DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-13 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/05/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint”. It is unclear whether “the wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint” is intended be the same as the previously recited “a wide-viewing angle video”. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint
Regarding claims 12 and 13, claims 12 and 13 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 12 and 13 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “the wide-viewing angle video in the display data generated by the generation unit”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to refer back to the previously recited wide-viewing angle videos video. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a third wide-viewing angle video in the data generated by the generation unit
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “the display data representing the information indicating the length of the reproduction time and the information indicating the range respectively as image objects of seek bars”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to refer back to previously recited “display data for displaying a user interface”. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second display data representing the information indicating the length of the reproduction time and the information indicating the range respectively as image objects of seek bars
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites “the user instruction on the seek bar corresponding to the spatial range”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to refer back to the previously recited user instruction. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second user instruction on the seek bar corresponding to the spatial range
Regarding claims 2-11, claims 2-11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 20190306486 A1, published 10/03/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima teaches the claim comprising:
An image processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors and at least one memory, the at least one memory being coupled to the one or more processors and having stored thereon instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the execution of the instructions cause the image processing apparatus to function as (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0029], The control unit 101 carries out overall control of the playback device 100 and various kinds of computing processing and image processing. The control unit 101 has a CPU (processor) for executing programs and may be provided with a cash memory and a processor for image processing (such as a GPU and a DSP) as required; [0147], The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions. The computer executable instructions may be provided to the computer, for example, from a network or the storage medium):
an acquisition unit configured to acquire image data representing a wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025], moving image may include a 360-degree video, an omnidirectional video, a VR (virtual reality) video, and a free viewpoint video. Herein, these videos are generically referred to as a “multi-viewpoint video” or a “viewing-direction-changeable moving image.” The multi-viewpoint video may be produced by combining, using a computer, video data on views in multiple directions taken simultaneously by multiple cameras or by photographing a super-wide angle view using a special optical system such as a fisheye lens; [0026], when search mode playback is carried out to a multiple-viewpoint video, an image in the current viewing direction and an image in a viewing direction on a previous playback occasion are displayed together by way of illustration; [0030], The operation unit 102 informs the control unit 101 of operation accepted from the user. The user operation includes the following kinds of operation; [0032], To select a video file. [0044], The VR image is an image which can be VR-displayed. The VR image may include an omnidirectional image taken by an omnidirectional camera (a 360-degree camera), and a panoramic image having a wider video range (an effective video range) than a display range which can be displayed at a time at the display unit. The VR image (the VR content) includes a VR-displayable image produced by computer graphics (CG) other than images taken by a camera. The VR image may include not only a still image but also a video or a live view image (an image obtained from a camera almost in real time). The VR image has a video range (an effective video range) corresponding to a maximum view field of 360° in the vertical direction (the vertical angle, the angle from the zenith, the elevation angle, the depression angle, and the altitude angle) and 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle). The VR image also includes an image having a view field less than 360° both in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider angle of view (view field range) than an angle of view photographable by a normal camera or a wider video range (an effective video range) than a range displayable at the display unit at a time. For example, an image taken by an omnidirectional camera capable of photographing an object with a view field (an angle of view) corresponding to 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle) and a vertical angle of 210° around the zenith is a kind of the VR image. More specifically, an image having a video range equal to or greater than a view field of 180° (±90°) in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider video range than that viewable by a person at a time is a kind of the VR image; [0054], the user naturally selects a video file to be played back)
and a generation unit configured to generate display data for displaying a user interface comprising: (i) information indicating a length of a reproduction time of the wide-viewing angle video, (ii) information indicating a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video, and (iii) the wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0002], the user can instinctively view a video from various angles; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0046], The “viewing direction” is a record of viewing directions used during playback of a multi-viewpoint video and represented for example by an elevation angle ϕ and an azimuth angle θ. As shown in FIG. 2B, the elevation angle ϕ is an angle formed by a line of sight and the horizontal plane. Note that strictly speaking, the angle is called a “depression angle” when the line of sight is directed under the horizontal plane (ϕ<0) but herein the angle is indicated as the “elevation angle” where ϕ<0. As shown in FIG. 2B, the azimuth angle θ represents the line-of-sight direction within the horizontal plane in consideration of a celestial sphere around the position of the view point and is an angle between a reference direction and the line-of-sight direction; [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0087], In S510, a playback position at 30 seconds, and an elevation angle ϕ of 30° and an azimuth angle θ of 60° in the viewing direction 607 at the time are recorded as information; [0090] In step S512, the control unit 101 determines an image range to be displayed in the image written in the RAM 104 on the basis of the elevation angle ϕ and the azimuth angle θ in the current viewing direction (obtained in S504) stored in the RAM 104; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, claims 12 and 13 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 12 and 13 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
