DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-8 be found allowable, claims 11-18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Here, the sole difference between claims 1-6 and 8 as compared to claims 11-16 and 18 is the swapping of “female-side connector” with “male side connector.” Other than this, each claim recites identical limitations. The terms “female-side connector” and “male-side connector” do not bear any inherent configuration and, moreover, the body of each claim makes evident that Applicant has used the terms interchangeable within these claims. The body of claim 17 differs from the body of claim 7 only in that claim 17 omits positioning on the metal shell of the connector. As such, it is evident that claims 1-8 and 11-18 recite functionally identical subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose information material to patentability under 37 C.F.R. 1.56. A review of the foreign priority documents evidences Applicant’s failure to disclosure such material information.
A prior art reference is considered to be “material to patentability” when it is “not cumulative to information already of record” and furthermore, “establishes, by itself or in combination with other information, a prima facie case of unpatentability of a claim….” See 37 C.F.R. 1.56 (b)(1). A prima facie case of unpatentability is established when the information compels a conclusion that a claim is unpatentable under the preponderance of evidence, burden-of-proof standard, giving each term in the claim its broadest reasonable construction consistent with the specification, and before any consideration is given to evidence which may be submitted in an attempt to establish a contrary conclusion of patentability. See 37 C.F.R. 1.56. The individuals bearing the duty to disclose are discussed in 37 C.F.R. 1.56(c).
Applicant has claimed priority to foreign applications TW112122775 and TW 112122776. The file wrapper of application TW112122775, which matured into patent TWI917779B, contains a rejection based on TWM630422U. The ‘422U reference is an “X” reference relied upon by the foreign office to reject claims 1-26. The file wrapper of application TW112122776 contains a rejection based on TWM630422U and TWM627774U. The ‘422U reference is relied upon as an “X” reference to reject claims 1-3, 5-12, 15-24, and 26. The same reference, in combination with the ‘774U reference, are collectively relied upon as “Y” references to reject claims 4, 14, and 25.
The ‘422U reference was published on April 20, 2022 to a different inventive entity. As it forms a prima facie case of unpatentability, as evidenced by the foreign rejection, the reference is unambiguously material to the patentability of the instant claims. This is further evidenced by the rejection provided below, based solely on the ‘422U reference. The ‘774U reference was published on June 1, 2022 to a different inventive entity. As it forms a prima facie case of unpatentability, as evidenced by the foreign rejection, the reference is also unambiguously material to the patentability of the instant claims.
If any party bearing the duty to disclose is aware of further prior art documents material to patentability of the claims as filed, Applicant is required to submit an appropriate Information Disclosure Statement identifying such prior art documents.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant recites “[a] female-side connector, which enables to join with a male-side connector” (emphasis by Examiner) in the preamble. It is unclear whether Applicant has inadvertently omitted additional elements, or whether the grammatical structure of the translation has failed to clearly and appropriately convey the limitation. As best understood by Examiner, the preamble should instead recite “which is configured to mate with a male-side connector….” Claim 11 recites similar limitations and is therefore rejected for the same reason.
Claim 1 further recites “the first female-side…and the second female-side locking direction extension line[s] can extend and intersect substantially” (emphasis by Examiner). Here, use of the term “can” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Applicant also uses the term “can” in claims 5, 10, 11, 15, 19, and 23. Each of these claims are rejected for at least the same reason. Claims 2, 6, 12, and 16 each cure the deficiency found in their respective parent claim and, thus, are not subject to rejection for this reason.
Appropriate corrections are required. All of the dependent claims recite a dependency from one of independent claims 1, 11, 19, and 23. As shown above, each of the independent claims recite at least one limitation which is deficient under §112, wherein each dependent claim fails to cure all deficiencies of the claim from which they depend. Thus, all of the dependent claims are rejected under §112 for the same reasons as their corresponding independent claims unless specifically noted otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TWM630422U (“’422”).
