DETAILED ACTION
1. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC ' 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goel (US 8453036).
With respect to claim 1, the Goel reference teaches a method comprising:
detecting, in a storage system having a first Redundant Array of Independent Disks (RAID) format, a change to an operational characteristic of the storage system; (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)]) and
in response to detecting the change, comparing the operational characteristic to a threshold value associated with the operational characteristic; (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 16-47, where as the need for storage capacity in a Declustered Group increases, it may become necessary to add an additional mass storage device to the Declustered Group. There are several considerations to take into account when adding a new disk to an existing Declustered Group. It may be desirable, for the reasons discussed above, to maintain the evenly balanced declustered organization of the Declustered Group and where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8 [The Examiner notes the number of disks are compared to the existing number of disks (analogous to the ‘threshold value’) to determine how to rebalance the blocks]) and
based on the comparison, reconfiguring the storage system to have a second RAID format. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
With respect to claim 2, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change to the operational characteristic comprises detecting a change to a hardware configuration of the storage system. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
With respect to claim 3, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the change to the hardware configuration comprises a change to a number of storage devices in a write group of the storage system. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
With respect to claim 4, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the change to the hardware configuration comprises a change in capacity for a write group of the storage system. (column 7, lines 16-28, where as the need for storage capacity in a Declustered Group increases, it may become necessary to add an additional mass storage device to the Declustered Group. There are several considerations to take into account when adding a new disk to an existing Declustered Group)
With respect to claim 5, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change to the operational characteristic comprises detecting a change in a failure rate for one or more storage devices of the storage system. (column 5, line 55 to column 6, line 2, where in the event of disk failure, a lost data block on the failed disk can be recalculated using the value of the parity block in the parity group. The value of the parity block in each stripe may be calculated by any of a number of algorithms, such as for example, the XOR of all the data blocks in the stripe. In a disk reconstruction, the value of each block in a stripe from each disk that did not fail is read and used to recalculate the data block from the failed disk using the parity algorithm. Reconstructing the failed disk requires a read operation on each disk in the parity group that did not fail and a write operation to the failed disk for every stripe. Since a read or write operation can only be performed on one block in a disk at a time, reconstruct times can be high)
With respect to claim 6, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change to the operational characteristic comprises detecting a change in a service model for the storage system. (column 1, line 62 to column 2, line 15, where the RAID devices can be used to address different issues and adapting different RAID types to address these different issues)
With respect to claim 7, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change to the operational characteristic comprises detecting a change to a rebuild configuration for the storage system. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
With respect to claim 8, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second RAID format comprises a different stripe width than the first RAID format. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
With respect to claim 9, the Goel reference teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second RAID format comprises a different number of data shards than the first RAID format. (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 29-47, where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. In this embodiment each disk has 10 blocks so 1/9 of the block is 1 1/9 blocks. Since a fraction of a block cannot be moved to the new disk, the fraction may be rounded down to one block. Thus, in this embodiment, one block will be moved from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) to new disk D8 [i.e. a new RAID group/format is created using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7)])
Claims 11-19 are the system implementation of claims 1-9, and rejected under a similar rationale as shown in the rejections above. The Examiner notes the Goel reference teaches “a memory; and a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory …” as shown in fig. 2.
Claims 21-22 are the non-transitory computer readable storage medium implementation of claims 1-9, and rejected under a similar rationale as shown in the rejections above.
2. ARGUMENTS CONCERNING PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Rejections - USC 102/103
Applicant's amendments and arguments (see pages 6-8 of the remarks) with respect to claims 1-9, 11-19, and 21-22 have been considered, and not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the limitation of "detecting ... a change to an operational characteristic of the storage system", "comparing the operational characteristic to a threshold value associated with the operational characteristic", and "based on the comparison, reconfiguring the storage system to have a second RAID format" as recited in claim 1 and similarly in the other independent claims. The Goel reference teaches (see fig. 6a; and column 7, lines 16-47) as the need for storage capacity in a Declustered Group increases, it may become necessary to add an additional mass storage device to the Declustered Group. There are several considerations to take into account when adding a new disk to an existing Declustered Group. It may be desirable, for the reasons discussed above, to maintain the evenly balanced declustered organization of the Declustered Group; and where Declustered Group 600 includes nine disks, including newly added disk D8. Thus, 1/9 of the blocks from each disk (i.e., DO-D7) may be moved to the new disk D8. Therefore, based on the citations above, the Goel reference teaches that a new number of disks are compared to the existing number of disks (analogous to the ‘threshold value’) to determine how to rebalance the blocks evenly which creates a different second RAID group/format using 9 disks (DO-D7 and D8) being migrated from 8 disks (i.e. DO-D7) [i.e. first group/format] as noted in the example above. Thus, based on the citations above, the Goel reference teaches the limitations above as broadly and instantly claimed.
3. RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant's art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references include:
Zhang (US 20070011401), which teaches an apparatus and methods for efficiently operating on RAID systems. A fast access buffer comprising an off-disk fast access memory module supports RAID operations such as recovery or reconfiguration operations, thereby minimizing or reducing the need for on-disk destructive zones and/or reducing disk drive I/O activities. In some cases the fast access memory module to serves as a read/write cache, reducing the need for frequent disk accesses of a small number of data blocks. Fast off-disk memory such as RAM enables rapid operation on in-buffer data blocks. Access to the material stored in the RAID devices may be enabled, partially enabled or disabled during RAID operations involving the fast access memory module and some data access operations may be synchronized with RAID operations. In some cases, data may be served from the fast access memory module, thereby providing rapid access to material stored in a RAID device during RAID operations.
4. CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
/PRASITH THAMMAVONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137