DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 10/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the crop" in the last line and claim 20 recites the limitation “the crop” in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 13-18 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US patent Application Number 2012/0037094 by Kosanke.
Regarding claim 1¸ Kosanke discloses a poultry walking harness, comprising:
A body portion (catching pouch 112);
Neck straps connected to the body portion and each extending in a forward direction (straps 108a and 108b);
A leash connector (harness securing portion 106) connected to the straps to form, along with the neck straps and the body portion, a neck opening shaped to surround a neck of poultry (Since 116 in Figure 1 is the rear facing portion and 104a, 104b couple at the rear-facing portion, straps 108a and 108b connect to the front portion and form a neck opening);
Forward securing straps connected to at least one of the neck straps and the leash connector, and extending in the forward direction (left and right portions of upper body portion 102); and
Rear securing straps connected to the body portion and extending in a rearward direction (portion of receiver portion 110 having couples 104b), the forward and rear securing straps having removably securable connectors configured to connect to one another and, thereby, secure the body portion to a body of the poultry (two-part couple 104a, 104b).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses opposing front and rear edges that, together, define a body portion width; and opposing left and right side edges that, together, define a body portion length (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the body portion being one of rectangular shaped, rounded rectangular shaped, V-shaped, and ovular. Figure 1 shows the body portion being V-shaped.
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses
The body portion having a front edge (see front edge of 114 in Figure 1); and
The neck straps:
Are connected to the front edge (see Figure 1);
Comprise neck strap terminations connected to the leash connector (see connections between 108a/b and 106);
Extend from the front edge of the body portion to the neck strap terminations (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the body portion having a rear edge (see top edge of 116 in Figure 1 by where reference numbers 112, 122 are pointing), and the rear securing straps are connected to the rear edge (the upward extending strap portions holding connectors 104b and connected to the rear edge).
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the neck straps are one of integral with the body portion and removably secured to the body portion, the leash connector is one of integral with the neck straps and removably secured to the neck straps, the forward securing straps are one of integral with the leash connector and removably secured to the leash connector, and the rear securing straps are one of integral with the body portion and removably secured to the body portion. Since Figure 1 shows the neck straps 108a/b connected to the body portion114, the leash connector 106 is connected to the neck straps 108a/b, the forward securing straps 102 are connected to the leash connector 106, and the rear securing straps (on which 104b are mounted) are connected with the body portion 116, the connection must be one of either integral (i.e. not removable) or removably secured.
Regarding claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the forward securing straps are connected to the leash connector one of side-by-side and spaced apart from each other. Figure 1 shows straps 108a and 108b being spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the forward securing straps are connected to the neck straps (via harness securing portion 106).
Regarding claim 15 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the rear securing straps are connected to the body portion one of side-by-side and spaced apart from one another. Figure 1 shows the strap portions where couples 104b are mounted are spaced apart from one another.
Regarding claim 16 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the body portion has a length defining a length axis, the neck straps are at respective angles to the length axis, and the rear securing straps are at respective angles to the length axis (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the leash connector comprises a loop shaped and configured to be removably connected to a clasp of a pet leash.
Regarding claim 18 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the body portion, neck straps, the forward and rear securing straps, and the leash connector are comprised of a material selected form at least one of denim, cotton, nylon (see paragraph 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 9-12 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US patent Application Number 2012/0037094 by Kosanke.
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke discloses the body portion has a length and a width (see Figure 1).
Kosanke does not explicitly disclose the body portion being longer in the length than in the width. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the catching pouch of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient to adequately fit the body of the bird. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Kosanke does not disclose the width W is between one of: approximately 3 cm (1.18”) and approximately 31 cm (12.2”); approximately 3 cm (1.18”) and approximately 20 cm (7.87”); approximately 5 cm (1.97”) and approximately 15 cm (5.9”); and approximately 5 cm (1.97”) and approximately 10 cm (3.94”); and the length L is between one of: approximately 5 cm (1.97”) and approximately 61 cm (24”); approximately 5 cm (1.97”) and approximately 31 cm (12.2”); approximately 7 cm (2.76”) and approximately 20 cm (7.87”); and approximately 7 cm (2.76”) and approximately 15 cm (5.9”). However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the length and the width of whatever size is necessary to fit on different types of birds, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 9 (dependent on claim 1), 10 (dependent on claim 1), 11 (dependent on claim 1), 12 (dependent on claim 1), Kosanke does not disclose the neckstraps are removably secured to the body portion, the leash connector is removably secured to the neck straps, the forward securing straps are removably secured to the leash connector, or the rear securing straps are movably secured to the body portion, respectively, with removably securing fasteners including at least one of hook-and-loop fasteners, snap fasteners, buttons, zip fasteners, hook and eye fasteners, magnetic fasteners, zippers, string ties, mushroom re-closable fasteners, removable adhesive tapes, and mixtures thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make different portions of the harness separable in order to allow different ways to secure the harness to the bird or to make the harness more adjustable, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Furthermore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use well-known types of removable fasteners such as one of hook-and-loop fasteners, snap fasteners, buttons, zip fasteners, hook and eye fasteners, magnetic fasteners, zippers, string ties, mushroom re-closable fasteners, removable adhesive tapes, and mixtures thereof to form a removable connection as needed.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over US patent Application Number 2012/0037094 by Kosanke in view of US Patent Application Number 2013/0125836 by Kosanke (hereafter referred to as Kosanke ‘836).
