Status of Claims
This Action is in response to the amendment filed on August 14, 2026.
As directed by the amendment: Claims 1-11 were cancelled. Claims 12-23 are newly added, and thus claims 12-23 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12, lines 26-27 recite “allowing the same main body, serving as an only stimulating body for massaging the user” and this has been interpreted to mean that the main body is the only part of the massage tool that is intended to be used for massaging the user. This is based upon original paragraph [0225] and based upon page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks filed August 14, 2026, which state that the language is meant to clarify that the base and the steering body are not stimulating bodies.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are
“a restraining member configured to drive the first plate towards the second plate to clamp the steering member” in claim 12. The corresponding structure appears to be “restraining member 150” (see Figs. 1-2) which “is a nut 151, which has an internal thread that cooperates with the external thread of the limiting shaft 160 … [and] also includes a rotating member 152” see the first sentence of [0039]).
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 17, 21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, line 22 recites “the base such,” and the word “such” appears to be mistakenly added. The Examiner suggests –the base,--.
Claim 12, line 25 recites “angular positioning” and the Examiner suggests –the angular positioning—to clarify the antecedent basis from claim 12, line 7.
Claim 12, line 26 recites “the same main body” and the Examiner suggests –the main body—because the term “same” is unnecessary. Similarly, line 29 recites “the same main body.”
Claim 12, line 29 recites “the same base” and the Examiner suggests –the base—because the term “same” is unnecessary.
Claim 12, the last two lines recite “angular positioning” and the Examiner suggests –the angular positioning—to clarify the antecedent basis from claim 12, line 7.
Claim 17, line 2 recites “two said first teeth” and the Examiner suggests –two of said first gear teeth—to clarify the antecedent basis from claim 16.
Claim 21, line 2 recites “threadably” which is not a recognized word, and the Examiner suggests –threadedly— as is used in claims 14 and 20.
Claim 23, line 5 recites “an angular position” and the Examiner suggests –the angular positioning—to clarify the antecedent basis from claim 12, line 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14-17, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2016/0151235) in view of Levy et al. (2,896,901), and Hutchison (2017/0087049).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses a massage tool (shaft 1, massage member 2, and triangular base 3, see Figs. 9-10), comprising:
a main body (1, 2, Figs. 9-10) having a first connector portion (fastening means 111, Fig. 9) and configured to massage a user (see Figs. 19-20);
a base (base 31, Figs. 9-10) configured to substantially fix the massage tool to an external surface (base 31 has anti-slip layer 31 which “serves to prevent the base 31 from sliding unexpectedly, enabling the massage device of the present invention to have increased stability when it is in use” see the last two sentences of [0061]. The external surface is a floor or wall); and
a steering device (swivel joint 32, Figs. 9-10) interposed between the main body (1, 2, Figs. 9-10) and the base (31, Figs. 9-10) of the massage tool to enable angular positioning of the main body (1, 2) relative to the base (31, the swivel joint 32 can swivel to different positions, “so that the massage device can be operated to provide additional massage functions” see para. [0047] and the last sentence of [0051], Fig. 18, Fig. 20) when interposed between the main body (1, 2) and the base (31; see Figs. 9-10, the steering device “swivel joint” 32 is interposed between the main body 1, 2, and the base 31 and enables swiveling to different angular positions);
wherein the steering device (32) comprises:
a main holder (support element 4, Figs. 9-10), the main holder comprising a first plate (leftmost lug 321, Figs. 9-10), a second plate (rightmost lug 321, Figs. 9-10) arranged opposite to the first plate (see Figs. 9-10);
a steering member (T-shaped rod 322 and fork-shaped element 323, Figs. 9-10) connected between the first plate and the second plate (T-shaped rod 322 is shown to connect between the first and second plates 321, 321, see Figs. 9-10), one end of the steering member (upper end of fork-shaped element 323, at recess 32321, Figs. 9-10) being provided with a fourth connector portion (recess 32321, Figs. 9-10. Note, lines 1-7 and lines 22-27 of para. [0051] state the connector 11 can instead be a female coupling that threads on corresponding male threads of swivel joint 32); and
wherein, in a first massage state (the state shown in Figure 10), the steering device (32) is interposed between the main body (1, 2) and the base (31), with the fourth connector portion (recess 32321, see both of Figs. 9-10) directly and detachably engaging the first connector portion (fastening means 111, see both of Figs. 9-10 and lines 15-18 of [0051]);
wherein, in a second massage state (a state where the main body 1, 2, is detached from the base as in Fig. 19), the steering device (32) is not interposed between the main body (1, 2) and the base [such] (31, see Fig. 19, the base is removed and thus the steering device is not interposed);
wherein the steering device (32) is configured to enable angular positioning between the main body (1, 2) and the base (31; the swivel joint 32 can swivel to different positions, “so that the massage device can be operated to provide additional massage functions” see para. [0047] and the last sentence of [0051], Fig. 18, Fig. 20) while allowing the same main body (1, 2), serving as a stimulating body (main body 1, 2, is used as a stimulating body as seen in Fig. 20), to be used in both the first massage state and the second massage state (the main body 1, 2, is used in both the first massage state of Fig. 10 and the second massage state of Fig. 19), such that the first massage state (Figure 10) and the second massage state (Figure 19) are established with the same main body (the same main body 1, 2, is configured to be used for both the first massage state seen in Figure 10 and the second massage state seen in Figure 19) and differ from each other by whether the steering device (32) is connected (see Fig. 10, Fig. 19) to provide angular positioning (the swivel joint 32 can swivel to different positions, “so that the massage device can be operated to provide additional massage functions” see para. [0047] and the last sentence of [0051], Fig. 18, Fig. 20).
