Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, 12, and 14-16, as filed 05/26/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest priority date being 12/16/2021.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following abnormalities. The first paragraph of the specification states that priority from the Chinese Patent application dates to “November 16, 2021” but the application appears to have been filed on “December 16, 2021.” This is confirmed by page 5 of the Application Data Sheet dated 06/17/2024.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 11 does not end in a period. The preamble to claim 16 contains a superfluous “and” that renders it ungrammatical. The portion reading “to obtain an interpretation result, and the one or more processors further execute the instructions” is interpreted as “to obtain an interpretation result, the one or more processors further execute the instructions.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 14 and 15 both recite selecting a candidate interpretation result “to obtain the interpretation result.” Claim 14 selects “a candidate interpretation result that appears most frequently, to obtain the interpretation result,” and claim 15 recites “selecting a candidate interpretation result corresponding to a highest similarity, to obtain the interpretation result.” Since claim 15 depends from claim 14, and “the interpretation result” is obtained in these two different ways, the scope of the claim is not ascertainable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Although the claims fall within a statutory category, they are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. A method for interpreting medical detection data, comprising:
obtaining medical detection data to be interpreted, wherein the medical detection data to be interpreted comprises a detection image and indicator data, wherein the indicator data includes a range of values and includes medical indicator data, wherein the medical indicator data includes unidimensional data comprising blood oxygen saturation level or body temperature or both blood oxygen saturation level and body temperature; (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity, mere data-gathering)
performing image recognition on the detection image, to obtain image recognition data; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can look at a waveform and note its features)
interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result, wherein an interpretation rule in the rule library is obtained by mining and analyzing a plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on a data mining algorithm, and the rule library is dynamically updated with an interpretation process (abstract idea – mental process; to the extent that this is non-abstract, it amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer).
mining and analyzing the plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on the data mining algorithm, to obtain the interpretation rule, wherein the interpreted data comprises indicator data, the image recognition data, and the interpretation result obtained based on the indicator data and the image recognition data; (abstract idea – mental process; mathematical concept)
updating the rule library based on the interpretation rule (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity, storing data in memory; generally applying the abstract idea with a computer),
wherein the interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result comprises:
interpreting, using the rule library, the image recognition data, to obtain at least two candidate interpretation results; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can look at data and make judgments resulting in candidate interpretation results) and
selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data (abstract idea – mental process because a person can choose among options using a patient’s vital signs).
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the mining and analyzing the plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on the data mining algorithm, to obtain the interpretation rule comprises:
classifying the plurality of pieces of interpreted data, to obtain interpreted data of a plurality of categories; (abstract idea – mental process)
selecting, from the interpreted data of the plurality of categories, interpreted data of a first category that meets a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is that a quantity of similar interpreted data in the interpreted data of the category is greater than a quantity threshold, interpretation results of any two pieces of similar interpreted data are the same, and indicator data of the two pieces of similar interpreted data falls within a same value range and/or image recognition data of the two pieces of similar interpreted data falls within a same value range; (abstract idea – mental process and mathematical concept, namely, comparing counts against a threshold)
obtaining the interpretation rule based on the similar interpreted data in the interpreted data of the first category (abstract idea – mental process).
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the detection image comprises a signal wave image, and the performing image recognition on the detection image, to obtain image recognition data comprises:
performing image recognition on the signal wave image, to obtain at least one piece of attribute information of a signal wave waveform in the signal wave image (abstract idea – mental process).
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein there are at least two pieces of indicator data; and the selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data comprises:
separately obtaining, based on value intervals of the at least two pieces of indicator data, candidate interpretation results corresponding to the corresponding value intervals, wherein the value intervals of the at least two pieces of indicator data are divided into a plurality of value intervals, and each value interval corresponds to at least one candidate interpretation result (abstract idea – mental process because a person can look up diagnoses based on measured values); and
selecting, from all candidate interpretation results obtained based on the at least two pieces of indicator data, a candidate interpretation result that appears most frequently, to obtain the interpretation result (abstract idea – mental process and mathematical concept, namely, counting).
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data comprises:
obtaining target indicator data respectively corresponding to the at least two candidate interpretation results, wherein the target indicator data corresponding to any one candidate interpretation result is obtained based on indicator data in interpreted data corresponding to the candidate interpretation result (abstract idea – mental process and mathematical concepts);
separately determining similarities between the indicator data in the medical detection data and the target indicator data corresponding to the at least two candidate interpretation results (abstract idea – mental process and mathematical concepts); and
selecting a candidate interpretation result corresponding to a highest similarity, to obtain the interpretation result (abstract idea – mental process).
