DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
lmor otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 21-32 and 34-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (US 11277164).
With respect to claim 21, Nakayama et al. (US 11277164) discloses an apparatus comprising: two or more radio-frequency components (10 and 30A) configured to provide two or more signals (signal on 131 according to the output of 121 and signal on 131 according to the output from 102/30b) at a fault handler circuitry (signals 131 is at fault handler circuitry (132, 131, 133, 134 , 123, 124)) for a load at a given point in time (load is indicated as anything downstream from 102). ; and the fault handler circuitry coupled to the two or more radio-frequency components, the fault handler circuitry (132, 131, 133, 134 , 123, 124) comprising: a parameter detection circuit (132) configured to detect at least one parameter (current) responsive to the two or more signals; a parameter comparison circuit (133) coupled to the parameter detection circuit and configured to perform at least one comparison (from 133) that includes the at least one parameter; and a signal selection circuit (123 and 124) coupled to the parameter comparison circuit and configured to select at least one signal of the two or more signals to output to the load at the given point in time (one signal is output to the load via producing the signal selected to output 102) based on the at least one comparison, the signal selection circuit comprising: two or more switches (123 and 124), configured to cause the at least on selected signal to be output from a respective radio frequency component (10 and 30A produce the signals to be selected) of the two or more radio-frequency components to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison (output is based on the comparison signal and output at 102) and prevent at least on other signal of the two or more signals from being output from at least other radio-frequency component (4 possible selection choices are selected each precluding the others from being selected as such) to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison (the output is produced based on the comparison).
With respect to claim 22, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the signal selection circuit (123 and 124) is configured to: control a state of at least one switch (123 or 124) of the two or more switches based on the at least one comparison (from 133).
With respect to claim 23, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 22, wherein: each respective switch (123 and 124) of the two or more switches is coupled in series with the respective radio-frequency component (10, 30A) of the two or more radio-frequency components.
With respect to claim 25, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein: each respective switch (123 and 124) of the two or more switches is coupled in series with the respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components effective to enable an input signal (from antenna 101) to propagate through a respective radio-frequency component through a corresponding respective switch (123 or 124); and each respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components is configured to produce each respective signal of the two or more signals using the input signal received from the respective switch of the two or more switches (123 and 124).
With respect to claim 26, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the at least one parameter comprises at least one current (through 131) corresponding to at least one signal of the two or more signals; and the parameter detection circuit (132) is configured to detect the at least one current (via 132).
With respect to claim 27, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the parameter detection circuit (132) is configured to: detect the at least one current using at least one voltage (“The signal detection circuit 132 outputs, to the comparator 133, a signal having a voltage corresponding to an electric power of a signal (a portion of a transmission signal) supplied through the directional coupler 131.”) that is derived from the at least one current.
With respect to claim 28, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein: the parameter detection circuit (132) comprises at least one component; and the parameter detection circuit is configured to direct the at least one current through the at least one component to produce the at least one voltage (output voltage at 133) that is derived from the at least one current, the at least one voltage being representative of the at least one current.
With respect to claim 29, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the at least one parameter (current corresponds to the output voltage of 132) corresponds to at least one voltage; the parameter comparison circuit comprises at least one comparator (133); and the at least one comparator is configured to compare the at least one voltage to at least one voltage level (from 144).
With respect to claim 30, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the at least one voltage level comprises at least one specified value (electric power of a signal supplied through the directional coupler 131).
With respect to claim 31, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the at least one specified value comprises at least one low voltage level and at least one high voltage level (The comparator 133 outputs a switch signal of an H level when a voltage supplied from the signal detection circuit 132 is equal to or higher than the predetermined threshold value (when a transmission signal is supplied from the body-side terminal 102), and outputs a switch signal of an L level when a voltage is lower than the threshold value (when a transmission signal is not supplied from the body-side terminal 102).).
With respect to claim 32, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein: the two or more radio-frequency components comprise a first radio-frequency component (10) and a second radio-frequency component (30a); the at least one voltage comprises a first voltage associated with the first radio- frequency component and a second voltage associated with the second radio-frequency component (voltages produced are associated with the frequency components ) ;the at least one voltage level corresponds to the second voltage; and the at least one comparator is configured to compare the first voltage to the second voltage.
With respect to claim 34, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein:the signal selection circuit (123 and 124) is configured to select at least one selected signal of the two or more signals using at least one switch of the two or more switches based on the at least one comparison (from 133); and the apparatus further comprises a load (141b) coupled to the two or more radio- frequency components, the load configured to receive the at least one selected signal of the two or more signals (131 ).