Yu is silent regarding the base having a second connector portion, the base configured to fix the massage tool to the external surface, the first connector portion and the second connector portion being directly and detachably connectable to each other; the steering device selectively and removably interposable between the main body and the base of the massage tool; the main holder having a third connector portion; a restraining member configured to drive the first plate towards the second plate to clamp the steering member; the first massage state having the third connector portion directly and detachably engaging the second connector portion; the second massage state having the first connector portion of the main body directly and detachably engage the second connector portion of the base without an adapter or intermediate component; the main body serving as an only stimulating body; and the first massage state and the second massage state are established with the same base and differ from each other by whether the steering device is interposed therebetween.
Levy teaches a related adjustable tilting support stand (Fig. 1, Fig. 5) that includes a first plate (clamping member 21, Fig. 1) and a second plate (clamping member 20, Fig. 1) arranged opposite the first plate (see Fig. 1), and a steering member (tongue 13, Fig. 1) being connected between the first plate and the second plate (see Fig. 1, Figs. 5-6). Levy includes a restraining member (wing nut 23, Fig. 1) configured to drive the first plate (wing nut 23 is able to be rotated to press against plate 21 to provide clamping with tongue 13, see Fig. 1 and see col. 2, lines 8-10 and col. 2, lines 44-46) towards the second plate to clamp the steering member (13; see col. 2, lines 8-10 and col. 2, lines 44-46, the two plates are pressed against the cooperating surfaces 14, 15, of the tongue 13). This provides an expected result of allowing the tilt angle of the steering member to be selectively adjusted in an incremental manner (see col. 1, lines 33-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second plates and steering member of Yu to include a restraining member configured to drive the first plate towards the second plate to clamp the steering member via geared/serrated surfaces as taught by Levy because this allows the user to easily adjust the tilting angle of the steering member and lock it into the desired angle.
The modified Yu/Levy device is still silent regarding the base having a second connector portion, the base configured to fix the massage tool to the external surface, the first connector portion and the second connector portion being directly and detachably connectable to each other; the steering device selectively and removably interposable between the main body and the base of the massage tool; the main holder having a third connector portion; the first massage state having the third connector portion directly and detachably engaging the second connector portion; the second massage state having the first connector portion of the main body directly and detachably engage the second connector portion of the base without an adapter or intermediate component; the main body serving as an only stimulating body; and the first massage state and the second massage state are established with the same base and differ from each other by whether the steering device is interposed therebetween.
However, it is noted that it has been held that “if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the [removed part] …” (here, to have Yu’s steering device 32 removably connected with the base 31), “it would be obvious to make the [part] removable for that purpose” (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)). Making part(s) removable provides expected results such as making the part(s) easier to clean, store, repair and/or replace. Furthermore, providing a modular massage tool with interchangeable parts is known in the art and provides additional motivation to obtain access to the various modular parts to allow customization so the user can choose which modules to attach, depending on whether they want the function or design associated with each part.
