CTNF 18/745,816 CTNF 83242 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 11, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gan et al. (US 20230292215, Gan hereinafter) . As to claim 1: Gan discloses a communications device comprising: a controller configured to generate a beacon frame based on Multiple Basic Service Set Identifier (MBSSID) support information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ); and a wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit the beacon frame to a second communications device ( see at least paragraph [0246] and Fig. 10, the first AP sends the management frame in step S102. ). As to claim 2: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 1. Gan further discloses wherein the beacon frame does not carry at least some access point (AP)'s capability and BSS operation information ( see at least paragraphs[0042], [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP. ). As to claim 3: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 1. Gan further discloses wherein the communications device comprises a wireless access point (AP) of a first wireless multi-link device (MLD), and wherein the second communications device comprises a wireless non-AP station (STA) of a second wireless MLD ( see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0033], the first AP is an AP in a first access point multi-link device (AP MLD) and the STA that receives the management frame may be a STA in a non-AP MLD .). As to claim 4: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 3. Gan further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate the beacon frame based on the MBSSID support information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ) and non-Ultra High Reliability (UHR) Station (STA) association allowance information ( see at least paragraphs [0141] and [0193], the AP MLD is an apparatus that serves the STA MLD, and may support the 802.11 series protocols . In addition, FIG. 5 to FIG. 8, refer to frame format according to the 802.11-2020 standard protocol ). As to claim 11: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 4. Gan further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate the beacon frame that comprises BSS management information without UHR information and at least one BSS operating parameter, and UHR support indication information when MBSSID is not supported by the wireless AP, and wherein the BSS management information does not comprise UHR capability information and UHR BSS operating information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ). As to claim 14: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 4. Gan further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate the beacon frame that comprises BSS management information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ) and UHR support indication information when MBSSID is supported by a wireless transmitted BSSID AP of a multiple BSSID set and at least one AP of the multiple BSSID set allows non-UHR STA's association ( see at least paragraphs [0141] and [0193], the AP MLD is an apparatus that serves the STA MLD, and may support the 802.11 series protocols . In addition, FIG. 5 to FIG. 8, refer to frame format according to the 802.11-2020 standard protocol ), and wherein the BSS management information does not comprise UHR capability information and UHR BSS operating information ( see at least paragraphs[0042], [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP. ). As to claim 19: Gan discloses a wireless access point (AP) compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol ( see at least paragraph [0141] The AP MLD is an apparatus that serves the STA MLD, and may support the 802.11 series protocols .), the wireless AP comprising: a controller configured to generate a beacon frame based on Multiple Basic Service Set Identifier (MBSSID) support information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ) and non-Ultra High Reliability (UHR) Station (STA) association allowance information ( see at least paragraphs [0141] and [0193], the AP MLD is an apparatus that serves the STA MLD, and may support the 802.11 series protocols . In addition, FIG. 5 to FIG. 8, refer to frame format according to the 802.11-2020 standard protocol ); and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the beacon frame to a second communications device ( see at least paragraph [0246] and Fig. 10, the first AP sends the management frame in step S102. ). As to claim 20: Gan discloses a method for wireless communications, the method comprising: at a first communications device, generating a beacon frame based on Multiple Basic Service Set Identifier (MBSSID) support information ( see at least paragraphs [0244], [0425] and Fig. 10, the first AP generates the management frame in step S101, where the management frame includes a specific element of the first access point AP, the first AP is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID in a multiple BSSID set, and a value of a specific element of an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set is the same as a value of the specific element of the first AP. ); and from the first communications device, wirelessly transmitting the beacon frame to a second communications device ( see at least paragraph [0246] and Fig. 10, the first AP sends the management frame in step S102. ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 20230292215, Gan hereinafter) in view of Patil et al. (US 20230053972, Patil hereinafter) . As to claim 5: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 4. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to generate the beacon frame that comprises capability and BSS operation information other than UHR capability information and at least one UHR BSS operating parameter, and an indication whether the communications device supports UHR. However Patil discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate the beacon frame that comprises capability and BSS operation information other than UHR capability information and at least one UHR BSS operating parameter, and an indication whether the communications device supports UHR ( see at least paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Capability Information field carrying a Critical Update Flag (CUF), the CUF set to a value of 1 based on the unavailability of the non-primary link .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement capabilities information, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]). As to claim 6: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 4. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to generate an indication whether a critical change of a plurality of UHR BSS operating parameters occurs and a BSS change count related to the critical change of the UHR BSS operating parameters. However Patil discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate an indication whether a critical change of a plurality of UHR BSS operating parameters occurs and a BSS change count related to the critical change of the UHR BSS operating parameters ( see at least paragraphs [0095], [0118], [0174] and Fig. 12C, the BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223 carries an unsigned integer, initialized to 0, that increments when a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the AP that transmits the Basic variant ML Element .