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein before the interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result, the method further comprises:
determining, based on a quality control rule, that the indicator data and the image recognition data meet a preset quality control specification (abstract idea – mental process).
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 are presented as exemplary claims but the same analysis applies to the other claims.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes like analyzing, interpreting, selecting, and determining information as well as mathematical concepts like data mining algorithms. For example, but for the “electronic device,” “processors,” and “memories” language of claim 9, performing image recognition on the detection image, interpreting the result into candidate interpretations, and selecting among them is analogous to steps a human would perform such as a cardiologist reading a waveform on an ECG printout, forming a differential diagnosis, and narrowing the diagnosis with patient vitals readings. Mining previously interpreted cases to obtain an interpretation rule is a mathematical concept and is analogous to mental steps a physician would perform when revising a rule of thumb after reviewing past cases.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims such as additional mental processes or mathematical concepts as described above. For example, claims 3, 6, 7, 11, 14, and 15 recite classifying, counting, voting, and similarity comparisons. Claims 4, 8, 12, and 16 recite further observations and evaluations.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, “electronic device,” “processors,” and “memories” storing instructions, interpreting “using a rule library,” and updating the rule library based on the interpretation rule amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see applicant’s specification [0169], see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, obtaining medical detection data to be interpreted amounts to mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as medical diagnosis from a detection image and blood oxygen saturation or body temperature indicator data (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Dependent claims add only subject matter consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, obtaining data and updating a rule library amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i). Updating the rule library based on the interpretation rule amounts to electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii), and storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyman (US20210118534A1) in view of Jia (“A patient-similarity-based model for diagnostic prediction” – previously cited in PTO-892 on 10/29/2025) and Zhang (US20130072806A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lyman discloses: A method for interpreting medical detection data (“Automated electrocardiogram interpretation system and methods,” Title), comprising:
--obtaining medical detection data to be interpreted, wherein the medical detection data to be interpreted comprises a detection image and indicator data (“receive, via a receiver, a captured image of an ECG printout,” [0285]; “Performing diagnosing function 4026 can utilize other information, such as additional information 4419, ECG classifier data 4420, and/or patient history data 4430,” [0283]),
--performing image recognition on the detection image, to obtain image recognition data (“A waveform detection function is performed on the captured image to determine a plurality of locations of a plurality of ECG waveforms in the captured image,” [0285]); and
--interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result (“The pseudo-raw ECG signal data 1-K and/or some or all measurement data 4443 can be utilized as input to diagnosing function 4026,” [0282]; “based on known rules for diagnosing ECGs based on measurement data 4443,” [0284]),
--wherein an interpretation rule in the rule library is obtained by mining and analyzing a plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on a data mining algorithm (“Each of the twelve diagnosing functions can utilize models trained on their own set of training data corresponding to waveform images,” [0282]), and
--the rule library is dynamically updated with an interpretation process (“The user can determine that one or more models utilized by the ECG processing function 4005 be retrained and/or entered into remediation in response to detecting problems with the diagnosis data,” [0291]);
--mining and analyzing the plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on the data mining algorithm, to obtain the interpretation rule, wherein the interpreted data comprises the indicator data, the image recognition data, and the interpretation result obtained based on the indicator data and the image recognition data (“by utilizing models trained on this other type of information as input labels,” [0283]; “In all cases, known diagnosis data for the training set can be utilized as output data,” [0282]); and
--updating the rule library based on the interpretation rule (“the central server system 2640 can train on this data to improve existing models by producing updated model parameters of an existing inference function and/or to generate new models…,” [0171]).
--wherein the interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result comprises: interpreting, using the rule library, the image recognition data, to obtain at least two candidate interpretation results; (“Diagnosis data can be determined for each lead separately, and a final diagnosis function can be utilized to consolidate the diagnosis data for each lead to determine the diagnosis data,” [0282]).
Lyman does not expressly disclose but Jia teaches:
--wherein the indicator data includes a range of values (“Lab tests and vital signs with numerical results are structured data,” page 4; “blood urea nitrogen of approximately 3.2–7.1 mmol/L is considered normal,” page 4),
--selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data (“the hypotheses with the highest level of confidence are considered the final diagnoses,” page 5; “The feature vectors of each patient pair in the cohort are built by integrating three parts: symptom similarity, lab test similarity, and preliminary diagnosis similarity,” page 4).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Lyman’s ECG interpretation to include the selection among diagnostic hypotheses based on lab tests and vital signs of Jia because this would improve diagnostic accuracy by using similar and dissimilar patients to generate and reject hypotheses (“patient-similarity-based models perform better than the one-vs-all baseline and traditional k-NN methods,” Jia page 1).
