DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks received on August 06, 2026. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The previous 101 rejection has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
With regard to claims 1 and 17, the act of converting the first file into a second file with a second format in which additional information is able to be added reflects the improvement ensuring the file is in a format that can utilize additional information for more effective use of the image file. This is outlined in the specification at paragraphs 0005-0007. As such, this integrates the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim improves the functioning of a computer or technical field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 13, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kimura et al. (US 20120274846) and Matsuzawa et al. (US 2014/0372390).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura et al. discloses an image file conversion method comprising:
an acquisition step of acquiring a first image file including image data in which an object has been recorded (“An imaging device 1 includes a video camera, a digital camera, or the like. A video content of a user or the like captured by the imaging device 1 is transferred to a network 3 such as the Internet via a terminal device 2 such as a personal computer (PC) or directly by WiFi, WiMax, or the like, together with management/recognition information such as a user ID and a password necessary for the user to use a video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4. The video content transferred to the network 3 is input to the video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4 (secondary content provision system 4) which is a server through a video input unit 4a” at paragraph 0047, line 1);
a determination step of determining whether or not a first format, which is a file format of the first image file, satisfies a condition (“The video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4 mainly includes a still image/moving image determining unit 10 that determines whether a video content uploaded together with the recognition information such as the user ID and the password from the user's imaging device or terminal device via the network is a still image or a moving image” at paragraph 0054, line 1); and
a conversion step of converting the first image file into a second image file whose file format is a second format, in which the additional information is capable of being added, in a case where the first format does not satisfy the condition (“The video standard converting unit 11 is connected to the video dividing unit 12 when the still image/moving image determining unit 10 determines that a video content is a moving image. However, the video standard converting unit 11 is connected to the classification/detection category assigning unit 13 while bypassing the video dividing unit 12 when the still image/moving image determining unit 10 determines that a video content is a still image. Thus, a video section or a section video divided by the video dividing unit 12 may be regarded as including a case of a still image bypassing the video dividing unit 12 as well as a case of a moving image and may be subjected to processing of the classification/detection category assigning unit 13 and subsequent processing” at paragraph 0055; “a classification/detection category to the video section divided by the video dividing unit 12, a metadata creating unit 14 that creates metadata including the classification/detection category, a primary content storing unit 15 that stores a video section file of the video content in association with the metadata as a primary content” at paragraph 0054, line 12).
Kimura et al. does not explicitly disclose a condition in which additional information including information related to the object or information of a right related to the first image file is capable of being added.
Matsuzawa et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of file management, in which additional information including information related to the object or information of a right related to the first image file is capable of being added (“The possibility information F29 records therein: prohibition information related to a state of a prohibition flag that sets whether or not additional recording of new information or change, with respect to each meta information in the header information storage area F2 and image data storage area F3, by the portable device 300 when the image file is transmitted to the SNS server 200 is possible” at paragraph 0084, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the propriety metadata as taught by Matsuzawa et al. during the format determination of Kimura et al. to establish whether the original file may be altered prior to subsequent conversion processing.
Regarding claim 17, Kimura et al. discloses an image file conversion device comprising:
a processor (implied processor of creating platform),
wherein the processor is configured to execute:
an acquisition process of acquiring a first image file including image data in which an object has been recorded (“An imaging device 1 includes a video camera, a digital camera, or the like. A video content of a user or the like captured by the imaging device 1 is transferred to a network 3 such as the Internet via a terminal device 2 such as a personal computer (PC) or directly by WiFi, WiMax, or the like, together with management/recognition information such as a user ID and a password necessary for the user to use a video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4. The video content transferred to the network 3 is input to the video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4 (secondary content provision system 4) which is a server through a video input unit 4a” at paragraph 0047, line 1);
a determination process of determining whether or not a first format, which is a file format of the first image file, satisfies a condition (“The video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4 mainly includes a still image/moving image determining unit 10 that determines whether a video content uploaded together with the recognition information such as the user ID and the password from the user's imaging device or terminal device via the network is a still image or a moving image” at paragraph 0054, line 1); and
a conversion process of converting the first image file into a second image file whose file format is a second format, in which the additional information is capable of being added, in a case where the first format does not satisfy the condition (“The video standard converting unit 11 is connected to the video dividing unit 12 when the still image/moving image determining unit 10 determines that a video content is a moving image. However, the video standard converting unit 11 is connected to the classification/detection category assigning unit 13 while bypassing the video dividing unit 12 when the still image/moving image determining unit 10 determines that a video content is a still image. Thus, a video section or a section video divided by the video dividing unit 12 may be regarded as including a case of a still image bypassing the video dividing unit 12 as well as a case of a moving image and may be subjected to processing of the classification/detection category assigning unit 13 and subsequent processing” at paragraph 0055; “a classification/detection category to the video section divided by the video dividing unit 12, a metadata creating unit 14 that creates metadata including the classification/detection category, a primary content storing unit 15 that stores a video section file of the video content in association with the metadata as a primary content” at paragraph 0054, line 12).