Wherein the display data generated by the generation unit is data for superimposing and displaying the information indicating the length of the reproduction time, the information indicating the spatial range, and the wide-viewing angle video on a screen (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video)
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the display data generated by the generation unit is data for arranging and displaying the information indicating the length of the reproduction time and the information indicating the spatial range, around the wide-viewing angle video on a screen (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video)
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the generation unit generates, from the acquired image data, image data representing the wide-viewing angle video centered on a line-of-sight direction at a time of viewing the wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0085], FIG. 6A is a chart for illustrating a video frame transition during normal mode playback and the viewing direction at the time along the time axis; [0086], Reference numerals 600 to 603 designate display examples at the display unit 103. Reference numerals 604 to 607 illustrate viewing directions in a spherical coordinate system by dotted-line frames as the display examples 600 to 603 are displayed. The display example 600 corresponds to a display range (view field range) of the original image of the video in the dotted line frame in the viewing direction 604 extracted at the playback position at 27 seconds and displayed at the display unit 103. Similarly, the display example 601 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 605 extracted at the playback position at 28 seconds and displayed, and the display example 602 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 606 extracted at a playback position at 29 seconds and displayed. The display example 603 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 607 extracted at a playback position at 30 seconds and displayed; [0090], In step S512, the control unit 101 determines an image range to be displayed in the image written in the RAM 104 on the basis of the elevation angle ϕ and the azimuth angle θ in the current viewing direction (obtained in S504) stored in the RAM 104; [0111], as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, in a multi-viewpoint video, totally different images (603 and 613) may be displayed for the same playback position (30 seconds) if the viewing directions are different; see also [0035-0037], [0126], [0134-0134]; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video)
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein, in a case where the viewpoint is changed, the wide-viewing angle video in the display data generated by the generation unit is a video generated with the changed viewpoint as the line-of-sight direction (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0085], FIG. 6A is a chart for illustrating a video frame transition during normal mode playback and the viewing direction at the time along the time axis; [0086], Reference numerals 600 to 603 designate display examples at the display unit 103. Reference numerals 604 to 607 illustrate viewing directions in a spherical coordinate system by dotted-line frames as the display examples 600 to 603 are displayed. The display example 600 corresponds to a display range (view field range) of the original image of the video in the dotted line frame in the viewing direction 604 extracted at the playback position at 27 seconds and displayed at the display unit 103. Similarly, the display example 601 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 605 extracted at the playback position at 28 seconds and displayed, and the display example 602 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 606 extracted at a playback position at 29 seconds and displayed. The display example 603 corresponds to a display range in the viewing direction 607 extracted at a playback position at 30 seconds and displayed; [0096], To change the viewing direction (the cross button 305); [0100], the control unit 101 instructs the display unit 103 to superpose an image in a viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information on an image in the current viewing direction obtained in S703 and display the result; [0111], as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, in a multi-viewpoint video, totally different images (603 and 613) may be displayed for the same playback position (30 seconds) if the viewing directions are different; see also [0035-0037], [0126], [0134-0134]; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video)
Regarding claim 9, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the generation unit acquires a thumbnail image of the wide-viewing angle video at a time specified by the information indicating the length of the reproduction time and in a spatial range specified by the information indicating the spatial range in the wide-viewing angle video and generates the display data (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106. Specific processing in S1103 is the same as that in S706 in FIG. 7, and therefore the description will not be repeated. If the corresponding viewpoint information is present, the process proceeds to S1104. If no corresponding viewpoint information is present, the process proceeds to S1105; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed. At the time, the image may be displayed in the main display region of the display unit 103 or as a reduced image 1200 in the vicinity of the position touched by the user as shown in FIG. 12. In the latter case, after the user ends the touching operation and the playback position after the change is determined, the current viewing direction and the image in the main display region may be changed; [0137], If it is determined in S1103 that there is no corresponding viewpoint information, the control unit 101 displays the image in the playback position at 30 seconds in S1105 while maintaining the current viewing direction; see also [0025], [0044], wide-viewing angle video)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Dickerson et al. (US 20170139578 A1, published 05/18/2017), hereinafter Dickerson.