Regarding claim 1, ‘442U discloses:
A female-side connector (FIGS 1, 2), which enables to join with a male-side connector (as seen in FIGS 3-6), and the female-side connector comprises:
a female-side conductive terminal (FIG 1:2), comprising a female-side terminal joining structure (FIGS 1, 2; the portion of terminals 2 located within plug interface 12, as seen in FIG 2);
a female-side insulating base (FIG 1:1), being embedded with the female-side conductive terminal (as shown in FIGS 1 and 2); and
a female-side metal shell (FIG 1:3), being mated with the female-side insulating base (as shown in FIG 2), enables the female-side metal shell and the female-side insulating base to form a female-side mating body (as shown in FIG 2), and the female-side mating body comprises a female-side joining space (“plug interface 12”) and a female-side locking side wall (horizontally extending base 10, along with side walls 11 and metal shell 3, including arm portions 31, may be reasonably interpreted as a singular, U-shaped side wall),
wherein the female-side terminal joining structure (2) is located within the female-side joining space (12, as shown in FIG 2), and the female-side locking side wall comprises a first female-side locking direction and a second female-side locking direction (inherent; Applicant does not define these locking direction and, thus, Examiner may arbitrarily designate the first and second locking directions), and the first female-side locking direction extends along a first female-side locking direction extension line, and the second female-side locking direction extends along a second female-side locking direction extension line (inherent; a direction is understood to extend along a respective “line” pointing in the respective direction), and the first female-side locking direction extension line and the second female-side locking direction extension line can extend and intersect substantially (inherent; as the lines are arbitrary based on their correlation to arbitrary directions, the arbitrary directions and lines may be designated such that the first locking direction is perpendicular to the second locking direction), and the female-side locking side wall also comprises a first female-side locking structure (e.g., the apertures depicted on extensions 311 of arms 31, shown in FIGS 1 and 2) and a second female-side locking structure (e.g., vertical portion 320 of limiting seat 32), wherein
the female-side locking side wall guides the male-side connector into the female-side joining space to join with the female-side terminal joining structure (see FIGS 3, 6; the male connector is inserted into the female connector such that claw arms 60 are seated on arms 11, 31, thereby guiding the terminals of the respective connectors into mutual connection); and
when the male-side connector enters the female-side joining space, the first female-side locking structure locks the male-side connector in the first female-side locking direction (see FIGS 2-5, wherein the unlabeled projection from the male connector engages with the aperture on extension 311), and the second female-side locking structure locks the male-side connector in the second female-side locking direction (once inserted, as shown in FIG 6, vertical portion 320 of limiting seat 32 prevents lateral movement of the male connector in an upper-leftward direction), to maintain the joining relationship between the female-side terminal joining structure and the male-side connector (the first and second locking structures collectively provide increased connection stability between the male and female connectors, as shown by FIGS 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first female-side locking direction extension line and the second female-side locking direction extension line intersection substantially perpendicularly (see annotated FIG 1, below).
Figure 1 - First Annotated FIG 1
Regarding claim 3, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure and the second female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side metal shell (as seen in FIG 1, both locking structures are elements of metal shield 3).
Regarding claim 4, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side metal shell (see the rejection of claim 3, above), and the second female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side insulating base (as seen in FIG 1, both locking structures are elements of metal shield 3; metal shield 3 is positioned on insulating base 1, and thus both locking structures may be reasonably interpreted as “being positioned on the female-side insulating base” as presently recited).
Regarding claim 5, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the female-side locking side wall also comprises a third female-side locking direction (inherent for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1, above, vis-à-vis the first and second locking directions), and the third female-side locking direction extends along a third female-side locking direction extension line (see the second annotated FIG 1, below), and the third female-side locking direction extension line and the second female-side locking direction extension line can extend and intersect substantially with each other (as shown by the second annotated FIG 1), and the female-side locking side wall further comprises a third female-side locking structure (FIG 1, the aperture in the upper, unlabeled arm 311 of metal shield 3), wherein when the male-side connector enters the female-side joining space, the third female-side locking structure locks the male-side connector in the third female-side locking direction (as with the first locking structure, the third locking structure engages with a projection on the male connector to lock the male connector in place) to maintain the joining relationship between the female-side terminal joining structure and the male-side connector (in the same manner as discussed in rejection of claim 1, above).
Figure 2 - Second Annotated FIG 1
Regarding claim 6, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the third female-side locking direction extension line and the second female-side locking direction extension line intersection substantially perpendicularly (see second annotated FIG 1, above).