Kimura et al. does not explicitly disclose a condition in which additional information including information related to the object or information of a right related to the first image file is capable of being added.
Matsuzawa et al. teaches a device in the same field of endeavor of file management, in which additional information including information related to the object or information of a right related to the first image file is capable of being added (“The possibility information F29 records therein: prohibition information related to a state of a prohibition flag that sets whether or not additional recording of new information or change, with respect to each meta information in the header information storage area F2 and image data storage area F3, by the portable device 300 when the image file is transmitted to the SNS server 200 is possible” at paragraph 0084, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the propriety metadata as taught by Matsuzawa et al. during the format determination of Kimura et al. to establish whether the original file may be altered prior to subsequent conversion processing.
Regarding claim 2, Kimura et al. discloses a method wherein the additional information related to the object includes information related to a type of the object and information related to an attribute of the object or a position of the object in an angle of view of the image data (“In step S5, the metadata creating unit 27 creates metadata corresponding to the section video. The metadata is created to include the user ID, section video file information including video content information (an imaging date and time, a content replay time, a file ID before and after division, a division location, a division order, and the like) before and after division, time information of a section video, a classification/detection category, each item of a classification/detection category, and a conformity degree of each item, which are acquired in steps S3 and S4, coordinate information of a relevant part, and the like” at paragraph 0092).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuzawa et al. discloses a method wherein the additional information of the right related to the first image file includes information of whether or not the first image file is capable of being used or modified or information of a right holder related to the first image file (“The copyright information F27 records therein information on an owner of the imaging apparatus 100” at paragraph 0082; “The possibility information F29 records therein: prohibition information related to a state of a prohibition flag that sets whether or not additional recording of new information or change, with respect to each meta information in the header information storage area F2 and image data storage area F3, by the portable device 300 when the image file is transmitted to the SNS server 200 is possible” at paragraph 0084, line 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kimura et al. discloses a method further comprising:
an output step of extracting a frame image from video image data and outputting an image file including the image data of the frame image (“Since the still image needs not be divided into section videos, the video section dividing unit 23 is bypassed, and so the still image becomes the section video "as is"” at paragraph 0060, last sentence), wherein, in a case where the image data of the first image file is the video image data and the first format does not satisfy the condition, in the output step, an image file whose file format is the second format is output (“As illustrated in FIG. 3, the video recognition/secondary content creating platform 4 includes a video input unit 21 that receives a video content transmitted together with the user authentication information via the network 3, a video standard converting unit 22 that converts, for example, a video of a DV format or a JPEG vide of a still image into an MPEG2 or uncompressed video, and a video section dividing unit 23 that divides the converted video into section videos such as scenes or shots in which a series of relevant contents are consecutive” at paragraph 0060, line 1).
