DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19, 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically the amendments substantially change the scope of the claimed subject matter and necessitate new grounds of rejection with new citations of prior art.
Rejections for similar independent and dependent claims are revised and/or maintained accordingly. Claim(s) 9, 10 remain objected to as allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0063857) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0240831, hereinafter Zhou ‘831) in view of Ly et al. (US 2025/0048420).
For claim 1, Zhang teaches: A first node, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the first node to perform operations comprising (see at least fig. 1, 10, UE and BS may comprise processor and memory for communications):
transmitting at least one uplink transmission on a first transmission occasion (see at least 0123, 0111, UE may transmit a plurality of uplink transmissions over at least one transmission occasion);
wherein each of the at least one uplink transmission is one of a plurality of candidate transmissions (see at least 0123, 0111-0113, power control may be performed on a UL transmission of the plurality of UL transmissions, thus comprising candidates for control); a power of each of the at least one uplink transmission is allocated according to a priority of the respective uplink transmission in a first priority order; the plurality of candidate transmissions comprise a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission, and the first PRACH transmission belongs to one of a plurality of PRACH transmission groups; wherein the plurality of PRACH transmission groups include a first PRACH transmission group, a second PRACH transmission group (see at least 0123, 0111, UL transmissions may be power controlled based on priority levels. See at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising a PRACH belonging to a first or second transmission priority group).
Zhang teaches different first and second PRACH priority (see at least 0114-0119, priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, priority group 5 for PRACH on non-PCell), but not explicitly: …and a third PRACH transmission group that each corresponds to a different priority. Zhou ‘831 from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0529-0532, UL transmission power priorities may comprise PRACH on PCell, PRACH on non-PCell, and PRACH on candidate target cell, comprising a third different PRACH priority). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhou ‘831 to the system of Zhang, so the priority levels comprise a third PRACH priority group e.g. PRACH on a candidate target cell, as suggested by Zhou ‘831. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by prioritizing various PRACHs including PRACHs on candidate cells (Zhou ‘831 0529-0532, Abstract).
Zhang does not explicitly teach: …(PRACH) transmission that comprises a plurality of repeatedly transmitted preambles over a plurality of PRACH occasions, wherein each of the plurality of repeatedly transmitted preambles corresponds to a different PRACH occasion in the plurality of PRACH occasions. Ly from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0079, “…For example, the cell-edge UE may transmit multiple PRACH preambles (for example, PRACH repetitions), where each PRACH preamble transmission is associated with a different PRACH occasion…”). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Ly to the system of Zhang, Zhou ‘831, so the prioritized PRACH comprises multiple transmitted repetitions, each repetition being in a different PRACH occasion, as suggested by Ly. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by using PRACH repetitions to improve coverage (Ly 0079).
For claim 2, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the priority of the first PRACH transmission is the same as a priority of the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising a PRACH belonging to one of multiple transmission priority groups).
For claim 3, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the priority of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on both the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs and a cell in which the first PRACH transmission is located (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising a PRACH belonging to one of multiple transmission cell priority groups; 0113-0119, 0151, further characteristics may be considered and combined e.g. URLLC vs eMBB, panel/cell group index, etc., comprising further transmission grouping).
For claim 4, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the priority of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on a carrier in which the first PRACH transmission is performed (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising a PRACH belonging to one of multiple transmission priority groups; see at least 0100, cells correspond to carriers in carrier aggregation).
For claim 6, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the plurality of PRACH transmission groups respectively correspond to a plurality of priority indexes, and the priority of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on a priority index corresponding to the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group 5 for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising priority indexes for the priority groups).
For claim 8, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the priority of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on a priority index of the first PRACH transmission, and the priority index of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group 5 for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising priority indexes for the priority groups and thus constituent transmissions).
For claim 11, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the priority of the first PRACH transmission satisfies one or more of following: the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than a priority of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than a priority of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission; and the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than a priority of a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, and priority groups 2-5 for combinations of PUCCH/SR/PUSCH/SRS/PRACH).
For claim 12, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein the first priority order indicates a first PUSCH transmission with higher priority, a second PUSCH transmission with lower priority, a first PUCCH transmission with higher priority, and a second PUCCH transmission with lower priority (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a priority group 2 for PUCCH/PUSCH and a priority group 3 for PUCCH/PUSCH), and the priority of the first PRACH transmission satisfies one or more of following: the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than that of the first PUSCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than that of the first PUCCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than that of the second PUSCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than that of the second PUCCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is lower than that of the first PUSCH transmission and higher than that of the second PUSCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is lower than that of the first PUCCH transmission and higher than that of the second PUCCH transmission; the priority of the first PRACH transmission is lower than that of the second PUSCH transmission; or the priority of the first PRACH transmission is lower than that of the second PUCCH transmission (see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, and priority groups 2-5 for combinations of PUCCH/SR/PUSCH/SRS/PRACH).
