DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Priority
The claim for priority from US Provisional 63/521,667 filed on 17 June 2023 is duly noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawblitzel et al. (US Patent 9,536,093 B2 and Hawblitzel hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 4, and 7, Hawblitzel discloses a system and method for automated verification of a software system, the system and method having:
memory (col. 20, lines 25-28);
at least one hardware processor collectively configured to at least (col. 20, lines 25-28):
identify a plurality of layers of code of the software including a lowest layer, a middle layer, and a highest layer (112, 116, 120, Figure 1);
generate a low-level (high) specification and an identical refinement proof for each of the plurality of layers (col. 3, lines 26-37);
generate a high-level (low) specification and a lifting refinement proof for each of the plurality of layers (col. 3, lines 26-37);
verify the software based on the low-level specifications, the identical refinement proofs, the high-level specifications, and the lifting refinement proofs (Abstract, lines 7-9; col. 3, lines 33-47).
As to claims 3, 6, and 9, Hawblitzel discloses:
wherein one of the high-level specifications is generated by applying a set of transformation rules to one of the low-level specifications (Abstract, lines 5-7; col. 3, lines 30-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawblitzel as applied to claims 1, 4, and 7 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US Patent 11,868,481 B2 and Chang hereinafter).
As to claims 2, 5, and 8, Hawblitzel fails to specifically disclose:
wherein one of the low-level specifications is generated using Fixedpoint construction.
Nonetheless, this feature is well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Hawblitzel, as taught by Chang.
Chang discloses a system and method for discovering vulnerabilities of operating system access control mechanism based on model checking, the system and method having:
wherein one of the low-level specifications is generated using Fixedpoint construction (col. 1, line 64-col. 2, line 2).
Given the teaching of Chang, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Hawblitzel with the teachings of Chang by using Fixed-point construction. Chang recites motivation by disclosing that using fixed point construction allows for the checking for violations and thus increased security (col. 1, line 57-col. 2, line 6). It is obvious that the teachings of Chang would have improved the teachings of Hawblitzel by using fixed-point construction in order to allow for the checking of violations and increasing security.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boulton (WO 2019/034559 A1) discloses a system and method for generating security manifests for software components using binary static analysis.
Danielson et al. (US 2022/0318127 A1) discloses a system and method for software compiler integrity verification.
Jaouen et al. (US 2023/0040093 A1) discloses a system and method for verifying an execution of a software program.
Niu et al. (CN 116244702 A) discloses a system and method for Android software static analysis based on mixed mode.
Shao et al. (US 2020/0387440 A1) discloses a system and method for formal verification.
Yao (WO 2010/105249 A1) discloses a system and method for detection of malware.
Zhan et al. (CN 113946831 A) discloses a system and method for cross-platform new software based on micro-service and new system safety risk analysis.
Conclusion
/SARAH SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431