DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claim’s amendment dated 3/2/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/2/2026 regarding claims 1, 7 and 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s argument mainly relies on the added language “…inside of a side wall of a power supply bay housing of the power supply bay”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant, since the newly added language does not seem to further structurally distinguish from the teaching of Strickland et al. See below annotated figure 1 and rejection of claim 1.
The previous drawing/claim objection and the 112th rejection of claim 13 are hereby withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par[0046]-[0049], there is no corresponding numeral label for “the first power supply bay spacer”. Numerals 712 and 714 are both designated to be “alignment component”. Perhaps 714 should be “the first power supply bay spacer”?
Disclosure does not mention reference numeral “1230” shown in figure 12B.
There are numerous elements mentioned in the specification without corresponding reference numerals.
Appropriate correction is required.
Note: the claimed “a power supply bay system configuration component” in claim 1 is formed by “a power supply bay spacer” and “alignment component” recited in claim 2, which refers to as one single component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strickland et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0350935 (hereinafter D1).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches an apparatus for configurating a power supply bay (111a-k; figure 1; see par[0040]), the apparatus comprising:
a power supply bay system configuration component (110-1 to 110-8; figure 1), the power supply bay configuration component being configured to be mounted to inside of a side wall (see above annotated figure 1) of a power supply bay housing (see above annotated figure 1) of the power supply bay (111a-k; figure 1; (see par[0040], “PSUs …..of different form factors”), the power supply configuration component (110-1 to 110-8; figure 1) configuring the power supply bay to mount a plurality of types of power supply units (see par[0040], “PSUs …..of different form factors”) within the power supply bay, each of the plurality of types of power supply units having respective external characteristics (different form factors => different sizes as external characteristics).
Regarding claim 7, D1 teaches a configurable power supply bay system comprising:
a power supply bay (111a-k; figure 1; see par[0040]); and,
a power supply bay system configuration component (110-1 to 110-8; figure 1), the power supply bay configuration component being configured to be mounted to inside of a sidewall (see above annotated figure 1) of a power supply bay housing (see above annotated figure 1) of the power supply bay, the power supply configuration component configuring the power supply bay to mount a plurality of types of power supply units (see par[0040], “PSUs …..of different form factors”) within the power supply bay, each of the plurality of types of power supply units having respective external characteristics (different form factors => different sizes as external characteristics).
Regarding claim 13, D1 teaches a system comprising:
a processor (see par[0018]; “CPU”);
a data bus (implicitly taught) coupled to the processor;
a power supply (see par[0040], “PSUs”); and,
a configurable power supply bay system, the configurable power supply bay system (100; figure 1) comprising:
a power supply bay (111a-k; figure 1; see par[0040]); and,
a power supply bay system configuration component (110-1 to 110-8; figure 1), the power supply bay configuration component being configured to be mounted to an inside of a side wall (see above annotated figure 1) of a power supply bay housing (see above annotated figure 1) of the power supply bay (see figure 1), the power supply configuration component configuring the power supply bay to mount a plurality of types of power supply units (see par[0040], “PSUs …..of different form factors”) within the power supply bay, each of the plurality of types of power supply units having respective external characteristics (different form factors => different sizes as external characteristics).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Norton et al. U.S. Patent 11,556,156 (hereinafter D2).
Note: the claimed “a power supply bay system configuration component” in claim 1 is formed by “a power supply bay spacer” and “alignment component” recited in claim 2, which refers to as one single component.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, D1 does not teach the power supply bay system configuration component is configured as a power supply bay spacer and alignment component, the power supply bay spacer and alignment component being configured to be mounted to the inside of the side wall of a power supply bay hosing of the power supply bay.
D2, teaches a similar bay system (200; figure 3B), wherein the configuration component (300; figure 3B) comprises a bay spacer and alignment component (left 300; figure 3B), the bay spacer and alignment component (left 300) being configured to be mounted to a side wall (left 204; figure 3B) of the bay (200; figure 3B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the power supply bay system of D1, such that the configuration component of D1 would be equipped with a power supply bay spacer and alignment component, as suggested by D2, such that the bay spacer and alignment component would be configured to be mounted to a side wall of the bay, for accommodating a power supply unit having a form-factor of choice.
Regarding claim 8, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 8 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 14 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above, D1/D2 teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
D2, teaches a similar bay structure, further suggests another bay spacer and alignment component (left 300; figure 3B), the another power supply bay spacer and alignment component (left 300) being configured to be mounted to another side wall (204; figure 3B) of the bay, the another side wall (left 204) of the bay being positioned opposite (see figure 3B of D2) to the side wall of the bay.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the power supply bay system configuration component of D1/D2 such that it would further comprise another power supply bay spacer and alignment component, as suggested by D2, the another power supply bay spacer and alignment component being configured to be mounted to another side wall (right side of right wall) of the power supply bay, the another side wall of the power supply bay being positioned opposite (see figure 3B of D2) to the side wall of the power supply bay, to accommodate a power supply unit having a form-factor of choice.
Regarding claim 9, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 9 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 15 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the power supply bay spacer and alignment component has a corresponding power supply bay spacer and alignment component width (see left 300; figure 3B of D2); the another power supply bay spacer and alignment component has a corresponding another power supply bay spacer and alignment component width (see right 300; figure 3B of D2); and
the corresponding power supply bay spacer and alignment component width and the corresponding another power supply bay spacer and alignment component width have different dimensions (see figure 3B of D3; left 300 and right 300 do have different dimensions).
Regarding claim 10, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 10 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 16 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the power supply bay system configuration component comprises a bay guard bracket component (302; figure 3B of D2), the bay guard bracket component preventing (for ex: a bigger size module would not fit into the slot sized by right and left 302) mounting of an incorrect power supply type.
Regarding claim 11, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 11 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, D1/D2 teaches the system of claim 17 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the apparatus of claim 5, wherein: the bay guard bracket is configured to be attached to a rear (see figure 3B of D2). of the power supply bay.
Regarding claim 12, D1/D2 teaches the drive mounting system of claim 12 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, D1/D2 teaches the system of claim 18 for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841