5) in fluid communication with the clean air outlet (402), the recovery tank inlet (Annotated Fig. 5) disposed on a side of the recovery tank (3), a baffle (guide baffle, 712) with a baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) surrounding a baffle axis (Annotated Fig. 5), the baffle wall having an upper end (Annotated Fig. 5) and a lower end (Annotated Fig. 5) opposite the upper end (Annotated Fig. 5), the baffle axis (Annotated Fig. 5) extends in a direction from the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3) to the top portion (Annotated Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3), the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) having a wall portion (Fig. 5) extending along the side of the recovery tank (3) having the recovery tank inlet, the wall portion extending between the upper end of the baffle wall and the lower end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5), the wall portion (7125; Fig. 5) is angled such that the wall portion is further from the side of the recovery tank (3) having the recovery tank inlet toward the lower end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig, 5), the baffle (712) aligned with the inlet passageway (Fig. 1), the inlet passageway configured to direct a stream of liquid-laden air against the baffle wall (712).
Deng teaches the airflow rotates but does not explicitly teach the inlet passageway configured to direct a stream of liquid-laden air against the baffle wall directing a first portion of the liquid circumferentially around the baffle in a clockwise direction and a second portion in a counter clockwise direction to separate the liquid from the air, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Deng to further include the inlet passageway configured to direct a stream of liquid-laden air against the baffle wall directing a first portion of the liquid circumferentially around the baffle in a clockwise direction and a second portion in a counter clockwise direction to separate the liquid from the air, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the direction of a component. A change in direction is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the sidewall (Annoted Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3) defines a central axis (Annotated Fig. 5) extending between the top portion (Annoted Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3) and the bottom portion (Annoted Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3), and wherein the wall portion (7125) of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) is angled such that the lower end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) is closer to the central axis (Annotated Fig. 5) than the upper end of the baffle wall (baffle wall of 71 angles toward the central axis in that the top of the baffle wall sis closer to the recovery tank, 3 than a bottom portion of the baffle wall).
Regarding Claim 5, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the sidewall (Annotated Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3) is cylindrical (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the wall portion (7125) of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) is angled such that the lower end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) is closer to the baffle axis (Annotated Fig. 5) than the upper end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5) includes a skirt (Annotated Fig. 5) around the lower end of the baffle wall (Annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the recovery tank (3) sidewall (Annotated Fig. 5) forms a central axis (Annotated Fig. 5) extending between the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 5) and the top portion (Annotated Fig. 5), wherein the baffle axis (Annotated Fig. 5) is disposed along the central axis (Annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the central axis (Annotated Fig. 5) and the baffle axis are coaxial (Annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the recovery tank (3) includes a lid assembly (4) removably coupled to the top portion (Annotated Fig. 5) covering an opening in the recovery tank (3), wherein the baffle (712) is connected to the lid (4 – Figure 7 shows the top of the baffle and in an assembled form the baffle top is connected to the lid, 4; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the baffle (712) is removable from the recovery tank (3) with the lid assembly (both baffle and lid are removable from recovery tank, 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the recovery tank (3) includes an air outlet duct (706) in communication with the recovery tank outlet (402), and wherein the air outlet duct (706) forms at least a portion of the baffle (712; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the lower end (Annotated Fig. 5) of the baffle wall (7125) is spaced a predetermined distance above the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 5) of the recovery tank (3).
Regarding Claim 14, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the recovery tank inlet (Annotated Fig. 5) is on a back side of the recovery tank (3).
Deng does not teach the inlet passageway is directed toward a forward side of the recovery tank; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Deng to further include the inlet passageway is directed toward a forward side of the recovery tank, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the direction of a component. A change in direction is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 15, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the inlet passageway (6) is directed toward the forward side of the recovery tank (3) in operation (Fig. 5).
Deng does not teach the inlet passageway is directed upwardly; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Deng to further include the inlet passageway is directed upwardly, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the direction of a component. A change in direction is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 16, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the baffle wall (712) includes a cylindrical portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the baffle wall (7125) includes a frusto-conical portion (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding Claim 18, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the baffle wall (7125) includes a cylindrical portion (Fig. 5) and a frusto-conical portion (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0085]) .
Regarding Claim 19, Deng teaches the floor cleaner (Paragraph [0002]) wherein the wall portion (7125) that is angled forms the frusto-conical portion of the baffle wall (Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Deng is identified as the closest prior art. Although Deng teaches a floor cleaner, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious the baffle includes a first surface toward the clockwise direction that extends downwardly toward the lower end of the baffle wall, and a second surface toward the counterclockwise direction that extends downwardly toward the lower end of the baffle wall, wherein the baffle directs the first portion and the second portion of the stream of liquid in the respective circumferential direction and an axial direction, as required by claim 2; or the baffle includes a first surface toward the clockwise direction that extends downwardly toward the lower end of the baffle wall, and a second surface toward the counterclockwise direction that extends downwardly toward the lower end of the baffle wall, wherein the first surface is between the cylindrical portion and the frusto-conical portion of the baffle wall, wherein the second surface is between the cylindrical portion and the frusto-conical portion of the baffle wall, and wherein the baffle directs the first portion and the second portion of the stream of liquid in the respective circumferential direction and an axial direction, as required by claim 20.
Claim 3 is objected as being a dependent of claim 2.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723