Regarding claim 7, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses a method further comprising: an addition step of adding the additional information to the first image file, the addition step being executed in a case where the first format satisfies the condition (“The copyright information F27 records therein information on an owner of the imaging apparatus 100” at paragraph 0082; “The possibility information F29 records therein: prohibition information related to a state of a prohibition flag that sets whether or not additional recording of new information or change, with respect to each meta information in the header information storage area F2 and image data storage area F3, by the portable device 300 when the image file is transmitted to the SNS server 200 is possible” Matsuzawa et al. at paragraph 0084, line 1; given that the original video file of Kimura et al. is able to be modified, it would therefore follow that metadata corresponding to the section video is able to be notated in the metadata structure of the original video file to associate the data together).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura et al. discloses a method further comprising: an addition step of adding the additional information to the second image file (“a classification/detection category to the video section divided by the video dividing unit 12, a metadata creating unit 14 that creates metadata including the classification/detection category, a primary content storing unit 15 that stores a video section file of the video content in association with the metadata as a primary content” at paragraph 0054, line 12; the metadata is created only for the video data).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura et al. discloses a method wherein, in the addition step, history information related to the addition of the additional information is added as the additional information to the image file (“In step S5, the metadata creating unit 27 creates metadata corresponding to the section video. The metadata is created to include the user ID, section video file information including video content information (an imaging date and time, a content replay time, a file ID before and after division, a division location, a division order, and the like) before and after division, time information of a section video, a classification/detection category, each item of a classification/detection category, and a conformity degree of each item, which are acquired in steps S3 and S4, coordinate information of a relevant part, and the like” at paragraph 0092).
Regarding claim 14, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses a method wherein, in a case where the additional information includes refusal information for refusing a change in the additional information, the addition step for information corresponding to the refusal information in the additional information is not executed (“The copyright information F27 records therein information on an owner of the imaging apparatus 100” at paragraph 0082; “The possibility information F29 records therein: prohibition information related to a state of a prohibition flag that sets whether or not additional recording of new information or change, with respect to each meta information in the header information storage area F2 and image data storage area F3, by the portable device 300 when the image file is transmitted to the SNS server 200 is possible” Matsuzawa et al. at paragraph 0084, line 1).
Regarding claim 18, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program causing a computer to execute each of the acquisition step, the determination step, and the conversion step included in the image file conversion method according to claim 1 (“In some embodiments, a non-transitory computer readable recording medium with an executable program stored thereon is presented. The program instructs a processor provided in an information device that is communicatable via a network and that generates an image file” Matsuzawa et al. at paragraph 0016, line 1; programmed computer is also implied in Kimura et al. to execute the video format conversion).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka (US 2008/0030759).
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses the elements of claim 1 as described above.
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the first format has extension information, in the determination step, it is determined whether or not the extension information of the first format is the extension information satisfying the condition, and in a case where the extension information of the first format is not the extension information satisfying the condition, in the conversion step, the first image file is converted into the second image file having the extension information satisfying the condition.
Tanaka teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of file conversion,
the first format has extension information (“In more detail, the registration controller 110 obtains the name of the electronic file to obtain the MIME Type from an extension included in the name of the electronic file. Alternatively, the registration controller 110 may obtain the MIME Type from a signal input from the input portion, or may obtain the MIME Type by checking binary data in the header section or the like of the electronic file” at paragraph 0034),
in the determination step, it is determined whether or not the extension information of the first format is the extension information satisfying the condition (the version of the file is examined in accordance with Table 2), and
in a case where the extension information of the first format is not the extension information satisfying the condition, in the conversion step, the first image file is converted into the second image file having the extension information satisfying the condition (“Referring back to FIG. 1, a description of the configuration of the electronic file conversion apparatus 100 will be continued. The conversion registering portion 130 is connected to the file database 120 and the execution notifying portion 140. The conversion registering portion 130 receives the file identification information in association with the program identification information from the execution notifying portion 140” at paragraph 0056; as shown in Table 2, files under the old version are converted to the new version using the listed program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize an extension check as taught by Tanaka in the determination of the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination as a quick way to determine whether the file is of a particular format that needs to be converted for further processing.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeitlin et al. (US 2015/0106478).
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses the elements of claim 1 as described above.
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the first format has version information of a standard related to the addition of the additional information, in the determination step, it is determined whether or not the version information of the first format is the version information satisfying the condition, and in a case where the version information of the first format is not the version information satisfying the condition, in the conversion step, the first image file is converted into the second image file having the version information satisfying the condition.