For example, Hutchison teaches a related modular massage tool (i.e., Fig. 1, Figs. 13-17) including a base (base module 2, Figs. 1-2, 9, 12, 14, and 16-17) having a second connector portion (connection means 9a associated with base module 2, see Fig. 2; see also [0102]-[0106] which state several different connection means are suitable, including male and female screw threads), the base (2) configured to fix the massage tool to an external surface (the base 2c can include a suction cup 10/17, as seen in Fig. 9, to fix the massage tool to an external surface such as the floor. “The suction cup [10] can be used to keep the adult toy 1 stationary or mounted to a surface in use or for storage” see all of para. [0118]). Hutchison has a main body (head module 4, Figs. 1, 4, 13, and 16-17) having a first connector portion (connection half 7a associated with head module 4, see Figs. 4, 13), the first connector portion (connection half 7a associated with head module 4, see Figs. 4, 13) and the second connector portion (connection means 9a associated with base module 2, Fig. 2) being directly and detachably connectable to each other (“connection second half 7a is formed on the base end 41 so that the head module 4a can be connected to a connection first half 6a, such as that on one end of the shaft module 3a, or that on the base module 2a” see Fig. 2-4, lines 1-4 of [0098], and see the first two configurations on the left in Figure 17). Hutchison includes a structure comparable to Yu’s main holder (i.e., an optional intermediate connection, the shaft 3, Figs. 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 13, and Figs. 15-17. This intermediate connection 3 can provide a function such that the position and orientation can be adjusted or modified when attached to the shaft/base, see the last sentence of [0121]) being selectively and removably interposable between the main body (4) and the base (2) of the massage tool (the different parts can be “mixed and matched” in a variety of configurations, as desired, see lines 1-4 of [0098], para. [0116], and see Figs. 13-17), the main holder (3) having a third connector portion (connection half 7a associated with shaft 3, see Figs. 3, 5, 8); the main holder (3) having a third connector portion (7a, associated with main holder 3, see Figs. 3, 5, 8).
Hutchison provides at least a first massage state (such as the second configuration on the left as seen in Figure 17, where intermediate shaft 3 is connected to base 2) having the third connector portion (7a, associated with 3, see Figs. 3, 5, 8) directly and detachably engaging the second connector portion (connection means 9a associated with base module 2, see Fig. 2; see also [0102]-[0106] which state several different connection means are suitable, including male and female screw threads, and para. [0116] stating the different parts can be “mixed and matched”). Hutchison additionally provides a second massage state (such as the first configuration on the left as seen in Figure 17, where main body 4 is directly attached to the base 2, without any intermediate shaft 3) having the first connector portion (connection half 7a associated with head module 4, see Figs. 4, 13) of the main body (4) directly and detachably engage the second connector portion (connection means 9a associated with base module 2, Fig. 2) of the base (2) without an adapter or intermediate component (as seen in the first configuration on the left in Figure 17, the main body 4 is directly attached to the base 2); and the first massage state (the second configuration on the left as seen in Figure 17, where intermediate shaft 3 is connected to base 2) and the second massage state (the first configuration on the left as seen in Figure 17, where main body 4 is directly attached to the base 2, without any intermediate shaft 3) are established with the same base (the base 2 is shown to be different size in the first two configurations of Figure 17. However, Hutchison uses identical connection mechanisms to permit the different parts to be “mixed and matched” in a variety of configurations, as desired, see lines 1-4 of [0098], para. [0116], and Figs. 13-17. Thus, the main body 4 can be directly attached to the base 2, or to the intermediate shaft 3, with the same base) and differ from each other by whether the steering device (i.e., intermediate optional shaft 3) is interposed therebetween (see the first two configurations on the left of Figure 17 and see para. [0098], the main body 4 may be attached to the intermediate shaft 3, or directly attached to the base 2 without any intermediate shaft).
Overall, Hutchison is advantageous by allowing the various modular parts (2, 3, 4) to be mixed and matched so the user can selectively attach the components that best suit their needs. The suction cup base (2c, Fig. 9) additionally is advantageous for keeping the massage tool securely fixed to a surface in use, or during storage (see all of para. [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base (31, Yu) and main holder (4, Yu) of Yu/Levy to have: 1) the base include a suction cup configured to fix the massage tool to the external surface, and 2) the base include a second connector portion that is selectively directly connectable to both a third connector portion of the main holder and a first connector portion of the main body of the massage tool, with each connector portion being substantially identical to allow interchanging parts as taught by Hutchison because: 1) the suction cup base provides an expected advantage of allowing the massage tool to be more securely fixed to a flat surface such as a floor, table, wall, or for storage, and 2) so a kit of different parts can be mixed and matched to a variety of configurations to allow the massage tool to be customized as desired. These connector portions allow the user to add or omit functional modules such as the steering device (32 of Yu, as modified by Levy), depending on whether the user desires the function of the associated module. For example, if the user wants to provide the massage at an angled orientation, they can interpose the steering device (32 of Yu, as modified by Levy) between the main body (1, 2, Yu) and the base (31 of Yu, as modified by base 2 of Hutchison). On the other hand, if the user does not want the massage to be angled they can directly connect the main body (1, 2, Yu) to the base (31 of Yu, as modified by base 2 of Hutchison).
