DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 11/28/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: generating unit in claim 1 and 11, and dependents; control unit in claim 1 and 11 and dependents.
With respect to the generating unit, there appears to be no additional disclosure of any corresponding structure for performing the claimed function.
With respect to the control unit, the corresponding structure appears to be found in Specification dated 6/18/2024 ¶[00104] as filed: “In the case of hardware implementation, the methods according to the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented using one or more ASICs (Application Specific Integrated Circuits), DSPs (Digital Signal Processors), DSPDs (Digital Signal Processing Devices), PLDs (Programmable Logic Devices), FPGAs (Field Programmable Gate Arrays), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, etc.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, claim limitation “generating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, claim limitation “generating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “wherein the pain occurring in the first region comprises knee joint pain, frozen shoulder pain, shoulder impingement syndrome pain, carpal tunnel syndrome pain, plantar fasciitis pain, rheumatoid arthritis pain, postherpetic neuralgia pain, back pain, lumbar stenosis pain, and neck pain.” renders the claims indefinite because these types of pain occur in different regions of the body. Applicant’s disclosure clearly shows that the electrodes are placed at the location of pain, therefore, the disclosure does not clearly support that all of the claimed regions are treated simultaneously by one device as claimed and does not resolve the indefiniteness or lack of clarity. For the purposes of examination, these locations will be interpreted as a list recited in the alternative: “wherein the pain occurring in the first region comprises knee joint pain, frozen shoulder pain, shoulder impingement syndrome pain, carpal tunnel syndrome pain, plantar fasciitis pain, rheumatoid arthritis pain, postherpetic neuralgia pain, back pain, lumbar stenosis pain, and/or neck pain.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Page et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0269046) hereinafter referred to as Page.
Regarding claim 1, Page teaches a pain relief device (Abstract, treatment of head and face pain) comprising:
a generating unit that generates an electrical signal recognized as non-painful by the brain (¶[0046]);
an electrode attached to at least one part of the body (¶¶[0055-0059], e.g., Fig. 7, throughout) to deliver the generated electrical signal (¶[0046]); and
a control unit that controls the operation of the generating unit and the electrode (¶[0046]);
wherein, during the process in which a pain signal generated in a first region of the body is transmitted to the brain (this is interpreted as the user experiencing pain), the electrical signal delivered by the electrode is transmitted to the brain along with the pain signal through surface stimulus receptor of the first region, thereby alleviating the pain perceived by the brain in the first region (¶[0018-0019], ¶¶[0150-0151]),
wherein the electrical signal is an alternating current stimulation (ACS) signal (¶[0034]), and
wherein the alternating current stimulation signal repeatedly switches on and off according to a predetermined first frequency (Fig. 10A, duty cycle at one periodicity, ¶[0034], ¶[0036]), and is a first combined stimulation that applies the signal switched on according to the first frequency as stimulus according to a predetermined second frequency (Fig. 10A, duty cycle at one periodicity, and stimulation inside comprising a waveform frequency, ¶[0037] burst stimulation frequency, e.g.).
Regarding claim 2, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 1.
Page further teaches wherein the signal switched on according to the first frequency is a burst signal that a positive signal having a value exceeding a predetermined standard and a negative signal having a value below the predetermined standard repeat, and each of the positive signal and the negative signal comprises at least one spike signal (Fig. 10A-P contemplated signal shapes including both positive and negative and spike signals, ¶[0035] biphasic and charge balanced, ¶[0209]).
Regarding claim 3, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 2.
Page further teaches wherein the positive signal and negative signal consist of multiple positive spike signals and multiple negative spike signals (Fig. 10A-P contemplated signal shapes including both positive and negative and spike signals, ¶[0035] biphasic and charge balanced, ¶[0209]).
Regarding claim 4, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 2.
Page further teaches wherein the burst signal is a signal comprising multiple rectangular signals having a positive value and a negative current value, a first rectangular signal among the multiple rectangular signals comprises at least one positive spike signal, and a second rectangular signal following the first rectangular signal comprises at least one negative spike signal(Fig. 10A-P contemplated signal shapes including both positive and negative and spike signals, ¶[0035] biphasic and charge balanced, ¶[0209], see particularly Fig. 10D).
Regarding claim 5, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 4.