Zeitlin et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of file conversion,
wherein the first format has version information of a standard related to the addition of the additional information, in the determination step, it is determined whether or not the version information of the first format is the version information satisfying the condition (“FIG. 4B is a flow diagram illustrating embodiments of a process 208 of checking compatibility in accordance with embodiments of the present technology. As shown in FIG. 4B, the process 208 includes detecting requestor characteristics at stage 230. The requestor characteristics can include at least one of an application type, version, compatible file format(s), a maximum file size, and/or other suitable information” at paragraph 0051, line 1), and
in a case where the version information of the first format is not the version information satisfying the condition, in the conversion step, the first image file is converted into the second image file having the version information satisfying the condition (“The process 208 then includes determining compatibility between the requestor and the requested file (or generated data stream) at stage 232. In one embodiment, determining the compatibility can include comparing respective characteristics of the requestor to those of the requested file” at paragraph 0052, line 1; In response to that an indication of compatibility, the process 208 proceeds to returning requested file (or data stream) at stage 232. Otherwise, the process 208 includes providing notification to the requestor at stage 234. Optionally, the process 208 may also include adjusting data attributes based on the determined compatibility at stage 236. For instance, in the previously example, a target file size for the requested file may be reduced from 100 Mb to 32 Mb by extracting a beginning segment of the requested file. In another example, a target file format compatible with the requestor may be assigned to the file request. In further examples, a combination of the foregoing and/or other suitable operations may be performed. The process 208 may then include modifying the requested file (or data stream) based on the adjusted data attributes at stage 238, as described in more detail above with reference to FIG. 4A” at paragraph 0052, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a version check as taught by Zeitlin et al. in the determination of the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination as a quick way to determine whether the file is of a particular format that needs to be converted for further processing.
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sano et al. (US 2009/0274369).
Regarding claim 9, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses the elements of claim 7 as described above.
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination does not explicitly disclose a decision step of deciding an item of the additional information to be added to the image file in the addition step.
Sano et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of file management and file conversion, comprising:
a decision step of deciding an item of the additional information to be added to the image file in the addition step (“As the metadata, information such as one or more of area information, width, height, user information, information on installation location of the MFP, and information on the time of the input of the image, etc., may be displayed. Here, in this example, the object has a photograph attribute, and by using morpheme analysis, lexical categories such as nouns and verbs are identified, decomposed, and taken out from OCR information of a character object near the photograph object, and displayed. The result is a character string "TEXT" shown in the region 2401. By pressing the button 2404, metadata can be edited, added, and deleted” at paragraph 0183, line 6; this demonstrates that a user is able to decide if and what metadata should be added to the file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the user interface as taught by Sano et al. in the system of the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination to allow the user control over what metadata should be added to the file.
Regarding claim 10, the Kimura et al., Matsuzawa et al. and Sano et al. combination discloses a method
wherein, in a case where the additional information is capable of being added for a plurality of the items,
in the decision step, one mode is selected from at least two modes among a mode in which the additional information is added for the item designated by a user (“By pressing the button 2404, metadata can be edited, added, and deleted” Sano et al. at paragraph 0183, last sentence), a mode in which the additional information is added for a predetermined item (“a classification/detection category to the video section divided by the video dividing unit 12, a metadata creating unit 14 that creates metadata including the classification/detection category, a primary content storing unit 15 that stores a video section file of the video content in association with the metadata as a primary content” Kimura et al. at paragraph 0054, line 12), and a mode in which the additional information is added for all of the plurality of items, and
in the addition step, the additional information is added according to the selected one mode (the metadata is added accordingly).
Regarding claim 11, the Kimura et al., Matsuzawa et al. and Sano et al. combination discloses a method
wherein, in the addition step, the additional information for a new item set at a second time point after a first time point is added to the image file to which the additional information was added at the first time point (“As the metadata, information such as one or more of area information, width, height, user information, information on installation location of the MFP, and information on the time of the input of the image, etc., may be displayed. Here, in this example, the object has a photograph attribute, and by using morpheme analysis, lexical categories such as nouns and verbs are identified, decomposed, and taken out from OCR information of a character object near the photograph object, and displayed. The result is a character string "TEXT" shown in the region 2401. By pressing the button 2404, metadata can be edited, added, and deleted” Sano et al. at paragraph 0183, line 6; this allows the user to add metadata to existing metadata in the file, which would include previously added metadata from the other mode).