For claim 15, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein each of the at least one uplink transmission is one of a plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed, the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed comprise the first PRACH transmission, and if a total transmit power of the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed exceeds a maximum transmit power of the first node on one or more transmission occasions, a priority of any PRACH transmission in the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs and a priority of a uplink transmission with the highest priority in the uplink transmissions other than the first PRACH transmission in the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed are used to determine whether to forgo the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs or whether to reduce transmit power of the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs (see at least 0111-0113, 0123, power control may be performed on a transmission of the plurality of UL transmissions, if total transmission power exceeds a maximum power level; UE may determine which transmission to reduce power based on priority scheme (0114-0119), thus considering any/each applicable priority group 1-5 to determine whether to reduce transmit power of a PRACH).
For claim 16, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang further teaches: wherein each of the at least one uplink transmission is one of a plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed, the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed comprise the first PRACH transmission, and if a total transmit power of the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed exceeds a maximum transmit power of the first node on one or more transmission occasions, a priority of each PRACH transmission in the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs and a priority of each of uplink transmissions other than the first PRACH transmission in the plurality of uplink transmissions to be performed are used to determine whether to forgo a part of PRACH transmissions in the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs or whether to reduce transmit power of a part of PRACH transmissions in the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs (see at least 0111-0113, 0123, power control may be performed on a transmission of the plurality of UL transmissions, if total transmission power exceeds a maximum power level; UE may determine which transmission to reduce power based on priority scheme (0114-0119), thus considering any/each applicable priority group 1-5 to determine whether to reduce transmit power of a PRACH).
For claim 17, Zhang teaches: A second node, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the second node to perform operations comprising: (see at least fig. 1, 10, UE and BS may comprise processor and memory for communications):
receiving at least one uplink transmission, wherein the at least one uplink transmission is transmitted on a first transmission occasion (see at least 0123, 0111, UE may transmit a plurality of uplink transmissions over at least one transmission occasion);
wherein each of the at least one uplink transmission is one of a plurality of candidate transmissions (see at least 0123, 0111-0113, power control may be performed on a UL transmission of the plurality of UL transmissions, thus comprising candidates for control); a power of each of the at least one uplink transmission is allocated according to a priority of the respective uplink transmission in a first priority order; the plurality of candidate transmissions comprise a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission, and the first PRACH transmission belongs to one of a plurality of PRACH transmission groups; wherein the plurality of PRACH transmission groups include a first PRACH transmission group, a second PRACH transmission group (see at least 0123, 0111, UL transmissions may be power controlled based on priority levels. See at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise a higher priority group for PRACH on PCell, and lower priority group for PRACH on non-PCell, comprising a PRACH belonging to a first or second transmission priority group).
Zhang teaches different first and second PRACH priority (see at least 0114-0119, priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, priority group 5 for PRACH on non-PCell), but not explicitly: …and a third PRACH transmission group that each corresponds to a different priority. Zhou ‘831 from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0529-0532, UL transmission power priorities may comprise PRACH on PCell, PRACH on non-PCell, and PRACH on candidate target cell, comprising a third different PRACH priority). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhou ‘831 to the system of Zhang, so the priority levels comprise a third PRACH priority group e.g. PRACH on a candidate target cell, as suggested by Zhou ‘831. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by prioritizing various PRACHs including PRACHs on candidate cells (Zhou ‘831 0529-0532, Abstract).
Zhang does not explicitly teach: …(PRACH) transmission that comprises a plurality of repeatedly transmitted preambles over a plurality of PRACH occasions, wherein each of the plurality of repeatedly transmitted preambles corresponds to a different PRACH occasion in the plurality of PRACH occasions. Ly from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0079, “…For example, the cell-edge UE may transmit multiple PRACH preambles (for example, PRACH repetitions), where each PRACH preamble transmission is associated with a different PRACH occasion…”). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Ly to the system of Zhang, Zhou ‘831, so the prioritized PRACH comprises multiple transmitted repetitions, each repetition being in a different PRACH occasion, as suggested by Ly. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by using PRACH repetitions to improve coverage (Ly 0079).
