DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2019/0184095 A1), hereafter “Kim”.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an electroosmotic pump (see Fig. 5) comprising: a housing (7) that provides an inner space (see annotated Fig. 5 below) for containing a fluid therein and has a shaft hole (annotated below) connecting the inner space to an outer space thereof; and a shaft assembly (1, 17) that covers the shaft hole from an outside of the housing (see Fig. 5), is connected to the housing, and is capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid passing through the shaft hole (para 0046-0047, 0059; the examiner notes that “capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid…” is merely a description of the capabilities of the shaft assembly – it is clear that the diaphragm is flexible and therefore capable of changing in shape as claimed).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under a different interpretation of Kim below
As to claim 1, Kim discloses electroosmotic pump (see Fig. 5) comprising: a housing (19) that provides an inner space (annotated below) for containing a fluid therein and has a shaft hole (leftside opening of 19 that leads to space between 17) connecting the inner space to an outer space thereof (see Fig. 5); and a shaft assembly (1, 17) that covers the shaft hole from an outside of the housing, is connected to the housing, and is capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid passing through the shaft hole (para 0046-0047, 0059; the examiner notes that “capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid…” is merely a description of the capabilities of the shaft assembly – it is clear that the diaphragm is flexible and therefore capable of changing in shape as claimed).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 1, further comprising a membrane (25) that divides the inner space into a first space (space to left of membrane 25) and a second space (space to right of membrane 25), wherein the flow of the fluid passing through the shaft hole depends on a flow of the fluid passing through the membrane (para 0052, 0063, 0064).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hobson (US 6113366).
As to claim 1, Hobson discloses an electroosmotic pump (see Figs. 1-3) comprising: a housing (12) that provides an inner space (interior of 12, including the neck 21) for containing a fluid therein and has a shaft hole (top-most opening of neck 21) connecting the inner space to an outer space thereof; and a shaft assembly (11) that covers the shaft hole from an outside of the housing (Figs. 1-3), is connected to the housing (via threads; see para beginning line 40 col. 2), and is capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid passing through the shaft hole ()via bellows 24 expanding; the examiner notes that “capable of changing a shape in a longitudinal direction by a flow of the fluid…” is merely a description of the capabilities of the shaft assembly – it is clear that the bellows 24 are capable of changing in shape as claimed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, while Kim discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 1 as described above, and further discloses wherein the shaft assembly (1, 17) comprises: an expansion/contraction member (17) that forms an expansion/contraction space communicating with the shaft hole para (Fig. 5, para 0046-0047, 0059); but is silent to a rod member that is coupled to the expansion/contraction member and is formed to extend while sharing a longitudinal central axis with the expansion/contraction member in combination.
Claims 3-4 depend from claim 2.
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783