With respect to claim 35, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 34, wherein: the fault handler circuitry (132, 131, 133, 134 , 123, 124) is coupled between the two or more radio-frequency components (10 and 30A) and the load (141B); the fault handler circuitry is configured to receive the at least one selected signal (31) of the two or more signals from at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components; and the load is configured to receive the at least one selected signal (31) of the two or more signals from the at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio- frequency components via the fault handler circuitry.
With respect to claim 36, Nakayama et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the two or more radio-frequency components comprise: a first radio-frequency component (10); and a second radio-frequency component (30A) that is configured as a redundant instance of the first radio-frequency component; and the fault handler circuitry is configured to activate the second radio-frequency component (30A) by selecting the at least one signal of the two or more signals responsive to the at least one comparison (from 133) indicating a fault condition of the first radio-frequency component. (Note: it is unclear what is meant by a redundant instance of the first radio frequency component.)
With respect to claim 37, Nakayama et al. produces a method comprising: providing, by two or more radio-frequency components (10 and 30A) , two or more signals ("two or more signals" would be a first signal on 131 according to the output of 121 and second signal on 131 according to the output from 30B/102 to 112.) at a fault handler circuitry (signals 131 is at fault handler circuitry (132, 131, 133, 134 , 123, 124)) for a load at a given point in time; detecting at the fault handler circuitry, at least one parameter (current from 131 is detected via current detection unit 132) responsive to the two or more signals; performing at least one comparison (133) that includes the at least one parameter; generating at least one selection signal based on the at least one comparison; and selecting, using at least one switch of two or more switches (123 and 124), at least one signal of the two or more signals to output to the load (signal at 124 is filtered and output to 102) at the given point in time responsive to the at least one selection signal (the otuptu at 124 with the output at 123 produces the selected signals at the output of 124), each respective switch of the two or more switches configured to cause the at least one selected signal to be output from a respective radio-frequency component (10 and 30A, associated as it is the input signal) of the two or more radio-frequency components to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison (possible output are based on the comparison at 133) and prevent at least one other signal of the two or more signals from being output from at least one other radio-frequency component to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison (Here, because the selections at 123 and 124 produce signals at the output which are exclusive from other possible signals being produced at the output, the claim is met).
With respect to claim 38, Nakayama et al. produces the method of claim 37, wherein the performing comprises at least one of: comparing (via 133) at least one first parameter corresponding to a first signal of the two or more signals to at least one second parameter corresponding to a second signal of the two or more signals; or comparing the at least one parameter corresponding to at least one signal of the two or more signals to at least one specified value (value from LDO).
Claim(s) 21-31 and 33-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashihara (US 6766156).
With respect to claim 21, Hayashihara (US 6766156) discloses an apparatus comprising: two or more radio-frequency components (101, 102, 103 and 111) configured to provide two or more signals (received radio frequency signals and receiving intermediate frequency signals); at a fault handler circuitry for a load at a given point in time; and the fault handler circuitry (105, 106, 112, 115, 321) coupled to the two or more radio-frequency components, the fault handler circuitry comprising: a parameter detection circuit (112) configured to detect at least one parameter (level) responsive to the two or more signals; a parameter comparison circuit (319) coupled to the parameter detection circuit and configured to perform at least one comparison (comparison) that includes the at least one parameter (level to threshold value comparison); and a signal selection circuit (324) coupled to the parameter comparison circuit (319) and configured to select at least one signal of the two or more signals to output to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison, the signal selection circuit comprising: two or more switches (502 and 509), configured to cause the at least one selected signal to be output from a respective radio frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components to the load at the given point in time based on the eat least one comparison and prevent at least on other signal of the two or more signals from being output from at least other radio-frequency component to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison. (here, depending on the selected signal the detection circuit produces different output).
With respect to claim 22, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the signal selection circuit (324) is configured to: control a state (Low distortion or low current consumption) of at least one switch (502 and 509) of the two or more switches based on the at least one comparison (from 319).
With respect to claim 23, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 22, wherein: each respective switch (502 and 509) of the two or more switches is coupled in series with the respective radio-frequency component (101, 102 and 103) of the two or more radio-frequency components.
With respect to claim 24, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein: each radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components comprises at least one transistor (606).
With respect to claim 25, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein: each respective switch (502 and 509) of the two or more switches is coupled in series with the respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components effective to enable an input signal (from antenna 101) to propagate through a respective radio-frequency component (i.e. 103) and through a corresponding respective switch (606); and each respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components is configured to produce each respective signal of the two or more signals using the input signal received from the respective switch of the two or more switches (502 and 509).
