Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated that Hou does not teach “a second antenna with a second radome that extends into groove of the radome of the first antenna” or “two antennas in which the radome of one is at least partially disposed in a groove of a radome of another antenna”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned in the Office action dated 10/29/2025, Hou teaches the first antenna assembly 222 of first antenna 190 being disposed in a first radome 150 (Figure 9A), the first radome having a groove 108/155 (Figures 8E, 10A, 10B, 11A and 11B) a second antenna radiating assembly 1195 of second antenna 110 being disposed in a second radome 119 (Figures 9E and 12B), Figures 11A-11C clearly show that at least a part of the second outer surface of the second radome 119 extends into the groove 108 of the radome 150 of the first antenna 190/222. Therefore, the 102(a)(1) rejection under Hou is maintained.
Applicant also stated that a second antenna assembly 190 cannot be found. Hou (Figure 9A) shows antenna 190 wherein LB antenna elements 222, MB antenna elements and HB antenna elements 242 are part of antenna 190 (para [0361]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hou et al (US 2021/0305684 A1), hereinafter Hou. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Hou (Figures 9A, 9C, 20A and 20B) teaches a communication device (para [0002]) comprising an antenna system 100 comprising a first antenna 190 and a second antenna 110, wherein
the first antenna 190 (Figure 9A) comprises:
a first radome 150 having a first outer surface, wherein the first outer surface has a groove 108/155/188 (Figures 8E, 10A, 10B, 11A and 11B, para [0308] and [0310]);
a first radiating assembly 222 disposed in the first radome (Figures 9A, 22E and 22H); and
a feed network 221 and 1200, connected to the first radiating assembly, wherein the feed network is disposed in the first radome, and the feed network is located at a side part of the groove (Figures 9F, 22C, 22D, 22E and 22H); and
the second antenna 110 comprises:
a second radome 119 having a second outer surface (Figure 9E); and
a second radiating assembly 1195, disposed in the second radome (Figure 9A and 12B), wherein
at least a part of the second outer surface extends into the groove (Figures 3A, 3B, 10A, 10B and 11A-11C).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, as applied to claims 1 and 15, respectively, Hou (Figures 19A, 20A and 20B) teaches that the first antenna 190 further comprises a first frequency selective surface 170f, and the first frequency selective surface is located between the first radiating assembly and the second radiating assembly, and is configured to reflect a signal of the first radiating assembly and transmit a signal of the second radiating assembly (para [0016] to [0022], [0417] and [0420] to [0428]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, as applied to claims 2 and 16, respectively, Hou (Figures 20A and 22C, para [0184]. [0428] and [0441]) teaches that a projection of the first radiating assembly on the first frequency selective surface is located in the first frequency selective surface.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, as applied to claims 1 and 15, respectively, Hou (Figures 54A and 54B, para [0452] to [0456], [0485] and [0486]) teaches that a projection of the feed network on the second radiating assembly is located outside the second radiating assembly.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, as applied to claims 2 and 16, respectively, Hou (Figures 9A, 58A and 58B) teaches that the first antenna further comprises a third radiating assembly 232, the third radiating assembly is connected to the feed network 1200, and the third radiating assembly and the first radiating assembly are located on a same side of the first frequency selective surface, wherein an operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is different from an operating frequency band of the third radiating assembly (para [0358] to [0361], [0486] and [0487]).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, Hou (para [0076] to [0090]) teaches that the first antenna further comprises a second frequency selective surface, the third radiating assembly and the first radiating assembly are located on a same side of the second frequency selective surface, and the second frequency selective surface is configured to reflect the signal of the first radiating assembly and a signal of the third radiating assembly and transmit the signal of the second radiating assembly.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6, Hou (Figures 9A and 58B, para [0076] to [0090]) wherein a projection of the third radiating assembly 232 on the second frequency selective surface is located in the second frequency selective surface.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 5, Hou (Figures 59A and 59B, para [0492] to [0494]) teaches that a projection of the third radiating assembly on a bottom wall of the groove is located in the bottom wall.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, as applied to claims 1 and 15, respectively, Hou (Figures 20A, 20B and 59A, para [0361] and [0428]) teaches that the operating frequency band of the first radiating assembly is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 5, Hou (Figures 59A and 59B, para [0355]) teaches that the operating frequency band of the third radiating assembly 232 is less than an operating frequency band of the second radiating assembly 1195.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Hou (Figures 22A, 22B, 54A, 55B, 59A and 59B) teaches that the second outer surface is attached to the bottom wall of the groove.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Hou (Figures 22A, 22B, 54A, 55B, 59A and 59B) teaches that the second outer surface has a protruding part, and the protruding part extends into the groove and is attached to the bottom wall of the groove.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, Hou (Figure 12B, para [0349]) teaches that a projection of the second radiating assembly on the second outer surface is located in the protruding part.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Hou (Figures 11A to 11C) teaches that the first radome 150 and the second radome 119 are connected in a detachable manner (para [0398]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845