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the generation unit generates the display data representing the information indicating the length of the reproduction time as image objects of seek bars (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed)
However, Nakajima fails to expressly disclose the information indicating the spatial range respectively as image objects of seek bars. In the same field of endeavor, Dickerson teaches:
the information indicating the spatial range respectively as image objects of seek bars (Dickerson Figs. 1-8; abs. A method is provided for navigating a 360-degree video. The method includes displaying a portion of the 360-degree video on a display. The method also includes displaying a graphical indicator overlaid on the 360-degree video. The graphical indicator represents a plurality of viewing directions within the 360-degree video; [0043], In FIG. 6, a 360-degree video may include graphical indicators, as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), with intractable elements. The graphical indicators can include navigation bars 602 and 504, for horizontal and vertical navigation of the 360-degree video of the UE 100. The graphical indicators may be an overlay, embedded, or otherwise positioned with respect to the media in a way such that a user may interact with the graphical indicators. Such interaction could be through touch (e.g., a touchscreen), a cursor, buttons, dials, remote motion gestures (e.g., detected by a camera, capacitive sensors, etc.), or other interaction input. The graphical indicators may take the form of a relatively horizontal bar 602 and/or vertical bar 604. The bars 602 and 604 may represent degrees from a reference direction (e.g., zero degrees horizontal and zero degrees vertical). In one embodiment, the horizontal bar 602 may encompass a 360-degree range, (e.g., from −180 degrees to 180 degrees) and the vertical bar 604 may encompass a 180-degree range (e.g., from −90 degrees to 90 degrees); [0045] In FIG. 7, the navigation bars 602 and 604 may optionally have relative markers 702 and 704 to show degrees away from the reference as exemplified by the hash marks. The GUI may include markers 702 and 704 on the bars 602 and 604 to show the current viewing direction relative to the reference direction, as shown by the semi-transparent bars; [0046], The graphical indicators of the GUI overlay may respond to input such as a drag of the markers 702 and 704 along the bars 602 and 604 to adjust the viewing direction of the content. Additionally, the display 155 may jump from one viewing direction based on received input at a contact point on one of bars 602 and 604 to another viewing direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the information indicating the spatial range respectively as image objects of seek bars as suggested in Dickerson into Nakajima. Doing so would be desirable because when watching a 360-degree video on a UE or other mobile device or hand-held display, there are several ways to control which portion of the video a user watches. The user can control the video navigation by using the gyroscope, accelerometer, or compass in mobile device to turn the video. The user can also control the video navigation by dragging the screen to move the view of the video, or by using physical hardware buttons to rotate the direction user is watching at from inside of the 360-degree video. In many 360-degree video applications, the user has no way of knowing where in the 360-degree video they are when moving around with touch. There is also no way to jump to different positions, requiring a lot more “flicking” on the screen to get the 360-degree video to move around (see Dickerson [0003]). Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a UI for 360-degree video that allows users to navigate the video by quickly jumping to different angles of viewing a 360 video as well as know what direction the user is viewing within the video (see Dickerson [0034]). The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree vide (see Dickerson [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakajima in view of Dickerson teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
a range in a horizontal or vertical direction of the wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025], moving image may include a 360-degree video, an omnidirectional video, a VR (virtual reality) video, and a free viewpoint video. Herein, these videos are generically referred to as a “multi-viewpoint video” or a “viewing-direction-changeable moving image.” The multi-viewpoint video may be produced by combining, using a computer, video data on views in multiple directions taken simultaneously by multiple cameras or by photographing a super-wide angle view using a special optical system such as a fisheye lens; [0044], The VR image is an image which can be VR-displayed. The VR image may include an omnidirectional image taken by an omnidirectional camera (a 360-degree camera), and a panoramic image having a wider video range (an effective video range) than a display range which can be displayed at a time at the display unit. The VR image (the VR content) includes a VR-displayable image produced by computer graphics (CG) other than images taken by a camera. The VR image may include not only a still image but also a video or a live view image (an image obtained from a camera almost in real time). The VR image has a video range (an effective video range) corresponding to a maximum view field of 360° in the vertical direction (the vertical angle, the angle from the zenith, the