With respect to claim 26, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the at least one parameter comprises at least one current (low current consumption signal) corresponding to at least one signal of the two or more signals; and the parameter detection circuit is configured to detect the at least one current (via detection of the baseband level which is indicative of the consumed current).
With respect to claim 27, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the parameter detection circuit is configured to: detect the at least one current using at least one voltage (voltage from level detector) that is derived from the at least one current.
With respect to claim 28, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein: the parameter detection circuit comprises at least one component; and the parameter detection circuit is configured to direct the at least one current (low current consumption signal) through the at least one component (101, 102 and 103) to produce the at least one voltage (voltage from level detector)that is derived from the at least one current, the at least one voltage being representative of the at least one current (via detection of the baseband level which is indicative of the consumed current).
With respect to claim 29, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the at least one parameter corresponds to at least one voltage (voltage from level detector); the parameter comparison circuit comprises at least one comparator (319); and the at least one comparator is configured to compare the at least one voltage (voltage from level detector) to at least one voltage level (voltage from 321).
With respect to claim 30, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the at least one voltage level comprises at least one specified value (voltage from level detector).
With respect to claim 31, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the at least one specified value comprises at least one low voltage level and at least one high voltage level. (Here, the level detector indicates two different voltage levels based on the receiving level of the downstream radio signal. “Therefore, even in a case where the receiving level of the downstream radio signal is low and, in accordance with this, the transmitting power level of the upstream radio signal is set to be high, the deterioration of the receiving sensitivity caused by the interference of both the transmitting wave and the disturbance wave is suppressed to be smaller since the low distortion LNA 500a is used in the receiving radio-frequency unit 103. On the other hand, in a case where the receiving level of the downstream radio signal is high and, in accordance with this, the transmitting power level of the upstream radio signal is set to be low, the low current consumption LNA 500b is used in the receiving radio-frequency unit 103 even during the period in which the upstream radio signal is burst-transmitted.” Col. 11, lines 35-62)
With respect to claim 33, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the two or more radio-frequency components (101, 102, 103, 111) comprise: a first radio-frequency component (500a received radio LNA); a second radio-frequency component (500b received radio LNA); and a third radio-frequency component (500a transmitted radio LNA); and the two or more switches comprise: a first switch (502) coupled to and associated with the first radio-frequency component (500a) ;a second switch (509) coupled to and associated with the second radio-frequency component; and a third switch (502 of transmitted radio component) coupled to and associated with the third radio-frequency component.
With respect to claim 34, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the signal selection circuit (324) is configured to select at least one selected signal of the two or more signals using at least one switch (502 or 509) of the two or more switches based on the at least one comparison (from comparator 319); and the apparatus further comprises a load coupled (107) to the two or more radio- frequency components, the load configured to receive the at least one selected signal of the two or more signals.
With respect to claim 35, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 34, wherein: the fault handler circuitry (105, 106, 112, 115, 321) is coupled between the two or more radio-frequency components (101, 102, 103 and 111) and the load (107); the fault handler circuitry is configured to receive the at least one selected signal of the two or more signals from at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components; and the load (107) is configured to receive the at least one selected signal of the two or more signals from the at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio- frequency components via the fault handler circuitry.
With respect to claim 36, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the two or more radio-frequency components comprise: a first radio-frequency component (500a); and a second radio-frequency component (500b) that is configured as a redundant instance of the first radio-frequency component (redundant in that they are both LNA components); and the fault handler circuitry (105, 106, 112, 115, 321) is configured to activate the second radio-frequency component by selecting the at least one signal (received radio frequency signal or receiving intermediate frequency signal)of the two or more signals responsive to the at least one comparison indicating a fault condition of the first radio-frequency component. (Note: it is unclear what is meant by a redundant instance of the first radio frequency component.)
With respect to claim 37, Hayashihara discloses a method comprising: providing, by two or more radio-frequency components (101, 102, 103 and 111), two or more signals at a fault handler circuitry for a load at a given point in time; detecting at the fault handler circuitry at least one parameter (associated voltage level) responsive to the two or more signals; performing at least one comparison (via 319) that includes the at least one parameter ;generating at least one selection signal (from 319) based on the at least one comparison; and selecting (via 324 and 502 and 509) , using at least one switch of two or more switches, at least one signal of the two or more signals to output to the load at the given point in time responsive to the at least one selection signal, each respective switch of the two or more switches configured to cause the at least one selected signal to be output from a respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison and prevent at least one other signal of the two or more signals from being output from at least one other radio-frequency component to the load at the given point in time based on the at least one comparison. (Here, depending on the detected level different outputs are produced).
