Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griswold US20200275634 in view of Niese US 20230255178.
Regarding claim 1, Griswold teaches a lure for large game comprising:
a container (10 figure 2) defining an interior space (22 figure 2), the container comprising;
a food storage compartment configured to hold a bulk supply of food (22/18 figure 2);
a main compartment (52);
a movable partition positioned between the food storage compartment and the main compartment (68 figures 2-4);
a motor assembly operably coupled to the movable partition (74 figure 5); and
a programmable control unit communicatively coupled to the motor assembly (114 figure 6 and paragraph 0024), wherein the programmable control unit is configured to
actuate the motor assembly to move the movable partition to transfer a predetermined quantity of food from the food storage compartment into the main compartment (paragraph 0024);
but does not specify a hatch configured to selectively provide access to the main compartment from outside the container; the programmable control unit communicatively coupled to the hatch; or the programmable control unit configured to after the transfer of the predetermined quantity of food, actuate the hatch to open to allow an animal to access the predetermined quantity of food located within the main compartment.
Niese; however, does teach a hatch configured to selectively provide access to a main compartment from outside a container (60 figure 2); and a programmable control unit communicatively coupled to the hatch (paragraphs 0049-0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a hatch, in order to further protect the feed from weather or to meet user design feeding schedules, etc.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the programmable control unit to open the hatch after transfer of food to the main compartment, in order to provide the open position when there is food present to feed, which is the intended purpose of opening the hatch. For example, a user could obviously program the controller of Griswold to operate the motor to dispense the food before the “timeframe” described by Niese for the open position. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; and it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; and it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the references teach the lure of claim 1, wherein Niese further teaches a container is box shaped with six faces (figures 1-3) and is constructed from a durable and waterproof material (paragraph 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such shape and material, in order to meet design preferences; since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results; and it has been held that a prima facie obviousness exists where the selection of a known material is based on its suitability for its intended use.
Regarding claim 4, the references teach the lure of claim 1, wherein Griswold further teaches the movable partition is actuated by the motor assembly selected from the group consisting of a worm screw motor and a linear actuator (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 9, the references teach the lure of claim 1, wherein Niese further teaches the programmable control unit is configured to cause the hatch to open for a predetermined duration sufficient to allow access by a target animal while limiting access by non-target animals (as described in previous rejections).
Regarding claim 10, the references teach the lure of claim 1, wherein Niese further teaches comprising mounting brackets on a backside of the container (near 75 in figure 3) for attaching the container to a support structure (such as the support structure of the solar panel 79 as shown in figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such arrangement of elements in order to enhance efficient power supply means to the system, etc.
Regarding claim 12, the references teach the lure of claim 1, wherein Griswold further teaches the container includes a top lid for accessing internal components for maintenance and refilling the food storage compartment (30 figure 1).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griswold and Niese in view of Smith US20230032312.
Regarding claim 5, the references teach the lure of claim 1, but do not specify wherein the programmable control unit is configured to activate a sound-producing device in response to actuation of the hatch.
Smith; however, does teach an audio alerting speaker (210 paragraph 0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a speaker, in order to efficient alert when food is accessible; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the references teach the lure of claim 5, wherein the programmable control unit comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) which is programmable via software to select the timing and duration of the opening and closing of the hatch and partition (all known components/functions of programmable control units).
Regarding claim 7, the references teach the lure of claim 5, wherein the sound-producing device is a speaker (see previous rejections) that is electrically connected to the programmable control unit (as previously described).
Regarding claim 8, the references teach the lure of claim 5, wherein Niese further teaches further comprising a power source (76 paragraph 0042 and figures 7-8) located within the container (described in paragraph 0042) that provides electrical power to the programmable control unit (also described in paragraph 0042), and a hatch motor assembly configured to actuate the hatch (see previous rejections);
but do not specify the sound-producing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such arrangement of parts, in order to protect elements from weather, etc.; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Furthermore, Smith teaches the sound-production device (see previous rejections). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a speaker, in order to efficient alert when food is accessible.
Regarding claim 13, the references teach the lure of claim 5, wherein the sound-producing device is a speaker integrated into the container and electrically connected to the programmable control unit (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 14, the references teach the lure of claim 5, wherein the programmable control unit comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) which is programmable via software to select the timing and duration of the opening and closing of the hatch and the actuation of the partition (see previous rejections).
Response to Arguments
Response to applicant’s arguments can be found in the updated rejections above.
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644