Claim 19 recites a method substantially similar to the apparatus of claim 1 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
For claim 21, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, Zhang, Ly further teaches: wherein a same priority is used for the plurality of repeatedly transmitted preambles transmitted over the plurality of PRACH occasions by using a same beam (Zhang see at least 0114-0119, priority levels may comprise priority group 1 for PRACH on PCell, and priority group 5 for any PRACH on non-PCell, comprising PRACH on a given cell having a same given priority. Ly see at least 0078, multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent using same beam). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Ly to the system of claim 1, so the PRACH repetitions (e.g. having same priority on a same given cell, as taught by Zhang) are transmitted on same beam, as suggested by Ly. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by using a well known beam transmission scheme for multiple PRACH transmission (Ly 0078).
Claim 5, 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0063857) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0240831, hereinafter Zhou ‘831) in view of Ly et al. (US 2025/0048420) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2016/0302235).
For claim 5, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein numbers of PRACH transmissions comprised in any two of the plurality of PRACH transmission groups are different, and the priority of the first PRACH transmission is determined based on a number of PRACH transmissions comprised in the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs. Hwang from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0170, 0174, a PRACH may be prioritized over another PRACH for power scaling based on number of retransmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Hwang to the system of claim 1, so the priority of a PRACH is determined based on number or retransmissions (transmissions), as suggested by Hwang. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by configuring a priority scheme based on how many attempts a PRACH is sent (Hwang 0170).
For claim 13, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the plurality of PRACH transmission groups comprise a first PRACH transmission group and a second PRACH transmission group, and a number of PRACH transmissions comprised in the first PRACH transmission group is greater than a number of PRACH transmissions comprised in the second PRACH transmission group; and if the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs is the first PRACH transmission group, the priority of the first PRACH transmission is higher than a priority of each PRACH transmission in the second PRACH transmission group; if the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs is the second PRACH transmission group, the priority of the first PRACH transmission is lower than a priority of each PRACH transmission in the first PRACH transmission group. Hwang from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0170, 0174, a PRACH may be prioritized over another PRACH for power scaling based on number of retransmissions, thus all of a given priority’s PRACH retransmissions may be considered higher/lower priority than all of another priority’s PRACH retransmissions). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Hwang to the system of claim 1, so the priority of a PRACH is determined based on number or retransmissions (transmissions), and a given higher/lower priority PRACH with a number of retransmissions is higher/lower priority than any given retransmissions of a lower/higher priority PRACH, as suggested by Hwang. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by configuring a priority scheme based on how many attempts a PRACH is sent (Hwang 0170).
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0063857) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0240831, hereinafter Zhou ‘831) in view of Ly et al. (US 2025/0048420) in view of He et al. (US 2018/0368179).
For claim 7, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the at least one uplink transmission comprises the first PRACH transmission, and the operations comprise: monitoring a first random access response during a first time window in response to the first PRACH transmission, wherein a starting of the first time window is determined based on the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs. He from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0140-0141, UE may be configured with a RAR window for high priority PRACH transmission). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate He to the system of claim 1, so the UE is configured with a RAR window for the RAR based on PRACH priority, as suggested by He. The motivation would have been to enhance random access by controlling a response window according to the priority of the PRACH (He 0140-0141).
Claim 14, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0063857) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0240831, hereinafter Zhou ‘831) in view of Ly et al. (US 2025/0048420) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0052339).
For claim 14, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the first priority order is predefined or is network-configured. Zhou from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0353, base station may configure transmission prioritization e.g. for PRACH types). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhou to the system of claim 1, so the priority scheme is configured by a network BS, as suggested by Zhou. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by configuring a priority scheme from the network (Zhou 0353).
For claim 18, Zhang, Zhou ‘831, Ly teaches claim 17, but not explicitly: wherein the operations comprise: configuring the first priority order. Zhou from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0353, base station may configure transmission prioritization e.g. for PRACH types). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhou to the system of claim 17, so the priority scheme is configured by a network BS, as suggested by Zhou. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by configuring a priority scheme from the network (Zhou 0353).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9, 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 9, the prior art fails to teach: wherein the operations comprise: receiving first configuration signaling, wherein the first configuration signaling indicates a plurality of candidate orders, and the first priority order is one of the plurality of candidate orders; and the PRACH transmission group to which the first PRACH transmission belongs is used to determine the first priority order from the plurality of candidate orders. The closest prior art Zhou et al. (US 2019/0052339) discloses configuring priority parameters by a network (0353) but not the limitations of the claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SIREN WEI whose telephone number is (571)272-0687. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Thursday 7-4. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Siren Wei/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2467