DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 06/17/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter except not including a lost device as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 2, 10, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter except not including a lost device as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 3, 11, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter except not including a lost device as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 4, 12, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter except not including a lost device as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because omission of element and its function (i.e., lost) in combination is obvious expedient if remaining elements perform same functions as before. In re KARLSON (CCPS) 136 USPQ 184 (1863).
Claims 2, 10, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 3, 11, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 4, 12, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 5, 13, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Claims 8, 14, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. The claims of the instant application encompass the same subject matter as in the Patent No. 12,047,834 B2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the instant application with a first device to do the same process as in Patent No. 12,047,834 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same subject matter with different order in combination is obvious expedient if performing same functions as before. In re KARLSON (CCPS) 136 USPQ 184 (1863).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boross et al. (hereinafter “Boross”) (Pat # US 10,524,225 B1) in view of Farchmin et al. (hereinafter “Farchmin”) (Pub # US 2005/0070304 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Boross discloses a method comprising:
determining, based at least in part on a first signal strength associated with a first signal sent by a first device (see system 100 including device including management app 130 in Figure 1), an estimation of a first location in a premises (i.e., the locations are in rooms of a house, see col. 5 lines 8 – 21) at which the first signal is received (see S220, S240 in Figure 4, col. 5 lines 29 – 50, col. 6 lines 29 – 50, col. 7 lines 26 – 32, col. 10 lines 12 – 67 discussing that the system uses device connection data, which is received signal strength, i.e., RSSI, as received by and seen by the access point, the system then determines estimated locations (i.e., vicinity of the “Bedroom 1” router), see col. 7 lines 54 – 58, col. 10 lines 38 – 50, col. 11 lines 40 – 44 for the system is estimating which access point receives the signal based upon the RSSI, thus estimating the location the signal was received, i.e., the access point in the bedroom).
Boross is estimating that the location of the device is in the bedroom, thus discloses determining, based on the estimation of the first location, an estimation distances and/or angles of the device to APs to produce a location of the first device (see col. 10 lines 38 – 50, col. 11 lines 1 – 12 discussion the first location is used, thus obviously teaching estimation of a location of the first device. If in question, using Farchmin as below.
In an analogous art, Farchmin teaches determining, based on the estimation of the first location, an estimation of a location of the first device (see Farchmin, [0018], [0020], [0048], [0054], [0056], [0057] discussing that the first location estimate is used along with another location estimate to conclude a location of the wireless device, thus at least using the first estimated location to determine the location of the device sending the signal. In addition, Farchmin teaches wireless information device 30 comprising processor, memory, and software programs in Fig. 2a, 2b within a space, see [0050], [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Boross, and add determining, based on the estimation of the first location, an estimation of a location of the first device, as taught by Farchmin, thereby increasing the accuracy of the location finding, as discussed by Farchmin (see Farchmin, [0013]).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 16, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose determining, based at least in part on a second signal strength associated with a second signal sent by the first device, an estimation of a second location in the premises at which the second signal is received, wherein determination of the estimation of the location of the first device is further based on the estimation of the second location (see Boross, col. 8 lines 19 – 49, col. 10 lines 35 – 67, and col. 11 lines 1 – 12 discussing the system causes the device to send a signal to a second AP, uses both estimates via triangulation or other techniques to determine location).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose wherein the determining the estimation of the first location is based, at least in part, on an estimation of a gain associated with the first device (see Boross, col. 11 lines 18 – 31 discussing determining that the device was not moving (i.e., similar RSSI) or the device was moving away or toward an AP (if RSSI decreased or increased respectively), thus estimation a gain associated with the first device).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose determining a map of the estimation of the location of the first device in the premises (see Boross, Figure 6, col. 16 lines 48 – 67).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose causing output, on a computing device (see Boross, i.e., router management platform 120 in Figure 1), of the map of the estimation of the first location of the first device (see Boross, col. 16 lines 48 – 67).
Regarding claim 6, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose wherein the first signal strength is measured by a measuring device, and wherein the measuring device is not an intended recipient of the first signal (see Boross, col. 6 lines 29 – 58, the RSSI can be from a standard communication the device to make a call, thus the AP was not intended recipient).
Regarding claim 7, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose wherein the determining the estimation of the location of the first device is performed, at least in part, utilizing a computing device (see Boross, i.e., router management platform 120 in Figure 1) located outside of the premises (see Boross, Figure 1, col. 3 lines 47 – 67, col. 4 lines 15 – 27, col. 16 lines 48 – 67, discussing a management platform or server from another part of the communication network may aid in the location finding).
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 20, Boross in view of Farchmin disclose determining an estimation of gain associated with the first device, wherein the determining the estimation of the location of the first device is further based on the estimation of the gain (see Boross, col. 11 lines 18 – 31 discussing determining that the device was not moving (i.e., similar RSSI) or the device was moving away or toward an AP, i.e., if RSSI decreased or increased respectively).
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645