Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20230007624 A1) in view of Li et al.( US 20240031984 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murray teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 102 of Fig. 33B executing methos of Fig. 23), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (memory 132); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (processor 118), at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a first indication of a first preferred paging range associated with the UE (UE may provide an indication to the network to request modification of the paging configuration. The indication may include information corresponding to the preferred values to use for one or more parameters of the paging configuration, [0313]) and
an alternate preferred paging range associated with the UE (The UE may also request to monitor the PO in a different PF. The (UE_ID mod N) term in the PF calculation distributes the UEs to the PFs based on the UE_ID. The UE may signal an offset to the network that is used in the calculation of this term to select a different PF, [0318]), and
receive a second indication of a paging range (The network may respond to a paging modification request with an acknowledgement. The acknowledgment may include a field to indicate whether or not the paging request has been accepted. The acknowledgement may also include fields to modify the paging configuration with values different than what requested by the UE, [0322]).
However, Murray does not teach wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure and, for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure, and wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure and, for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure; and
wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure and, for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure.
In an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure (the paging assistance information may include one or more of the following information: ID information of one or more cells (such as NR Cell Identity or NR CGI (Cell Global Identifier), E-UTRA Cell Identity, or E-UTRA CGI), [0133]-[0134]) and,
for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure (ID information of one or more SSB beams that have been accessed in each of the one or more cells, [0132]),
wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure (If it is determined that the paging fails again in operation 5b-7, in operation 5b-9, the CN may decide to page the UE in all cells on one TA or multiple TAs (such as a TA List) based on a configured Registration Area of the UE, [0171]) and,
for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure (the indication information is used to indicate to the RAN node that if the first paging based on SSB beams of a cell fails, the paging range can be directly expanded. For example, the RRC paging message may be transmitted on all SSB beams in each of the one or more recommended cells to expand the paging range, [0161]);
wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of one or more cells in the paging assistance information may include ID information of one or more cells of a current RAN node visited by the UE, [0139]) and, for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of SSB beams in the paging assistance information may include ID information of accessed SSB beams in visited cells of the current RAN node, [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray with the page failure of Li to provide a methods and a system wherein the paging range is reduced to page more accurately, thereby saving radio resources and power consumption when the RAN node pages the UE as suggested, Li [0078].
Regarding claim 2, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Li further teaches wherein the first preferred paging range is associated with a first quality of service indicator (When a UE in a certain orientation in a cell accesses the cell, a beam with the best signal quality may be first selected, and then random access is initiated, Li [0077]).
Regarding claim 4, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Li further teaches wherein the first preferred paging range indicates at least one of: for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a global unique cell identifier for that preferred cell, or for each SSB, of the one or more SSBs, an SSB beam identifier (the paging assistance information may include one or more of the following information: ID information of one or more cells (such as NR Cell Identity or NR CGI (Cell Global Identifier), E-UTRA Cell Identity, or E-UTRA CGI), Li [0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 5, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first indication indicates a first time of day associated with the first preferred paging range (The UEAssistanceInformation message may also include an estimate of the time the UE expects to be away from the network; e.g. a pauseDuration, Murray [0355]).
Regarding claim 6, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a third indication of a second preferred paging range associated with the UE, wherein the second preferred paging range is associated with a second time of data different from the first time of day (UE may provide a time duration with which the network stops paging the UE and upon the expiration of the time duration, the network may resume paging the UE. In turn, the RAN node may need to communicate the UE's preference to the CN, so the CN is also aware to stop paging the UE, [0381]).
Regarding claim 7, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first preferred paging range indicates a time range during which there are no preferred cells associated with the paging procedure (UE may provide a time duration with which the network stops paging the UE and upon the expiration of the time duration, the network may resume paging the UE. In turn, the RAN node may need to communicate the UE's preference to the CN, so the CN is also aware to stop paging the UE, Murray [0381]).