Lyman does not expressly disclose but Zhang teaches: medical indicator data, wherein the medical indicator data includes unidimensional data comprising blood oxygen saturation level or body temperature or both blood oxygen saturation level and body temperature (“blood related signals, such as an SPO2 signal, capnograph signals, blood oxygen saturation ratios,” [0022]; “vital sign signals (such as ECG, SPO2 and NIBP signals) are usually used for patient monitoring and health status diagnosis and characterization,” [0021]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the ECG interpretation of Lyman and Jia to include the blood oxygen saturation data of Zhang because this would improve arrhythmia diagnosis by combining hemodynamic and electrophysiological parameters to locate the arrhythmia and gauge its severity (“the system combines multiple hemodynamic and electrophysiological parameters and ratios to derive quantified results and identify abnormal event timing, arrhythmia location and pathology severity,” [0022]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Lyman, Jia, or Zhang. The selection among diagnostic hypotheses based on lab tests and vital signs of Jia and the blood oxygen saturation data of Zhang do not affect the normal functioning of the elements taught by Lyman. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Jia and Zhang with the teachings of Lyman since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Lyman discloses: wherein the mining and analyzing the plurality of pieces of interpreted data based on the data mining algorithm, to obtain the interpretation rule comprises:
--classifying the plurality of pieces of interpreted data, to obtain interpreted data of a plurality of categories (“the input quality assurance function 1106 can take medical scan image data 410 as input and can generate an inferred scan category as output,” [0114]);
--obtaining the interpretation rule based on the similar interpreted data in the interpreted data of the first category (“Each medical scan inference function 1105 in the set can correspond to a scan category 1120, and can be trained on a set of medical scans that compare favorably to the scan category 1120,” [0109]).
Lyman does not expressly disclose but Jia teaches: selecting, from the interpreted data of the plurality of categories, interpreted data of a first category that meets a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is that a quantity of similar interpreted data in the interpreted data of the category is greater than a quantity threshold, interpretation results of any two pieces of similar interpreted data are the same, and indicator data of the two pieces of similar interpreted data falls within a same value range and/or image recognition data of the two pieces of similar interpreted data falls within a same value range (sorting patients by level of similarity or dissimilarity as described in Table 1; “The clinical meanings of different values of a certain lab test may not be different. For example, blood urea nitrogen of approximately 3.2–7.1 mmol/L is considered normal,” page 4).
The motivation to combine Jia is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Lyman further discloses: wherein the detection image comprises a signal wave image, and the performing image recognition on the detection image, to obtain image recognition data comprises: performing image recognition on the signal wave image, to obtain at least one piece of attribute information of a signal wave waveform in the signal wave image (“Once the waves are detected, corresponding interval measurements and heart rate measurements can be determined,” [0281]).
Regarding claim 7, Lyman does not expressly disclose but Jia further teaches: wherein the selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data comprises:
--obtaining target indicator data respectively corresponding to the at least two candidate interpretation results, wherein the target indicator data corresponding to any one candidate interpretation result is obtained based on indicator data in interpreted data corresponding to the candidate interpretation result (“The symptoms, lab tests and preliminary diagnoses are integrated into vectors representing the patient pairs,” page 3);
--separately determining similarities between the indicator data in the medical detection data and the target indicator data corresponding to the at least two candidate interpretation results (“Clinical features of patient pairs are compared in a pairwise manner, for example, weight vs weight, PLA2R vs PLA2R, vomit P/N vs vomit P/N,” page 3); and
--selecting a candidate interpretation result corresponding to a highest similarity, to obtain the interpretation result (“If two patients are relevantly similar, they ought to be diagnosed alike,” page 5; “the hypotheses with the highest level of confidence are considered the final diagnoses,” page 5). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Lyman further discloses: wherein before the interpreting, using a rule library, the indicator data and the image recognition data, to obtain an interpretation result, the method further comprises: determining, based on a quality control rule, that the indicator data and the image recognition data meet a preset quality control specification (“Prior to performing the selected medical scan inference function 1105, the medical scan diagnosing system 108 can automatically perform an input quality assurance function 1106 to ensure the scan classifier data 420 or other metadata of the medical scan accurately classifies the medical scan,” [0114).