The modified device as currently combined is silent regarding the main body (1, 2) serving as an only stimulating body for massaging the user because the base (31, Fig. 9 of Yu) has an optional removable massage ball (5, Fig. 9 of Yu).
However, it is noted that it has been held that omission of additional elements (such as the massage ball 5 of Yu) would have been obvious if the function of the element(s) (massage ball 5 is “used for deep supraspinatus muscle and teres minor muscle massage” see para. [0064] of Yu) were not desired (see MPEP 2144.04(II)A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to omit the massage ball for users that do not require its function of massaging supraspinatus muscle and teres minor muscle(s), and since this would advantageously reduce costs.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein the steering device (32, Yu, as modified by Levy) further comprises: a limiting shaft (bolt 22, Fig. 1 of Levy), the limiting shaft passing sequentially (from right to left as seen in Fig. 1 of Levy, which appears to be the same sequence as in Fig. 3 of the instant application) through the first plate (21, Fig. 1 of Levy), the steering member (13, Fig. 1 of Levy), and the second plate (20, Fig. 1 of Levy), wherein the restraining member (23, Fig. 1 of Levy) is threadedly connected to the limiting shaft (the distal end of shaft 22 is shown to be threaded in Fig. 1 of Levy, and note that 23 is a wing nut that would be rotated on these threads to tighten).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein, in the steering device (32, Yu, as modified by Levy) the second plate (20, Fig. 1 of Levy) is provided with a polygonal through hole (square shaped hole 25, Fig. 1 of Levy), and a portion (square shank portion 24, Fig. 1 of Levy) of the limiting shaft (22) disposed within the polygonal through hole (25) is engaged with an inner wall of the polygonal through hole (the square shank portion 24 is engaged with an inner wall of the polygonal through hole 25 when assembled so that it does not turn, see Fig. 1, Fig. 6, and col. 2, lines 10-13 of Levy).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein, in the steering device (32, Yu, as modified by Levy), the second plate (20, Fig. 1 of Levy) is provided with a plurality of first gear teeth on one side thereof closer to the first plate (each of plates 20, 21, are “substantially identical” and each have a plurality of serrations/gear teeth such as 29, to engage the roughened surfaces 14, 15, of tongue 13, see Fig. 1; see col. 2, lines 2-8 and col. 2, lines 14-33 of Levy. These teeth are on the side of the plate that is facing/closer to the opposing plate), the plurality of first gear teeth being evenly spaced along an outer periphery of the limiting shaft (see Fig. 1 of Levy, the serrations 29 are evenly spaced around the outer periphery of shaft 22), and wherein a side of the steering member (13, Levy) adjacent to the second plate (20, Fig. 1 of Levy) is provided with a plurality of second gear teeth (serrations 16, Fig. 1 of Levy) capable of engaging with the first gear teeth (see col. 2, lines 2-8 and col. 2, lines 14-33 of Levy).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device does not specifically disclose wherein, in the steering device, an angle between two said first teeth adjacent to each other (serrations such as 29, Fig. 1 of Levy) is from 8 degrees to 15 degrees. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood from Levy that the angular spacing of these teeth merely corresponds to the number of incremental angular options for the user to selectively lock the tilting device in place. Furthermore, there does not appear to be any stated criticality to this selection of 8 to 15 degrees.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle between two adjacent first teeth of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to be between 8 and 15 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (providing a plurality of serrated teeth formed in a ring about the limiting shaft and corresponding to teeth on the steering member, thereby allowing different angular options for the user to selectively lock the tilting device in place), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e., 8 to 15 degrees between adjacent teeth) involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05(I-II).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses a suction cup holder (Hutchison teaches an interchangeable base 2c with a suction cup holder, see suction cup 10/17 in Fig. 9 and see para. [0118]), the suction cup holder being detachably connected (by the connection mechanism such as 6a, Fig. 9 of Hutchison) to the third connector portion (connection half 7a associated with shaft 3, see Figs. 3, 5, 8 of Hutchison) of the main holder (shaft 3, Figs. 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 13, and 16-17, has a female coupling connection half 7a, Figs. 3, 5, 8 of Hutchison), and the suction cup holder being adapted for securing a fixed connection with the external surface (used to keep the adult toy stationary or mounted to a surface, see para. [0118] of Hutchison).