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement BSS Parameters Change Count, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]). As to claim 7: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 6. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to carry the critical change in a plurality of beacon frames that comprise at least one delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) beacon frame. However Patil discloses wherein the controller is further configured to carry the critical change in a plurality of beacon frames that comprise at least one delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) beacon frame ( see at least paragraphs [0177]-[0178], DTIM .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DTIM, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]). As to claim 15: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 14. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to generate an indication whether a critical change of a plurality of UHR BSS operating parameters occurs and a BSS change count related to the critical change of the UHR BSS operating parameters, and wherein a plurality of beacon frames that comprise at least one delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) beacon frame. However Patil discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate an indication whether a critical change of a plurality of UHR BSS operating parameters occurs and a BSS change count related to the critical change of the UHR BSS operating parameters, and wherein a plurality of beacon frames that comprise at least one delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) beacon frame ( see at least paragraphs [0177]-[0178], DTIM .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DTIM, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]). As to claim 16: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 1. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the beacon frame comprises a BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) of a wireless access point (AP), and wherein when a multi-link device (MLD) associated with the wireless AP has a new critical update, the BPCC is increased and an increased BPCC is carried in each link of the MLD. However Patil discloses wherein the beacon frame comprises a BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) of a wireless access point (AP), and wherein when a multi-link device (MLD) associated with the wireless AP has a new critical update, the BPCC is increased and an increased BPCC is carried in each link of the MLD ( see at least paragraphs [0095], [0118], [0174] and Fig. 12C, the BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223 carries an unsigned integer, initialized to 0, that increments when a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the AP that transmits the Basic variant ML Element. ). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement BSS Parameters Change Count, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 20230292215, Gan hereinafter) in view of Guo et al. (US 20230148056, Guo hereinafter) . As to claim 17: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 1. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to generate a beacon extension frame based on the MBSSID support information, wherein the beacon extension frame comprises multi-link traffic indication information that is not carried in the beacon frame, and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the beacon extension frame to the second communications device after the beacon frame is transmitted. However Guo discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a beacon extension frame based on the MBSSID support information, wherein the beacon extension frame comprises multi-link traffic indication information that is not carried in the beacon frame, and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the beacon extension frame to the second communications device after the beacon frame is transmitted ( see at least paragraphs [0016], [0038], a processor, configured to generate a probe response frame (interpreted as beacon extension frame), where the probe response frame carries the communication parameter that is of the AP MLD by using a multiple BSSID element multiple BSSID element and that is related to the second AP; and a transceiver, configured to send the probe response frame to the station .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Probe response frame, as taught by Guo, into the invention of Gan in order to improve transmission efficiency (see Guo, paragraph [0078]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 20230292215, Gan hereinafter) in view of Guo et al. (US 20230148056, Guo hereinafter) and further in view of Patil et al. (US 20230053972, Patil hereinafter) . As to claim 18: Gan discloses the communications device of claim 17. Gan does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the beacon extension frame to the second communications device in a non-High Throughout (HT) PPDU when the beacon frame comprises a DTIM beacon frame. However Guo discloses wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the beacon extension frame to the second communications device in a non-High Throughout (HT) PPDU when the beacon frame comprises a DTIM beacon frame ( see at least paragraphs [0016], [0038], [0074], a transceiver, configured to send the probe response frame to the station using . Where the communication device supports communication performed by using IEEE 802.11 series protocols, and the IEEE 802.11 series protocols includes: 802.11be, 802.11ax, or 802.11a/b/g/n/ac .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Probe response frame, as taught by Guo, into the invention of Gan in order to improve transmission efficiency (see Guo, paragraph [0078]). Gan and Guo do not explicitly disclose beacon frame comprises a DTIM beacon frame. However Patil discloses beacon frame comprises a DTIM beacon frame ( see at least paragraphs [0177]-[0178], DTIM .). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DTIM, as taught by Patil, into the invention of Gan and Guo in order to enhance multi-link capabilities (see Patil, paragraph [0174]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8-10 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gidvani et al. (US 20190268892) discloses CO-LOCATED BASIC SERVICE SETS. Cariou et al. (US 20210120599) discloses Apparatus, System And Method Of Communicating A Multi-Link Element. CHU et al. (US 20200196221) discloses Multiple Basic Service Set Support. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KABIR U JAHANGIR whose telephone number is (571)272-0796. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 10am to 6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached at (571)272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K. J./ Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 14 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 15 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/745,816 Page 16 Art Unit: 2464