Claims 9, 11, 12, and 16 are substantially similar to claims 1, 3, 4 and 8 and are rejected with the same reasoning. The Examiner further notes that Lyman discloses processors and memories storing instructions in [0285].
Claims 6, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyman in view of Jia, Zhang, and Guvenir (H. A. Guvenir, B. Acar, G. Demiroz and A. Cekin, "A supervised machine learning algorithm for arrhythmia analysis," Computers in Cardiology 1997, Lund, Sweden, 1997, pp. 433-436, doi: 10.1109/CIC.1997.647926.).
Regarding claim 6, Lyman does not expressly disclose but Guvenir teaches: wherein there are at least two pieces of indicator data (“Each record contains clinical measurements, from ECG signals and some other information such as sex, age, and weight,” Abstract); and the selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on the indicator data comprises:
--separately obtaining, based on value intervals of the at least two pieces of indicator data, candidate interpretation results corresponding to the corresponding value intervals, wherein the value intervals of the at least two pieces of indicator data are divided into a plurality of value intervals, and each value interval corresponds to at least one candidate interpretation result (“The VFI5 algorithm represents the concept with intervals separately on each feature, and makes a classification based on feature votes…For each interval, a value and the votes of each class in that interval are maintained. Thus, an interval may represent several classes by storing the vote for each class,” p. 434),
--selecting, from all candidate interpretation results obtained based on the at least two pieces of indicator data, a candidate interpretation result that appears most frequently, to obtain the interpretation result (“Classification in VFI5 is based on a majority voting among the class predictions (votes) made by each feature separately,” page 433).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the ECG interpretation of Lyman, Jia, and Zhang to include the feature interval voting of Guvenir because this would improve accuracy of arrhythmia diagnosis by combining a class prediction from each clinical measurement (“The comparison of the VFI5 algorithm indicates that it outperforms other standard algorithms such as Naive Bayesian and Nearest Neighbor classifiers,” page 433).
Additionally, each element is taught by Lyman, Jia, Zhang, or Guvenir. The feature interval voting of Guvenir does not affect the normal functioning of the elements taught by Lyman, Jia, and Zhang. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Jia, Zhang, and Guvenir with the teachings of Lyman since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 6 and is rejected with the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 15, the claim depends from claim 14 and is rejected over Lyman in view of Jia, Zhang, and Guvenir for the reasons given for claim 14. The additional limitations of claim 15 are substantially similar to claim 7 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant generally asserts that the claims, as amended, recited eligible subject matter because they incorporate subject matter that was not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the previous action (i.e., claims 17 and 18). Remarks page 7. This is not persuasive. While claims 17 and 18 were omitted from the rejection header, the action addressed their substance. Applicant’s argument made in reference to claim 18 that blood oxygen saturation and body temperature data are “sourced from medical sensors or physiological measurements,” and found the limitation to be insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, data-gathering (Final Rejection 03/26/2026, page 18). As discussed above in the rejection, these limitations merely specify the type of data under analysis which amounts to data-gathering.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues Jia teaches only binary hypothesis values rather than indicator data having a range of values. Remarks page 8. This argument is moot because the rejection no longer relies on Jia’s hypotheses as the indicator data. Instead, the rejection relies on Jia’s “[l]ab tests and vital signs with numerical results” (page 4).
Applicant further argues that Lyman in combination with Jia does not teach selecting the interpretation result from the at least two candidate interpretation results based on indicator data that includes a range of values. Remarks page 8. This is not persuasive because Jia selects the final diagnoses from its hypotheses using similarity computed from those lab test and vital sign values (“The feature vectors of each patient pair in the cohort are built by integrating three parts: symptom similarity, lab test similarity, and preliminary diagnosis similarity,” page 4; “the hypotheses with the highest level of confidence are considered the final diagnoses,” page 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zziwa (US20130253940A1) discloses: “at least one diagnosis rule trust factor is adjusted based on search user feedback regarding accuracy or perceived accuracy of diagnoses generated by applying the stored diagnosis rules, and storing the adjusted at least one diagnosis rule trust factor,” ([0052]). Kim (US20180114123A1) discloses “the rule generation apparatus 100 may update the training rule set by learning the second result data. Still alternatively, the rule generation apparatus 100 may determine the accuracy of the second result data using an analytic function and may then update the training rule set using result data obtained using the analytic function,” ([067]).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684