With respect to claim 38, Hayashihara discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the performing comprises at least one of: comparing (via 319) at least one first parameter corresponding to a first signal of the two or more signals to at least one second parameter corresponding to a second signal of the two or more signals; or comparing the at least one parameter (value from level detector) corresponding to at least one signal of the two or more signals to at least one specified value (threshold value generating circuit value) .
With respect to claim 39, Hayashihara discloses an apparatus comprising: two or more radio-frequency components (101, 102, 103 and 111) configured to provide two or more signals (received radio frequency signal and receiving intermediate frequency signal);; wherein at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components is a replica of at least one other radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components, wherein the replica is configured to generate an output signal that mirrors an output signal generated by the other radio-frequency component; two or more switches (502 and 509), each respective switch of the two or more switches coupled in series with a respective radio-frequency component (500a and 500b) of the two or more radio-frequency components; a parameter detection circuit (112) coupled to at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components, the parameter detection circuit configured to detect, responsive to the two or more signals, at least one voltage (voltage level from 106) that corresponds to at least one signal of the two or more signals; and at least one comparator (319) coupled to the parameter detection circuit and configured to: perform at least one comparison that includes the at least one voltage; generate at least one selection signal (output from comparator) based on the at least one comparison to indicate a fault condition of at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components; and provide the at least one selection signal (CS) to at least one switch of the two or more switches to control at least one state of the at least one switch of the two or more switches. (Here, equivalent resistors can be considered replica components).
With respect to claim 40, Hayashihara discloses the apparatus of claim 39, wherein: the at least one comparator (319) and the two or more switches (502 and 509) are configured to at least ameliorate the fault condition (based on compensation table) of the at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components by at least one of maintaining or changing the at least one state of the at least one switch of the two or more switches using the at least one selection signal (CS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US 11277164).
With respect to claim 39, Nakayama et al. produces an apparatus comprising: two or more radio-frequency components (10 and 30A) configured to provide two or more signals (31); wherein the replica is configured to generate an output signal that mirrors an output signal generated by the other radio-frequency component. two or more switches (123 and 124), each respective switch of the two or more switches coupled in series with a respective radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components; a parameter detection circuit (132) coupled to at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components, the parameter detection circuit configured to detect, responsive to the two or more signals, at least one voltage that corresponds to at least one signal of the two or more signals; and at least one comparator (133) coupled to the parameter detection circuit and configured to: perform at least one comparison that includes the at least one voltage; generate at least one selection signal (output voltage) based on the at least one comparison to indicate a fault condition of at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components; and provide the at least one selection signal to at least one switch of the two or more switches to control at least one state of the at least one switch of the two or more switches (123 and 124) but fails to disclose wherein at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components is a replica of at least one other radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components,
It is well known in the art to use smaller equivalent resistors to produce a larger resistor value. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use two smaller equivalent resistors to replace the resistor at 30A. Doing so would produce two radio frequency components of equivalent value (one being the replica of the other) that would mirror the output generated by the other.
With respect to claim 40, Nakayama et al. produces the apparatus of claim 39, wherein: the at least one comparator (133) and the two or more switches (123 and 124) are configured to at least ameliorate the fault condition of the at least one radio-frequency component of the two or more radio-frequency components by at least one of maintaining or changing the at least one state of the at least one switch of the two or more switches using the at least one selection signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments. Nakayama fails to describe “two or more radio frequency components configured to provide two or more signals at a fault handler circuit for a load at a given point in time, the Examiner disagrees. The signals received at the fault handler (i.e. current) are produced based on what is provided from the RF components. Applicant argues only one radio frequency component produces a signal that reaches the detection and comparison circuitry, however Examiner points out the power noise amplifier being turned on and the low-noise amplifier being turned off and the low noise amplifier being turned on and the power amplifier being turned off are two different signals. The lack of rf signal still produces a signal at the fault handler based on the rF signal.
With respect to applicant’s argument concerning the production of a signal at the load at a given point in time, the Examiner argues “at a given point in time” is broader than during the operation of the circuit as at a given point in time includes during the operation of the circuit.
With respect to applicant’s argument, concerning the fault handler circuitry, the Examiner points out that fault handler circuitry does not need to detect a fault only capable of detecting a fault. If no fault occurs, fault handler circuitry can still be detection circuitry.
With respect to claims 39, two resistors with the 10 in parallel fashion of equivalent value would produce the same identical output signals.
With respect to Hayashihara, applicant argues the cited art does not produce replicas of another, the Examiner disagrees. Within the LNA, devices are shown that are equivalent to one another. If as applicant argues the replica rF is defined on the basis of equivalent output signals the circuit is redundant and a similar circuit producing the same output would be obvious as it would be mere duplication of parts. As such, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836