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein the fourth connector portion (recess 32321, Figs. 9-10 of Yu, which also states this may be a male coupling, as modified by Hutchison to be connection means such as 6a, Fig. 3; see also [0102]-[0106] of Hutchison) is provided with an external thread (the connection means may include using male and female threads, see para. [0104] of Hutchison) threadably engageable with the first connector portion (as taught by Hutchison, the male coupling is able to be coupled to the main body of the massage tool such as 4 of Hutchison, see para. [0098], Figs. 13-17).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein in the first massage state (Fig. 10 of Yu), the steering member (T-shaped rod 322 and fork-shaped element 323, Figs. 9-10 of Yu as modified by 13, Fig. 1 of Levy) is steerable with respect to the base (31 of Yu, as modified by Hutchison to have a connector portion such as a male thread) about an axis extending through the first and second plates (the steering member 13 is rotatable about axis 18, which extends through plates 20, 21, see Fig. 1, Fig. 5; see col. 3, lines 1-11 of Levy), thereby enabling the main body to be positioned at an arbitrary angle (the arbitrary angle is chosen by the user and then clamped into place, see col. 3, lines 1-11 of Levy) within a predetermined range with respect to the base (the range is predetermined by the base providing a physical limit that the main body would not be able to rotate beyond) via the steering member (T-shaped rod 322 and fork-shaped element 323, Figs. 9-10 of Yu as modified by 13, Fig. 1 of Levy).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2016/0151235) in view of Levy et al. (2,896,901) and Hutchison (2017/0087049) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lin (6,988,701)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device is silent regarding wherein, in the steering device (32 of Yu, as modified by Levy), a connection between the first plate (21, Levy) and a body of the main holder (4, Yu) is resilient.
Lin teaches a related adjustable tilting support stand (Fig. 1) that has a main holder (plate 11, Fig. 1) with a first plate (left flap 12, Fig. 1) and a second plate (right flap 12, Fig. 1), a steering member (seat 20, Fig. 1), and a restraining member (wing nut 43, Fig. 1). Lin’s first plate and second plate (12) are made of a resilient material to allow them to be slightly forced toward each other by the fastener (41; see col. 3, lines 13-18). Thus, the connection between the first plate and the body of the main holder is resilient, because the first plate is resilient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the first and second plates of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to be resilient as taught by Lin to allow the plates to be slightly forced toward each other by movement of the clamping restrainer and shaft.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2016/0151235) in view of Levy et al. (2,896,901) and Hutchison (2017/0087049) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wang (2007/0278371)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein, in the steering device (32 of Yu, as modified by Levy), the restraining member (23, Levy) comprises a nut (23 is a wingnut or lock nut) threaded to the limiting shaft (bolt 22, Fig. 1 of Levy). The modified device is silent regarding a rotating member being configured to be able to be socketed on the nut.
Wang teaches a related adjustable tilting mount (Fig. 2) that similarly has a limiting shaft (pin 90, Fig. 2) extending between first and second plates (42, 42, Fig. 2) and has a restraining member (knob 92 and nut 922, Fig. 2) comprising a nut (nut 922, Fig. 2) threaded to the limiting shaft (“open end of the second pin 90 is extended beyond the other arm 42 into the sixth through hole 920 to threadedly secure to the nut 922” see para. [0024] and Fig. 2) and a rotating member (knob 92, Fig. 2), the rotating member being configured to be able to be socketed on the nut (the knob 92 is placed around/socketed on the nut 922, see Fig. 2) to be rotated to clamp the plates (see para. [0024]). This provides an expected result of a convenient knob handle (92) that may be turned more easily compared to a wingnut that needs to be gripped in a particular location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restraining member of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to be a rotating knob and nut, the nut being threaded to the limiting shaft and the rotating member/knob being socketed on the nut as taught by Wang because this is a combination of prior art elements according to known techniques (a knob and a nut that is threaded on a shaft) that provide expected results (the knob and nut combination can be rotated conveniently to adjust a clamping pressure via a limiting shaft). Furthermore, as stated above the use of a knob handle would be turned more easily compared to a wingnut that needs to be gripped in a particular location.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2016/0151235) in view of Levy et al. (2,896,901) and Hutchison (2017/0087049) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Nan (2008/0017764).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device is silent regarding wherein the steering device further comprises a connecting shaft, both ends of the connecting shaft are provided with external threads, and the main holder and the suction cup holder are each configured to threadedly engage with connecting shaft.
