CTNF 18/746,175 CTNF 82662 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: PRINTING APPARATUS, METHOD OF CONTROLLING PRINTING APPARATUS, AND STORAGE MEDIUM COMPRISING PERFORMING A CONTINOUS PRINTNG PROCESS ON THE SECOND JOB BASED ON THE SETTING INFORMATION OF THE FIRST PRINT JOB AND RECEIVED SETTTING INFORMATION OF THE SECOND PRINT JOB . 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: reception unit in claims 14 and 15. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Kusakabe (US Pub 2017/0346973) . Re claim 1: Kusakabe discloses a printing apparatus, comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry which function as: a reception unit configured to receive print jobs including setting information and job data, and being capable of receiving the setting information of at least one second print job while a first print job is executed, the second print job being different from the first print job (e.g. the reception unit is used to receive a first setting associated with a first job and receiving first job print data. The first job setting information is received for a first print job initially. After starting the first print job, the system receives a second print job setting information and second print data while executing the first print job. This is taught in ¶ [47]-[49].); and [0047] FIG. 4 is a flowchart showing a flow of printing processing for a plurality of print jobs. At step S401, the reception unit 207 receives print setting information on a first print job transmitted from the external device 201. At step S402, the analysis unit 209 analyzes the print setting information on the first print job and acquires information relating to the print settings of the first print job. At this step, the information similar to that at step S302 in FIG. 3 is acquired. At step S403, the printer engine 206 starts printing of the first print job. It may also be possible to start the processing at S404 by skipping S403. At step S404, the reception unit 207 receives print setting information on a second print job. At step S405, the analysis unit 209 analyzes the print setting information on the second print job and acquires information relating to the print settings of the second print job. At this step, the information similar to that at step S302 in FIG. 3 is acquired. At step S406, the print job management unit 208 performs printing determination processing to determine whether continuous printing of the first print job and the second print job is possible. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S407. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S411. Details of step S406 will be described later by using FIG. 5. The continuous printing refers to the printing operation to perform printing continuously for a plurality of printing media without suspending feed and conveyance of printing media. In other words, the continuous printing refers to the printing operation to feed a printing medium for which printing is performed after a certain printing medium (preceding printing medium) to the conveyance path before discharge of the preceding printing medium is completed. In the case where the continuous printing is performed for each job, before discharge of all the sheets for which printing has been performed based on a job (preceding job) is completed, sheets for which printing is performed based on a job that is processed after the preceding job are fed to the conveyance path. [0048] In the following, the case where it is determined that continuous printing is possible at step S 406 is explained. The control unit 203 instructs the external device 201 to transmit the print data of the second print job before S 409 . At step S 407 , the print job management unit 208 performs blank sheet insertion-related processing. The blank sheet insertion-related processing is processing to determine whether to insert a blank page between the last page of the first print job and the first page of the second print job and to perform control so as to insert a blank page based on the results of the determination. Details of step S 407 will be described later by using FIG. 6. At step S 408 , the print job management unit 208 gives instructions to feed additional sheets in the number necessary for the continuous printing of the first print jog and the second print job via the command generation unit 214 . In accordance of the instructions, the printer engine 206 feeds sheets in the number necessary for the printing of both the first print job and the second print job. At step S 409 , the printer engine 206 performs printing of the second print job continuously following the first print job. At this time, the printer engine 206 does not suspend. At step S 410 , the print job management unit 208 completes the first print job and the second print job. At this step, in the case where all the pages are discharged to the sheet discharge tray 111 for each of the first print job and the second print job, the first print job and the second print job are completed. [0049] In the following, the case where it is determined that continuous printing is not possible at step S 406 is explained. At step S 411 , the print job management unit 208 completes the first print job. At step S 412 , the print job management unit 208 suspends the printer engine 206 . At step S 413 , the printer engine 206 starts printing of the second print job and after all the pages of the second print job are discharged to the sheet discharge tray 111 , at step S 414 , the print job management unit 208 completes the second print job. a control unit configured to perform a continuous printing process on the second print job based on the setting information of the first print job and the received setting information of the second print job (e.g. the system determines if continuous printing occurs by comparing criteria associated with both jobs, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [51].). (About Processing to Determine Whether Continuous Printing is Possible) [0050] FIG. 5 is a detailed flowchart of the processing at step S406 in FIG. 4. The print job management unit 208 has received the print setting information on the first print job and the print setting information on the second print job from the external device and by using the information, the processing to be explained below will be enabled. At step S501, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the sheet size in the first print job and the sheet size in the second print job are the same. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S502. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. At step S502, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the sheet type in the first print job and the sheet type in the second print job are the same. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S503. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. At step S503, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the setting of the printing side (i.e., one-side printing or both-side printing) in the first print job and the setting of the printing side in the second print job are the same. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S504. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. At step S504, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the printing resolution in the first print job and the printing resolution in the second print job are the same. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S505. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. It is assumed that the image forming apparatus 100 in the present embodiment is capable of printing with printing resolutions of 300 dpi, 600 dpi, 1200 dpi and the like. At step S505, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the number of colors used for the first print job and the number of colors used for the second print job are the same. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S506. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. As the number of colors, for example, four of C, M, Y, and K colors, or seven of C, M, Y, K, LC, LM, and G colors is considered. [0051] At step S506, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the number of copies to be printed of the first print job is larger than or equal to a threshold value K. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S507. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S508. At step S507, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the number of copies to be printed of the second print job is larger than or equal to the threshold value K. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S509. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. At step S508, the print job management unit 208 determines whether the number of copies to be printed of the second print job is less than the threshold value K. In the case where the results of the determination are affirmative, the processing advances to step S509. On the other hand, in the case where the results of the determination are negative, the processing advances to step S511. [0052] In the following, the reason that the relationship in magnitude between the number of copies to be printed of the print job and the threshold value K is determined at step S506 to step S508 is explained. Re claim 2: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes a type and size of a print medium (e.g. the type and size of the sheets are compared, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [51] above.). Re claim 3: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the continuous printing process starts feeding a print medium for the second print job while a final page in a printing process of the first print job is printed (e.g. the system discloses feeding a sheet for the second page while printing the first print job and feeding a sheet for the last remaining pages of the first print job, which is taught in ¶ [48] above.). Re claim 5: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further function as an image processing unit configured to perform image processing on the job data of the print jobs (e.g. the system discloses an image processing unit that is used to perform image processing, which is taught in ¶ [33].), and [0033] FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing a function configuration of the image forming apparatus 100 in the present embodiment. The image forming apparatus 100 forms (prints) an image on a sheet based on print data and print setting information transmitted from the external device 201. The external device 201 is a high-spec PC or server mounting software for performing RIP processing and print job control processing and generally called a digital front end. The external device 201 receives a print job (including print data and print setting information) transmitted by an end user via a PC (not shown schematically) and first transmits the print setting information to a control unit 203. After this, the external device 201 transmits the print data to an image processing unit 204. The external device 201 generates bitmap data from the print data included in the print job received from the PC of a user and transmits the bitmap data to the image processing unit 204 as print data. the image processing unit performs the image processing on image data of the second print job after a printing process of the first print job is completed (e.g. when it is determined that the continuous processing is not performed, the second job is received after suspending the print engine and the second job is processed for printing. The image processing occurs in step 413 when printing is started, which is taught in ¶ [49] above.). Re claim 7: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a single information processing apparatus is connected to the printing apparatus, the reception unit starts receiving the job data of the second print job before processing of image data of the first print job is completed (e.g. the system can begin to process the first print data and print the first print job. When printing or processing the first print job, the second job can be received for processing before the first job is completed in order to perform continuous printing. This is taught in ¶ [47] and [48] above.). Re claim 12: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the image processing unit performs the image processing on the image data of the second print job after analysis of the first print job is completed (e.g. when it is determined that the continuous processing is not performed, the second job is received after suspending the print engine and the second job is processed for printing. The image processing occurs in step 413 when printing is started and when the first print job analysis and printing is completed, which is taught in ¶ [49] above.). Re claim 13: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a printing process based on another print job included in a same session has not been completed, the reception unit does not start receiving a print job in a new session, and the control unit executes the printing process based on the another print job (e.g. a first job can print and the second setting information can allow the system to determine that continuous printing cannot be performed. At this point, the second print data is not acquired at the engine until the first print job is completed, or a third print job is completed. This is explained in ¶ [49], [69] and [70] above.). [0069] In the above-described embodiments, the case where the continuous printing of two print jobs is performed, specifically, the case where the second print job is received during printing of the first print job is explained, but the present invention can be applied also to the case where the continuous printing of three or more print jobs is performed. In the following, explanation is given by supposing a case where the image processing device receives the third print job, the first print job, and the second print job in this order. [0070] Of course, the present