Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bisiules et al (CN 113451742 A), hereinafter Bisiules.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Bisiules (Figures 4 and 5) teaches a communication device comprising an antenna system, the antenna system comprising a first antenna and a second antenna, wherein the first antenna comprises:
a first radome (440, Figure 5) having a first outer surface (bottom surface), wherein the first outer surface has a groove 430 that penetrates through the first radome in a length direction of the first radome;
a first radiating assembly (radiating elements inside 440), disposed in the first radome; and
a feed network, connected to the first radiating assembly, wherein the feed network is disposed in the first radome, and the feed network is located at a side part of the groove (groove on left of 440 which indicates that feed network is on right side or side part of groove); and
the second antenna 400 comprises:
a second radome (402, Figure 4) having a second outer surface (top surface of 402); and
a second radiating assembly (array 404), disposed in the second radome, wherein at least a part of the second outer surface extends into the groove (Figure 5, top surface of 402 extends into 430).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Bisiules (Figures 4 and 5) teaches that the second outer surface (upper surface of 402) is attached to the bottom wall of the groove 430.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Bisiules (Figure 5) teaches that the first radome 440 and the second radome 402 are connected in a detachable manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 12, 13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisueles in view of Hou et al (US 2021/0305684 A1), hereinafter Hou.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Bisiules teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claims 1 and 15, respectively, except explicitly mention that the first antenna further comprises a first frequency selective surface, and the first frequency selective surface is located between the first radiating assembly and the second radiating assembly, and is configured to reflect a signal of the first radiating assembly and transmit a signal of the second radiating assembly.
Hou (Figures 19A, 20A and 20B) teaches an antenna system comprising a first antenna 190 comprises a first frequency selective surface 170f, and the first frequency selective surface is located between a first radiating assembly 222 and a second radiating assembly 1195, and is configured to reflect a signal of the first radiating assembly and transmit a signal of the second radiating assembly (para [0016] to [0022], [0417] and [0420] to [0428]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna system of Bisiules with a first frequency selective surface located between the first radiating assembly and the second radiating assembly, and is configured to reflect a signal of the first radiating assembly and transmit a signal of the second radiating assembly, as taught by Hou, doing so would provide targeted frequency control without additional hardware.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, as applied to claims 2 and 16, respectively, Hou (Figures 20A and 22C, para [0184]. [0428] and [0441]) teaches that a projection of the first radiating assembly on the first frequency selective surface is located in the first frequency selective surface.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, as applied to claims 2 and 16, respectively, Hou (Figures 9A, 58A and 58B) teaches that the first antenna further comprises a third radiating assembly 232, the third radiating assembly is connected to the feed network 1200, and the third radiating assembly and the first radiating assembly are located on a same side of the first frequency selective surface, wherein an operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is different from an operating frequency band of the third radiating assembly (para [0358] to [0361], [0486] and [0487]).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, Hou (para [0076] to [0090]) teaches that the first antenna further comprises a second frequency selective surface, the third radiating assembly and the first radiating assembly are located on a same side of the second frequency selective surface, and the second frequency selective surface is configured to reflect the signal of the first radiating assembly and a signal of the third radiating assembly and transmit the signal of the second radiating assembly.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6, Hou (Figures 9A and 58B, para [0076] to [0090]) wherein a projection of the third radiating assembly 232 on the second frequency selective surface is located in the second frequency selective surface.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 5, Hou (Figures 59A and 59B, para [0492] to [0494]) teaches that a projection of the third radiating assembly on a bottom wall of the groove is located in the bottom wall.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Bisiules teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claims 1 and 15, respectively, except explicitly mention that the operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly.
Hou (Figures 20A, 20B and 59A, para [0361] and [0428]) teaches that the operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention configure the operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly, as taught by Hou, doing so would enable the antenna to transmit and/or receive across different bands which would eliminate equipment costs.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 5, Hou (Figures 59A and 59B, para [0355]) teaches that the operating frequency band of the third radiating assembly 232 is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly 1195.
Regarding claim 12, Bisiules teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the second outer surface has a protruding part, and the protruding part extends into the groove and is attached to the bottom wall of the groove.
Hou (Figures 22A, 22B, 54A, 55B, 59A and 59B) teaches that the second outer surface has a protruding part, and the protruding part extends into the groove and is attached to the bottom wall of the groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the antenna system of Bisiules such that the second outer surface has a protruding part, and the protruding part extends into the groove and is attached to the bottom wall of the groove, as taught by Hou, doing so would provide seamless and airtight connection between the radomes.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, Hou (Figure 12B, para [0349]) teaches that a projection of the second radiating assembly on the second outer surface is located in the protruding part.
Regarding claim 18, Bisiules teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 15, except explicitly mention that a projection of the feed network on the second radiating assembly is located outside the second radiating assembly.
Hou (Figures 54A and 54B, para [0452] to [0456], [0485] and [0486]) teaches that a projection of the feed network on the second radiating assembly is located outside the second radiating assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antenna system of Bisiules such that a projection of the feed network on the second radiating assembly is located outside the second radiating assembly, as taught by Hou, doing so would minimize signal blockage and reducing interference which would optimize antenna efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sun et al (CN 216288990U) discloses an antenna system comprising two radomes.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845