elevation angle, the depression angle, and the altitude angle) and 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle). The VR image also includes an image having a view field less than 360° both in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider angle of view (view field range) than an angle of view photographable by a normal camera or a wider video range (an effective video range) than a range displayable at the display unit at a time. For example, an image taken by an omnidirectional camera capable of photographing an object with a view field (an angle of view) corresponding to 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle) and a vertical angle of 210° around the zenith is a kind of the VR image. More specifically, an image having a video range equal to or greater than a view field of 180° (±90°) in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider video range than that viewable by a person at a time is a kind of the VR image)
Dickerson further teaches:
wherein, among the seek bars, a seek bar corresponding to the information indicating the spatial range is a seek bar with one axis indicating a range in a horizontal or vertical direction of the wide-viewing angle video (Dickerson Figs. 1-8; abs. A method is provided for navigating a 360-degree video. The method includes displaying a portion of the 360-degree video on a display. The method also includes displaying a graphical indicator overlaid on the 360-degree video. The graphical indicator represents a plurality of viewing directions within the 360-degree video; [0043], In FIG. 6, a 360-degree video may include graphical indicators, as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), with intractable elements. The graphical indicators can include navigation bars 602 and 504, for horizontal and vertical navigation of the 360-degree video of the UE 100. The graphical indicators may be an overlay, embedded, or otherwise positioned with respect to the media in a way such that a user may interact with the graphical indicators. Such interaction could be through touch (e.g., a touchscreen), a cursor, buttons, dials, remote motion gestures (e.g., detected by a camera, capacitive sensors, etc.), or other interaction input. The graphical indicators may take the form of a relatively horizontal bar 602 and/or vertical bar 604. The bars 602 and 604 may represent degrees from a reference direction (e.g., zero degrees horizontal and zero degrees vertical). In one embodiment, the horizontal bar 602 may encompass a 360-degree range, (e.g., from −180 degrees to 180 degrees) and the vertical bar 604 may encompass a 180-degree range (e.g., from −90 degrees to 90 degrees); [0045] In FIG. 7, the navigation bars 602 and 604 may optionally have relative markers 702 and 704 to show degrees away from the reference as exemplified by the hash marks. The GUI may include markers 702 and 704 on the bars 602 and 604 to show the current viewing direction relative to the reference direction, as shown by the semi-transparent bars; [0046], The graphical indicators of the GUI overlay may respond to input such as a drag of the markers 702 and 704 along the bars 602 and 604 to adjust the viewing direction of the content. Additionally, the display 155 may jump from one viewing direction based on received input at a contact point on one of bars 602 and 604 to another viewing direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein, among the seek bars, a seek bar corresponding to the information indicating the spatial range is a seek bar with one axis indicating a range in a horizontal or vertical direction of the wide-viewing angle video as suggested in Dickerson into Nakajima. Doing so would be desirable because when watching a 360-degree video on a UE or other mobile device or hand-held display, there are several ways to control which portion of the video a user watches. The user can control the video navigation by using the gyroscope, accelerometer, or compass in mobile device to turn the video. The user can also control the video navigation by dragging the screen to move the view of the video, or by using physical hardware buttons to rotate the direction user is watching at from inside of the 360-degree video. In many 360-degree video applications, the user has no way of knowing where in the 360-degree video they are when moving around with touch. There is also no way to jump to different positions, requiring a lot more “flicking” on the screen to get the 360-degree video to move around (see Dickerson [0003]). Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a UI for 360-degree video that allows users to navigate the video by quickly jumping to different angles of viewing a 360 video as well as know what direction the user is viewing within the video (see Dickerson [0034]). The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree vide (see Dickerson [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakajima in view of Dickerson teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
the wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025], moving image may include a 360-degree video, an omnidirectional video, a VR (virtual reality) video, and a free viewpoint video. Herein, these videos are generically referred to as a “multi-viewpoint video” or a “viewing-direction-changeable moving image.” The multi-viewpoint video may be produced by combining, using a computer, video data on views in multiple directions taken simultaneously by multiple cameras or by photographing a super-wide angle view using a special optical system such as a fisheye lens; [0044], The VR image is an image which can be VR-displayed. The VR image may include an omnidirectional image taken by an omnidirectional camera (a 360-degree camera), and a panoramic image having a wider video range (an effective video range) than a display range which can be displayed at a time at the display unit. The VR image (the VR content) includes a VR-displayable image produced by computer graphics (CG) other than images taken by a camera. The VR image may include not only a still image but also a video or a live view image (an image obtained from a camera almost in real time). The VR image has a video range (an effective video range) corresponding to a maximum view field of 360° in the vertical direction (the vertical angle, the angle from the zenith, the elevation angle, the depression angle, and the altitude angle) and 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle). The VR image also includes an image having a view field less than 360° both in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider angle of view (view field range) than an angle of view photographable by a normal camera or a wider video range (an effective video range) than a range displayable at the display unit at a time. For example, an image taken by an omnidirectional camera capable of photographing an object with a view field (an angle of view) corresponding to 360° in the horizontal direction (the horizontal angle and the azimuth angle) and a vertical angle of 210° around the zenith is a kind of the VR image. More specifically, an image having a video range equal to or greater than a view field of 180° (±90°) in the vertical and horizontal directions and a wider video range than that viewable by a person at a time is a kind of the VR image)
Dickerson further teaches:
wherein, among the seek bars, a seek bar corresponding to the information indicating the spatial range is a seek bar with two axes indicating respective ranges in horizontal and vertical directions of the wide-viewing angle video (Dickerson Figs. 1-8; abs. A method is provided for navigating a 360-degree video. The method includes displaying a portion of the 360-degree video on a display. The method also includes displaying a graphical indicator overlaid on the 360-degree video. The graphical indicator represents a plurality of viewing directions within the 360-degree video; [0043], In FIG. 6, a 360-degree video may include graphical indicators, as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), with intractable elements. The graphical indicators can include navigation bars 602 and 504, for horizontal and vertical navigation of the 360-degree video of the UE 100. The graphical indicators may be an overlay, embedded, or otherwise positioned with respect to the media in a way such that a user may interact with the graphical indicators. Such interaction could be through touch (e.g., a touchscreen), a cursor, buttons, dials, remote motion gestures (e.g., detected by a camera, capacitive sensors, etc.), or other interaction input. The graphical indicators may take the form of a relatively horizontal bar 602 and/or vertical bar 604. The bars 602 and 604 may represent degrees from a reference direction (e.g., zero degrees horizontal and zero degrees vertical). In one embodiment, the horizontal bar 602 may encompass a 360-degree range, (e.g., from −180 degrees to 180 degrees) and the vertical bar 604 may encompass a 180-degree range (e.g., from −90 degrees to 90 degrees); [0045] In FIG. 7, the navigation bars 602 and 604 may optionally have relative markers 702 and 704 to show degrees away from the reference as exemplified by the hash marks. The GUI may include markers 702 and 704 on the bars 602 and 604 to show the current viewing direction relative to the reference direction, as shown by the semi-transparent bars; [0046], The graphical indicators of the GUI overlay may respond to input such as a drag of the markers 702 and 704 along the bars 602 and 604 to adjust the viewing direction of the content. Additionally, the display 155 may jump from one viewing direction based on received input at a contact point on one of bars 602 and 604 to another viewing direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein, among the seek bars, a seek bar corresponding to the information indicating the spatial range is a seek bar with two axes indicating respective ranges in horizontal and vertical directions of the wide-viewing angle video as suggested in Dickerson into Nakajima. Doing so would be desirable because when watching a 360-degree video on a UE or other mobile device or hand-held display, there are several ways to control which portion of the video a user watches. The user can control the video navigation by using the gyroscope, accelerometer, or compass in mobile device to turn the video. The user can also control the video navigation by dragging the screen to move the view of the video, or by using physical hardware buttons to rotate the direction user is watching at from inside of the 360-degree video. In many 360-degree video applications, the user has no way of knowing where in the 360-degree video they are when moving around with touch. There is also no way to jump to different positions, requiring a lot more “flicking” on the screen to get the 360-degree video to move around (see Dickerson [0003]). Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a UI for 360-degree video that allows users to navigate the video by quickly jumping to different angles of viewing a 360 video as well as know what direction the user is viewing within the video (see Dickerson [0034]). The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree vide (see Dickerson [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima in view of Dickerson teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the information indicating the length of the reproduction time and the information indicating the spatial range are respectively a time specified on a seek bar corresponding to a time and a spatial range specified corresponding to the spatial range by a user instruction (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0035], To change a playback position with respect to a video being played back (moving the button on the seek bar); [0036], To specify a playback position different from the current playback position with respect to a video being played back (Touching the seek bar); [0037], To change the viewing direction (pressing the cross button); [0049], FIG. 3 is a view illustrating an exemplary user interface (UI) in the playback device 100 according to the embodiment. The UI 300 in the playback device 100 includes a playback button 301, a search button 302, a stop button 303, a seek bar 304, a cross button 305; [0050], The playback button 301 is a button used to instruct start of normal mode playback of a video; The seek bar 304 indicates the progress of playback of the video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side; The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction; [0079], In S504, the control unit 101 obtains the current viewing direction. The control unit 101 writes the obtained viewing direction in the RAM 104. The viewing direction can be changed by operation to the cross button 305 as described above. If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation. In the process of VR display (as the processing for normal mode playback in S405 is executed during the VR display of a VR video at a normal mod playback speed), the viewing direction is updated to a viewing direction according to the attitude detected by the attitude detecting unit 107; [0126], the playback position is changed for example in response to seek bar operation; [0134], FIG. 12 shows a state in which the seek bar is touched. In this example, it is assumed that the user touches the position exactly in the center of the seek bar 304. Therefore, in this example, the position information on the seek bar obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds (the position corresponding to the middle of the entire video); [0135], In S1103, the control unit 101 determines whether viewpoint information corresponding to the position obtained in S1102 (30 seconds in this example) is recorded in the user information management unit 106; [0136], The position obtained in S1102 corresponds to 30 seconds, the viewpoint information in the playback position at 30 seconds is recorded, and therefore S1104 is executed in this example. In S1104, the control unit 101 displays an image in the viewing direction included in the corresponding viewpoint information. More specifically, the control unit 101 changes the current viewing direction (or a set value for the viewing direction to be displayed) to the viewing direction included in the viewpoint information obtained in S1103 from the viewing direction viewed before the seek bar operation. Then, the control unit 101 carries out the same processing as that in S511 and S512 in FIG. 5. As a result, the image in the same viewing direction as that viewed by the user in the playback position at 30 seconds on the past viewing occasion is displayed)
Dickerson further teaches:
a spatial range specified on a seek bar corresponding to the spatial range by a user instruction (Dickerson Figs. 1-8; abs. A method is provided for navigating a 360-degree video. The method includes displaying a portion of the 360-degree video on a display. The method also includes displaying a graphical indicator overlaid on the 360-degree video. The graphical indicator represents a plurality of viewing directions within the 360-degree video; [0043], In FIG. 6, a 360-degree video may include graphical indicators, as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), with intractable elements. The graphical indicators can include navigation bars 602 and 504, for horizontal and vertical navigation of the 360-degree video of the UE 100. The graphical indicators may be an overlay, embedded, or otherwise positioned with respect to the media in a way such that a user may interact with the graphical indicators. Such interaction could be through touch (e.g., a touchscreen), a cursor, buttons, dials, remote motion gestures (e.g., detected by a camera, capacitive sensors, etc.), or other interaction input. The graphical indicators may take the form of a relatively horizontal bar 602 and/or vertical bar 604. The bars 602 and 604 may represent degrees from a reference direction (e.g., zero degrees horizontal and zero degrees vertical). In one embodiment, the horizontal bar 602 may encompass a 360-degree range, (e.g., from −180 degrees to 180 degrees) and the vertical bar 604 may encompass a 180-degree range (e.g., from −90 degrees to 90 degrees); [0045] In FIG. 7, the navigation bars 602 and 604 may optionally have relative markers 702 and 704 to show degrees away from the reference as exemplified by the hash marks. The GUI may include markers 702 and 704 on the bars 602 and 604 to show the current viewing direction relative to the reference direction, as shown by the semi-transparent bars; [0046], The graphical indicators of the GUI overlay may respond to input such as a drag of the markers 702 and 704 