Regarding claim 8, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first indication is transmitted via a non-access stratum registration request message, the second indication is received via a non-access stratum registration accept message (PO Skipping indication may be provided to the network using one of the Registration request procedures, Murray [0255]), or a third indication of an agreed paging range associated with the UE is transmitted via a non-access stratum registration complete message, wherein the agreed paging range includes a seventh list of one or more cells agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure, and, for each cell agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, of the one or more cells agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, an eighth list of one of more SSBs agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure.
Regarding claim 13, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Li further teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to receive a paging message associated with the paging procedure via at least one cell and at least one SSB associated with the paging range (the RAN node 51 may determine a cell with a longer stay time and an SSB beam with a longer stay time from the paging assistance information, and transmit the RRC paging message on the determined cell with a longer stay time and SSB beam with a longer stay time for paging the UE, Li [0154]).
Regarding claim 14, Murray teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (node 115 of Fig. 33B), comprising: one or more memories (memory 132) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (processor 118) coupled with the one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the network node to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a first indication of a first preferred paging range associated with the UE (UE may provide an indication to the network to request modification of the paging configuration. The indication may include information corresponding to the preferred values to use for one or more parameters of the paging configuration, [0313]) and an alternate preferred paging range associated with the UE (The UE may also request to monitor the PO in a different PF. The (UE_ID mod N) term in the PF calculation distributes the UEs to the PFs based on the UE_ID. The UE may signal an offset to the network that is used in the calculation of this term to select a different PF, [0318]); and
transmit, to the UE, a second indication of a paging range (The network may respond to a paging modification request with an acknowledgement. The acknowledgment may include a field to indicate whether or not the paging request has been accepted. The acknowledgement may also include fields to modify the paging configuration with values different than what requested by the UE, [0322]).
However, Murray does not teach wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure and, for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure, and wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure and, for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure, wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure and, for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure.
In an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure (the paging assistance information may include one or more of the following information: ID information of one or more cells (such as NR Cell Identity or NR CGI (Cell Global Identifier), E-UTRA Cell Identity, or E-UTRA CGI), [0133]-[0134]) and,
for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure (ID information of one or more SSB beams that have been accessed in each of the one or more cells, [0132]),
wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure (If it is determined that the paging fails again in operation 5b-7, in operation 5b-9, the CN may decide to page the UE in all cells on one TA or multiple TAs (such as a TA List) based on a configured Registration Area of the UE, [0171]) and,
for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure (the indication information is used to indicate to the RAN node that if the first paging based on SSB beams of a cell fails, the paging range can be directly expanded. For example, the RRC paging message may be transmitted on all SSB beams in each of the one or more recommended cells to expand the paging range, [0161]);
wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of one or more cells in the paging assistance information may include ID information of one or more cells of a current RAN node visited by the UE, [0139]) and,
for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of SSB beams in the paging assistance information may include ID information of accessed SSB beams in visited cells of the current RAN node, [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray with the page failure of Li to provide a methods and a system wherein the paging range is reduced to page more accurately, thereby saving radio resources and power consumption when the RAN node pages the UE as suggested, Li [0078].
Regarding claim 15, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first preferred paging range indicates at least one of: for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a global unique cell identifier for that preferred cell, or for each SSB, of the one or more SSBs, an SSB beam identifier (such as NR Cell Identity or NR CGI (Cell Global Identifier), E-UTRA Cell Identity, or E-UTRA CGI), Li [0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 16, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one of: the first indication is received via a non-access stratum registration request message, the second indication is transmitted via a non-access stratum registration accept message (PO Skipping indication may be provided to the network using one of the Registration request procedures, Murray [0255]), or
a third indication of an agreed paging range associated with the UE is transmitted via a non-access stratum registration complete message, wherein the agreed paging range includes a seventh list of one or more cells agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure, and, for each cell agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, of the one or more cells agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, an eighth list of one of more SSBs agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure.