invention can also be applied to a case where, for example, before the image forming apparatus 100 prints the first print job, the third print job is being printed, and before the printing of the first print job is started, the second print job is received. Specifically, in the case where the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job is possible, at step S509, it is sufficient to read the “number of remaining sheets to be printed of the job being printed” as the “number of remaining sheets to be printed of the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job”. On the other hand, in the case where the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job is not possible, there is enough time before printing of the first print job is started, and therefore, it is sufficient to determine YES at step S509 by regarding T as being 0. It is possible to apply the present embodiment to the first embodiment and the second embodiment. Re claim 14: Kusakabe discloses a method of controlling a printing apparatus which exchanges data with an information processing apparatus, the method comprising: in a reception unit (interpretation: An operation display unit I/F 308 connects an operation display unit 313 and the control unit 302. The operation display unit 313 includes a liquid crystal display unit with a touch panel function, operation keys, and the like, and functions as a reception unit that receives user instructions, which is taught in ¶ [16]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to receive jobs including setting information and job data from the information processing apparatus, receiving the setting information of a second print job from the information processing apparatus while a first print job is executed (e.g. the reception unit is used to receive a first setting associated with a first job and receiving first job print data. The first job setting information is received for a first print job initially. After starting the first print job, the system receives a second print job setting information and second print data while executing the first print job. This is taught in ¶ [47]-[49] above.); and performing a continuous printing process on the second print job based on the setting information of the first print job and the received setting information of the second print job (e.g. when it is determined that the second print job can be continuously printed, the printer sends a command to send the second print job print data to the printer before step 409, which is taught in ¶ [48] above.). Re claim 15: Kusakabe discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform a method of controlling a printing apparatus which exchanges data with an information processing apparatus, the method comprising: in a reception unit configured to receive jobs including setting information and job data from the information processing apparatus, receiving the setting information of a second print job from the information processing apparatus while a first print job is executed (e.g. the reception unit is used to receive a first setting associated with a first job and receiving first job print data. The first job setting information is received for a first print job initially. After starting the first print job, the system receives a second print job setting information and second print data while executing the first print job. This is taught in ¶ [47]-[49] above.); and performing a continuous printing process on the second print job based on the setting information of the first print job and the received setting information of the second print job (e.g. when it is determined that the second print job can be continuously printed, the printer sends a command to send the second print job print data to the printer before step 409, which is taught in ¶ [48] above.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusakabe in view of Shima (US Pub 2006/0174370) . Re claim 4: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further function as a sending unit configured to: in a case where the reception unit receives the second print job while the first print job is executed, send a response to an information processing apparatus being a sending source of the second print job after receiving the setting information of the second print job (e.g. the second job print setting information is received while the first print job data is printing, which is taught in ¶ [47] and [48] above. The system determines if the second job is continuous or not based on comparing the jobs, which is taught in ¶ [50]-[52] above.), the response indicating a negative acknowledgment to send the second print job; and in a case where the continuous printing process can be performed, send a response to the information processing apparatus that sent the second print job with which the continuous printing process can be performed, the response indicating an acknowledgment to send the second print job (e.g. when it is determined that the second print job can be continuously printed, the printer sends a command to send the second print job print data to the printer before step 409, which is taught in ¶ [48] above.). However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of the response indicating a negative acknowledgment to send the second print job. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Shima. Similar to the primary reference, Shima discloses allowing the sending of a job (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Shima discloses the response indicating a negative acknowledgment to send the second print job (e.g. the system discloses a printer that responds by sending a denial in receiving a print job, which serves as a negative acknowledgement of sending a job. This is taught in ¶ [166].). [0166] In the receiving status determining module 54, the notification receiving module 544 determines whether or not one or more permission notifications have been received (Step S712). In other words, this is the same as determining whether or not there are one or more distribution destination printers wherein the print job receiving module 60 is in an immediate receiving-capable state. The receiving status determining module 54 returns to Step S708 after a specific amount of wait time has elapsed (Step S714) when the received notifications are all denial notifications (Step S712: No). On the other hand, the distribution control module 50 established a connection (Step S716), for sending the print job, with the distribution destination printers that have sent a permission notification in the case wherein the receiving status determining module 54 has received at least one permission notifications (Step S712: Yes). The print job sending module 56 of the distribution control module 50 sends the print job (Step S718) to the distribution destination printer that have sent the permission notifications, through the connections that have been established. The sending of the print jobs is performed through repeating the packet distribution PD in the same manner as in the first embodiment. Therefore, in view of Shima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the response indicating a negative acknowledgment to send the second print job, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to provide a negative acknowledgement of sensing job data when it relates to distributing jobs, which can provide smooth distribution of the jobs in a printing process (as stated in Shima ¶ [09]). Re claim 6: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the reception unit starts receiving the job data of the second print job after processing of image data of the first print job is completed (e.g. the system discloses the process of the second job being received after the first print job processing is completed, which is taught in ¶ [47] and [49] above.). However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of in a case where plural information processing apparatuses are connected to the printing apparatus. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Shima. Similar to the primary reference, Shima discloses allowing the sending of a job (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Shima discloses in a case where plural information processing apparatuses are connected to the printing apparatus (e.g. a plurality of clients are connected to one or more printing apparatuses, which is seen in figure 1 and disclosed in ¶ [48].). [0048] This distributed printing system, as shown in FIG. 1, includes a plurality of computers as clients (hereinafter termed simply "client") CLa and CLb, and a plurality of printers PRT1 through PRT4. The clients CLa and CLb are connected via a local area network (LAN) to printers PRT1 through PRT4. Communications between each of the devices is performed using the TCP-IP protocol, and this IP addresses are assigned to each of the devices. For convenience in explanation, it is here assumed that the IP addresses assigned to the clients CLa and CLb are, respectively, "IPa" and "IPb" and that the IP addresses assigned to each of the printers PRT1 through PRT4 are, respectively "IP1" through "IP4." Note that, strictly speaking, these IP addresses are not set for the clients CLa and CLb or the printers PRT1 through PRT4, but rather are set at nodes in the TCP/IP network (for example, network boards connected to the network for TCP/IP communication). Therefore, in view of Shima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in a case where plural information processing apparatuses are connected to the printing apparatus, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to have a plurality of client computers connected to a printer and manage the distribution of jobs to the printer, which can improve the distribution of jobs in the printing process (as stated in Shima ¶ [09]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusakabe in view of Common Knowledge of Printer recovery (Official Notice) . Re claim 8: However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit does not perform the continuous printing process in a case where a predetermined operation is needed after a printing process of the first print job is completed. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of Printer recovery. Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses a system is stopped to perform maintenance of consumables (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses wherein the control unit does not perform the continuous printing process in a case where a predetermined operation is needed after a printing process of the first print job is completed (e.g. it is well known to stop or pause system operation when ink has run out after a first print job has completed printing or paper has run out. This would stop printing or halt the printing operation and not allow for continuous printing. If the second job in the queue is paused based on the consumable running out and it has a number of copies greater than a threshold in step 508 in figure 5B of the primary reference, the continuous printing will not be performed.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Printer recovery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the control unit does not perform the continuous printing process in a case where a predetermined operation is needed after a printing process of the first print job is completed, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to stop continuous printing after a first job is printed after an operation is needed after a first job to recover the printing apparatus, which will allow for the user to improve the operational function of the printer form the error status. Re claim 9: However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of the printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined operation is replacement of a printing agent. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of Printer recovery. Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses a system is stopped to perform maintenance of consumables (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses wherein the predetermined operation is replacement of a printing agent (e.g. it is well known to stop or pause system operation when ink has run out after a first print job has completed printing or paper has run out. This would stop printing or halt the printing operation and not allow for continuous printing. If the second job in the queue is paused based on the consumable running out and it has a number of copies greater than a threshold in step 508 in figure 5B of the primary reference, the continuous printing will not be performed.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Printer recovery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the predetermined operation is replacement of a printing agent, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to stop continuous printing after a first job is printed after an operation is needed after a first job to recover the printing apparatus, which will allow for the user to improve the operational function of the printer form the error status. Re claim 10: However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of the printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined operation is a maintenance operation for a printing unit. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of Printer recovery. Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses a system is stopped to perform maintenance of consumables (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Printer recovery discloses wherein the predetermined operation is a maintenance operation for a printing unit (e.g. it is well known to stop or pause system operation when ink has run out after a first print job has completed printing or paper has run out. This would stop printing or halt the printing operation and not allow for continuous printing. If the second job in the queue is paused based on the consumable running out and it has a number of copies greater than a threshold in step 508 in figure 5B of the primary reference, the continuous printing will not be performed.