Regarding claim 7, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the third female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side metal shell or the female-side insulating base (see the rejections of claims 3 and 4, above).
Regarding claim 8, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the first, second, and third locking structures being a recessed structure or a protruding structure (all of the locking structures may be reasonably interpreted as being “protrusions” of metal shell 3).
Regarding claim 9, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the female-side metal shell comprises a first female-side metal locking sub-shell (the bent portion of extension 311 on which the aperture is located may be plausibly interpreted as a “first…sub-shell” of metal shell 3), a second female-side metal locking sub-shell (limiting seat 32 may be plausibly interpreted as a “second…sub-shell” of metal shell 3) , and a third female-side metal locking sub-shell (the bent portion of the upper-right extension 311 on which the aperture is located may be plausibly interpreted as a “third…sub-shell” of metal shell 3), in the female-side mating body (metal shell 3 is part of the female-side mating body), the first female-side metal locking sub-shell, the second female-side metal locking sub-shell, and the third female-side metal locking sub-shell are bent (as seen in FIGS 1 and 2, all of the portions identified above include a bent portion) and mated with the female-side insulating base (as shown in FIG 3, metal shell 3 sits on insulating base 1, thus every element of metal shell 3 is also mated with the insulating base), respectively, wherein the first female-side locking structure (the aperture on labeled extension 311) is positioned on the first female-side metal locking sub- shell (see above) the second female-side locking structure (the vertical arm portion, 320A, of limiting seat 32) is positioned on the second female-side metal locking sub-shell (see above), and the third female-side locking structure female-side locking structure (the aperture on unlabeled upper-right extension 311) is positioned on the third female- side metal locking sub-shell (see above).
Regarding claim 10, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 9 and further discloses the second female-side metal locking sub-shell connects with the third female-side metal locking sub-shell (all sub-shells are at least indirectly connected through the body of metal shell 3), enabling the second female-side metal locking sub-shell and the third female-side metal locking sub-shell to form a bent structure (metal shell 3 is a bent structure) that can mate with the female-side insulating base (as shown in FIG 3).
Regarding claim 11-18, Applicant merely recites the exact subject matter of claims 1-8, swapping out instance of “female-side” language with “male-side” and vice-versa. The terms “female-side” and “male-side” are not defined by Applicant and carry no inherent structural limitation. As such, the swapping of language does not change the scope of the claimed subject matter. As shown above, ‘422 anticipates claims 1-8; Examiner therefore finds that the rejections of claims 1-8 apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter recited in claims 11-18.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will also provide an alternative rejection of claims 11-18 based on the ‘422 reference.
Regarding claim 11, ‘422 also discloses:
A male-side connector (FIG 3, which enables to join with a female-side connector, and the male-side connector comprises:
a male-side conductive terminal (upper connector of FIG 3), comprising a male-side terminal joining structure (“terminal socket 40”);
a male-side insulating base (connector body 4), being embedded with the male-side conductive terminal (as seen in FIG 3, where terminal sockets 40 are embedded in body 4); and
a male-side metal shell (metal cover 6), being mated with the male-side insulating base (as shown in FIG 3), enables the male-side metal shell and the male-side insulating base to form a male-side mating body (FIG 3), and the male-side mating body comprises a male-side joining space (the plurality of terminal sockets 40 collectively form “a joining space”) and a male-side locking side wall (the left or right side portions of the male connector), wherein the male-side terminal joining structure is located within the male-side joining space (as seen in FIG 3), and the male-side locking side wall comprises a first male-side locking direction and a second male-side locking direction (corresponding to the same directions in the first annotated FIG 1, above), and the first male-side locking direction extends along a first male-side locking direction extension line, and the second male-side locking direction extends along a second male-side locking direction extension line (corresponding to the same directions in the first annotated FIG 1, above), and the first male-side locking direction extension line and the second male-side locking direction extension line can extend and intersect substantially (as seen in annotated FIGS 1, above), and the male-side locking side wall also comprises a first male-side locking structure (unlabeled projection adjacent to arm 60, as seen in FIG 3) and a second male-side locking structure (arm 60), wherein
the male-side locking side wall guides the female-side connector into the male-side joining space to join with the male-side terminal joining structure (as seen or inferred from FIGS 1-6); and
when the female-side connector enters the male-side joining space, the first male-side locking structure locks the female-side connector in the first male-side locking direction, and the second male-side locking structure locks the female-side connector in the second male-side locking direction (in the same manner as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, above), to maintain the joining relationship between the male-side terminal joining structure and the female-side connector (when connected, the unlabeled projection and arm 60 provide for increased stability of the connection between the male- and female-side connectors).