Regarding claim 19¸ Kosanke discloses a poultry walking harness, comprising:
A body portion (catching pouch 112) having a front defining a forward direction (front facing portion 114) and a rear defining a rearward direction opposite the forward direction (rear facing portion 116);
Neck straps connected to the body portion and each extending from the front in the forward direction (straps 108a and 108b);
A leash connector (harness securing portion 106) connected to the straps to form, along with the neck straps and the body portion, a neck opening shaped to surround a neck of poultry (Since 116 in Figure 1 is the rear facing portion and 104a, 104b couple at the rear-facing portion, straps 108a and 108b connect to the front portion and form a neck opening);
The body portion secured over at least a portion of the crop (the abstract discloses “a body portion shaped to cover a crop of poultry”).
Kosanke does not disclose at least one securing loop connected to the body portion, and securing straps each having a tail portion and an intermediate portion, each connected to at least one of the neck straps and the leash connector, each extending from the leash connector, and each having a length sufficient to pass through the at least one securing loop, each of the tail portions thereof configured to removably connected to the respective intermediate portion. However, this limitation is taught by Kosanke ‘836. Kosanke ‘836 discloses a poultry harness with straps 428, and paragraph 45 discloses “each lower strap portion 428 is pulled around the bird’s body, underneath its wings in a first direction toward the upper strap portion 427 of the opposite strap 420, 422 (i.e., in a cross-wise or diagonal direction, toward the front of the bird). The first sub-part 434a of each second couple part 432 is passed through the aperture in the first couple part 430 of the opposing strap 420, 422 and pulled backward in a second direction opposite from the first direction (i.e., in a cross-wise or diagonal direction, away from the front of the bird) to attach the first sub-part 434a to the second sub-part 434b of the same second couple part 432”. 430 therefore comprises the securing loops connected to the body portion and 434a and 434b comprise a tail portion and an intermediate portion that are removably connected to each other to secure the body portion to a body of the poultry. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kosanke using the teachings from Kosanke ‘836 to use a different type of strap attachment that allows for better length adjustment.
Kosanke ‘836 does not disclose the securing loop being a rear securing loop connected to the rear of the body portion and extending from the rear in the rearward direction and the securing straps being forward securing straps. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the locations of the straps and the loops (or to turn the harness as shown in Figure 4 upside down) in order to attach the harness in different orientations, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 20¸ Kosanke discloses a poultry walking harness, comprising:
A body portion (catching pouch 112) having a front defining a forward direction (front facing portion 114) and a rear defining a rearward direction opposite the forward direction (rear facing portion 116);
Neck straps connected to the front of the body portion and each extending in the forward direction (straps 108a and 108b);
A leash connector (harness securing portion 106) connected to the straps to form, along with the neck straps and the body portion, a neck opening shaped to surround a neck of poultry (Since 116 in Figure 1 is the rear facing portion and 104a, 104b couple at the rear-facing portion, straps 108a and 108b connect to the front portion and form a neck opening);
The body portion secured over at least a portion of the crop (the abstract discloses “a body portion shaped to cover a crop of poultry”).
Kosanke does not disclose at least one forward securing loop connected to the front of the body portion, and rear securing straps each having a tail portion and an intermediate portion, each connected to the rear of the body portion and extending in the rearward direction from the body portion, and each having a length sufficient to pass through the at least one forward securing loop, each of the tail portions configured to removably connected to the respective intermediate portion. However, this limitation is taught by Kosanke ‘836. Kosanke ‘836 discloses a poultry harness with straps 428, and paragraph 45 discloses “each lower strap portion 428 is pulled around the bird’s body, underneath its wings in a first direction toward the upper strap portion 427 of the opposite strap 420, 422 (i.e., in a cross-wise or diagonal direction, toward the front of the bird). The first sub-part 434a of each second couple part 432 is passed through the aperture in the first couple part 430 of the opposing strap 420, 422 and pulled backward in a second direction opposite from the first direction (i.e., in a cross-wise or diagonal direction, away from the front of the bird) to attach the first sub-part 434a to the second sub-part 434b of the same second couple part 432”. 430 therefore comprises the securing loops connected to the body portion and 434a and 434b comprise a tail portion and an intermediate portion that are removably connected to each other to secure the body portion to a body of the poultry. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kosanke using the teachings from Kosanke ‘836 to use a different type of strap attachment that allows for better length adjustment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the poultry diaper of Kosanke ‘094 has nothing that extends rearward, the rejection pointed to the portion of receiver portion 110 having couples 104b to read on the rear securing straps. As shown in Figure 1, rear facing portion 116 of receiver portion 110 has two pieces that extend upward, and the two couples 104b are each positioned on one of these two pieces. As shown in Figure 3, the piece of 310 that 304b are attached to extends rearward and around the back of the chicken.
Regarding the argument that Kosanke ‘094 describes a poultry diaper and Kosanke ‘836 describes a poultry crop protector, the rejection did not propose adding the entire structure of the poultry crop protector of Kosanke ‘836 into the poultry diaper of Kosanke ‘094. Kosanke ‘836 provides teachings for different ways to attach straps around a chicken, which is applicable to Kosanke ‘094 even if the straps are attached to different structures such as a diaper or a crop protector.
Applicant quotes the federal circuit and bolds certain sections, but makes no actual arguments regarding this quotation. As best understood, applicant is arguing that there is no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed motivation. However, the examiner provided using a different type of strap attachment that allows for better length adjustment as the motivation to make the proposed modification.
Regarding the argument that modifying Kosanke ‘094 changes its principle of operation, using different, adjustable straps does not change the principle of operation of Kosanke ‘094.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642