Regarding claim 12, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses the elements of claim 7 as described above.
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination does not explicitly disclose an addition mode in which related information related to the added additional information is added to the image file to which the additional information has been added is selectable, and in a case where the addition mode is selected, the related information related to the additional information added for a target item is added.
Sano et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of file management and file conversion
wherein an addition mode in which related information related to the added additional information is added to the image file to which the additional information has been added is selectable, and in a case where the addition mode is selected, the related information related to the additional information added for a target item is added (“As the metadata, information such as one or more of area information, width, height, user information, information on installation location of the MFP, and information on the time of the input of the image, etc., may be displayed. Here, in this example, the object has a photograph attribute, and by using morpheme analysis, lexical categories such as nouns and verbs are identified, decomposed, and taken out from OCR information of a character object near the photograph object, and displayed. The result is a character string "TEXT" shown in the region 2401. By pressing the button 2404, metadata can be edited, added, and deleted” at paragraph 0183, line 6; this demonstrates that a user is able to decide if and what target metadata should be added to the file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the user interface as taught by Sano et al. in the system of the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination to allow the user control over what metadata should be added to the file.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tagawa (JP2008257471).
Regarding claim 15, the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination discloses the elements of claim 7 as described above.
The Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination does not explicitly disclose a setting step of setting a range of the object, to which the additional information is added in the addition step, in an angle of view of the image data.
Tagawa teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of image file metadata management, comprising:
a setting step of setting a range of the object, to which the additional information is added in the addition step, in an angle of view of the image data (“The subject candidate determination process in step S1702 is a process of determining the subject area in the image that is thought to be the main subject, and is implemented by subject image recognition technology, a method of identifying the subject position using distance measurement points and photometric points, a method of identifying the subject position by key input of the image area (subject area), etc. (subject area selection means)” at paragraph 0112, line 1; “The subject metadata information table 2501 stores information such as image coordinates, ellipse radius, main data, and sub-data for each subject” at paragraph 0131, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the object coordinate metadata as taught by Tagawa as additional information in the Kimura et al. and Matsuzawa et al. combination to identify characteristics of the object of interest in the image.
Regarding claim 16, Tagawa discloses a method wherein, in the setting step, the range is set on the basis of an in-focus position in image capture (“The subject candidate determination process in step S1702 is a process of determining the subject area in the image that is thought to be the main subject, and is implemented by subject image recognition technology, a method of identifying the subject position using distance measurement points and photometric points, a method of identifying the subject position by key input of the image area (subject area), etc. (subject area selection means)” at paragraph 0112, line 1; implied that the main subject is in-focus).
Response to Arguments
Summary of Remarks (@ response page labeled 8): “Kimura describes determination of whether it is a still image or a moving image, and this determination does not correspond to the constitutional step of "determining whether or not a file format (first format) of the image satisfies a condition in which additional information is
capable of being added." This is because in Kimura, regardless of whether determination result is a moving image or a still image, a classification/detection category (corresponding to additional information) is assigned, and metadata including the information is created; Kimura does not require determining whether additional information can be added or not.”
Examiner’s Response: As stated in the Office Action, Kimura et al. determines whether the data corresponds to a still image or a moving image, which is a determination whether the data is of a format that satisfies a condition. The video image is deemed to not be able to continue to the classification and metadata steps until it is first divided into sections, thereby demonstrating that the video image does not immediately satisfy the condition to continue to said steps.
Summary of Remarks (@ response page labeled 8): “Since Kimura fails to disclose determining whether or not a first format satisfies a condition in which additional information is capable of being added as described above, the
constitutional step of claim 1, i.e., "converting the first image file into an image file (second image file) in a file format, in which the additional information is capable of being added, in a case where the first format does not satisfy the condition" is, of course, not applicable in Kimura.”
Examiner’s Response: The classification and metadata steps which add the classification/category data are conducted only once the video data is divided into sections. This constitutes a conversion to a format to which the data can be added.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura et al. (JP2016072849) discloses a system and method whether it is determined whether a data file format is of a first type, where metadata can be added, or of a second type, where metadata cannot be added.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATRINA R FUJITA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672