Regarding claim 12, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 11 and further discloses the first male-side locking direction extension line and the second male-side locking direction extension line intersecting substantially perpendicularly (as may be understood from annotated FIGS 1, above, when considered in context of FIGS 3-6 which include the male-side connector).
Regarding claim 13, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 11 and further discloses the first male-side locking structure (unlabeled protrusion)) and the second male-side locking structure being positioned on the male-side metal shell (as seen in FIG 3).
Regarding claim 14, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 11 and further discloses the first male-side locking structure being positioned on the male-side metal shell (as seen in FIG 3) and the second male-side locking structure being positioned on the male-side insulating base (metal cover 6 is provided on insulating base 4; as arm 60 is positioned on metal cover 6, and metal cover 6 is positioned on insulating base 4, the arm 60 is also positioned on the insulating base 4).
Regarding claim 15, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 11 and further discloses the male-side locking side wall also comprises a third male-side locking direction (corresponding to the third locking direction of the second annotated FIG 1), and the third male-side locking direction extends along a third male-side locking direction extension line, and the third male-side locking direction extension line and the second male-side locking direction extension line can extend and intersect substantially with each other (as may be seen in the second annotated FIG 1), and the male-side locking side wall further comprises a third male-side locking structure (the third female-side locking structure, i.e., the unlabeled aperture on the upper right side of metal shell 3, as shown in FIG 3, would be understood as mating with an undepicted protrusion identical to the unlabeled protrusion on male connector 6, depicted in FIG 3), wherein when the female-side connector enters the male-side joining space, the third male-side locking structure locks the female-side connector in the third male-side locking direction to maintain the joining relationship between the male-side terminal joining structure and the female-side connector (in manner corresponding to that discussed in the rejection of claim 5, above).
Regarding claim 16, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 15 (directly above) and further discloses the second male- side locking direction extension line and the third male-side locking direction extension line intersect substantially perpendicularly (as may be inferred or otherwise understood from the second annotated FIG 1).
Regarding claim 17, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 15 and further discloses the third male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side insulating base (in the same manner as the unlabeled, but clearly depicted, projection shown in FIG 3; as seen therein, an unlabeled protrusion exists adjacent to arm 60, the unlabeled protrusion configured to engage with the aperture in extension 311).
Regarding claim 18, ‘422 also discloses the limitations as set forth in the alternative rejection of claim 15 and further discloses the first male-side locking structure, the second male-side locking structure, and the third male-side locking structure are either a recessed structure or a protruding structure (in a manner corresponding to that discussed in the rejection of claim 8, above).
Regarding claim 19, Applicant effectively merges claims 1 and 11, further reciting “wherein the female-side locking side wall abuts the male-side locking side wall, guiding the female-side terminal joining structure to join with the male- side terminal joining structure; and the first female-side locking structure locks the first male-side locking structure, and the second female-side locking structure locks the second male-side locking structure, to maintain the joining relationship between the male-side terminal joining structure and the female-side terminal joining structure.”
As shown above, ‘422 anticipates both the female-side connector of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1, above) and the male-side connector of claim 11 (see the alternative rejection of claim 11, above). ‘422 further discloses that, when connected, the female-side locking wall (11, 31) abuts the male-side locking wall (the corresponding side of the male connector), the various structures causing the female-side terminal joining structure to join with the male-side terminal joining structure (i.e., terminals 2 mate with respective terminal channels 40), wherein the first female-side locking structure (aperture on extension 311) locks the first male-side locking structure (the corresponding, unlabeled projection of the male connector) and the second female-side locking structure (320) locks (in the sense that it prevents motion along a direction)the second male-side locking structure (arm 60), to maintain the joining relationship between the male-side terminal joining structure and the female-side terminal joining structure (the various structures reduce potential motion between connectors while mated, thereby “maintaining a joining relationship”).
