DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application claims benefit of 63/615,716 12/28/2023.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) and added new claims 29-35 filed on 08/20/2026 and canceled Group II (claims 14-28) has been acknowledged and considered. Applicants have the right to file a divisional application covering the subject matter of the non-elected claims (claims 14-28).
Claims 1-13 and 29-35 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
4. The oath/declaration filed on 07/03/2024 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/06/2024 and 02272025.
Drawings
6. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a feature of “wherein a back surface of the microelectronic structure comprises dielectric regions including the dielectric portion, and conductive regions including the plurality of conductive via structures, and wherein the conductive via structures are separated from the dielectric portion by the bulk semiconductor portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 1 and “wherein each conductive region is surrounded by a semiconductor region, such that the semiconductor region separates the conductive region from the dielectric region” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 29. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
7. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
A title such as-- MICROELECTRONIC STRUCTURE INCLUDING CONDUCTIVE VIA STRUCTURES ARE SEPARATED FROM A DIELECTRIC PORTION BY A BULK SEMICONDUCTOR PORTION AND A BONDED STRUCTURE HAVE THE SAME -- or is suggested by the applicant.
The specification needs to be updated.
Claim Objections
8. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 2, the term “a microelectronic structure…” should change to -- the microelectronic structure --.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
9. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, a feature of “wherein a back surface of the microelectronic structure comprises dielectric regions including the dielectric portion, and conductive regions including the plurality of conductive via structures, and wherein the conductive via structures are separated from the dielectric portion by the bulk semiconductor portion” is confusing and indefinite since it is unclear as how because the conductive via structures are below the dielectric portion and the conductive regions? Applicant should clarify this limitation in the claim and the drawings.
Claims 2-13 are directly or indirectly dependent on the independent claim 1, then, they are also being allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over 유 첸-후아 (KR-102193505-B1) in view of YOSHIMURA N (JP-2017050331-A).
Regarding claim 29, 유 첸-후아 discloses a microelectronic structure comprising:
a bonding surface (350), the bonding surface (350) comprising:
a dielectric region (308/310);
a plurality of conductive regions (312) within the dielectric region (308/310); and
a plurality of semiconductor regions,
wherein each conductive region is surrounded by a semiconductor region, such that the semiconductor region separates the conductive region from the dielectric region.
discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a plurality of semiconductor regions,
wherein each conductive region is surrounded by a semiconductor region, such that the semiconductor region separates the conductive region from the dielectric region.
YOSHIMURA N, however, discloses a plurality of semiconductor regions (4),
wherein each conductive region (20) is surrounded by a semiconductor region (4) (Fig. 2 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of 유 첸-후아 to provide a plurality of semiconductor regions, wherein each conductive region is surrounded by a semiconductor region as taught by YOSHIMURA N for a purpose of regulating the flow of electricity in the microelectronic devices.
Then, the semiconductor region (4) will be obviously separate the conductive region (4) from the dielectric region (308/310).
Therefore, claim 29 is obviously rendered over 유 첸-후아 and YOSHIMURA N.
Regarding claim 30, 유 첸-후아 and YOSHIMURA N discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose wherein the bonding surface is a hybrid bonding surface. However, it suggests an integrated circuit die 200 bonded to the integrated circuit die 100 via hybrid bonding (see Fig. 3 and English Text). Then, it would have been an obvious matter of the design choice to modify the bonding interface using a hybrid bonding surface in order to improve the performance of the microelectronic structure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of the worker in the art to select any type of the bonding surface on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 31-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note: Claims 1-13 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this Office action.
Cited Prior Arts
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
YANG et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0264676 A1) discloses a microelectronic structure comprising: a bulk semiconductor portion (200) having a front surface (203) and a back surface (201) opposite the front surface (203) ; a plurality of conductive via structures (224) extending at least partially through the bulk semiconductor portion (200); and a dielectric portion (208) at least partially overlying the back surface (201) of the bulk semiconductor portion (200) (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897