Nan teaches a related adjustable mount for a massage tool (Fig. 1), including a connecting shaft (threaded stud 32, Fig. 3), both ends of the connecting shaft (32) are provided with external threads (it is a “threaded” stud, see the last sentence of [0037] and Fig. 3), and a main holder (cup member 36, Fig. 3) and a suction cup holder (socket body 26, Fig. 3) are each configured to threadedly engage with the connecting shaft (see Fig. 3, see the last sentence of [0036], and the last sentence of [0037]. Both the main holder 36 and suction cup holder 26 are “threadedly connected” to the connecting shaft 32 via internal threaded socket 30 and by the threads of 32 extending into main holder 36). This provides an expected result of allowing the main holder to be conveniently attached to a suction cup holder to fix to a flat surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main holder and suction cup holder of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to be connected by a connecting shaft provided with external threads as taught by Nan because this is a combination of prior art elements according to known techniques (providing threaded male/female connections) to provide expected results (the suction cup holder can be easily attached or detached by the screw connection and the massage tool can then be fixed to a flat surface by the suction cup).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2016/0151235) in view of Levy et al. (2,896,901) and Hutchison (2017/0087049) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zimmer Jr. (4,034,946).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device discloses wherein the first plate (clamping member 21, Fig. 1 of Levy) has a pressing surface (surface 29, Fig. 1, which faces and engages with roughened surface 15, see Fig. 1 of Levy) facing the steering member (tongue 13, see Fig. 1 of Levy), the pressing surface (29) being configured to press the steering member (13) toward the second plate (clamping member 20, Fig. 1 of Levy; see col. 2, lines 8-10 and col. 2, lines 44-46, the two plates are pressed against the cooperating surfaces 14, 15, of the tongue 13) such that the second gear teeth (serrations 16, Fig. 1 of Levy) of the steering member (13, Fig. 1 of Levy) engage the first gear teeth (plate 20 has a plurality of serrations/gear teeth similar to 29, to engage the roughened surface 14 and serrations 16 on tongue 13, see Fig. 1 of Levy and col. 2, lines 2-15) of the second plate (20, Fig. 1 of Levy) to fix an angular position of the steering member (13, Levy) relative to the main holder (4, Yu, as modified by Levy; the angular position is fixed by Levy’s adjustable clamping, see col. 1, lines 33-37).
The modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device is silent regarding the pressing surface (29, Fig. 1 of Levy) being toothless.
Zimmer teaches a related adjustable tilting support stand (Fig. 1) that has a steering device (upper clevis 14, Fig. 1) that has a single toothed pressing surface (plurality of radial teeth 36, Fig. 1) to allow the steering device (14) to be adjustably clamped to a selected angle (see col. 1, lines 28-34; col. 3, lines 1-6). Zimmer states “[a]lthough radial teeth 36 may be placed on only one face, such as face 32, it is to be understood that a corresponding set of radial teeth may be placed on face 34 if desired” (see col. 1, line 65 through col. 2, line 3). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the steering device may only require a single surface with gear teeth, and thus the associated pressing surface would similarly be toothless. This arrangement would be expected to perform equally as well since Zimmer suggests the use of one or two sets of teeth are suitable alternatives.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressing surface of the first plate of Yu/Levy/Hutchison to be a toothless pressing surface as generally taught by Zimmer because this is shown to be a suitable alternative and would be expected to perform equally as well. Furthermore, the toothless pressing surface would be expected to simplify manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the rejection under 35 USC 112(a) should be withdrawn because a lack of literal basis in the specification for a negative limitation may not be sufficient to establish a prima facie case for lack of descriptive support, and there may be circumstances in which it can be established that a skilled artisan would understand a negative limitation to necessarily be present in the disclosure… and the limitation “main body, serving as an only stimulating body for massaging the user” is supported by the originally filed disclosure because the base is mainly a suction cup to fix to a surface and the steering device is not a stimulating body (see the last paragraph of page 6 of the Remarks, through the first two paragraphs of page 8), this argument is persuasive.
The Examiner agrees that the originally filed disclosure makes it clear to one of skilled in the art that the base (170, Figs. 2-3) functions solely to attach to an external surface (such as a wall or floor by a suction cup, see para. [0032], [0046]), and the steering device (130, Figs. 1-3) functions solely to adjust the angle of the main body (see para. [0032]). The originally filed disclosure suggests only that the main body provides the stimulation (see the second sentence of [0025]).
Regarding the argument that new independent claim 12 more clearly recites first and second massage states, using the same massage-producing/stimulating main body in both massage states, with the first state having the steering device selectively added to enable the angular relationship between the main body and the base and the second state omitting the steering device so the same main body is directly engaged to the base and the second massage state is not merely a detached or storage condition … and the claimed arrangement does not use modularity to create different massage tools having different lengths, shapes, and massage functions (see all of page 9 of the Remarks through the first two paragraphs of page 10), this argument is not persuasive.
As described in the rejection statement(s) above, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device reads on both the first massage state and second massage state in the newly added claim 12.