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Printer recovery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the predetermined operation is a maintenance operation for a printing unit, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to stop continuous printing after a first job is printed after an operation is needed after a first job to recover the printing apparatus, which will allow for the user to improve the operational function of the printer form the error status . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusakabe in view of Koike (US Pub 2006/0050307) . Re claim 11: Kusakabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the setting information of a print job to be subjected to the continuous printing process is not received until a printing process of the first print job is completed (e.g. a third print job can be considered as the first job received for printing. The first job can be received after the third print job and continuous printing can occur between the first job and second print job. This is taught in ¶ [69] and [70] above.). [0069] In the above-described embodiments, the case where the continuous printing of two print jobs is performed, specifically, the case where the second print job is received during printing of the first print job is explained, but the present invention can be applied also to the case where the continuous printing of three or more print jobs is performed. In the following, explanation is given by supposing a case where the image processing device receives the third print job, the first print job, and the second print job in this order. [0070] Of course, the present invention can also be applied to a case where, for example, before the image forming apparatus 100 prints the first print job, the third print job is being printed, and before the printing of the first print job is started, the second print job is received. Specifically, in the case where the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job is possible, at step S509, it is sufficient to read the “number of remaining sheets to be printed of the job being printed” as the “number of remaining sheets to be printed of the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job”. On the other hand, in the case where the continuous printing of the third print job and the first print job is not possible, there is enough time before printing of the first print job is started, and therefore, it is sufficient to determine YES at step S509 by regarding T as being 0. It is possible to apply the present embodiment to the first embodiment and the second embodiment. However, Kusakabe fails to specifically teach the features of the control unit selects a print job whose number of continuous printing processes is largest in the setting information of the second print job, and performs the continuous printing process on the print job. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Koike. Similar to the primary reference, Koike discloses performing continuous printing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Koike discloses of the control unit selects a print job whose number of continuous printing processes is largest in the setting information of the second print job, and performs the continuous printing process on the print job (e.g. the user can manually select and choose a print job that contains the largest amount of copies to be used with another job for continuous printing. This is taught in the settings that can be changed in figure 12 and the settings that can be selected in ¶ [52]. The section that describes the user manually selecting the jobs for continuous printing is in ¶ [48]-[52].). [0048] In this embodiment, upon reading out and printing print job data saved in the HDD 2004 in accordance with operations of the operator at the operation unit 2012, the operator can select not only one print job data but also a plurality of print job data of his or her choice from a plurality of print job data (a plurality of document data) held in the HDD 2004, and the plurality of print job data of operator's choice in the HDD 2004 can be continuously printed by the printer 2095 together. [0049] In addition, the image forming apparatus 202 of this embodiment has a mode (immediate continuous print mode; a continuous print mode in a description given later) of allowing, when a plurality of print job data of operator's choice are to be continuously printed together in this way, to continuously print these print job data together as they are selected to be continuously printed. [0050] Furthermore, the image forming apparatus 202 of this embodiment has a mode (date-designated continuous print mode) of inhibiting, when a plurality of print job data of operator's choice are to be continuously printed together in this way, these print job data from being continuously printed as they are selected to be continuously printed, and allowing to continuously print these print job data together at a timing designated by the operator. [0051] When the operator selects a plurality of independent print job data to be continuously printed via the operation unit 2012, the operator himself or herself can determine via the operation unit 2012 whether the MFP 202 is operated in the continuous print mode or the date-designated continuous print mode of these print modes. [0052] In this embodiment, printing condition information that describes printing conditions (the number of copies to be printed, print density, selected paper, sorter, binding margin, two-sided copy, and the like) set by the operator in a job of each of a plurality of independent print job data., which are saved in the HDD 2004 under the control of the CPU 2001, is generated, and can be stored and held in the HDD 2004 in association with the print job data. Upon printing job data saved in the HDD 2004, the printer 2905 can print the job in accordance with the printing condition information associated with that job. Therefore, in view of Koike, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the control unit selects a print job whose number of continuous printing processes is largest in the setting information of the second print job, and performs the continuous printing process on the print job, incorporated in the device of Kusakabe, in order to select a job with a largest setting information for a job used in continuous printing, which improves the operability of the MFP as well as prevent system resource waste (as stated in Koike ¶ [05]-[07]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kurita discloses continuous printing. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD S DICKERSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at 571-270-5254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 18 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 19 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 20 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/746,175 Page 21 Art Unit: 2683