Regarding claim 18, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the network node to transmit, to the UE, a paging message associated with the paging procedure via at least one cell and at least one SSB associated with the paging range (the RAN node 51 may determine a cell with a longer stay time and an SSB beam with a longer stay time from the paging assistance information, and transmit the RRC paging message on the determined cell with a longer stay time and SSB beam with a longer stay time for paging the UE, Li [0154]).
Regarding claim 19, Murray teaches a method of wireless communication performed at a user equipment (UE)(method of Fig. 23), comprising:
transmitting a first indication of a first preferred paging range associated with the UE (UE may provide an indication to the network to request modification of the paging configuration. The indication may include information corresponding to the preferred values to use for one or more parameters of the paging configuration, [0313]) and an alternate preferred paging range associated with the UE (The UE may also request to monitor the PO in a different PF. The (UE_ID mod N) term in the PF calculation distributes the UEs to the PFs based on the UE_ID. The UE may signal an offset to the network that is used in the calculation of this term to select a different PF, [0318]); and
receiving a second indication of a paging range (The network may respond to a paging modification request with an acknowledgement. The acknowledgment may include a field to indicate whether or not the paging request has been accepted. The acknowledgement may also include fields to modify the paging configuration with values different than what requested by the UE, [0322]).
However, Murray does not teach wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure and, for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure, and wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure and, for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure, wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure and, for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure.
In an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the first preferred paging range includes a first list of one or more preferred cells associated with a paging procedure (the paging assistance information may include one or more of the following information: ID information of one or more cells (such as NR Cell Identity or NR CGI (Cell Global Identifier), E-UTRA Cell Identity, or E-UTRA CGI), [0133]-[0134]) and,
for each preferred cell, of the one or more preferred cells, a second list of one of more preferred synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with the paging procedure (ID information of one or more SSB beams that have been accessed in each of the one or more cells, [0132]),
wherein the alternate preferred paging range includes a third list of one or more alternate preferred cells to be used if there is a paging failure (If it is determined that the paging fails again in operation 5b-7, in operation 5b-9, the CN may decide to page the UE in all cells on one TA or multiple TAs (such as a TA List) based on a configured Registration Area of the UE, [0171]) and,
for each alternate preferred cell, of the one or more alternate preferred cells, a fourth list of one of more alternate preferred SSBs to be used if there is the paging failure (the indication information is used to indicate to the RAN node that if the first paging based on SSB beams of a cell fails, the paging range can be directly expanded. For example, the RRC paging message may be transmitted on all SSB beams in each of the one or more recommended cells to expand the paging range, [0161]);
wherein the paging range includes a fifth list of one or more cells to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of one or more cells in the paging assistance information may include ID information of one or more cells of a current RAN node visited by the UE, [0139]) and,
for each cell, of the one or more cells, a sixth list of one of more SSBs to be used for the paging procedure (ID information of SSB beams in the paging assistance information may include ID information of accessed SSB beams in visited cells of the current RAN node, [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray with the page failure of Li to provide a methods and a system wherein the paging range is reduced to page more accurately, thereby saving radio resources and power consumption when the RAN node pages the UE as suggested, Li [0078].
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20230007624 A1) in view of Li et al.( US 20240031984 A1) and further in view of Ma et al. (US 20250374240 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to.
However, Murray and Li do not teach transmit a third indication of a second preferred paging range associated with the UE, wherein the second preferred paging range is associated with a second quality of service indicator different from the first quality of service indicator.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches transmit a third indication of a second preferred paging range associated with the UE, wherein the second preferred paging range is associated with a second quality of service indicator different from the first quality of service indicator (For example, the UE 140 may measure signal quality and/or signal strength of all SSBs in the serving cell and a neighboring cell of the serving cell of the third network device 130 for the UE 140, and report a measurement result to the third network device 130. Then, the third network device 130 uses a non-serving SSB whose signal quality and/or signal strength are/is greater than a preset threshold as an adjacent SSB of the terminal device, [0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Ma to provide a methods and a system to reducing energy consumption during network paging as suggested, Ma [0007].
Regarding claim 20, Murray as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 19.