Regarding the argument that Yu does not teach the claimed second massage state, as Yu does not disclose a state in which the base can be fixed to an external surface while the same main body directly engages the base and provides massage at a fixed angle relative to the base … and at most, Yu shows a detached or disassembled condition that is not the same as the claimed second massage state (see the third paragraph of page 10 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “provides massage at a fixed angle relative to the base”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second, Yu has been modified by Hutchison to have the base configured to be fixed to an external surface while the same main body can directly engage the base. In the modified device, Yu’s steering device (32) is now selectively removable from the base (31), and the main body (1, 2) can be directly attached to the base (31) based upon Hutchison’s teaching. Hutchison’s head module(s) (4) is analogous to Yu’s main body (1, 2). Hutchison’s optional, intermediate shaft module(s) (3) that can provide positional adjustment relative to the base (see the last sentence of [0121]) are analogous to Yu’s Steering device (32). Hutchison’s base (2) is analogous to Yu’s base (31). Hutchison states that the head module(s) (4) can be either attached to the intermediate shaft module (3), or attached directly to the base (2): “connection second half 7a is formed on the base end 41 so that the head module 4a can be connected to a connection first half 6a, such as that on one end of the shaft module 3a, or that on the base module 2a” (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, lines 1-4 of [0098], and see the first two configurations on the left in Figure 17).
Thus, the modified device can selectively have a second massage state in which the main body (1, 2, Yu) is directly attached to the base (31 of Yu, as modified by base 2 of Hutchison). Thus, the steering device (32, Yu) is able to be removed from between the main body (1, 2) and the base (31) such that the main body and the base are directly connected with no other component therebetween (similar to the leftmost configuration in Figure 17 of Hutchison).
Regarding the argument that Hutchison does not provide a proper basis for modifying Yu to arrive at the presently claimed invention, and at most teaches a reconfigurable modular massage system in which the function and configuration of the toy vary depending on the selected modules … does not teach the claimed arrangement in which a separate steering device is selectively interposed between the same massage-producing main body and the base to add angular adjustability … and does not cure Yu’s failure to disclose the claimed second massage-use state (see the last two paragraphs of page 10 of the Remarks, through the second paragraph of page 11), this argument is not persuasive.
Hutchison specifically teaches a base (2c) with a suction cup (Fig. 9) to fixedly connect to an external surface (“The suction cup [10] can be used to keep the adult toy 1 stationary or mounted to a surface in use or for storage” see all of para. [0118] and Fig. 9). Additionally, Hutchison’s connection mechanisms allow for the various components to be “mixed and matched” (see lines 1-4 of [0098], para. [0116], and Figs. 13-17) and the main body (4) can be selectively attached to either an optional intermediate shaft module (3) or attached directly to the base (2; “connection second half 7a is formed on the base end 41 so that the head module 4a can be connected to a connection first half 6a, such as that on one end of the shaft module 3a, or that on the base module 2a” see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, lines 1-4 of [0098], and see the first two configurations on the left in Figure 17). Similar to Yu’s steering device (32), Hutchison’s optional intermediate shaft (3) is able to provide functions such as adjusting the position and orientation of the massager when attached to the shaft/base (see the last sentence of [0121]).
Keeping in mind that “[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton,” it is maintained that Hutchison’s teaching of modular intermediate connections with various functions would suggest that Yu’s steering member should be removably connected so the user can mix and match different parts to a variety of configurations to allow the massage tool to be customized as desired. KSR Int’l. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). The user of the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device would add or omit modular parts such as the steering device, depending on whether the user desires the function of the associated modular part and they would be able to build both the recited first and second massage states.
For example, if the user wants to provide the massage at an angled orientation, they can interpose the steering device (32 of Yu, as modified by Levy) between the main body (1, 2, Yu) and the base (31 of Yu, as modified by base 2 of Hutchison) as is generally disclosed in Figure 10 of Yu. On the other hand, if the user does not want the massage to be angled they can directly connect the main body (1, 2, Yu) to the base (31 of Yu, as modified by base 2 of Hutchison) because Hutchison specifically teaches connections that allow the main body (4) to be selectively connected to the optional intermediate shaft (3) or attached directly to the base (see lines 1-4 of [0098], and see the first two configurations on the left in Figure 17).
Regarding the argument that contrary to the suggestion in the Office Action, Hutchison confirms that its base module is not merely a passive mounting base, and paragraph [0090] of Hutchison states that the base module houses a vibration mechanism, a power source, and user controls for controlling the vibration of the toy (see the second paragraph of page 11 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, there is nothing in the claims that would preclude the base from housing a power source or user controls.