Page further teaches wherein the control unit, when the degree of pain relief according to the first combined stimulation is below a predetermined range, controls the generating unit to generate a second combined stimulation signal that at least one of the first frequency, the second frequency, and the output, the waveform and the period of the stimulation according to the second frequency is modified, and controls the second combined stimulation signal to be delivered to the surface stimulus receptor through the electrode (¶¶[0256-0258] stimulation parameters are altered to ensure adequate pain inhibition, ¶[0298]).
Regarding claim 6, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 2.
Page further teaches wherein the electrical signal is a similar electrical signal within a certain error range of a biological signal in the body, thus being recognized as non-painful by the brain (¶[0190] modulation of pain signals while maintaining non-painful sensory function, ¶[0191], ¶[0203] avoiding damage).
Regarding claim 7, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 6.
Page further teaches wherein the electrode is arranged in multiple numbers near the first region (¶[0177] electrodes A-H, 8 electrodes).
Regarding claim 9, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 8.
Page further teaches wherein the electrical signal has an intensity of 100 µA to 1000 µA (¶[0219] 1mA is equivalent to 1000 µA) and is applied for 10 to 60 minutes (¶[0221] 10-15, 15-20, 20-25, or 25-30 minutes).
Regarding claim 10, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 1.
Page further teaches wherein the pain occurring in the first region comprises knee joint pain, frozen shoulder pain, shoulder impingement syndrome pain, carpal tunnel syndrome pain, plantar fasciitis pain, rheumatoid arthritis pain, postherpetic neuralgia pain, back pain, lumbar stenosis pain, and neck pain (¶[0178] shoulder, neck, head, ¶[0014]).
Regarding claim 11-14, the claims are directed to substantially the same subject matter as claim 1-2, and 4-5 and is rejected under substantially the same sections of Page.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Vallejo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0028812) hereinafter referred to as Vallejo.
Regarding claim 8, Page teaches the pain relief device of claim 7.
Page does not teach wherein the multiple electrodes deliver an electrical signal to promote ATP (adenosine triphosphate) generation in the first region, and the promoted ATP generation improves blood flow, thereby improving inflammation related to the first region.
Attention is drawn to the Vallejo reference, which teaches an electrical signal to promote ATP (adenosine triphosphate) generation in the first region, and the promoted ATP generation improves blood flow, thereby improving inflammation related to the first region (¶[0061] electrical field stimulates glial cells to provide a priming response moving synapses to normal state including signaling release of transmitters such as ATP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the stimulation of Page to include optimization for subthreshold stimulation to modulate the behavior of glial cells and the way they interact with neurons at a synaptic level to control the balance of transmitters for improved pain relief and minimal power usage (Vallejo ¶[0007] and ¶¶[0061-0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Page teaches the control method of the pain relief device of claim 12.
Page further teaches wherein the electrical signal is a similar electrical signal within a certain error range of a biological signal in the body, thus being recognized as non-painful by the brain (¶[0190] modulation of pain signals while maintaining non-painful sensory function, ¶[0191], ¶[0203] avoiding damage; and ¶[0219] 1mA), and the electrode is arranged in multiple numbers near the first region (¶[0221] 10-15, 15-20, 20-25, or 25-30 minutes).
Page does not teach wherein the multiple electrodes deliver an electrical signal to promote ATP (adenosine triphosphate) generation in the first region, and the promoted ATP generation improves blood flow, thereby improving inflammation related to the first region.
Attention is drawn to the Vallejo reference, which teaches an electrical signal to promote ATP (adenosine triphosphate) generation in the first region, and the promoted ATP generation improves blood flow, thereby improving inflammation related to the first region (¶[0061] electrical field stimulates glial cells to provide a priming response moving synapses to normal state including signaling release of transmitters such as ATP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the stimulation of Page to include optimization for subthreshold stimulation to modulate the behavior of glial cells and the way they interact with neurons at a synaptic level to control the balance of transmitters for improved pain relief and minimal power usage (Vallejo ¶[0007] and ¶¶[0061-0062]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0155847 to Perez teaches low amplitude electrical stimulation for relieving pain.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0148168 to Boggs et al. teaches relieving pain with periodic waveforms by blocking neural transmission, particularly without paresthesia perception.
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792