However, Murray and Li do not teach wherein the first preferred paging range is associated with a first quality of service indicator, wherein the method further comprises transmitting a third indication of a second preferred paging range associated with the UE, and wherein the second preferred paging range is associated with a second quality of service indicator different from the first quality of service indicator.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches wherein the first preferred paging range is associated with a first quality of service indicator, wherein the method further comprises transmitting a third indication of a second preferred paging range associated with the UE, and wherein the second preferred paging range is associated with a second quality of service indicator different from the first quality of service indicator (For example, the UE 140 may measure signal quality and/or signal strength of all SSBs in the serving cell and a neighboring cell of the serving cell of the third network device 130 for the UE 140, and report a measurement result to the third network device 130. Then, the third network device 130 uses a non-serving SSB whose signal quality and/or signal strength are/is greater than a preset threshold as an adjacent SSB of the terminal device, [0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Ma to provide a methods and a system to reducing energy consumption during network paging as suggested, Ma [0007].
Claims 9-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 20230007624 A1) in view of Li et al.( US 20240031984 A1) and further in view of Jiang (WO 2025043722 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Murray and Li do not teach wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to identify the first preferred paging range using at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model associated with the UE.
In an analogous art, Jiang teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to identify the first preferred paging range using at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model associated with the UE (For example, the communication device may be… artificial intelligence device, page 29, par 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Jiang to provide a methods and a system to increase the paging capacity of the system, share the paging load of the cell that sends SSB and/or SIB, and improve the paging capacity as suggested.
Regarding claim 10, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Murray and Li do not teach wherein the paging range is identified using at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model associated with a core network (For example, the communication device may be… artificial intelligence device, page 29, par 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Jiang to provide a methods and a system to increase the paging capacity of the system, share the paging load of the cell that sends SSB and/or SIB, and improve the paging capacity as
Regarding claim 11, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Murray and Li do not teach wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to transmit a third indication of an agreed paging range associated with the UE, wherein the agreed paging range includes a seventh list of one or more cells agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure, and, for each cell agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, of the one or more cells agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, an eighth list of one of more SSBs agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure.
In an analogous art, Jiang teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the UE to transmit a third indication of an agreed paging range associated with the UE, wherein the agreed paging range includes a seventh list of one or more cells agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure, and, for each cell agreed to by the UE and the core network entity, of the one or more cells agreed to by the UE and the core network entity (the terminal and the network device both agree to determine a first-category cell having the same coverage as the second cell as the first-category cell that sends the paging message, page 3, par 9), an eighth list of one of more SSBs agreed to by the UE and a core network entity for the paging procedure (the second cell uses beams 1 to 4 in four directions to send SSB or SIB respectively, page 17, par 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Jiang to provide a methods and a system to increase the paging capacity of the system, share the paging load of the cell that sends SSB and/or SIB, and improve the paging capacity as suggested.
Regarding claim 12, Murray as modified by Li and Jiang teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the third indication is transmitted via a non-access stratum registration complete message (PO Skipping indication may be provided to the network using one of the Registration request procedures, Murray [0255]).
Regarding claim 17, Murray as modified by Li teaches the apparatus of claim 14.
However, Murray and Li do not teach wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the network node to identify the paging range using at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model associated with the network node.
In an analogous art, Jiang teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the network node to identify the paging range using at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model associated with the network node (For example, the communication device may be… artificial intelligence device, page 29, par 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the paging range selection of Murray and Li with the cell list of Jiang to provide a methods and a system to increase the paging capacity of the system, share the paging load of the cell that sends SSB and/or SIB, and improve the paging capacity as suggested.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Velev et al. (US 20200045767 A1): Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for indicating radio capability changes in an inactive state. One method includes detecting a trigger to change radio capabilities of a UE in an inactive state; transmitting a first message comprising information indicating to change the radio capabilities of the UE, wherein the first message comprises a first access stratum message; receiving a second message, wherein the second message comprises information corresponding to an action, and the second message comprises a second access stratum message.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641