As ‘422 anticipates the subject matter of claims 1 and 11, and further anticipates the subject matter of claim 19 which is not found in claims 1 or 11, Examiner finds that the rejection of claims 1 and 11 apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 19 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure and the second female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side metal shell (see the rejection of claim 3, above) and the first male-side locking structure (unlabeled projection) and the second male-side locking structure (arm 60) are positioned on the male-side metal shell (as can be seen in FIG 3).
Regarding claim 21, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 19 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure is positioned on the female-side metal shell; the second female-side locking structure is positioned on the female-side insulating base (see the rejection of claim 4, above); the first male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side metal shell (see the rejection of claim 20, above); and the second male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side insulating base (metal cover 6 is provided on insulating base 4; as arm 60 is positioned on metal cover 6, and metal cover 6 is positioned on insulating base 4, the arm 60 is also positioned on the insulating base 4).
Regarding claim 22, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 19 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure (an aperture) and the male-side locking structure (an unlabeled protrusion) are correspondingly a recessed structure (an aperture may be reasonably interpreted as “a recessed structure”) and a protruding structure (a protrusion is a protruding structure), respectively; and the second female-side locking structure (320) and the second male-side locking structure (60) are correspondingly a recessed structure (surface 320B is recessed relative to surface 320A, and thus locking structure 320 may be reasonably interpreted as “a recessed structure”) and a protruding structure (arm 60 protrudes from metal cover 6), respectively.
Regarding claim 23, Applicant effectively incorporates the subject matter of claims 5 and 15 into the subject matter of claim 19, with the additional limitation of “the third female-side locking structure locks the third male-side locking structure….”
As shown above, the ‘422 reference anticipates the subject matter of claims 5, 15, and 19. The ‘422 reference further discloses the third female-side and the third male-side locking structures being lockingly engaged with each other, as discussed above. As such, Examiner finds that the rejections of claims 5, 15, and 19 apply, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter recited by claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 23 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure and the second female-side locking structure being positioned on the female-side metal shell (see the rejection of claim 3, above); the first male-side locking structure (unlabeled projection) and the second male-side locking structure (arm 60) are positioned on the male-side metal shell (as can be seen in FIG 3); the third female-side locking structure being positioned on either of the female-side metal shell or the female-side insulating base (as seen in the second annotated FIG 1); and the third male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side insulating base (in the same manner as the first male-side locking structure).
Regarding claim 25, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 23 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure is positioned on the female-side metal shell; the second female-side locking structure is positioned on the female-side insulating base (see the rejection of claim 4, above); the first male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side metal shell (see the rejection of claim 20, above); the second male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side insulating base (metal cover 6 is provided on insulating base 4; as arm 60 is positioned on metal cover 6, and metal cover 6 is positioned on insulating base 4, the arm 60 is also positioned on the insulating base 4); the third female-side locking structure is positioned on either the female-side metal shell or the female-side insulating base (as seen in the second annotated FIG 1); and the third male-side locking structure is positioned on the male-side insulating base (in the same manner as the first male-side locking structure).
Regarding claim 26, ‘422 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 23 and further discloses the first female-side locking structure (an aperture) and the first male-side locking structure (an unlabeled protrusion) are respectively a recessed structure (an aperture may be reasonably interpreted as “a recessed structure”) and a protruding structure (a protrusion is a protruding structure), with structurally corresponding configurations; the second female-side locking structure (320) and the second male-side locking structure (60) are respectively a recessed structure (surface 320B is recessed relative to surface 320A, and thus locking structure 320 may be reasonably interpreted as “a recessed structure”) and a protruding structure (arm 60 protrudes from metal cover 6), with structurally corresponding configurations; and the third female-side locking structure (an aperture) and the third male-side locking structure (an unlabeled and undepicted protrusion that would be understood as being substantially identical to the first male-side locking structure) are respectively a recessed structure (an aperture may be reasonably interpreted as “a recessed structure”) and a protruding structure (a protrusion is a protruding structure) with structurally corresponding configurations.
Conclusion
/THOMAS K QUIGLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834