along the bars 602 and 604 to adjust the viewing direction of the content. Additionally, the display 155 may jump from one viewing direction based on received input at a contact point on one of bars 602 and 604 to another viewing direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a spatial range specified on a seek bar corresponding to the spatial range by a user instruction as suggested in Dickerson into Nakajima. Doing so would be desirable because when watching a 360-degree video on a UE or other mobile device or hand-held display, there are several ways to control which portion of the video a user watches. The user can control the video navigation by using the gyroscope, accelerometer, or compass in mobile device to turn the video. The user can also control the video navigation by dragging the screen to move the view of the video, or by using physical hardware buttons to rotate the direction user is watching at from inside of the 360-degree video. In many 360-degree video applications, the user has no way of knowing where in the 360-degree video they are when moving around with touch. There is also no way to jump to different positions, requiring a lot more “flicking” on the screen to get the 360-degree video to move around (see Dickerson [0003]). Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a UI for 360-degree video that allows users to navigate the video by quickly jumping to different angles of viewing a 360 video as well as know what direction the user is viewing within the video (see Dickerson [0034]). The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree vide (see Dickerson [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Nakajima in view of Dickerson teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Dickerson further teaches:
wherein, while a user continues to position the user instruction on the seek bar corresponding to the spatial range, the generation unit generates the display data so that a reproduction speed of the display video is slowed down (Dickerson Figs. 1-8; [0035], The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree video; [0043], In FIG. 6, a 360-degree video may include graphical indicators, as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), with intractable elements. The graphical indicators can include navigation bars 602 and 504, for horizontal and vertical navigation of the 360-degree video of the UE 100. The graphical indicators may be an overlay, embedded, or otherwise positioned with respect to the media in a way such that a user may interact with the graphical indicators. Such interaction could be through touch (e.g., a touchscreen), a cursor, buttons, dials, remote motion gestures (e.g., detected by a camera, capacitive sensors, etc.), or other interaction input. The graphical indicators may take the form of a relatively horizontal bar 602 and/or vertical bar 604. The bars 602 and 604 may represent degrees from a reference direction (e.g., zero degrees horizontal and zero degrees vertical). In one embodiment, the horizontal bar 602 may encompass a 360-degree range, (e.g., from −180 degrees to 180 degrees) and the vertical bar 604 may encompass a 180-degree range (e.g., from −90 degrees to 90 degrees); [0045] In FIG. 7, the navigation bars 602 and 604 may optionally have relative markers 702 and 704 to show degrees away from the reference as exemplified by the hash marks. The GUI may include markers 702 and 704 on the bars 602 and 604 to show the current viewing direction relative to the reference direction, as shown by the semi-transparent bars; [0046], The graphical indicators of the GUI overlay may respond to input such as a drag of the markers 702 and 704 along the bars 602 and 604 to adjust the viewing direction of the content. Additionally, the display 155 may jump from one viewing direction based on received input at a contact point on one of bars 602 and 604 to another viewing direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein, while a user continues to position the user instruction on the seek bar corresponding to the spatial range, the generation unit generates the display data so that a reproduction speed of the display video is slowed down as suggested in Dickerson into Nakajima. Doing so would be desirable because when watching a 360-degree video on a UE or other mobile device or hand-held display, there are several ways to control which portion of the video a user watches. The user can control the video navigation by using the gyroscope, accelerometer, or compass in mobile device to turn the video. The user can also control the video navigation by dragging the screen to move the view of the video, or by using physical hardware buttons to rotate the direction user is watching at from inside of the 360-degree video. In many 360-degree video applications, the user has no way of knowing where in the 360-degree video they are when moving around with touch. There is also no way to jump to different positions, requiring a lot more “flicking” on the screen to get the 360-degree video to move around (see Dickerson [0003]). Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a UI for 360-degree video that allows users to navigate the video by quickly jumping to different angles of viewing a 360 video as well as know what direction the user is viewing within the video (see Dickerson [0034]). The indicators allow the user to jump from one portion of the video to another portion of the video quickly, while also allowing users to move around slowly for various reasons, such as following objects in a 360-degree vide (see Dickerson [0035]).
