DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Samkov et al. (US PUB 2020/0213434), hereinafter Samkov.
With respect to claim 1, Samkov discloses a method of managing reconfiguration of user-reconfigurable metal detectors (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov), comprising: generating a set of available features associated with a user-reconfigurable metal detector based on a set of capabilities associated with hardware components of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov); selecting a first set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a first product profile (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov) configured to enable a first classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov); selecting a second set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a second product profile configured to enable a second classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector different from the first classification of metal detecting operations (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov); configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile (See paragraphs [0041] and [0045] of Samkov); receiving a request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0032] in view of paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), wherein the request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector includes a request to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), and reconfiguring the user-reconfigurable metal detector to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 2, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second set of features included in the second product profile is different from the first set of features included in the first product profile in one or more of: the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a higher level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a lower level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are not included in the first set of features; the second set of features excludes one or more features that are included in the first set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are enabled in the second set of features and disabled in the first set of features; and the second set of features includes one or more features that are disabled in the second set of features and enabled in the first set of features (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 3, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second product profile, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 4, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (See paragraph [0020] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 5, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising presenting a graphical user interface on a user terminal to facilitate the selection of the first set of features or the selection of the second set of features by a user (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 6, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile includes transmitting configuration data from a backend system to the user-reconfigurable metal detector via a local installer (See paragraphs [0038] and [0039] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 7, Samkov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein reconfiguring the user-reconfigurable metal detector includes managing, by a local installer, a transfer and installation of the second product profile on the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0042] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 8, Samkov discloses a system configured for managing reconfiguration of user-reconfigurable metal detectors (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov), comprising: at least one processor (See paragraphs [0023] and [0043] of Samkov); and a memory operably coupled to the at least one processor (See paragraphs [0023] and [0043] of Samkov) and storing processor-readable code that (See paragraphs [0042] and [0043] of Samkov), when executed by the at least one processor (See paragraph [0043] of Samkov), is configured to perform operations including: generating a set of available features associated with a user-reconfigurable metal detector based on a set of capabilities associated with hardware components of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraphs [0043] and [0044] of Samkov); selecting a first set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a first product profile (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov) configured to enable a first classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov); selecting a second set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a second product profile configured to enable a second classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector different from the first classification of metal detecting operations (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov); configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile (See paragraphs [0041] and [0045] of Samkov); receiving a request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0032] in view of paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), wherein the request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector includes a request to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), and reconfiguring the user-reconfigurable metal detector to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 9, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the second set of features included in the second product profile is different from the first set of features included in the first product profile in one or more of: the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a higher level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a lower level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are not included in the first set of features; the second set of features excludes one or more features that are included in the first set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are enabled in the second set of features and disabled in the first set of features; and the second set of features includes one or more features that are disabled in the second set of features and enabled in the first set of features (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 10, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second product profile, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 11, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (See paragraph [0020] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 12, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, further comprising presenting a graphical user interface on a user terminal to facilitate the selection of the first set of features or the selection of the second set of features by a user (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 13, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, wherein configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile includes transmitting configuration data from a backend system to the user-reconfigurable metal detector via a local installer (See paragraphs [0038] and [0039] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 14, Samkov discloses the system of claim 8, wherein reconfiguring the user-reconfigurable metal detector includes managing, by a local installer, a transfer and installation of the second product profile on the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0042] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 15, Samkov discloses a computer-based tool for managing reconfiguration of user-reconfigurable metal detectors (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov), the computer-based tool including non-transitory computer readable media (See paragraphs [0023] and [0043] of Samkov) having stored thereon computer code (See paragraphs [0042] and [0043] of Samkov) which, when executed by a processor (See paragraphs [0023] and [0043] of Samkov), causes a computing device to perform operations (See paragraph [0044] of Samkov) comprising: generating a set of available features associated with a user-reconfigurable metal detector based on a set of capabilities associated with hardware components of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraphs [0043] and [0044] of Samkov); selecting a first set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a first product profile (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov) configured to enable a first classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0016] of Samkov); selecting a second set of features from the set of available features associated with the user-reconfigurable metal detector to include in a second product profile configured to enable a second classification of metal detecting operations of the user-reconfigurable metal detector different from the first classification of metal detecting operations (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov); configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile (See paragraphs [0041] and [0045] of Samkov); receiving a request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See paragraph [0032] in view of paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), wherein the request to reconfigure the user-reconfigurable metal detector includes a request to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov), and reconfiguring the user-reconfigurable metal detector to replace the first product profile with the second product profile (See paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 16, Samkov discloses the computer-based tool of claim 15, wherein the second set of features included in the second product profile is different from the first set of features included in the first product profile in one or more of: the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a higher level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features of the first set of features configured to a lower level of performance in the second set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are not included in the first set of features; the second set of features excludes one or more features that are included in the first set of features; the second set of features includes one or more features that are enabled in the second set of features and disabled in the first set of features; and the second set of features includes one or more features that are disabled in the second set of features and enabled in the first set of features (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 17, Samkov discloses the computer-based tool of claim 15, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the user-reconfigurable metal detector (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second product profile, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 18, Samkov discloses the computer-based tool of claim 15, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application (See the “metal discrimination parameters” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application (See the “sensitivity” disclosed in paragraph [0038] of Samkov), the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (See paragraph [0020] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 19, Samkov discloses the computer-based tool of claim 15, further comprising presenting a graphical user interface on a user terminal to facilitate the selection of the first set of features or the selection of the second set of features by a user (See paragraph [0038] of Samkov).
With respect to claim 20, Samkov discloses the computer-based tool of claim 15, wherein configuring the user-reconfigurable metal detector with the first product profile includes transmitting configuration data from a backend system to the user-reconfigurable metal detector via a local installer (See paragraphs [0038] and [0039] of Samkov).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PUB 2019/0064384 discloses a signal processing technique for metal detector.
US PAT 10,809,411 discloses metal detection devices.
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/28/2026