Second, the suction cup base (2c, Fig. 9) of Hutchison that the Examiner referred to in the Office Action is not the same base that Applicant is referring to in paragraph [0090]. Paragraph [0090] refers to base module “2a” having a vibration mechanism. The suction cup base module (2c, Fig. 9) is only described as having a power source to supply power to vibrator(s) located elsewhere, “if necessary” (see all of para. [0117] and Fig. 9). The 35 USC 103 rejection(s) above modified the base 31 of Yu to add a suction cup to the bottom, the 103 rejection(s) did not add a vibrator to the base.
Regarding the argument that paragraph [0118] of Hutchison describes the suction cup as a variation “fitted to” the base module and thus the suction cup is an additional mounting feature added to an active base module, not merely a passive base corresponding to the claimed base … and Hutchison’s base module participates in the vibration/massage (see the last two paragraphs of page 11 of the Remarks, through the first paragraph of page 12), this argument is not persuasive.
First, paragraph [0118] states the base module 2c is “fitted with” a suction cup 10, not “fitted to.” The base 2c being fitted with, i.e., equipped with a suction cup does not indicate that the suction cup is a separate structure.
Second, even if Hutchison’s suction cup was considered an additional mounting feature, the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) specifically add a suction cup to Yu’s base (31) and the modified device would thus read on the claim limitation of the base “configured to fix the massage tool to an external surface.”
Third, it is reiterated that Hutchison’s suction cup base 2c does not itself provide any vibration (suction cup base 2c is only described as having a power source to supply power to vibrator(s) located elsewhere, “if necessary” see all of para. [0117]), and the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) did not add a vibrator to the base.
In the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device, the same main body (1, 2 of Yu) remains the component configured to produce the massaging effect in both massage states (in the first massage state shown in Figure 10 of Yu, as well as in the second massage state suggested by Hutchison in which the main body 1, 2, of Yu can be directly connected to the base 31 of Yu as taught by lines 1-4 of [0098] and Figure 17 of Hutchison).
Regarding the argument that the Examiner’s mapping of Hutchison’s base module to the claimed base abstracts Hutchison’s module(s) away from their disclosed functional roles, as Hutchison’s base module is a functional module of a modular adult toy, with a suction cup optionally added as a mounting feature (see the second paragraph of page 12 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Hutchison clearly teaches base module(s) (2), such as the suction cup base module (2c, Fig. 9) that is used to keep the massage device “stationary or mounted to a surface in use” (see lines 1-4 of [0118]). This is the same function that Applicant’s base module performs.
Regarding the argument that the Examiner’s mapping of Hutchison’s shaft module to the claimed steering device abstracts Hutchison’s module(s) away from their disclosed functional roles, as Hutchison’s shaft module is part of a reconfigurable modular system that changes the toy’s length, shape, configuration, and functional arrangement, not a steering device whose purpose is to preserve the same massage-producing main body while merely changing the angular relationship between the main body and the base (see the second paragraph of page 12 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant’s steering device is similarly part of a reconfigurable system that changes the massage tool’s length (adding the steering device would clearly increase the overall device length), configuration, and functional arrangement. The fact that Hutchison discloses additional options that could be selected is inconsequential. The modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device in the rejection statement(s) does not attach every functional module taught by Hutchison.
Furthermore, the modified Yu/Levy/Hutchison device is similarly configured to allow the same main body to be used in both of the recited massage states. The main body (1, 2 of Yu) can be used in the first massage state (as illustrated in Figure 10 of Yu), and the modified device allows the main body (1, 2) to omit the intermediate component and instead be directly attached to the base (31 of Yu, as taught by lines 1-4 of [0098] and Figure 17 of Hutchison).
Regarding the argument that Hutchison does not teach or suggest the claimed arrangement in which a separate steering device is selectively interposed between the same massage-producing main body and the base to add angular adjustability, while the massaging function of the main body remains substantially unchanged when the steering device is added or removed (see the last paragraph of page 12 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, the primary reference Yu already discloses a separate steering device (31, Fig. 10) that is selectively attached (see Fig. 10, Figs. 19-20) to add angular adjustability for the main body (1, 2, Figs. 10 and 19-20).
Hutchison teaches an arrangement where a separate steering structure (i.e., an optional intermediate connection, the shaft 3, Figs. 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 13, and Figs. 15-17. This intermediate connection 3 can provide a function such that the position and orientation can be adjusted or modified when attached to the shaft/base, see the last sentence of [0121]) is selectively interposed between a massage-producing main body (4) and the base (2. See lines 1-4 of [0098] and Figure 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785