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-13. The objection to the title is respectfully withdrawn. The objection to claim 10 is respectfully withdrawn. Claims 1-13 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Nakajima in view of Dickerson as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach a generation unit configured to generate display data for displaying a user interface comprising: (i) information indicating a length of a reproduction time of the wide-viewing angle video, (ii) information indicating a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video, and (iii) the wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint, as has been amended to the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Nakajima is considered to teach an image processing apparatus comprising an acquisition unit configured to acquire image data representing a wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025-0026], [0030], [0032], [0044], [0054]) and a generation unit configured to generate display data for displaying a user interface comprising: (i) information indicating a length of a reproduction time of the wide-viewing angle video, (ii) information indicating a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video, and (iii) the wide-viewing angle video representing a partial area of the wide-viewing angle video based on a current viewpoint (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025], [0044], [0035-0036], [0046], [0049-0050], [0079], [0087], [0090], [0126], [0134], [0136]). Thus, Nakajima is considered to teach claim 1.
Specifically, applicant alleges Nakajima does not appear to generate data indicating a range in which the viewpoint is changeable. Nakajima's search mode appears to focus on displaying history, specifically "a viewing direction identical to a viewing direction on a previous playback occasion." Nakajima does not appear to provide a dedicated UI object that indicates the total available spatial range of the video source itself (see remarks p. 8). Dickerson's navigation bars represent the "range in which the viewpoint is changeable." This appears to be a mischaracterization of the structural purpose of the UI of claim 1 as amended. Dickerson's direction bars (602, 604) use relative markers (702, 704) to show the current viewing direction relative to a reference. It is a compass-like pointer. The direction seek bar of claim 1 as amended indicates a fixed spatial range corresponding to the wide-angle video source (e.g., the total 360-degree horizontal angle of view). While Dickerson shows where a user is currently looking, claim 1 as amended provides a UI object that informs the user of the total available spatial boundaries of the content (see remarks p. 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Nakajima discloses a wide-viewing angle video (see [0025], [0044]), in which a reproduction time and displayed spatial range are changeable ([0035-0036], [0046], [0049-0050], [0079], [0087], [0090], [0126], [0134], [0136]). Nakajima discloses that viewing direction is determined by a viewing angle of a wide-viewing angle video. The playback position can be changed by moving the button on the seek bar 304 from side to side. The cross button 305 is used by the user to change the viewing direction of the video ([0050]). If the operation to the cross button 305 has been accepted in S502, the viewing direction is updated in response to the accepted operation ([0079]). Thus, Nakajima’s viewing direction and crossbar indicate a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video.
Examiner notes that the claim does not require a fixed spatial range or informing the user of the total available spatial boundaries of the content (see remarks p. 8). The claim only requires information indicating a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video. The claim places no limitations on how the spatial range must be indicated. Thus Nakajima’s disclosure of indicating a spatial range of a viewing angle in which the viewpoint is changeable in the wide-viewing angle video (Nakajima Figs. 1-12; [0025], [0044], [0035-0036], [0046], [0049-0050], [0079], [0087], [0090], [0126], [0134], [0136]) is considered to teach the limitation.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 12 and 13 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Nakajima is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (US 20250024152 A1) see Figs. 1-24 and [0300-0305].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143